(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

gene, yes i do think its quite common to get stomach flu if ur child is 'school-going' coz hygiene plays a big part - if an adult has stomach flu, it will spread very easily, not to mention little children.

u might want to try diluting the medication - that's why i do with C when she's vomits. just make sure that she finishes the whole dose. mine regurgitates out EVERYTHING too! talk abt messy! but its really impt to keep them hydrated.

mich,
well, for now if we just look at the top 3...it seems only Rasa is in all our lists.

Ya, if no other families then we can carry on our conversation offline.

Hmmmm...mummies...I'm very (X10) keen for the Mass b-day celebration but a bit worried cos it's rather near my EDD...either I've popped or soon to be...so tentative, for convenience of the organiser, dun put my name?

Michele
I just brought her to the PD again coz she just can't seem to take in the medicine. She was given a dose of Domperidone down her butt at noon. Now she's asleep so hope she feeling better. The PD says if she does not improve, may need to be admitted.

Gene,
hope G gets better...

Mich, S/W,
how about Bintan Lagoon? anyone been there, any good?

It doesn't seem more expensive than sentosa.

hi gene
my girl had fever, on and off, for about 5 days before her diarrhoea started last Sat. We went to the PD on Monday and by Wed, she was better.
but good that you brought gladys to the doc since you're worried. my PD said it will take 3-5 days before they would recover. But if there's vomitting and blood from stools, pls send to the hospital immediately. hopefully Gladys will be well soon. just call your PD/doc if you are still worried and in doubt. my girl started having fever again today so hope it's not the gastro flu again.

Just flip the calender : Good Friday on 10th April.

Gladys, JK and aunty wish u speedy recovery. ur mummy is tired too

Gene,

Thanks for your concern. He is better now. His appetite has returned. For the past 5-6 days, he refused to eat his meals. He was mostly on liquid diet. However, he is still coughing now. Not fully recovered yet.

He must have caught the virus in his cc

*michele*,

I think children do catch virus from one another when they go to school. My boy gets himself more troubles when he started cc

min n all mummies whose children are not feeling well: Hope your precious princes and princesses get well soon!

Coughing: Lele once coughed on-off for more than 2 weeks and I consulted my fren. She strongly advised me to visit a PD cos her PD told her that if young children has prolonged coughing it"s very bad for their lungs, might weaken lungs. I so scared hurry bring him to PD (up till then I din seek med treatment for lele cos tot the cough, not very serious and mostly at nite/naps when he is lying position) will disappear on its own.

PD told me that actualli if youngchildren cont coughing for more than 5days, should seek treatment.

For lele's case, pd said that due to delayed treatment, he had sensitive airways which caused excessive phlegm production esp when he is lying down (nap/slp)

Lesson learnt: coughing ke xiao ke da. Cannot take too litely...

Agreed with Kate lor..Mal was coughing on and off for 3 weeks last time, nowadays Mal tends to start coughing whenever he eats cold food/biscuit...

Hope all the pretty princess & handsome prince recovers soon...mummies, take care, too. I know it's especially heart-pain for mummies...

ya, the last time J coughed for a week or two as well and by the time we brought him to PD, he had mild bronchitis.

Wonder when their airway would be more mature...

D/ blueroti/ Augleo/ Catherine
Thank you all for your concern. I think Gladys is slightly better. At least she puke lesser throughout the day.

At abt 6pm, I gave her medicine for her fever. Then she asked for food. After giving her a variety of choices, she settled for lotus bao and she finished almost the whole thing and had half a cup of water, bit by bit. That's a good improvement. Just now, she was throwing a bit of tantrums, which she did not have the energy to earlier. So that's good too.

At abt 10pm, gave her another pill down her butt. And by 11pm, she fell asleep. But I realised that she's not sleeping well though, as in she's always tossing and turning and occassionally opening her eyes to see if I'm beside her. Usually, she'll be in deep sleep till the next morning.

Hope she'll be better tomorrow. *fingers crossed*

gene...

hope gladys get well soon...if she continue to vomit out the medicine...i tink u can request fr suppositories...to insert to butt...it works faster..to bring down temp and stops vomitting...

chloe is oso sick...coughing...

Milo
Ya, Gladys had 2 doses of pill inserted into her butt and she's getting better.

Hope Chloe is well. You know, the weather is so bad and it's even worse for our little ones.

gene, that's good! at least u see some improvement - very heartache to see li'l ones down and out one... that's why i'm glad that mine very rarely falls sick! *touch wood* plus she's already so light weight - every time she falls sick, she will lose all the weight put on for the last couple of months!

