(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Hi ixora , page up & angela, fen

yeah, i've also got pimples on my forehead! duno is it coz' of my dandruff (which I think is caused by my pregnancy) but it's better now. i also had alot of pimples on my chest during my 1st 2 months of pregnancy! i apply mopiko.
but my complexion is not as good tho. my pores are bigger now, even my beautician said that!

Hi ixora

sigh looks like i'm the only 1 with a big nose! = oP but my fren thinks that i'll have a baby boy coz' usually the mommies with baby boys look uglier! haha but another fren told me it's the opposite! so i'm all confused now!

Hi fen

actually i didn't tell my mom that i was attending a fren's wedding coz' i know she'll not let me go! in fact, last sat's wedding is the 2nd or 3rd wedding i've attended in the last 3 months! i've 3 more to go! but i did chk with my frens if they or their parents will mind.

hi twinkle,
Yes I feel bloated as well, esp in the evenings.. sometimes need to release some gas to feel better.. kekeke.. i oso realise if i eat spicy food, it will b worse..

hi blueroti,
i oso heard preggy mums who turn ugly majority having boys.. think my pimple breakout is very bad esp on my back.. sob sob..

Hi Ixora,

I m so bloated till I have no apetite everyday... U feel bloated the whole day too?And esp worst at nite? Wonder why is it like tat. My first bb not so worst leh

hi twinkle,
yup me better in morning, then get bloated thru out the day.. worst is with constipation.. the whole tummy juz feel very uncomfy.. can't rem exactly y.. read somewhere it's something to do with hormones, indigestion & heatburn.. think diff pregnancy diff symptoms.. my preggy fren keeps burping too..i still wanna say mummies are great!! make so much sacrifices..

sometimes i'll try to drink fruit juice or camomile tea to feel better.. u wanna try?

I went to sistic yesterday but the tickets for the TCM talk are all sold out!! I didn't know the response will be so good.

Hi blueroti,

My nose also got 'swollen up' when I was carrying my boy. So I'm going to bet you are carrying a boy too

hi ladies... mi back... was away for a cruise last week... i went for my oscars early this mth n the nurses told me i'm not in the high-risk range... so i dun think i need to go for any blood test in my 16th week... now juz waiting for the detailed scan 20 weeks to see the fetal growth...

twinkle,
mi oso bloated... feels bloated all the time... like some of u, dinner time is the worst... i wonder if this bloated sympton will go away cos its making me damn uncomfortable esp after meals... i'm oso hving the bitter taste in my mouth after meals so kept wanting to eat something sweet to get rid of the taste... so imagine feeling bloated but yet wanting to eat something more... aarrgghhh...

pageup,
u got swollen nose when u had your boy ah? i din hv leh... but my mum say she had swollen nose when she's carrying my sis... hmmm...

Just checking in. Hope everyone's having a great week

Re breastfeeding:
I hope I didn't offend anyone with my views. I understand that breastfeeding is a very personal decision. No one can tell you to breastfeed or not to breastfeed and I respect that. Personally, I am very pro breastfeeding as i believe in the benefits of breast milk, both for moms and the child. I didn't have it easy either as my MIL was very unsupportive and kept saying that my baby was crying, not enough milk blah.... and it was a very trying time as I was trying to give my best to baby but no one seemed to understand. I was crying almost everyday, had cracked nipples and developed a yeast infection. Worse, my MIL fed my son FM in a bottle, leading to nipple confusion and hence he rejected my breast for a while. I had to pump every 2 hours, sometimes giving my son pink milk -- tainted with my blood, as my nipples were bleeding from all the friction from the pump.The "cow" statement was my way of finally rebutting my MIL to stop hampering my breastfeeding efforts. Still have a lot of other stories, but I managed to feed him breast milk for slightly over a year. Now I am wiser and I know that I will do it all over again for this baby that I am expecting. As I've mentioned before, I am pro breastfeeding but it is a very personal decision. I ENCOURAGE moms to breastfeed, but I have no right to TELL you you have to. Please don't misunderstand.

Re weddings:
I very sua ku about these things, cos' my entire family from 2 generations are christian. Can someone please explain why it is pang tang? I don't wish to cause any unhappiness by turning up at a friend's wedding with a big tummy.

Oh I had a swollen nose with my boy too, but only in the last few weeks before delivery. Come to think of it, I think I was swollen all over, look like big WHALE!

