(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

ixora,
keeps the potty?
mayb the potty's color is attractive to her???

ixora,
jo has grown so much and so advance. :p
yup, at time like this, i also feel that we are blessed with good health is most impt. every other things seems insignificant.

dats why mummies .. forget potty training, forget abt forming sentence, forget jumping, forget self feeding .. juz appreciate and enjoy our little babies. Afterall, they are not even 2 yrs old

kaexin,
guess she's always curious, likes to ask 'what's that? what's this?' mayb that helps her to learn..

coold,
yup well said, dun force them..

SW, CD, Kaexin,
so sad to hear abt kids falling so sick. yes, i m agn reminded to b tkful tat our lil ones are healthy. treasure evy moments w them as they grow up 'really fast'.

nowadays D refused to self feed but willing to let me put him own toilet seat whenever i change diaper.

which is always the other way round in the past.. refuse to sit potty but very willing to self feed.

aiya.. my boy going through so many mood change!

and he prefer to sleep horizontal way on our bed. and squeezing hubby and i outta bed every wee hours in the morning

due to not enough sleep.. my hubby turn grouchy. sigh!

cool D
you are so right. last time i get so stressed up when D refuse potty, refuse to drink milk from cup..etc thinking all these shd be trained from young

but now that i face him 24/7.. i decided to give him and myself a break and i knows he will do it when he is ready!

a book said "this is not a race and is the child's achievement not the caregivers."

developmental timeline:
20 to 24 months
= Put on 1 simple pc of clothings (e.g. sock) JK only knows how to pull out

= Jump up n down
= Combine 2 to 4 words
= Use prepositions
= maybe able to talk using 2 to 3 sentences
= build a tower with 6 to 8 objects
= draw a line in imitation
= more interest in potty training

25months to 30months
= name a friend
= describe what an object can do
= balance on one foot for one to 2 seconds
= jump forward
= name a color

for now = JK can't do 2 of the each timeline of abovementioned.

just for reference hor

min , i second u , my hubby also extremely grouchy at bedtime , alwys complaining his sonny is notti n noisy

that is the reason i dun wan #2 , he cannot stand #1 , how can hv #2 ...

i think mothers are great , though we are not physically stronger than men , i think our selfless love for our kids surpasses that of guys.(personal opinion)

in childbirth , we perservere and push out the baby with all our might .
mummies breastfeed their babies/mummies take care of their sick child etc

Leo,

just for fun and to "show" you where J is...

developmental timeline:
20 to 24 months
= Put on 1 simple pc of clothings (e.g. sock) (hmm... dunno...never tried)
= Jump up n down (nope)
= Combine 2 to 4 words (yes)
= Use prepositions (wat dat?)
= maybe able to talk using 2 to 3 sentences (yes)
= build a tower with 6 to 8 objects (erm...no interest)
= draw a line in imitation (eats pen or any "drawing object")
= more interest in potty training (ya, he says, ("sit toilet bowl, see bus book")

25months to 30months
= name a friend ("Joanie, Joanie, See Joanie" - whenever we go near their home. He does say JK too, dun jealous :p)
= describe what an object can do (could open a box today so he said, "take scissors, cut open")
= balance on one foot for one to 2 seconds (haha)
= jump forward (erm...he pretends to jump ;))
= name a color (I think he knows "red" but as you know, he's very sneaky and cheeky...he can name his books though and what's in each book)

Overall? I think he's doing just fine. haha. Not the most advanced, but not the least advance either...and definitely stronger in some areas than others.

Tantrum wise, he's still at the screaming stage. *sigh* My Little Caveman.

so far D can only identify black and red

then when i teach him other colours he will always say black instead of blue/orange

now i suspecting that he may be colour blind which i hope not!

Leo,

have to admit lah, pretend to jump cuter than actual jumping, right? ;p

Min,
don't think that's colour blind lah...when he can't tell you red from green at 5 years old...then check.

J sees something "pink" and says "red". I say, "good job" cos it's close enough for me.

Min,
I don't think "shades" are something they are particular about for now lah...nothing "professional" about what i'm saying but it just seems like commonsense to me. Like "pink" and "red" (even some shades of "orange"). What's a 22 month old to know? Till now, I still "argue" with my friends on "grey" and "blue"!