D, been to bintan a couple of times - i think there's more to do on sentosa than the whole bintan leh. not really a fan coz of the ridicuous SG prices that they charge.

i'm thinking - even for those who doesn't want to stay over, still can join us for a mass celebration party, say a picnic & water play. i recall some of you had fun at some water play area? maybe we just cater food from one of the outlets there to save our trouble of preparing food for everyone?

milo n gene,
u all dun hv trouble to insert into ur child's butt huh? when JK's fever hit 39.9, PD oso give us that but me n hb struggle n sweat still can't do it. arghhhh....we were like...what else can we do to keep his temp. down.

Mass celebration party

any1 else interested and dun mind 10th April?
is a long wknd, guess some of u might hv plan for short trip?

Leo,

one of my friend's child (almost 4yo) only take meds through suppository. According to her, "at least it doesn't taste bad". hmm... I've only seen it done once to J, the nurse just lift the legs up (like wearing diaer/wiping poop) and stick it in gently. Apparently, it'll just go in. Oh, must put lubricant first. But I don't know if I can do it if/when I have to.

Mich,
ya...for J I'm glad that he's mostly well too. Thank God.

Okay, Sentosa's good.

So I guess if we're aiming for a Sentosa picnic or party again we can book hotel as soon as S/W gets back?

10th April for the party is good. Cos I need to be somewhere early Sunday morning (12th) and might just check out on 11th.

I'll look at the Sentosa website and see where we can order food from...hmm...

hmmm...look look look...think rasa sentosa (though looks old) seems good because it's at one end of the beach and right next to it. Also like that it's near underwater world cos have been thinking of bringing J there for a while.

As for where to get food and meet up proper...hmm...it's quite a trek from where we met the last time.

Don't know the island well so think I better let the experts plan...

Catherine/Dee: That's y some old folks including my ILs believe very much that young children should not take cold food/drinks. If we give lele fruits, we'll remove them from fridge and let it "warm up" to room temp first. As for cold drinks, think he's only had a few times water-cooler water (for fun since he wanted to try) in his entire life! Even food must take warm warm, so always have to give a lil portion at a time so tt the food will always be warm. ILs believe tt if food too cold, will cause wind in tummy.

One time lele and I were on our way out. A stranger asked why he doesn't wear shoes. I explained tt he has but not wearing yet since he was sitting in pram. He advised me to at least put on socks and I was like, so hot weather lei. He said that young children very easy let coldness get in thru the feet....................

So many ways of "protecting" child lor... also dunno whether to follow all and if not which ones to ignore?

I follow the no-cold-drinks/food theory cos I reallie notice that if lele consumes too much fruits he will start a few coughs.

Leo:10April sounds good...

Michele
Gladys is pretty ok generally but when she's down, it's usually more serious. Like she's got rosela once and diarrhoea twice. And now this vomiting.

Today, she's pretty ok. At least she's asking for food and taking it well. I'm sticking to light food like cheerios, bread and plain porridge and of coz water.

Augleo
I can't do it. I can't even use a tampon without an applicator. My hb will do it. I think it'll be easier if the bb is lying on the side. Then you just pull up one side of the butt and slide the pill in swiftly. But first, you have to put some KY on the tip of the pill.

Maybe that time, JK could sense that both u and hb were both tense. That causes him to be scared la. But I guess most of the time, they'll be so weak, they won't have the strength to retaliate.

a lot of kids are sick nowadays, do watch out and make sure that they have plenty of water too.

keira got discharged fm KK this afternoon. we went to A&E on thursday nite as her fever went up to 40.3. actually i wasnt too keen to bring her to A&E.

but since her fever was climbing rapidly, we went ahead and brought her. she had xray and blood test done. xray shows phelgm in her left lung and her blood test shows WBC at 47, doc recommended admission. she got mild pneumonia

Michelle
Hope Keira is well. Her condition sounded serious.

I think as mothers, sometimes its a little contradicting. As much as we want our kids to receive immediate medical care, we were also afraid if our little one has to be admitted.

gene,
hope gladys has recovered. there was a gal in A&E in the same nite, she got gastro. she was also admitted but got discharge yesterday. she is only a mth older from keira.

D, there are plenty of buses/trams that we can take around the island - don't need to worry abt that!

as for food, i'm thinking subway/coffee bean/delifrance?

Michelle,
wah...sounds bad. Wat's WBC? Glad to hear she has discharged...means she's better.

Kate,
my FIL who's into TCM also says no cold this and that. Haven't heard him say anything about fruits though but we don't talk a lot either lah...

As for Jesse and myself, he's been eating fruits straight out of the fridge, some times take my cold drinks or his own cold juice, "cold" dinner or lunch if he takes too long to eat and etc etc...also like that. We told our friend the same thing about not wearing anything at his foot when he was younger...also like that.

Whenever Jesse has a cold or cough it's due to a virus - usually some sway adult will cough or sneeze directly onto him when we're out. Thankfully that's not that often though...