Jayde

hi mtbs, so i'm not the only one having outbreaks... was just complaining to my hubby this morning that i'm becoming fat & ugly.
so depressing...

for me, in the morning i usually will have diarrhoa but by evening, feel bloated and constipated... really horrible. Plus, these few days, keep having bad headaches for the whole day (dunno whether its the haze or the pregnancy that's causing it).

next thurs, i'll be going for my next visit with the OB and will be doing the blood test. a bit frighten coz i hate needles. do the clinics only perform blood tests on the wives or also on the husbands?

hi Jayde,
tks for your sharing on BF too.. seems like BF'ing is not as ez as I thot..
as for attending weddings, i dunno exactly what's the pang tang abt, heard the 2 joyous (XI) occasions may 'clash' with each other, resulting in some bad incident happening.. but dun quote me..hahaha.. mine is juz hear-say..
btw, I'm a Christian too so I'm not pang tang and i'm not bothered by all these.. I attended 2 baby showers & 2 weddings and 2 more weddings to come in Nov.. I was upset that my fren din wan to attend my wedding last yr cos she was pregnant.. so i wld wan to send my wishes by attending frens' weddings.. of cos if their parents are pang tang and i get to know, then i won't attend lah.. dun wan to cause any unhappiness to others too..

hi michele,
i oso complained to hb how i hv turned ugly.. he juz pat my head.. hahaha... i had headache yday right after went out for lunch.. think it cld be the haze... sigh.. dunno when it'll get better.. till rain comes?

Re: Pregnant mothers attending weddings.
I heard a different version from my mum, she said it is ok to attend wedding dinners but we cannot be jie mei to the brides. Old people said pregnant jie mei will bring unhappiness or bad luck to the newly wed couple.
Anyway, I agree, if the couple and their family members are not comfortable with our presence at the wedding, then it is better that we don't attend.

hi michele,

me did the same yesterday. Hubby was telling me I should start to go swimming. I told him I don't want to because I too fat and ugly to look good in swimsuit. He answered "You are pregnant, nobody will expect you to stay slim.. moreover, looking good in swimsuit and going for a swim are 2 separate issues"

Hi Fen,
sorry didnt reply early..me too, seeing Dr Ho from Mt Alvernia.. whens your edd? me is around 12-13th april.. sad hor, cant sign package yet.. gota wait til 20 weeks.. quite long leh.. havent know the gender of my baby yet though.. hehe.. waiting..

Hi Twinkle,ixora15,
me also have constipation problem leh..i tried to eat fruits like papaya.. did help a little though.. but most of the time i squeeze out.. haha!! but saw from the thred its not good right? me also move bowels around 2-3 days once.. very jialat..last time used to be everyday.. i dunno if im bloated..but now though im just 13 weeks, ppls already guessing if im 20-24 weeks.. aiyo..can imagine??

hi blue roti,
i ask my mum and in law.. my in law say ok to go but my mum said dun go la.. so i listen lor.. since she ask me nt to go..

Hi page up & michele
my friend also ask to go sentosa for sun tan last weekend.. tell them i am nw so fat liao.. swimming custom cannot fit in liao.. haha.. and no other shirt suit that kind of place lei.. haha.. me also told my hubby i am nw so fat and ugly he will say haiya nw u gt baby ma..
last nite hungry went to have nasi lemak for supper feel so guilty lei... haha

Re: pang Tan
i dun noe somex certain things in life we gt to believe and dat is when u are just married u are unable to go to others ppl wedding and hospital or furneal all dis.. anyway is again up to individual to decide whether if u wan to go anot lor..

Hi Ixora,

Tks for sharing. Guess many of us here on on the same boat. 2 biggest problems...1) constipation & Bloated tummy...
I hate the bloatedness... Cos it makes me really sick. For constipation, I dont dare to force out cos later bleeding... Scared scared... I got history of annal fissure(torn skin)

All of us can hold hands and suffer together men...ho ho ho...

Hi fen,

I dont dare to drive now cos my hubby's car is manual and I m phobia when on slopes... Get what I mean...

Hi Fen,
me will be using susi (10x$500 plus 2 masks) one.. i was recommended by my friend and saw in the thread she is not bad lor..so tot of trying.. :p better to use massage ladies whom use essential oil than those smelly herbs.. i think so la..hehe...me at 13 week already, still havent put stretch mark cream also..scare man..cos sometimes i feel tummy starting to itch liao..

