(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Mich,
It's 2hr, 4 - 6pm. (Sigh, rush hour...but hopefully it hasn't "hit" that part of the CTE yet...though ERP would be on already)

Actually, I don't know which venue has better teachers... hmm... are Lele and Dillon in the same Weds class? How's their teacher?

So Min, Kate,
what time you wanna meet up on 18th?

Mich,
hopefully by then, Claire would be even more independent and good about walking about lor...my mom told me that when she was pregnant with me she stopped carrying my brother (cos she gets complications lah)...and my bro was good about it even after I was born. (Our age gap is 2.5 yrs)

I remember my SIL children (age gap 15/18 months), she moved around without the maid a lot (mostly) and she'd just push one in stroller and sarong the other...and that time they only had one car so she didn't get the car all the time.

Guess when the time comes, some how, you'll cope.

In the Sg context, at least for our current lifestyle/activites, a double-stroller doesn't seem like the best option. If I were pregnant, I'd probably start training Jesse to walk more (you know he already carries his little bag of essentials!).

Anyway, I'm just trying to put myself in your situation...i.e. good at daydreaming

D, that would be about the age gap between the 2 (2yrs 4mths) - i had this conversation with C today :

me: mummy cannot carry u and baby next time so can you pls walk?
C: no, no! mummy carry...
me: how about daddy carry C and mummy carry didi..
C: yes, ok, promise...

so funny lor!

michele: thankfully V likes to walk. mostly she is good at walking, and won't need carrying unless we are crossing a road or too many pple around or sleepy. We prob will just stick to our stroller since it's hardly used anyway.

I hope C will be OK with you not carrying her too often. I remember some mummmies were saying when they were preggie, the older kids became koala bears.

Sandwich: I would be so "torn" too ... NZ leh ... I hope K appreciates his mummy's love for him!

Michele,

I will not buy twin strollers. Partly is bcox its heavy & troublesome. Anyway C coming 2 years &
I think she dont need stroller so often now. So why not save money & use the old stroller for didi.
In the mean while, shld teach C to walk more.

Bunnie,
Jay is the koala bear u mentioned. Always want me to carry. Even though I explain to him so many times,
he still very stubborn. How I wish Jay can be like C!

Sandwich,
Its really a tough decision. I would love to travel to NZ, somemore is biz trip.

the ones who 'spoil' market are the grandparents and the maid coz they dun have patience to wait for her! normally when she is with me, she has to walk coz i have a bad back and i really don't want to carry her if i dun have the sling/ergo. i remember going to for the singapore biennale and she was able to walk for 2 hours!

michele,
that's funny
Well, just don't give her the option lor...my parents gave us very few options when we were young...but that's another "time" altogether.

It's good that Claire can walk for so long. Well, when the maid and others want to carry her, it's up to them lor...

I'll admit that with J, I'm the impatient one who always carry him...except during "his walks". haha

CaiCai: Wow, you still remember about my RB training hee hee... Actually I din do much RB-specific training except flashcards:p
But I do talk ALOT to lele as far as I could remember, giving a running commentary of almost anything n everything. Even when he was just a wee babe and couldn't respond as much as I would have liked, I just talked about whatever he saw (or seemed to be looking at), giving running comentaries of everythin. I made up litle stories (still do) and repeated them tirelessly each time he so much as showed interest. Maybe that's where he picked up his chatty skillls...? I would like to believe my saliva had not gone to waste hahaha!!!

Last time u were at GUG right? Why did u stop? Was it because he was too young then n u felt he wasn't suitable? HB feels that lele entered GUG at a ripe age thats why he can enjoy. If he had entered earlier he would have been just a nosy little puppy in class as in KM... we noe our son this much!

I suggest u follow your heart whether to go for JG or GUG (maybe try the bilingual trial first?). Sign him up for whichever u feel most comfortable with. As for Zach, he might need a few more lessons for u to tell whether he enjoys. Cos lele did not enjoy trial and first few lessons of GUG too... ... ... Only with constant encouragement and reinforcements was he able to settle down from 3rd lesson. Perhaps Zach just needs more time and encouragement to settle down in either GUG or JG. One lesson v hard to tell.

