(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

GOOD MORNING

is FRIDAY again!!! kekekekeke!

D,
make booking for 10 pax, what if end up oni 2 of us? hahahaha!
Suntec still hv RICE TABLE?

any mummies oki with the idea?
2nd May - Lunch?

Leo,

Just make a booking first lor...if you cancel one week before, I think it's alright. If it's just two of us...then...we lo-mantically eat lunch together lor...slowly slowly eat in a dimlit place... :p

I think the only outlet left is at International Building.

Check this out... let Leo you if you wanna join us. :p

http://www.ricetable.com.sg/

Cindy,

have a great time in HK!

coold,

eh, i'm a mummy-genius! I can interprete "reck-ang-go" before I read the explanation at the end of your sentence.

Hmm...maybe Jesse speaks funny and only I think he can talk! haha.

I recommend a book "CDB!" by William Steig. It's great for us (adults)...I think it has helped me with understanding funny pronunciation. For example, guess what: "S M-T!" or "D L-F-N 8 D A" means.

S/W: Your colleague's child is reallie something! Like D, I can't remember what Lele was doing at 10mths... ... think he was crawling around at high speed... ... haha!

But I think giftedness comes in many forms not just in speech. It could be in music, arts, gross motor skills and other areas.

I once watched a show on starhub about giftedness. It was trying to xplore the idea of whether giftedness can be nurturd.

It featured this chessplayer prodigy from some counry. The father was convinced that convinced that giftedness can be nurtured, so from when the daughter was very young, he observed her interests very closely. One day he discovered that she was into chess. So he learned to play chess, read up about it and taught her as best he could how to play chess. This worked because she turned out to be a world-class chess player. She described her experience when playing chess, that she can actually see images of what moves she can make, effortlessly.

I was pretty impressed by the father. I think he reallie has alot of perseverance n determination to nurture a gift in his child and he did it...

Just to share...

Kate,

I agree that talent comes in many ways (shapes and forms)...which is why even when I'm proud of Jesse's perceived "advanced speech" I also emphasize that he still cannot jump/skip etc etc.

"Toto Chan" is a great story about how every child is different. I wish school was like that.

As for nature v nurture, I still firmly believe that it'll take time for our children to show us what they're good at or interested in (2 is still too young). Which is why I'm not into "pushing" him at this stage. It would be "jackpot" if we can "catch" what our children have a tendency for and be able to nurture it. That would be a dream come true.

Told my hb (over breakfast) about s/w's colleague's children and he just said, "there are many forms of giftedness and in this country, early bloomers have an advantage because they have access to a lot of resources and late bloomers are at a disadvantage."

We know, personally, of people who peaked early and then...nothing much came out of it and we also know people who weren't "valued students" but are successful in their careers.

Leo...

YAY! Good going! Thank you!
Haha....you know lah, I'm super lazy about these things...

looking forward to the outing too. Yum Yum!

D,
i'm aldy thinking....10.45am (after prepared JK's lunch) leave home, take feeder bus to MRT station. "enjoy" the wknd crowds w/o JK.
window shopping abit if still hv time....
stroll toward the makan place.
hahahaha!

On a Completely, unrelated note...

Yesterday when I went to my in-laws' place to pick Jesse up...I saw him slouching on the Osim chair, staring blankly at the TV (playhouse disney) and my MIL just spooning food into his mouth.

I don't know if I can say "my heart was broken" but it wasn't a good feeling. I felt sorry for the boy, even if he likes to watch Mickey. He looked so stoned, so zombie-like.

I actually put my face right in front of his and his eyes were still staring vacantly. My MIL laughed...she thought it was funny.

Anyway, I went to the kitchen to eat my dinner (dabao laksa
) and I was listening to the TV and it sounded so muffled...as if the characters were mumbling in their cartoon voices. And I thought to myself, "That must be why he has started to mumble and speak gibberish."

I know I can be very skewed/biased in my thinking lah...can you tell I really don't want him to watch cartoons? (Just right now...) I'm not against TV, we watch CNN, BBC, Animal Planet, etc even Ch8 dramas...but the sound of Mickey or Pooh...ewl. "moMomomomo MomomomoMOmo"

Leo...

here I am thinking...the moment HB goes into bedroom with J (around 11:20) I'll sneak out and take a cab down. Hahaha...will go Isetan Scotts if I have time to look at...toys. :p

Of course, his lunch will be prepared before I leave

Of course! I dun wanna kenna sacked! Or get sms during my lunch about what to do for his lunch etc.

Anyway, we're so used to cooking already...doesn't require much...more than happy to do it.

I must learn from you and Ixora...how do you cook your porridge/what ingredients you put in. J loved both your porridge.