Hi snowflakes,
the prune juice mu st everyday to help in constipation or concentrate half cup per day will do the trick? me tried and i think about the 2nd day then can poo poo leh..not quite immediate.. me very jialat..suddenly dun like to eat veges with leafy taste..those veges like xiao cailan its ok..otehr that that, yucks!! chiam right?? :p

Hi Fong

i ask my gynae if i can do mani n pedi - he said ok. my nails are in very bad shape so i've to get it done every few weeks and my feet are very rough and dry.

hi page up, ixora15

guess i juz have to wait for the next 2 scans before knowing if it's a boy or girl. altho i'm toying with the idea of letting it be and not finding out till the baby is born! = O )

ixora - guess we juz have to bear with the breakout! i also had very bad dandruff last few months which subsided recently. but it has started again!

Hi michele - don't worry, we're not fat, we're juz pregnant! i was also telling my husband i'm really fat n he said it's ok, i'm juz pregnant!
and yeah i had headache on sunday too - duno if it's the haze too! but my gynae did say that pregnant women do get headaches now and then.

Halo mommies here....

Most of you are in your 2nd trim now. Wondering have you all start planning what to buy for bb? Esp those first time mummy like me. I am in complete loss what to start buying for bb. Heard that better dun wait till 3rd trim as will be very tired then. Wonder if anyone has a list of must buy items for bb??

Wow Dlim,
Thanks for sharing. Impressive list! Imagine one buys everything... can go broke before the bb is born :=)

Im in my 15 weeks now, starting to buy things for myself first :=)
Anyone looking for flat shoes - nice & affordable - can try this brand call 'Mondo' (hmmmm... hope i spell it correctly). They hv branches at Tampines Century Sq, Jurong Pt, and Far East Plaza. I bought a pair of Jap-looking casual shoes for $19.90. AMERICAYA also carries nice flat working shoes. Bought one pair recently for $35 (after 10% discount at Isetan).

I'm looking for padded nursing bra. Kindly share lobang, thanks :=)

Hi Mum_wannabe,

Dun mentioned. I got this infor from one of the thread from motherhood as well. Since someone is asking, might as well share it with all of u.
Ya..imagine so many things to buy...sure broke!

Thanks for recommend "Mondo", will take note if I were to shop at the nearby branches.

I saw padded nursing bra at Clound9 @ Suntec & one of the maternity shop @ Great World (Level 3/4..cant remember liao but its on the same level with the GV). I guess some of the maternity shops do sell the nursing bra as well.

Ryes,
Bought it at changi airport DFS(100ml)

Twinkle & Ixora,
Strange that you still having bloatedness, thought this should wear off?? I no longer suffer from it...

Hi mum_wannabe,
i havent start wearing nursing bra though its expanding..just bought the bra extension.. hope it can last til end term.. hehe..

Hi MTBs,
did you all bought the belly belt? selling quite ex outside..but heard its good as you can still wear your own pants and just put in the extension.. at least can save on the pants.. :p any good lobang around?? :p hehe.. i havent start buying bb things too..just clothings for myself.. but from experience mums, they mentioned that those pants with a crisscross band in front (not sure if you all seen before) cannot wear until full term one..usually last2-3 trimester cannot wear liao..best if you can buy those wear high high up to tummy type.. :p actually i think its ugly so didnt buy any yet.. hehe.. but i think quite true..cos til now, as tummy gets bigger, the criscross band keeps sliding down..unless you like those low waist type, else you will find yourself keep pulling it up..not sure if you all experience it already or not..hehe..

btw me bought a stool loosener from Unity called Duphalac which is suitable for pregnancy womens.. not sure good or not though..

i realise Unity meadicine quite cheap..like i bought a bottle of calcium pill (450mg) for just $7 (sunward brand) and iron pill (Sangobion brand) for only $8.. Sangobion brand is exactly the same i took from Mt A but not the calcium pill..i ask the pharmist for consultation and they say the contents inside is the same just that brand different only.. the calcium pill actually contains 450mg of calcium carbonate and 200iu of Vitamin D3 whereas the one from the doctor contains 300mg of calcium lactate.. not sure if its ok.. maybe i need to seek consultation before eating.. hehe.. :p any comments on this??

