(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

here some shots from my 7 apr 09 photoshoot ...

2352480.jpg

2352481.jpg

2352482.jpg

2352483.jpg

... grabbed these from the photographer's biz thread. argh, was supposed to receive the disc yesterday through registered mail, but was out of office so package got re-routed back to post office!!! can't believe it, am only out of office for one day this month (for gyn appt) and package had to come yesterday morning!!!

s/w
nice pix!

augleo
i don't mind meeting as family!! wow time flies hor!
still rmbr the luncheon you org last yr

Sandwich
Lovely photos! Kaizer seems to enjoy himself alot during the session and you dun look preggie at all..still so slim.

Leo
Definitely keen on the Mother's day meetup idea but can't confirm attendance yet..

Cool_D
So is it Vietnam or Thailand first? ASEAN travelling this year huh. hehehe...

s/w
very nice pictures...so which studio is this? I love the bubbles and transparent board.

And you look GORGEOUS! Love the hair! haha.

Leo,
thanks for trying to recce

As for Mother's Day. I have no plans on the 2nd so plan away. Yup, if with Family, from 4pm is best otherwise I'll turn up by myself again like last year! :p

RCT - I quite like Aerins but there's really nothing for kids to do there. The only place I can think of to eat (there, with kids) is the Jap place we went to when Cindy came back. There's the ONE slide. haha.

Oh ya, there's supposed to be this child friendly place (Tanglin Tree) at Tanglin, opp Tanglin Mall, right? Anyone tried it yet? Comments/reviews?

min, her mom is sick so she wants to go back. have selected a new maid oredi and hopefully she'll arrive soon.

can't see the photos for some reason on my parent's pc!

meet up on mother's day? sure! i'll opt to go as a family. tanglin tree would be a good option - might be crowded on sat afternoon though since its a 'expat' hangout place.

s/w, i've been thinking of ACT3 too for C... think she'll enjoy.

michele,
waiting for ACT 3 to revert if they have space for the slot that i want. if it's fun, sign C up together. can you make it for sat morning slot?

kaexin, leo, coold, min,

springdance,
can see the preg tummy one of the pics when i'm reading the mom book =)

d,
good that you liked the hair. i didnt comb it that morning prior to the shoot. in fact, i don't comb my hair 95% of the time when i come to work, and actually received a comb as a x-mas gift from a concerned colleague last year!

the photographer's blog is http://www.themkjphotography.com/. she also has a biz thread on the forum now http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/2029748.html?1239760801

i signed up for the $88 package which includes 1.5 hour indoor session + 100 pieces of softcopies touched up + same 100 softcopies returned in a disc. topped up $4 to receive disc via registered mail. there are no hardcopies returned for the shoot.

leo,
i'm able to make it for the 2nd may gathering, either with or w/out my two boys. if it's with the kids, i dun mind revisiting the japanese food bazaar at raffles city, cos can keep the kids occupied with the playing area and food. if it's w/out the kids, then maybe we can go somewhere quieter.

s/w...
love the pix!! the photographer is good! now i really want to take pix too!

and u r v photogenic! I din realise ur hair is so long already!

shodoku sounds good for the mother's day meet up!

SpringD,

s/w's package sounds good for you to try out with Jonas...if I can find a suitable time slot, I'll try it out too...too bad if Jesse is a big groucho.

michele, cai, sanrio,

cindy,
you're not planning any more holidays right? heheee, can use the money to sign up for a package!

springd,
agree with D that you should just go try. $88 is really really really the cheapest you can find in the market already. so even if you're not satisfied with the results, at least not heartpain cos you spent less than a hundred on the package. you mentioned that jonas might be intimidated by the studio and photographer. this photographer is a mother herself, and her three young kids are roaming around at home (in the other rooms) so atmosphere is super homely and non intimidating. her studio is really just a small lao pok room inside her four room flat. and the props we use are those her kid plays with, i suspect. she's not the type to shout instructions to her photo subjects or the type to be irritated when the kid starts crying/wandering away. and i seriously think that if the kid just want to sit there and stone and waste time, she will just slow down the session and waste time together with the kid. so no pressure lah.

sanrio,
kaizer is a big fan of cherelle's blog. after you sent us home from caitlyn's place, i showed kaizer cherelle's blog to explain that you guys were the ones who send us home. then we watched cherelle sing happy birthday and cherelle say 1-9 in mandarin. so cute ... these are the two videos from her blog that he likes the best, and will ask to be repeated again! he's more apprehensive abt the ones where she sang in the dark, haha. maybe too dark cannot see her face.

s/w...
i showed my hb the pix of u & family and i told him how much it was and he was quite interested! so will see how!

i will be going to HK end of the month...so if below $100 still ok. I checked out Bunnie's Tomato photography...v ex, but vv nice!