D, that's the thing when we have to 'leave' our child in someone else's care - hard to 'control' what the other person does. my MIL also does the same - let the child watch tv and feed. she thinks that's the foolproof method coz my SIL's kids are tv addicts. however, that doesn't work with C - while she enjoys all the music, she doesn't watch cartoons per say. she'll just walk away after the songs are done! :p

leo, of course u r! there's no doubt abt that!

aiya, 12noon for lunch is no good! i can only 'dump' C to hb after 12.30 or so coz he works on sat!

mich,

join us later lah....can re-order etc mah.

Ya lor...so I don't say anything lah but my "heart is broken". Haha.

The thing is, it's not even difficult to feed Jesse (you know what I mean)...my hb and I can only say, "well, at least he knows what he can do and where." I just tell him, mummy's TV no cartoon only news. :p

Sandwich: you don't label his containers? I labelled every part of my gal bottles, containers for school, except for the milk teats :p tt's why those name stickers got very good business from me hahaha ...

Talking about "gifts" one of my latest crazy tots was whether to send V for baby ballet class or not ... just for fun anyway :p

Recently, she's on milk strike. She will only drink milk before she sleeps at night and when she wakes up in the morning. she's totally off milk on weekdays on daytime, but weekend, she's on the milk every 4 to 6 hours.

BUt i am also worried. The night before last i gave her 240ml and 300ml in the morning, she emptied it. Last night I gave 300ml and 330ml, she also emptied it. I am just wondering, is it ok to give them so much liquid/ milk at 1 go?????? and she's also boycotting water *argh* everything is "ice ice ice ice ice"

D: maybe J is sleepy? V will also have the vacant stare even if she is not watching TV (like me, my mind can drift off while staring at nothing or even when driving or cooking) - or maybe J is just a deep thinker :p he may be looking at TV but his mind is somewhere else.

Mrs Lai,

maybe...who knows...

I checked out ballet classes but like s/w said, minimum age is 3.

as long as she's eating well and not losing weight, lethargic or throwing up milk...there's no, too little or too much lah.

D
haha, u r really gd. There's another long sentence? that I am trying to decode. It goes 'tamy-fen, ta-chu ji mum mum' follow by um um um (like eating). Jboy has been repeating exactly the same thing for a while, but tis one I m really clueless. Hubby felt that it cud be some meal prayers teacher taught them in school. I dunno .. i let ixora n jo hear, but dun seems to ring a bell either .. hehe. If u decode this, I will crowned you super mummy-genius

Btw, i m clueless abt S M-T!" or "D L-F-N 8 D A" !!

Augleo,

I thot I will be back from HK on 2nd May but I think its 1st May...11pm. So don't think can join u mommies cos may be too tired. U gals enjoy yourselves!!

D,
does it mean "something" and "disneyland florida"? by the way, i always tell my mum/dad that kaizer's IQ drops by 10 points whenever he's over at their place. he forgets how to speak, behaves like a barbarian and sits in front of the TV to eat too.

cool_d,
could it mean "她们分(了), 带出去 mum mum" ... means after the teachers have distributed the food (at a central location/kitchen), the kids can bring out their food (perhaps to a table) to eat.

augleo,
my plan is to get my husband to bring kaizer to my mum's place on 2 may. no need to prepare lunch for him, in my case, cos i don't cook anyway.

s/w
hmm .. i dunno boy. But the 1st day of jboy sch I sat in, they actually distributed the porridge on the table, than make the kids sit round and eat. They dun carry their food fm a centralised location. But maybe they changed. I always wanted to go chk wif the teachers, but always 4get.

am working overtime today for the first time in many many years!!!! anyway, i'll be staying till 7.30pm thereabouts, cos yesterday i left office at 2plus to bring kaizer back. my husband volunteered to settle kaizer's dinner and night time milk on his own (instead of bringing over to my mum's place since tonight is friday evening). just now i asked him what he planned to feed kaizer for dinner. he said both of them will be having "mango" for dinner. i said huh? he added kaizer will also get "teddy puffs", and maybe he'll buy "chicken wing" for kaizer also. hahaa, so funny!

sw

that's funny! At least your HB is relax about meals...

coold,

first I need to ask, what language is it in? Mandarin or English?

For the longest time I didn't understand what Jesse meant by "Ah gong bai bai". I thought he meant, "ah-gong bye bye". Till my hb said...must think in chinese (cos it's his parents)...and it meant, "ah-gong bai4 bai4 (pray)"...

Coold,

if it's in mandarin, I think s/w decoded very well...would never have thought of that!

as for...