Dear All, haven't came in for quite a while, cos just transferred dept, quite a bit of things to learn.

Hi J&R, u drink half a cup dun add water shld do the trick liao but u won't see the immediate effect lah, not 'xian dan' mah but it's normal to take a day or 2. Slowly will become better, dun worry!
But dun drink too much oso, wait diarrhoe. And eat more fruits k.

I'm oso 15 wks plus oreadi but all my new colleagues said cannot even tell that I'm pregnant.

Btw, does any Mummies To Be here always feel giddy. I almost fainted in the train this morning, cos all of a sudden blackout, so I quickly squatted down in the crowded train & all the seated passengers in front of me never bother to give up their seat for me. Only a kind soul quite faraway did that but I too faintish to walk over liao. Other passengers helped me over lor, so paiseh!

me so far havent..but start to have headache.. not sure its because of the haze or not..recently really jialat leh.. the haze towards end of the day always so thick..

think can start using air purifier liao. hehe..

Hi twinkle,
my hubby also driving manual car lei.. i still drive also lor.. but scare it will affect the baby cos my in law say i need strength to change gears.. so funny de..

Hi J & R,
is she good? did ur friend manage to lose weight after the masssage ma?

Twinkle & Ixora,
me also bloated lei.. recently dun feel like eating anythings lei.. so sian when see food..

J & R, me also lei.. dun feel like waking up to work every morning.. back ache & also head dizzy dun feel like going to work..
but cannot lei.. haha

ya, she manage to lose weight within that sessions but gain weight gain as she didnt BF.. :p

me also leh..dunno why recently meals cant finish liao..not like before..is it also because of the haze?? hhaaha.. everything blame on it.. :p

Snowflakes,
Poor you! If you have tendency to faint bring along the medicated axe oil and put in your handbag and breath slowlY...I almost fainted on the bus too. Rushed to alight for a breather but found a seat on way out so dashed for it like kiasu in the crowded bus. The people must think why i so rude and kiasu!!! No choice cos was seeing stars already...

hey ladies,
Think we should start sleeping on our left side now cos that's baby natural sleeping position (hence more comfort for bb)plus we can pass much nutrients and oxygen to baby in this pose due to some major veins. I'm having difficulty changing position cos I sleep on the right, xian....

Re: Pan tang
i asked my mum if i can attend my frens' weddings, she said ok just dun be their jie mei and dun go into their rooms.

Hi Fong,
i think can lah cos my SIL continue to do while she was carrying her BB. she even told me better let the manicurist do the job, so we wont sniff too much of the chemical smell.

hi blueroti,
talking abt fats.. hmm, last sunday me and my hb brought his mum and dad out for dinner. then i heard my MIL whispering to my hb tat can tell i m pregnant.. i ask how she can tell cos i very small size except the tummy growing bigger nowadays, then she said 'oh, your butts getting bigger mah!' *faintz*

i will make sure & i m determined to loose the fats after gave birth after hearing such comments from her... so sadzz

Re: bloatedness & constipation
still feel bloated this evening.. super sian, so hard to sit down for watiching tv, keep changing the seating positions... dunno how to sit and make myself feeling better.

for constipation, think no so much a problem for me cos usually do my biz once every 2-3days. now still the same, just try to drink 2full cups of water b4 tat and try to eat more papaya but still must control the intakes cos it will make BB yellowish

hi snowflakes

yes, pls bring axe oil as suggested by stileto. in fact, during my 1st 3 months i also bring a ntuc bag with me no matter where i go - in case i need it! m not sure if it helps but how abt trying to eat some biscuits before u take the train? i had to munch on some cookies before i take the mrt or i'll feel very weak, want to faint.

hi jmonster

i'm resigned to piling on the kilos for the next few months! i juz went for steamboat for dinner n was so full that my skirt was so tight! n tummy was so round! anyway, will start thinking abt losing weight later lah! = o )

re: bloatedness
I'm in my 14th week and still feel bloated at times. esp before bed... and the strange thing is when i get hungry, I'll get very nausea..and if i don't eat anything fast, I'll totally lose my appetite and feel like vomitting..

re: haze
i think the haze is quite bad.. me getting headaches very frequently too and nausea which was about to subside came back since the haze begun..

re: constipation
it seems like most mummies here having constipation.me on the other hand, needs to go toilet a few times a day.. anyone has the same ezxperience as me?

hi stileto,
yup strange still feeling bloated.. somemore i begin to feel nauseous again for the past 2 evenings.. mayb bb was trying to reject some food which i ate..

hi snowflakes,
i used to feel giddy quite often when schooling cos weak.. (fainted a few times, quite embarrasing) hv stopped for long time after building up my health.. now preggy, i felt faint quite a few times.. twice on crowded train, i actually alighted and sat down and rubbed medicated oil.. so u r not alone.. like what stileto suggested, do bring axe oil always.. it helps.. i'm oso like blueroti, will munch on something b4 i rush off..