D
i'm ok with 18 or 25th feb. but meet dinner or tea break?

Poo
D been having either dark green or brownish poo and its a huge chunk!

my D is the one whom refused to be carry nowadays!
his fav thing is to touch the fire extinguisher, atm or vending machine (to see if there is money or receipt in it) must hv seen me draw $$ to often!

to think that i still complain how come he is taking so long to walk!

bunnie/michele: Congratz! Hope my #2 will be a girl

Min/Dee: Isit okay to meet for tea around 3? We can meet at Bakerzin.

Cindy/blueroti: What do they do in JG? Just curious about the programme... TIA

Walking: Lele likes to walk cos that means he gets to choose where to go, but problem is, I can't go anywhere without the pram. Mummies who go without prm, need some advic here. How do u board public transport with ur lil ones huh? I mean, sometimes when the bus/train crowded and u dun get a seat, how? Let lil one stand with u, or carry him in arms...?

Lightweeight Strollers: Mummies using lightweight strollers, do u have any advice which ones are good? Lele's pram is a hend-me-down and about to fall apart so we thought of getting a stoller. Erm, are there any lightweight strollers that can recline to sleeping position, or are all stollers sitting ones?

d, bunnie, dlim
if it was my husband's biz trip, then i would have tagged along with kaizer, but since it's the other way round, he doesn't really fancy taking care of kaizer for a couple of days in NZ.

michele,
i'm thinking abt the second kid's stroller also. i actually don't have my heavy graco anymore. and i'm thinking of getting a really lightweight single stroller for the second kid, but haven't really decided yet. cos the second kid will prob spend a lot of time on the sling/carrier like kaizer. so i'm really still considering whether to get a stroller at all or now.

d,
i'm the impatient one too. we have to walk across an overhead bridge everyday on our way home. my husband will patiently let kaizer walk by himself (with both hands holding the railing, and none holding the parents) the entire way up. yesterday i was walking with them, and 2/3 along the way i just had to carry him up cos it was taking such a long time to get home.

cindy,
its was nice to meet you and cait after so long. and i must say, i am truly amazed by cait's recognition of letters and numbers! she has grown so much. hope to see you gals agan next week

sandwich,
NZ... it muz be a very tough decision..

Kate,
i dun bring stroller for very long time, in fact hardly... usually will let jo walk.. carry only up to bus/train.. usually got seats or pple will gv up for us...

coold,
yes, so sweet hor. she made 2 pages for keira and 1 page for the other new kid

seems this teacher juz took over the toddlers class and started this. so good for us.

michelle,
so nice of the teacher!

Kate,
usually, I'll just carry J up the bus/train. If no seats, he'll either stand (if not crowded) or I'll carry him, if it's crowded.

I'll say that Jo is a very good kid...she'll listen to instructions etc...that's why Ixora doesn't need stroller! If I go supermarket, I still need stroller...otherwise, Jesse will ransack the shelves....or not walk at all.

Min, Kate, Michele,
Next Weds 3pm at Bakerzin is fine, I like Globetrotters too because I can let him go playgroud.

Min, i can't do dinner.

s/w,
yup...for me, I prefer to carry him from the car to the lift (at my blk) so that he won't pit stop at the playground. But he has gotten too smart already...the moment we're out of the carpark, he insists on walking and the whole 5 minute journey becomes 15 mins.

D,
think most of our kids are at the stage where they wld prefer to be walking then us carrying(on normal time) and if they are in the supermarket, they will want to pick every thing in their reach ! yes, they enjoy shopping too! :p

michelle,
they are just very curious and active...don't think they understand shopping just yet BUT, he has used the "buy" word on me a few times already! (his father's genes :p)

D,
Jo doesn't listen all the time... I'll hv to catch her, pull her away or raise my voice if she attempts to ransack the shelves...

ixora,
and mine doesn't care. *sigh*

i asked my mil this morning what she thought was J's worst trait and her immediate reply was, "he's very stubborn". My FIL who was around chimed in, "he is very opiniated"

On the bright side, my mom (who rarely sees Jesse) thinks he's still malleable.