S M-T = It's empty

D L-E-N 8 D A = The elephant ate the hay

I'll admit that it's much easier with the pictures! haha...
But it's a fun book lah.

d,
my "s m-t" nad "d l-e-n 8 d a" is totally off, hahaa! and my boys survived, although the smaller boy was in a mess when i reached home ... (check out the pic on my blog)

D: I agree that that not pushing our children too hard now is important because they should be exposed to wide variety of experiences now. But sometimes patience is needed to let them take their time to explore anything of interest to them, especially when we are off to somewhere in a hurrie and he just wanted to take his time to explore:p

s/w
my hubby is also very relax when he is looking after D.
he just let him eat anything.. and will indulge him in his barney cd while he play his computer game.

when i need to take time off.. i also prepare D's lunch in advance.
normally will cook soup and put in thermos then steam the rice
so that hubby can just add the rice into the soup and feed D

i realised D starting so speak 'singlish' like.. ball ball where?

told hubby that we must now watch what we say.. like when my hubby was doing his big biz and he told D "Daddy go poot poot" then D starting ranting "Daddy poot poot" non-stop at home.. can't imagine if he said that in public

Min,

I was complaining to my MIL about the weather..."stupid weather, don't know when I can wash my car".

Jesse kept saying, "stupid weather, stupid weather, etc"

Michele,
yes, come and join us later.

min,
are u joining us on 2nd May?

D n s/w,
currently there are 5 of us cfm going for the makan

d,
i tried to buy the humidifier off a pushcart at IMM last week, but the salesperson wanted to charge me $50+ inclusive of the essential oils. if i just want to humidifier w/out the oil, i've gotta pay $50+ too. i remembered you got it at $20+, so that was with or w/out the oils? i want to get the same froggy one that J likes - for my office cubicle =)

i have for sale: plain white Mothercare Rompers, size 24-36m (up to 98cm). $5 per piece, just bought on Saturday 18/4/09

- short sleeved, 5 pcs
- sleeveless, 4 pcs

anyone keen pls PM for pickup arrangement thanks.

augleo
let u know later.. coz hubby's may work sched not out yet

s/w
was checking out humdi last wk also. and i realise diff cart chrg diff price eventhough same co.
one at thomson plaza was quoting $70+!!!! and they keep pushing me to buy the oils.

sandwich: the frog, pig, bear and 1 more goes for $38. Small bottle of oil $18 big bottle of oil $22. Current promo for oil, small one buy 4 get 1 free and big oil buy 3 get 1 free.

I got mine over at the Bukit Panjang Plaza over the weekend, but I got the Hello Kitty version for $55 :p Ya, i am a sucker for HK. The oils, I got eculaptis (dunno how to spell), lavender (smells like tiolet soap, but add a little with the first so it doesn't smell so strong) and my current obsession for the moment, lemon bergamot :p i cannot get enuff of the smell!

If you want, next time I see it I SMS u the location.

Min: Thomson rich pple area, so maybe out to chop. But then again, they got so many types of "shapes" for the humi, I also got confused, also I was quite keen on the pig as well ($38 mah).

MIA for a month exactly. Bb turns 1 month today. Thanks for all the well wishes earlier. Life has been crAzy with a newborn and her "terribe" brother who cannot accept the fact that he's no longer the centre of all attention. There's so much to catch up on.
hope I can get to come in here more often from now...

bunnie,
sure, sms me if you see, but only if the location is in the west, hehee

cherryteq,
hello!!! when you're free, tell us all about your delivery and what you've been up to in the last month =) what's mei mei's name? gosh, i haven't see you/matt/your mum in the neighbourhood for a long time already.

sandwich,
ya mia in the neighbourhood for a month cos we're all at my place doing confinement. Will be moving back in May. You should be seeing Megan and my mum soon.

My delivery was simple, becos it was a planned c-sect. After all the 'drama' for Matt's birth, this time we opted for simplicity and a better peace of mind. Thankfully my recovery was swifter the second time round. Maybe also becos I was too busy taking care of Meg round the clock to dwell on my own discomforts, hence time also passed quickly. Deep panda eyes are the result of severe lack of sleep. Now I cannot wait for Matt to grow out of 'Terrible Horrible Two'...

cherryteq rest well lah , it is ok u dun come in often ( coz u nid ur rest )
u may come in when u return to work hahaha

cherry,

glad to hear that you're doing well and...*sigh* what to do...they all go through that stage...thankfully it should only last a year!

s/w
I just saw it on Friday at a shop in Square 2, Novena (next to MRT). The frog was going for $38. There are other animals too...and even small ones for the car!

I never bought any of the essential oils, cos we all don't like it and I think they also never push. If you wanna try, tell them that you called the main company (in Macpherson) and say, they say you can buy just the humidifier for $38. See how they respond lor...

If you want, you can also call them to find out and "report" on the IMM push cart: http://www.abmig.com/

bunnie
oh mine.. last wk the fellow told me that the HK humi will be launching soon
and think must pay 100+ for the oil then i can get the HK humi free!!

they really chop ppl. thank god i din buy!

the main co. is at Novena as what D posted