Think if my mother were around, she'd also remind me about not giving him cold this and that. Perhaps I should be more careful since he's a child but I've never subscribed to is (since I could decide for myself) since I don't feel/see the difference. Remember in JC my remedy for sore throat is fried food! :p

michele,
sure, I'm fine with those. I thought of coffee bean earlier too but only because I've always wanted to try their cakes.
I know delifrance caters. Subway could be the staple.

Read today's newspapers, think it's the second page of "Life!" - there's an article on deals on hotel stays in Singapore. Think only Amara is listed for Sentosa. I love what they wrote for Shangri-La (city) though...they'll give a teddy bear (haha) and breakfast at The Line.

D: I think it all boils down to our comfort level and mummy gut instincts ba. There are a million ways from a million cultures, so it is impossible to abide by each one. What matters most is seeing our lil ones thriving n happie

Kaexin: Hope keira is alrite now...

Mummies, just thought I'd share something read from babycenter yesterday about disciplining toddlers. It says that we have to be direct with our requests. For example, we should say, "Please sit down." instead of "Don't climb onto the chair." or "Please walk along the corridor" instead of "don't run along the corridor".

It struck me that even though I believe in the above very much, I failed to put it into action now that lele is a tod...

Without realising it, I have said more "nos" and "don'ts" to him each day. I think it's simply because as parent, it felt more natural to say no?

Mummies who believe in the above discpline technique and put it into action, good for you!

Mummies like me who beliee in but forgot to put into action, hope we can ganbatte from now on

D,
WBC - white blood count, keira's was like 47, think the range is like until 17. WBC is used to fight against infection, since her was alarmingly high, she was admitted.

kate,
she is much beta,thanks! now need to reduce the phlegm in her lung, due for review in 2 weeks.

am back! was a good trip cos kaizer was very well behaved. i think can bring him to genting next, as he takes to bus rides well.

d and michele,
won't be able to access the comp tomorrow during office hours (for the whole week actually) as i'm attending a course. if you gals are deciding on the hotel tomorrow, you can just go ahead and book for me (whatever choice you want). i'll transfer the funds to whoever has paid first.

kaexin and gene,
take care! hope the little ones get soon fast. they'll get sick very often when they start school. you've just gotta grit your teeth and pray that the troublesome sick period tides over soon.

Kaexin
oh dear.. hope K recover fast! so you gotta keep her at home for next few days?
did she cough very badly?

s/w
what did you do to entertain kaizer on the coach?

kate
i think channel 8 ever had this programme few yrs back on how to deal with kids.
experts say that we shd suggest what our kid shd do instead of saying "no, cannot do this or that"
bcoz if we say "no" then they won't know what else to do.

it pity the prog was aired before i got pregnant otherwise it wil be very useful!

Kaexin
Oh dear .. glad K is discharge le and on her way to recovery. take care

kate
i read a similar article too and I thot it makes all sense. It's like when u say "Don't run". Some x e kiddo oni hear RUN. So, the suggestive word is 'walk' or 'stop'. You knw, juz e other day, jboy was playing wif e remote control near e window. FIL saw and shouted 'Cannot throw'. In shock, jboy threw the remote out of the window .. luckily it din hit any1.

coold , zac threw his ball out of the window ysterday .

i was too late to shout "cannot throw"

he threw out the ball and said proudly , " ball no more ... where ball ??"

caicai
at least u cud retrieve the ball .. the remote dat flew out of the window was totally shattered. Now I need to try and find a replacement for IL. any1 knw if i can buy a replacement remote control? Otherwise, i need to replace the DVD player :s

coolD , heng it never hit any passerby , imagine being hit by a high floor object ?

so i kept my windows closed since yesterday's incident ...

u can buy universal remote con at those hardware shop/ carrefour shd hv too

CoolD
OMG. Killer litter. Luckily never hit anyone/ thing.

Sandwich
Gladys is feeling much better today. Has been asking for food and quite back to her 'energetic' self.

coold
wow really heng nvr hit any car

my D was also caught lifting the bamboo pole 1/4 out of the window. imagine it smashing down. luckily i stop him in time!!

i bot D to PD today. luckily his lungs are not affected but PD was complaining that the strong flu/cough bug are in the air
and many parents chose to go GP or self medicate first then when children don't recover then they come PD for last resort which must be due to recession. which is not healthy for young kids.

anyway he was given few btl of medi and a yucky anti botics which D hates it! and a ear drop coz D's ear got a big pc of wax inside

min,
keira started having cough and phlegm, actually the PD we saw diagnosed as bronchitics and was given a course of antibiotics the week before.
agree with you, when i brot her to the PD, she told me by the time she sees the kids, she is required to prescribed antibiotics already. out of 10kids, 7 need them.
and this pd dun anyhow prescribe them. keira is on 2 weeks course now and this one is from garanules. a bit sandy type. she is okay with it though. and fulmisil to clear the phelgm

caicai/sandwich/gene/min/darbb,
thanks! ya, will keep her out of school for the next 2 weeks to fully recover.