So we'll see... if I'm "soft" he doesn't take me seriously...if I'm too "hard" he's hurt. How to be "just right" all the time, right? It's like asking me to get "strikes" a few times a day.

coold , how is Jboy's poo today ? ok ?

micK - so nice of the teacher , hmmmm u muz gv her a thoughtful gift on teachers' day :p did she make any new frens at sch ?

kate. u preggy wif #2 ???

cai2,
ya, last nite, i was thinking cometeacher's day, i will bake muffins for them.

yest, coz i wasnt working, i brot her to school and when its time to leave, she went to hug her 2 teachers and even to wave bye to each of her new frends at the makan table.
so sweet liao when you see her doing that.

micK , sometime body language speaks louder than words.See she can hug her teachers/frens to show affection , great job rite ???

Thanks MichK. She's very into looking out for letters nowadays. Maybe she is trying to show off that she knows her ABCs leh! Hope to see Keira the next time we meet...havent seen her for so long. The pix collage that her teacher did is sooo nice!

Kate...
I think what they do at JG is similar to GUG...but JG doesnt have zoophonics. There's free play time, letter of the day time, topic of the day which is linked to the letter of the day, story time, art&craft, snack, outdoor play, music and dance session. It's bilingual but each week, one of the language will dominate. The teachers are great and very engaging, which is what I like best. Hope this helps satisfy your curiosity! Hahaha!

blueroti: did u see my email? :p

Cindy: long time never see you also ... u no, I shd show ur gal's shoe collection to my hubby, then he won't complain that I buy too many shoes for my girl!

MicK: think i can donate some shoes to your girl liao. V is outgrowing 2 NEW pairs of shoes ... I'll pass u the cleaner one ... but i think maybe K also needs to wait a few months to wear it hahahaha

D: do u have a 3 strike policy? I give my gal warning 3 times. if she still fails to heed, I'll smack her butt. seems to work but that's V (cuz i got v loud voice and orr lu lu face). sometimes she just wont give in though ... i know someone said to choose our battles, but i also dunno which one to choose to win or to lose! I only know where safety is concern, no compromise.

hello Bunnie..
Long time havent seen u too! How's the lil' one? And you havent come online in awhile!

Her shoes ah....quite a no. of them she outgrow already. She has quite big feet...they are growing so fast. She is almost outgrowing her size 6/7 crocs.

U know hor...Caitlyn is not scared of me even when i scold her. Then beating her butt is useless cos got diapers to protect. And she is also v tough...fall down, knock herself also wont cry. So why would she cry if i beat her???
So hard to discipline!

aiyo, why are u all complaining abt big feet ?
big feet is proportionate to height , they hv to balance themselves , grow taller= feet getting bigger too .

kekeke , cannot imagine tall person wif small shoes , wun they fall ?

Mrs Lai,

Actually, mine's more like one strike. If I don't like what he's doing, I tell him once, "Jesse do not xx. This is your last warning. If you xx, you'll go to the naughty corner."

I'm trying to stop raising my voice at him (cos he's learning that from me) but I'll make him look at me or I'll tell in a normal voice into his ear.

I think when it comes to "winning or losing", I'd rather not lose...if I engage, I "must" win. So I just choose what to engage him in...some times/many times, I just close one eye...

Oh, just remember something...yesterday, he was doing something naughty (can't remember what) but I finally just said to him, "Jesse listen to me because I'm your mother". And he stopped. It was quite funny to me.

for D .. his is one whom its useless giving love education like talking nicely.

we tried and we realised by spanking and raising our voice at once actually work on him.

he eat hard and don eat soft!

and recently he been pulling hair or kicking his classmates.. i think to D its a friendly guestures coz he will immediately sayang when i ask him to with a smile.. but i can't seem to stop or correct him

Cindy: Thanks for sharing! I like what I read about the dominance of one lang each week, which is diff from GUG's 20min mandarin sessions.

Preggie w #2? No la! Sorrie for causing the misunderstanding... Think I was just saying that IF I have #2, I would want a girl since #1 (Lele) is a boy kekeke...

