(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

gene, yes i'm going! what time do you want to meet @ expo? i'm going to see if there's anything to buy for baby #2!

D, usually not that crowded on fri morning - strap J to the stroller!

mich,

ya...thinking of bringing him Fri after his nap & lunch...they only start at noon. Otherwise, I'd prefer to bring him in the morning...

Michele
How abt 1pm? Wanna have lunch together?
Not sure if I should bring stroller coz sometimes find it v troublesome to push around as most of the time, I've to run after G. But then, it's really useful when she's sleeping. Dilemma.

D, give J some credit lah... he's not that bad! call us when u reach expo on fri

ok gene, see u there at 1pm - meet at bk again? if u think she's going to nap then bring the stroller. otherwise leave it at home! u not going to drive?

Cherrytq: Plans for after ML....no time to think lor...every day in school until 6pm. Then fetch ah boy & go back parents/in-laws for dinner then go home, KO....how to plan *sigh*
Besides, economy so volatile...not advicable to change jobs now.

Michele: Nice to meet u today...Wednesday is the only day I'm free to walk walk...Fri expo got any gd promo can post here....I try to go in afternoon...

Mich,

sure...I'll let you know if/when I go. The boy's nap is...unpredictable! But I can't say I know Expo well. Only went once last year during NATAS.

He's a little worm right now. I don't think it's a bad thing lah...it's just a "thing". Easier to accept it (since it's not bad) then to try to change to him be something he's not (when it doesn't matter). He'll grow fat and tired like his parents when he's old enough! haha.

You know there was this T-storm here the whole afternoon, so we couldn't go downstairs for our walk (to get rid of his wriggles)...when I was preparing for his bath, he suddenly started running vigorously to and fro the length of my apt (living rm to my bedroom)...it was a little crazy and he was perspiring. But I guess even he knows he has to let it go. My little crazy boy.

Pre-Natas jitters...

wonder what I should zoom in on.

My HB as usual likes Banyan Tree (this year thinking of Phuket) but very hard to plan a trip when I don't know when I can get help. End of June, Phuket raining, right?

Now, just thought of looking into Club Med and bring Jesse along...so that's another one to "research" on...

Any other suggestions?

D,
i'm planning to go to the natas fair on sat. will be leaving kaizer at my mum's place since my parents miss him after we've skipped their place last weekend. they'll most prob be sticking to him like superglue this weekend. my next holiday will almost definitely include kaizer so i'm looking at a nearby destination and a child friendly holiday. i don't think club med will be having offers at the fair cos they operate very independently, no?

see if you can grab a copy of 8 days. there's a natas supplementary guide that has a list of vendors at the fair - so that you can do a bit of planning behind you reach suntec.

D and michele,
for our upcoming hotel stay, i'm hoping that jesse and claire can help me to pull kaizer into the pool ... for the whole of last year, he seems to have this phobia of shared pools, whether at hotels, condos or public pools. i find it very strange cos i thought all toddlers will love to play in pools. but he loves to play in the bathtub with his papa though, so maybe he's turning out to be a private and shy boy.

hey...if you guys wanna go to Natas Fair...try to go as early as possible to get the good deals and also avoid waiting too long.

I went to the fair the past 2 weekends...it was terrible. there were so many pp (doesnt look like recession at all!), have to wait so long before our Q no is called...and when it's finally our turn, the so called good deals were gone, we asked a few Qs, checked out the other deals which we din think was good at all...and yeah..after all the waiting...we didnt book any tours with them in the end. The only thing was my hb was so happy becos he spotted a tiny little pix of himself in the Monday Straits Times article on the Travel Fair! :p

And then we came back, did some searching on the internet and booked the air tix and hotel ourselves and we got an even better deal!

Thanks Michele for alerting me on the good hotel deal!

cindy
where you flying off this time?

other than orange, what else is considered citrus fruits?
i think PD's medicine is workng on D. can hear phlegmy cough but not as frequent and at least he is not hacking away badly.

Will be going to Taiwan in March and Hong Kong in April. Was at the Fairs cos wanted to find a good deal for the HK trip.

I think cannot eat grapes too if having cough n phlegm.

Hope all the babies that are sick get well soon!

Gene...call me out lah...I am in JE v often.

Michele
No, don’t think I’ll drive that day. Will take the train instead. Ok, so shall see you 1pm at BK.

Cindy
Can meet you for lunch on Tues or Thurs after Gladys’ class ends at 12.30pm.

s/w

My hb telling me to go to NATAS fair on Sunday afternoon instead. That way can leave Jesse with my in laws...but I wonder, by Sunday afternoon (4pm), does that mean no more good deals?

I checked out the club med website leh...they have some sort of deals.... check their site out. But I don't know if they're at the fair.

But then, I read tripadvisor and club med phuket seems to have bad (recent) reviews...cherating seems to be doing better...but still doesn't seem good.

For the hotel stay, my "plan" is - after his nap and lunch will bring him to check in (probably around check in time). Join the party, if any. Or our little own gathering
Dinner, sleep. Next morning, play in the pool...until 10+ then have to check out and go home for nap etc. Honestly, I don't know if he'll/we'll sleep that night...so naps are important. haha.

