(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Min: wah wat rubbish they talking about! the HK is $55 so dun get cheated ok.

But then again, if u get $100 worth of oil (say 5 bottles) and get 1 HK free, still good deal leh ...

hi sandwich and mummies
i saw the humidifier at toa payoh central, think the bear 1 is going for $43 if I'm not wrong. the pasted a price tag on it. the cart is parked right outside the NTUC supermarket at HDB Hub.

Cherryteq
Nice to 'see' you here finally....I am sure you must have serious lack of sleep and is really overwhelmed with two kids. Hopefully Matt will 'grow up' and learn to be a nice Gor Gor to Megan really soon. Meanwhile, you take care ya...

Leo
Errmm...think I will have to opt out of gathering liao coz weekends are childcare & family day for this FT working mommy (coz it's OFF day for caregiver). You ladies enjoy!

Springd,

such a shame...thought weekend would mean more working moms can join in...actually, weekends are also family time for SHMs since our hbs work (all the time). But I guess for us, it's also thrilling to be able to leave our child for a few hours...like how often does that happen! Was telling my HB about it (how giddy with planning Leo and I are) and he laughed out loud at us...

D
Guess different people have different situations...I have the 'luxury' of self-time on weekdays, Mondays to Fridays...week-day dinners with friends are GOOD for me.

Sd , i agree wif u , weekends are rest days for my ma . so i cannot throw my boy wif her n it is a terror to bring him out!

we celebrated his bday at amara sentosa and i was very please to hv brot my parents wif me . he cried non-stop for close to 45 min at 2am and my parents who were sleeping in the adjoining room came to my rescue . hope those neighbours next door are not swearing under their blankets over this terrible noisy fella .

caicai,
how was amara sentosa?
been thinking about that...are the rooms big/small? Is the pool nice? suitable for kids? etc

I thought Rasa was nice but my hb complain the room too small so we couldn't do anything (like watch tv) when Jesse went to bed...he doesn't mind going there again but want me to explore large room options...

Springd,

yup, I agree, we're all in different situations. I can meet on weekday nights too but only after 8pm when my duty is over and when I get my hb to come home early from work.

Also, I think it's good for my hb to spend time alone with Jesse...good for father-son bonding...

D, amara definitely much nicer than Rasa
but there are alot of mozzies at the baby 0.3m pool.
in order to evade the mozzie attack , we brot him to the sky pool jacuzzi and some guests on seeing the deprived baby , decided to get out to let him swim a 'few rounds' in the jacuzzi pool .haha. room is nice wif sea view n there is cable tv in room. coz my stay at rasa , last jul was not very enjoyable coz the cable tv was not clear and we ended up watching our dvds

Mrs Lai,

Beaufort...is that The Sentosa?

Agar Agar cake
Next year, mummies remind me to get that for Jesse's birthday! He so poor thing always cannot eat cake...I think he'll like agar agar cake

Caicai,
hmm...mozzies at the pool? What time were you at the pool?

If my hb and I ever get a chance to stay in a hotel in Sg w/o Jesse we'll stay in the city...more convenient to paint the town red. hahahahaha.

D
Dinner after 8pm seems a tad too late...if it's this timing, a wine session among a few ladies at Dempsey might be a better choice. *winks*

Perhaps when your hubby is clearing leave, you can leave him & Jesse for a lo-man-tick dinner while you run out for a dinner gathering.

Hey ...you can consider getting a Suite if you wanna bring Jesse for hotel stay...then you & hubby can cuddle & watch TV at the living area after Jesse has slept.

CaiCai
We share the same sentiments of a Working mom..hahah...I am also glad that my parents joined us for the recent trip and they helped to manage our temperamental boy.

Amara Sanctuary is so much more newer than Rasa. I would prefer AS too...except for the mozzies problem at the children's pool. Hahahah...

SpringD,

we usually stay suite but I'm trying to economise...but it seems that didn't go too well!

Well, like you said, everyone's situation is different, so I don't have the luxury of meeting early for dinner because we don't have help and my HB works late. He doesn't have leave to clear either (imagine, he used up all the no-pay leave, childcare leave etc that the Govt introduced last year) because he was putting in his bit for the boy. Anyway, like most FTWD, he'll feed him and change him, but baths still fall on my shoulders (even when I was post-op).

Heh...I don't drink alcohol so...

Anyway, can't say we don't try to meet lah...but the schedules and "freedoms" of a shm and a wm is just too hard to different!

Michelle,

you have the contact and photos for agar2 cake? send to me...I'll save it for next year.

d,
i'm not sure where michelle ordered her cake from, but mine was from this couple known as "mr and mrs chan". i paid $45 + $5 delivery for mine. but i think different designs cost different prices. sent you the contacts and photos on your yahoo account. it's a bit far ahead to plan for the 3rd birthday, haaahaaa. or maybe you can order an agar agar cake for fun for you/your husband's b-day or just any other occasion so that J can enjoy eating the "cake".

s/w,

Thanks! Looking at the pictures now.