Stroller: Hmm, seems like quite a few of u are not using strollers le... maybe I should trytry... but just the thought of entering a train w lele during peak hours in city area makes me cringe. See, lele takes the 4-6pm lesson at GUG so by the time lesson ends it is rushhour lor. I already got a few "tsk" from impatient passerbys at the station (think they din realise I had stroller and almost knocked into me, so were angry... tsktsktsk). I feel that maybe these "civilised" people will not care for a mum and tod, w or w/out stroller, during peak hours. If I were to carry lele, it'll be a long way from Novena to Punggol lei *gasp*

Min: Lele has also been behaving roughly towards other kids too. I will stop his actions, tell him sternly "no", then ask him to say "sorry, gorgor/jiejie/name of child", then I will turn to caregiver and apologise. Dunno the reason for his behaviur, but I want him to know that that behaviour is not right.

Mummies not using stroller, what do you do when your lil one wants to sleep while you are outside and without car? Sleep while u carry them in arms...?

kate
i normally use Ergo to carry D to board the bus or train if its for long journey and forsee that it be packed

if not i will just carry D up the bus/mrt

D rather stand in the train because there is lots of pole for him to grab.

In GUG i also do the same. make him say sorry then i apologise to the mother.
I'm lucky coz all of them are understanding.

yday at library.. D went up to a girl and pulled her hair (his intention is to say hello). the girl ran to the mother and the mother said loudly in mandarin "next time must be smart to avoid" ..

I don't blame the mum but i felt so helpless over D's itchy fingers!

kate,
like min, i also use the ergo on board trains and buses. kaizer is able to sleep inside the ergo (max for 3 hours).

D,
i've smacked kaizer's hand twice before, and his papa has smacked his hand once before (last night). all for the same reason. cos he syringe feeds himself milk at home. have been telling him that if he doesn't want to drink anymore, he must return the syringe with the milk, not squirt everything out on the walls, floor .... smacking his hand along with a loud "you cannot do this because ..." will result in him crying hysterically, cos he doesn't get scolded or smacked much.

kaexin,
that's very very sweet of the teacher! keira looks like she's coping with school well =)

cher is so dainty looking n gentle too.

micK , juz take it as building up keira's immunity system at school lor

i tried calling tots house to check on vacancy for playgrp , line is alwys engaged .
zac is alwys bugging me to read his storybooks , i think he nids to be schooled

kate , if he wants to sleep , maybe u distract him so that he wun sleep ???sometimes we brot him out to jalan jalan , we will skip his nap time outside . he is quite ok with it . but if he feels sleepy , he usually nap on my parent's lap on the bus

s/w,
it's good that Kaizer doesn't need much smacking!

jesse has been smacked countless times. I try to do it less now since the "naughty corner" works. I guess there'll always be a whole bag of tricks just for disciplining. Tough work!

hey mummies ,
did u all realise , the boys here are usually the notti ones rite ? all the talk abt disciplining here

the babes seldom get complained ...

D,
i actually think kaizer behaves acceptably well most of the time when i'm out with him, or maybe it's just me lah. i prob have a higher threshold for naughty behaviour. and i'm having a practical problem with instituting naughty corners at my own home, cos there ain't too many corners around for a tiny 3-rm-flat like mine!

s/w,
a "naughty corner" doesn't have to be a corner per se...it could just be a "spot". The idea is that he's to stay at a boring o'place to "reflect" on what he has done wrong and have to keep still for 2 minutes.

Honestly, I'm in two minds about practising the naughty corner...but I just do it anyway, for now.

My upbringing was very strict, so I have a very low threshold for bad behaviour.

caicai,
tk u
cher is notti these days too. if i look at both my boy n girl, my boy is certainly more active n jumping whole day/nite long. cher can sit down for quite long to play w her bears, doll, cooking set etc. but she is into 'climbing' now too, up d sofa, chair lah... n w her tiny feet (i tink so), somtx she wld lose balance n jus trip on nothing n fall.

kaexin,
cher n gladys hv very tiny feet. they hv same shoe size wen i last met gladys. is quite common for kids to fall sick wen they 1st started cc/school. it takes a while for them to build up their immunity. hope keira gets well soon