Cindy, S/w

I checked out Tomato as well and it is nearer where we live...I'll say though that $88 makes it very attractive to try. Plus, I think her photography is good lah...so worth the try.

morning all!

min,
yah, telok blangah, near mount faber and 2 bus stops away from vivo

cindy,
at first my husband was not super interested, cos he had to go in the middle of the workday. but after seeing the snapshots, he said very nice, and asked how come don't have more shots of him, hahaa!

good morning mummies

Mother Day meet up:
thks for reverting.
about 5 mummies show interest

s/w, Cindy n D,
Shokudo is a good choice

no hassel on the billing + there is an area for kids to play.

so it will b family meet up?
kekeke! if is just mummies we can have more choices

Sandwich, D
You gals are rite...$88 is really an attractive rate..PLUS the venue is at Telok Blangah Way which is near our home! I'll go speak to my hubby tonight. Thanks...Hiak Hiak Hiak!

SW,
thank u kaizer for ur support
cher sings d most when she just woke up. my frds, ex- colleagues n cher's greatest fan (her daddy) like to watch cher's counting when they are too stressed at work :p i manage to video her singing some children songs in mandarin (not in d dark). wld try to upload soon. cher enjoys looking at her frds: kaizer, caitlyn n others blog too.
how to get to see d rest of ur fotos? yes $88 is a very gd deal n d fotos are really nice n u pretty mummy lah

SD,
go go, kids grow up real fast n is great to capture nice pictures of them now. u choose a timing tat is 'more suitable' for Jonas n wld b fine.

SpringD,

yup, it's 1.5hrs, more than enough time to warm up. In a home setting so less intimidating...got kor kors ard...and fr her portfolio, I think if Jonas really can't adapt to home setting, it looks like there's a playground nearby.

Leo,
w kids, I agree Shokudo is good. Tanglin Tree has kid's area too, if I'm not wrong and I hear it's a small place, so possible to book the whole place if we have enough ppl? Honestly, with kids, even a place like beach-side picnic etc is good since the kids have more freedom to roam and food is secondary.

BUT (here's the big BUT), we won't really get a chance to talk about anything cos we'll all be too distracted. Some think it's fun lah, and it is...but it depends on the "purpose" of the meet up lor - 1) to celebrate our motherhood or 2) to hmm... see each other's children and watch each other handle our kids. haha.

w/o kids, I also prefer quieter place like Rice Table at International building. Of course, I'm generally not fussy about food (only criteria "good"), location or price, so just decide and I'll be there, either way.

D,
Rice Table!!! me thot of it for soooo....long n no chance to try.
either fully booked or no suitable timing.
me too, both oki...will more prefers JUST MUMMIES! hahahaha!

Mothers' Day Gathering...
Timing just nice, too...I just finished my confinement...heehee..but donno whether hubby can manage 2 boys or not...

Cat,

ask him to bring to his mother/mil's place, sit there and wait for you to return. I bet you, that's what my HB would do too (unless it's nap time for J).

Leo,

well, see if mummies are keen on "Mummies Only" Lunch on May 2
Sounds fun. You know me lah, I always prefer "Mummies Only". hahah.

Eh...kaypoh, kaypoh go call and book for 10pax first lah. :p May 2 (long weekend Saturday). I've been wanting Rice Table for a while too...

Hi sandwich
The pix r really nice! N u look like some hot babe n not a preggie! In fact, I couldn't tell that u r preggie at all!

Hey cindy
My fren juz came back fr the US and passed us 2 bottles of gerbers puff n it is really yummy! I saw it at plaza sin's carrefour but they only hv yam n banana flavour. Think about $6 plus a bottle. So u can get it fr there once caitlyn depletes her supplies! ;O)

Hi Blueroti,

I have actually stopped buying gerber puffs in Singapore cos its really ex. Since she is a big girl now, I get her breakfast Os or other organic cereal cos its so much more value for money...one big box only $9! More economical! hehehee! ;p

I think in Singapore, they only have apple& strawberry, banana and sweet potato flavours. Apple Strawberry is the yummiest!