Cindy,
are Taiwan and HK, child-friendly?

you went to sydney last year? How was that? I suggested Australia to my hb last night, then he said, "go where, do where?" and I can't exactly say either!

In the end I said, "aiyah, go sunway and call it a day" :p

I'm wondering where to go...

s/w, mich,

was looking at the Sentosa brochure, now thinking of going underwater world and watch the 7:40pm Sound of the Sea as well. Do you think our tods will like it?

caicai,
I've never been to Japan and can't speak the language. Unless someone can give me itinerary and stuff, very hard leh... plus I'll say I'm not japan-siao... so it's just another country to me.

D, i like jpn alot . hehehe , one day , going to bring my son for holiday.

but this natas fair , i am also looking at hk/macau, taiwan package ,hope to bring my parents along

i'm so envious - everyone's planning for holiday!! i really have to go for one more trip before i pop because i cannot imagine the logistics of travelling with an infant and a super active todd!

D, i've been thinking of club med cherating for a long time already! and yes, i wanna go to 'songs of the sea' when we stay over!

OZ is probably one of the 'easiest' place to visit with todds in terms of things to do, accessibility (short flights), easy to find baby friendly spots (supermarkets well stocked with bb necessities so really don't need to bring many things)

if anyone is keen to go to OZ, just ask me! :p

HK is also pretty ok for todds as long as you are not going to be adventurous and go shopping with them in tow! haha... there's also quite a fair bit to do - disneyland, ocean park, harbour cruises. i find the supermarkets are quite well-stocked with bb stuff too. however, you can hardly find high chairs at restaurants/char chan tengs!

japan, from what i've heard is great for todds but i went there prior to having C so wouldn't be able to comment.

thailand - if you are thinking of beach resorts, i suppose it all depends on your child. mine is totally an outdoor person so she had a blast at krabi - enjoyed eating sand and playing in the sea/beach!

D: Japan is quite tourist friendly in the main cities - they have signs and maps in english, and most pple on the street can speak some english. In fact, you can even find people asking "can you speak chinese?" we did wander to offbeat places but we survived hehe (without kids ok) but the places we went i wont bring V or go with V cuz all non smoke free ... we went cuz of the FOOD ...

I want to go on a trip before I pop and was planning with my gfs in OZ, but unfortunately my hubby "free" and my "free" period cannot match, so we won't be able to go on a trip before i pop. feeling a bit miserable since I used to travel at least once a year, but it's almost 2 years since i travelled!!!!

For mummies who use Bellamy's milk:
Price Reduction Promotion - Bellamy's Step 2 & 3 milk formulas

We have a price reduction promotion for Bellamy's Step 2 & 3 milk formulas.
Venue: Cold Storage and Jason's Marketplace
www.kemena.com.sg

Date: 26th Feb 2009 to 13th Mar 2009

wah cindy!
i'm so envious! i also want to go taiwan and HK!
my frens from HK said there are plenty of sales!
my hubby said mayb we can go to the HK disneyland. I luv Taiwan for the food! went years ago and both my hubby and i still have fond memories of the trip!

and D, caicai
yep, we went to tokyo last Nov. it's super baby friendly! they even have formula milk packed in sachets (like those 3-in-1 coffee mix)! so all you've to do is juz pour hot water! but go to their pharmacies to get the milk powder and diapers coz their system there is different. you can't get the baby stuff from supermarkets.
and there're lots of cheap baby biscuits (like those pigeon ones). you can bring your stroller along and park it outside the eateries and it won't go missing.
the only issue i had is for some subway stations, they don't have lifts or escalators so if u bring stroller, you'll have to carry it up and down the stairs (the station near my fren's place didn't have both). but don't worry, most of the main stations eg. shinjuku have lifts or escalators.

i actually want to go japan again for the sakura season but my hubby said we've juz gone there so maybe should go somewhere else.

hey diane
maybe u can try to go for a short trip? bali or phuket? time with a public holiday so that u dun have to take too many days of leave.

blueroti,
ws also wants to go n see the sakura this time round. and i was thinking of hokkaido this time round

ya, carrying stroller up n down is a nightmare.

blueroti , go jpn next yr lor , im also aiming for sakura season . tis yr not possible for me , sonny is still too young to understand .

We'll bring Jesse to disneyland when he's old enough...cos now, he can't tell a mouse from a monkey. He thinks mickey is a monkey. AND, there's only that many times I wanna sit "it's a small world". Oi!

Mich,
if I wanna go Perth for 4 - 5 days, what (active tod friendly) can we do there? My hb has been he says there's nothing there. I've never been. I've been to the eastern side of Queensland, NSW and Victoria though. That was when I was still so young, definitely didn't do anything kid friendly. :p

my hb has been to japan and he said he'll bring me there one day (to eat). For now, again, I don't want to bring Jesse...Japan/HK cos, I don't enjoy eating when he's around. And cannot go spa, shopping, etc.

Right now, I think the best holiday for Jesse involves pools, beach and his father :p

Cherating? I have to read some more reviews first... did you visit their website?

mich,

sound of sea tix need to buy in advance? think we can only go for the 7:40pm show...and that's already pushing it. haha.