Hi Dlim,

Thanks for the list. At least got some cues now. Just wondering when do we start buying all these stuff. Don't really wanna wait till 3rd trim when I am so heavy then start buying. But right now cos of the bad MS and vomitting, I also no mood to go out and buy during weekends. kekeke....sian. Actually I haven't even start buying any maternity wear for myself yet. Only bought 2 non-underwired bra due to expanding breast. Luckily got some friends who pass me some maternity wear. Think I must start buying some bottoms for myself soon. Any sales you gals know of?

hi wawapiggyling,
i share the same sentiments on bloatedness and nausousness.. i oso feel nausea when i'm hungry.. and muz hv food.. else will want to vomit.. super sian feeling.. this feeling came back for the past 2 evenings.. thot my MS gone liao... sian..

hi Ice Queen,
think Spring Maternity still hv 30% discounts for selected bottoms..

Hmmm...recently there r many buying spree going on.. wonder if there is one doing maternity wear fr overseas.. i find there aren't many choices to choose fr here.. somemore quite ex.. i'll go find out.. hee..

Hi Ice Queen,

Well, im not very sure also but u can start to buy once the doctor confirm the gender of yr bb. U can also start buying some if u have the time to go for shopping. It would be best if can check with relatives or friends whether they can pass some of the bb things to u like baby cot. Cox most of my colleagaues told me baby cot no need to buy cox ur bb will not use that for long. Best if someone can pass to u / borrow from them.

Yup, u will need the bottom more compare to the tops. Not sure whether thyme maternity / Spring / Clound9 still have 10% dicsount from ladies DBS card. U can check it out.

Heard there is this bra extension rite? Anyone of u bought this? Cox my bra is getting more tighter now so thought of getting one. Anyone know where can find the bra extension?

hi fen,

i still drive as i need to send hubby to work and pick him after work mon-fri. i am full time chauffer.. :p

hi twikle, ixora and rest of the mommies

i guess most of us feel bloated.. myself too and was reali bad and i am still having MS no doubt is not as bad as before. wat i did apply " ru yee oil " and i always felt beta after applying. is the same oil that most use to apply on babies. maybe you gals shd try out as you will reali feel much beta after tat as help you to let out of the "gas" too...

honestly so far i have no problem poo poo... but i do eat lots of fruits, at least twice a day. Kiwi and Strawberry is very good and they reali helps. maybe you gals can try cos i use to hv poo problem b4 pregnancy but after tat no issue at all.. But the only problem i have is i had outbreak of Eczema.. quite tough. sighzzz

Btw, do you gals know how many weeks then will be able to know the gender of the BB??

hi Dlim,
if i dun rem wrongly, i saw the bra extension b4 at Spring maternity, it's placed in a basket at the cashier counter... (Suntec branch)

Hi ixora
yes... it's irritating.. and i attributethe return of the nausea to the haze i guess... unhealthy air that we breathe in makes us feel sick easier
why must we suffer the consequences of the mistakes that others make?

Hi ixora15,

Thanks! I think I had overlooked when I was there. Ok, will buy one if Im going down again.

Hi Angela Lee,

U shld be able to know the gender of yr bb during the 4th - 5th mth. If its a boy, it will be more easier to identify if the doctor can see the little thing sticking out during the scanning...

i hv a brand new Pigeon manual breast pump for sale at $90.
The set includes:
1.Manual Breast Pump
2.Peristatic Nipple (standard neck type)
3.Nursing bottles (2 bottles, 150ml)
4.Adaptor for wide neck bottle
5.Breast Pad (2 pcs)
6.CD ROM for introduction to your breast pump.

all are brand new and still inside the box with another box of breast pad (42 pcs).

email: [email protected]