D!
U booked the photographer so fast ah! :p

Cindy,

the date and timing I want was there, so book lor...

i agree wrt snacks (value for money), but I still buy puffs because he likes it lah...haha. My diet consist of snacks and that's probably why it ranks so highly for me. Bad influence on the kid though.

blueroti,
can tell from one of the pics lah!

D,
i received the disc today already! now i look at the 100 edited shots and they look very little. wondering if i should top up $50 to get the entire 300+ pics in their unedited forms. photographer said her softcopies can blow up to 10R. i am thinking of doing a coffee table book for my mum with the pics for mother's day. and then doing a flippable photoframe for my MIL for mother's day. aiyah, so should i top up to get everything back???

sanrio,
today kaizer had normal milk fed to him in school. i received a call at abt 2 plus saying he was sick, and went to pick him up. all the classic allergy signs ... he puked twice and pooped twice just before i reached school, complained that tummy was "pain pain", had bloodshot and puffy eyes. so anyway i took him home and kept him on a liquids only diet till he went to bed just now. how did i know it was diary allergies? cos i tried to use the milk powder that was left over in his milk powder container to make his evening milk, and then the powder looked strange (didn't sink and dissolve like our usual hypoallergic powder + smelt/tasted too sweet to be hypoallergic). i think the teachers must have made a mistake or something. tomorrow i shall ask them. good thing in this episode: last time diary allergies his entire face would be swollen, now only eyes swollen so slowly improving already.

gifted children,
not to stress anyone here, but just have some snippets to share after having lunch yesterday with a colleague who has a 14yo daughter in the gifted stream and a 12yo son in mainstream. she's a very modest lady, but she did say that daughter's gifted-ness was apparent from a very early age. she could say words like "spectacles" at 10 months old!! could read independently by 4 and would be an emcee to performances by 4/5 years old. so if any of your tods started to sprout things like "spectacles" at 10 months old, they might grow up to be the gifted sort, given the right form of nurturing.

sandwich,
keira got food allergy too. confirmed last week.
and today i bought a chiffon cupcake for her from 4leaves and true enuf, her mouth area got red spots.

s/w,

aww...dang. Jesse only started saying 3 syllable words much much later...at 10 months...I don't remember what he did at 10 months! He wasn't even crawling yet...or was he?

as for the photos, if you need more photos, just pay the $50 lor. It's not that much money (a meal could cost more) and you get to keep it for life.

Meanwhile, where were you thinking of getting the photobook done?

SW, kaexin,
oops... poor kaizer n keira. diary is highly allergenic n ash still is allergic to it till now but yes, his reactions are milder as he grows older. but he has respiratory/airway allergy which is quite hard to manage wo relying on medications
hope our kids outgrow their allergies as they grow older.

SW,
the milk powder in d milk container was not packed by u? hope kaizer is fine now.
oh yes, i did let ash try karihome goat milk few tx, so far he is ok w it.

D,
oh haha, mine will prob get to 3 syllabus in about 1-2 month's time (my own estimation lah). but the colleague said that the gifted assessment done at primary school is slightly more lenient towards boys because they generally develop a little slower than girls. maybe at fotohub. dunno where else prints such books at a reasonable price.

sanrio,
yes it was packed by me, so i think the powder could have been contaminated/swopped in school because maybe a couple of kids share similar looking milk powder containers. mine's a munchkin container, so should be quite common.

kaexin,
on the upside, red spots around the mouth area is not too serious. she sounds like she'll outgrow (i'm suspecting hers is egg) allergy by her 3rd b-day!

s/w
guess you'll have to mark out Kaizer's container more to make it more unique. Lazy me would just use marker to write his name...draw a few stars...haha.

I've always wondered about that test. Didn't understand it for the life of me...teacher also never say anything. I think once they get the hang of "speech" they'll just progress. I am making him say, "hippopotamus", "rhinoceros", "parallelogram", "arabesque" etc for the fun of it. He thinks it's fun, I think it's funny.

Ya, I've also only thought of fotohub. I used Shutterfly in US and it was good. Tried the Sg one and it was not good...so don't go there.