I've not seen this since I was in pri school!

D, all i can say is when we travel by ourselves and with kids, the itinerary is TOTALLY different!

if you like self-drive holidays like me, there are plenty of things/places to check out. for OZ, i'd say go at a time when temperatures are comfortable (and to me, that's abt 15 - 20 degrees celsius). i think J takes well to his car seat (unlike C) so both of you can take turns to drive out of the city (where there's nothing) to the countryside.

for perth - i'd choose the following
- fremantle for seafood and weekend markets
- rottnest island for the beach and just a relaxing day out (i dived there!)
- perth zoo for the koalas and kangaroos
- margaret river for farm stays, chocolate factory, vineyards, water falls and bush walking
- bunsbury for dolphin watching

there, plenty to do for 4 - 5 days!

mich,

thanks for the tips...will see if hb wants to do those... :) Think it's fun lah...but my two boys think staying in the resort (till the cows come home) is fun...but I don't get to see anything!

Ya, can look into getting tix closer to the date. this week s/w not "online".

have you read about cherating? I like that there's a petite club there.
I'm currently reading the discipline article Mrs Lai posted yesterday...will travel more about cherating later.

mich,
you know me so well...hehe. Ya, our sentosa trip will be "testing bed" haha. Then we'll know how many rooms to book when we go Sunway later this year.

when I was growing up, I only went to M'sia (all.the.time). Actually, I don't mind it...so...maybe I'll do the same to Jesse! Think right now, all he wants is people he know (and love) around him...and a pool.

Phew, finally finished the article. Quite an interesting read...

Back to reading up on club med.

Eh, I might not go Expo tomorrow since HB wants to go with me on Sunday (and w/o Jesse). Deal is too sweet!

But like s/w said, it seems club med doesn't have a booth at NATAS anyway. Bought 8 days just now

I'm a "slow" traveller...I much rather stay at a place for a while then go there for a week or two. But how to do that, right? hehe

Kid's Loft
any mummies here send bring/used to bring their child to Kid's Loft? Is it good?

I'm interested to check it out but Turf City is a whole other country!

halo mick
hey how is kiera? better i hope. hopefully she's now immune to all the nasty virus out there!
i'm thinking of going to osaka or kyoto. but when's the sakura season - march or april? i know for 1 year, it was earlier than expected.

hey caicai
i'm itching to go japan again coz' i did kinda enjoyed the trip last year! and it's one of the most baby frenly places, next to australia. i thot of going to perth for farm stay but my fren said the farm stay in the oz is too commercialised, NZ will be better. BUT the thought of the flight to NZ i want to "peng san"!

hi D
you're so funny! actually, i've never been to disneyland before! so it'll be a novelty for me. but i rather go to the 1 in tokyo than HK actually.

I've been to the disneyland in CA twice...so...not too keen lah. Anyway, I'm not interested in Disney...but will go again lah, if Jesse tells me he wants to go.

Blueroti , it is usually End Mar - B/Apr
but for colder places like Hokkaido , guess it will be later . not sure wor .

hope to go next yr !

cindy----> u book ur hk hotel ?

D...
I think for OZ...kids will prefer Perth or Gold coast better than Sydney or Melbourne. OZ is a good place for kids...very child friendly. Food no problem at all.

Taiwan and HK...definitely less baby friendly than OZ but its doesn't really bother me...if need to change diaper surely can find somewhere to change. If need to eat, definitely will be able to find something to feed her..doesn't matter. Hahahaa.

Blueroti,
Taiwan really good ah? Goog good..it's going to be my first time there. I am going HK cos going to attend Cousin's wedding so mite as well holiday there at the same time lor!

Caicai...
Hotel booked already. You got good deals to tell me?

blue,
hokkaido will be early may.
think kyoto shld be even nicer in mar/april.
the places we had been would be ever nice covered in cherry blossom.

cai2,
not now lah. if going to hokkaido, then will be early may liao. keira is recovering at home. my frend brot over more diff puzzles for her to do

blue,
actually for oz, i want to go tasmania/adelaide only. NZ, we will only go if we can plan together with my uncle in melb. they have family in NZ and the uncle there has been inviting us over.

Cindy
Cait is sure a lucky kiddo...been to sooo many countries by two years old...I remember when I was a kid, the 1st trip was during primary school and to Genting only!

This generation of children sure are lucky!

Kaexin
Wow...more Japan again...can never get tired of the ramen, sashimi and sushi ya. kekekek!

D
Agree that when at Turf City....it makes me feel that we are at the other side of the causeway already!

Oh ya..I think Sanrio's gal was with Kids' Loft for a period of time.

Min,
try to avoid grapes, watermelon and pear. It causes phlegm.

Cindy,
Totally agree that little cait will do well in any places. See ur blog, she's always so well behaved.

kaexin,
Glad to hear Keira is getting better.

Michelle
Hope Keira recovers soon! I know exactly how you feel.

Btw, the other time I posted abt ordering of cakes? You're consolidating orders for eCreative?