Hmm...but for my birthday I want a real cake! hahah. We'll see...can order for fun lor...

hi hi...wanta ask u all for suggestions:

#2 full month approaching & hubby wanta me to look for food or things other bigger children (e.g. #1) can play with during the full month party...any suggestions??? Cos we would be ordering from Neo Gardens for the lunch buffet.

springdance and cai,
i'm a different breed of FTWM who can't wait to get away from my kid on most weekends, esp on weekends when he's with my parents! i think i have enough time together with him on weekdays. plus, i dun like being around when my mum takes care of him in the weekends because the activities that they do are very different from what i would do with him, the way they talk/take care of him is not the way i would choose etc. i really really think that he's more naughty when he's at my parent's place. after i've gone for a short trip with my parents to penang, i think i'll never ever go for another trip with my kaizer and my parents. very stressful when they are around. maybe because they are more particular while we are more chin chye parents lah.

Cat,

how much space do you have for activities?

If they're all at the dun-wan-to-share stage (like Jesse) then steer clear of big toys like cars and such...they'll fight.

Don't think it'll be such a "long" party, right? About 2 hrs? I find children are not very particular about toys (new or old, fun or not, etc) they just like to try new things...so for other children, Malcolm's current toys should suffice. If you want to keep them (which might be a good idea if M doesn't want to share) then play a DVD (Madagascar/Cars etc) or some music, maybe playdough/stickers/crayon and bubbles...children are really easy to please. Probably good to stick to activities that don't require too much parental supervision, that way the adults who visit can also relax and chit-chat.

If you have space, like a back yard, can fill up an inflatable pool with balls...or very shallow bit of water (<10cm)...

As for food, just cook a whole lot of porridge...(so far the parties we've attended, there's usually porridge that the children will eat and then they'll nibble at whatever the adults eat.) if you're talking 2 year old kids lah. If they are older, can consider foods like fish fingers, nuggets, macaroni with tomatoe sauce, sandwiches...if they are older, they could probably eat from the buffet as long as there are a few non-spicy dishes.

Have fun with the planning!

d,
abt DVDs, we had a few gatherings at my place where we tried to play DVDs that are suitable for both the adult guests and kaizer (who's the only kid at the gathering). madagascar didn't go too well. robot was not bad, but southpark (the movie) was the biggest hit. aiyoh, i sould like a terrible parent already!

catherine,
what's your email address?

s/w,

haha...you know I don't know my shows well but the one time my dad played madagascar for Jesse at his place, J loved it (for the 10 minutes he saw it). It's probably just a "personal preference" thing. While channel surfing, whenever I pass Simpsons, he likes that too - "watch this one!" No.

micK - i will pass :p think cannot handle him alone le.
enjoy !

about cartoons , zac is crazy over spiderman / superman /power rangers now . he has grown tired of Mr Barney :p

D - i went to the pool in the morning , i didnt go into the water , was taking pics by the edge and was attacked relentlessly .
even zac and my hubby , were attacked . their faces/ their backs

d,
embarrasingly, the tv at my home doesn't have some cable so i can't watch local channels w/out all the static buzzing + i don't have SCV. means i cannot watch anything at all in dover. the box is really a white elephant that's used for the occasional wheels on the bus DVD and the even more occasional screening when friends are around. for my new house, we'll most prob not get a TV set cos our computers (and youtube and things like mysoju) will suffice.

caicai,
spiderman/superman/power rangers sound like 5-7 year old stuff. maybe zac likes the action and the buzz about them!

sanrio,
sent to your yahoo account already.

d,
yah, it's a good thing. the house is more peaceful + can do alternative quieter stuff with the kid.

caicai,
1/2hour only? for the line, i estimate that i'll take at least 15min walking through all the entire place, deciding what to eat. haven't even factored in the time to queue! sure can't finish in 1/2hour!

min,
just forwarded the pics and contacts to you. i dun think they have a website.

d,
check out today's life section of the papers. they have a full page on local hotel deals for singaporeans.

s/w
did you buy humidifier?
tempted to get one coz i think D now got sensitive airways.. been coughing on and off. but not phlegmy type..

D
Well nothing's defintie for sure...who knows one of these days there is a correct timing which we may just have the chance to meet up. Keep options open..

S/W
Yeah...hahah...your 'management style' is different from us...my MIL is staying with us and my boy is still "nuahing" at home. That's already a different basic scenario from Kaizer's. :p

We have rented the multi-purpose "void deck" near my block. Very open space...dun think I got time to prepare any food (need to bring #2 to in-laws in morning for praying...). If possible, catering.