D
acually i oso lazy .. n dan find excuse says 'nvm, jboy is still a bb' .. keke :p

augleo
jboy can put on his pants .. if he is lucky. If he's not, 2 legs end up in 1 side of the pants. Like dat count? And hor, after the kite day, now jboy says 'kai kai' more than 'neh ni'. I on pc, he will says 'kai kai'. Last time always 'neh ni' .. keke :p

caicai
actually i told hb b4 abt mother's selfless love. But his arguement is, woman more into short term and immediate issues. Men r more into long term stuffs. So he felt dat fathers will put in more effort into like making $$, ensuring gd life for the family etc. Dats their way of showing love. I gave him a ':-s' look .. dunno to agree or disagree.

cool_d
your hubby is not wrong in saying that. But I think times have changed now, gender-specific roles have more or less become interchangeable, like women can also earn money, and men can change diapers and teach the children. As long as it's a partnership beneficial to the family, who does what is not that important anymore. My personal views :p

Augleo,

I am interested in the zoo membership. I want 2 individual zoo membership passes valid for 1 year. Each individual original price is S$80 as shown on their website.

http://www.zoo.com.sg/membership/memberships.htm?target=newsignup

How much discount did u have the last time u bought? The zoo's membership fees seems to increase ;p Can it be more than 10% discount on the membership? Please advise on this.

Mummies who are interested in Zoo membership:

1) Pisces Gal

Many thanks in advance
!

Wah...so in the end I was late...and ended up meeting ppl I didn't think would be there! Great seeing you again and for the first time

Leo,
I ask HB first then get back to you...we didn't manage to get the mag subscription...

coold,
sad to say, my HB is the one who tends to J at night (and whenever he's around)...I'm very slack. :p Oh and he brings home the bacon too.

Augleo...

Aaaa....think Mal can't do any of the above developmental milestones....except he likes to wear our shoes & walk around...does that count??

My hubby suggested to ask whether u have developmental milestones from 12 to 18months instead...;-))

Min/dee: sorrie I din get to meet up with u guys today cos lele's nap took too long and I did not manage to leave in time.

min: I did not have your contact no. so din manage to contact u, only dee... did u meet w dee in the end?

dee/michele: how did u find the trial session? sorrie din get to chat much during lesson...

Leo: Your JK very advanced in potty-training
How did u remind him to go? Previously I tried asking him many times if he needs to pee, but each time he will reply negative and accident so many times till sian so I just brot him to the toilet to pee every now and then. Wondering if I should have asked him so that he knows to tell me?

Catherine,
u n ur hb are cute lah.
jus refer to milestones thingy from 13months onward, there are some that JK still can't do yet.
= won't type those i ever see Mal can do them

From 13 months onward:
* drink from a cup
* remove a small article of clothing
* knows at least 1 body part

by 17 months
* throw a ball overhead
* build a tower with 2 to 3 objects
* combine 2 words
* name or point as if to identify 2 objects in a picture book
* walk up steps

18 to 20mths
* Wash n dry hands
* name about 6 body parts
* zip clothing, such as jackets

hw r u coping with work, Mal n 3rd tri?
4 months ML on ur way......

ps_gal,
mayb u can help nego. a better offer for us

let me knows if u want the contact of the zoo mktg staff whom I'm liaising.

Kate,
still hv lots more to do n learn from others

JK will be more conscience when he wears only the brief. my hb observes that when JK crossed his legs, when he was reminded "time to pee!" but JK's answer is "Nope!"
crossed legs = holding his bladder
when we lead him to toilet, he pees.
mayb u can try to observe lele's posture for start.

JK will feels bad when he wet the floor. he dare not move till we come to his "rescue".

during morning stroll, JK is aware that if he wet his pants/short he needs to be home n no more rides from playgrd.

Leo: yup, so many things to learn from the forum here... Each time I visit, never fail to amaze me the wealth of info that are being shared!

Yor're right. I should give lele a chance to let me know when he wants to pee even if it means mistakes or "spills"... After all, if I constantly bring him to the bathroom, he will only rely on me to bring him instead of on himself.

kate
pity you were late.. yeah met up with Dee, Mrs Chia and Moxi.

it was fun chatting with you all pity we did not hv much time.. perhaps we can do this again somewhere in town where we do not hv to rush for class

D
did J enjoy his trial today?

Leo
so you started diaperless when JK can say pee/poo issit?
i'm tempted to make him go diaperless for 1 hr a day so that he can understand what is wet or dry

Leo,
i agree is 'easier' to train when i put ash on brief then diaper. he wld b more 'aware'. yes i remb, ash wld put his 2 legs tightly together or 'cross' legs, meaning he is holding his bladder n need to pee. i train him standing up right fr d start since he is boy mah.

sanrio
juz saw yr blog and wanna say congrats to CHer for winning the contest
and also the vday dinner looks so romantic!

sanrio,
yes
rmbr u shared with me n Min during the M.Sq meet up = abt standing to pee.
but now, JK refuses to sit n pee.
hopefully i can hold him n reach the public toilet bowl to pee.
Care to share when do u starts diaperless for Ash's nap time? needs to buy those protector sheets?

min,
answer is NO

as mentioned, JK can't say much words but we still go ahead w/the diaperless
get some tips from a mummy in the zoophonics holiday prog. her daughter was fully toielt trained by 2YO. must endure the clean up for the first 2 months.
best is nothing w/the panties/brief....i asked...not even nappy cloth?

now he can run to us and say "wee wee" + choose the toilet he wants to pee.

sharing the process:
* 1st try of diaperless when JK was 15months old. he walked away n slipped over the "spills". heart still aching....no more diaperless till late last yr.

* now he knows is wrong to pee outside the toilet bowl/bath area. he will keep still n wait for us get him out from the "flood"

= now ur toddlers can communicate with u better, ask them not to move after the "spills".

* Other than toilet bowl n bath area, if he wet himself....i try (to REN!) to tell him = is oki, but he can do better job by "unload" in the toilet.

* so far, except home JK tried diaperless @MIL's home. (short distance). daring? hahaha! we worry the car seat too

Upon arrival, we show JK where is the toilet and that is the place to pee.

Only once pee outdoor which we were @the beach.
He wore this tee n brief to hv picnic with us.

* for boys, papa's demo are helpful

hope my sharing din bore u all.
JK still pee n poo on diapers.....
do share ur experience and tips with us

we all know :
slow starters doesn't mean the last one to reach destination.

diaperless = save the earth PLUS save cost.

augleo
e 1 phase i picked up is 'for boys, papa's demo are helpful'. So i tink will task jon on tis. Maybe give him timeline till 2.5yrs? .. hehe ..

hehe...J actually wants to see how his father does it, but his father not home often enough to show him. But i think he gets the idea.

Due to my bad teaching though, now instead of "pee" he says "fountain". hehe. You know lah, one day he was reclined in the tub and started to pee and it looked like a fountain... personally, I'm amused by it and don't think it matters but others won't understand.

Anyway, some days the urge to try to toilet train is stronger than others.

Leo, outside, can try getting him to pee in the squat-type toilets instead of the pedestal ones...then he can reach w/o your help? I know JK is super heavy lor...

Ya man...diaperless = save costs. I've been lacking the motivation to buy diapers too...it's $21+ at FP now.

On the upside, J requests to sit on the toilet bowl everyday now. He does nothing (absolutely nothing, no even a toot) on the toilet bowl except read his book. *sigh* But my HB says at least it's a start. A month ago, he wouldn't even sit on the toilet bowl without freaking out!
He's request to sit on the toilet bowl AFTER he eliminates (either).

Kate, Min,

I think GUG is okay. I main reason I wouldn't sign up is "timing". The timing spans over Jesse's dinner time and the boy's tummy is the most important thing to him apart from his trucks and other wheely-toys. He almost "died" when I took away his plate of snacks after snack time. haha. So if you noticed, he was out of the class for a while because I had to feed him or he'll keep saying "mum mum dinner" louder and louder till he disrupts the class. It's a good thing he eats fast and was calm when he rejoined the group.

I do find 2 hours a little long (for me as well). And notice that other toddlers find it long too (they get cranky after about 50 minutes?)

I'm sure the Chinese component is good (sounds really chinese) but Oi! I'm fearful of Chinese class *badmemories* haha.

Now my question is - Will we get our butterfly back?
That's his first ever 'art-work'!

Bear with me...

I am feeling a little "bored"...and had to amuse myself.

Here's Jesse at 9 months:

2174332.jpg

Here he is at 22 months:

2174333.jpg

What a difference a year makes!

D,
thks reminding me the squat-type toilet bowl

and....tks for sharing J's photos.
9mths old soooo...cute
22mth old = so man!

Haha...maybe that's why I want a baby...because so cute...now...so rascal :p

btw (ppl in general), I'm NOT pregnant (even if I look like it you don't have to ask) and we are considering stopping at one...so don't ask, ever.
If I am, i'll announce.

bicycle for our kid:
thot of buying 1 for JK.
smallest is 12"?
was thinking if 14" if JK can reaches the paddles @the lowest seat.

any mummies hv any tips for me?

J still can't peddle but I'm thinking of getting one for him for his birthday. According to uncle at playground, the small one is $48.

D,
last wknd, saw size 12" selling S$47 @GIANT.
got a front basket....look good to me.
can dump his water bottle n misc into the basket.

zoo annual membership:
hv "recruit" sufficient applicants to go ahead with the promotion.
can go ahead w/the mass sign up...still waiting for 2 mummies to submit their contact#.

ps_Gal,
hope i've replied ur PM.
if u are still interested in this promo, pls pm ur contact# n email address.

D, Michele & Augleo,
Looking at your Lil' One's photos has me thinking how much difference a year can make! I'm looking back at my blog posts and marvelling at how much M has grown... Ooh melancholy setting in...

Augleo,
M has a bicycle meant for 3yo from Toys R Us. With his height he can shift his butt onto the seat himself and paddle backwards. So I think no prob for JK.
Bring him along to shop for one. Then you can find a good fit.

Augleo,

I have not received your replied PM leh

Anyway, I have PM u my contact number and e-mail address.

Hope to hear from u soon