(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

hi sandwich

sorry, didn't go to robinsons today, ended up in taka coz' they r having additional 10% disc. but didn't get anything in the end too.

hey mick
hope u're feeling better! been a long time since i've last seen your posts! ; o )

dlim,
yah, both me and kaizer overslept this morning. i think it was at least a month before he would wave happily to me after i've told him that i need to "go to work".

michele,
is your sis teaching claire's class?

min/cherryteq/kaexin,
i seriously do not know how banks operate. but i hope that i'll get the card that i applied for.

blueroti,
no worries. cai smsed me that metro's having 10% off nuby products. so i'll be going there to get the sippy cup tomorrow =)

have a nice weekend everyone!!

min,
JK started his 2 hours playgroup on 2nd Jan.
**youngest is 18months old.

credit card:
used to waive the annual fee easily but not for now. it could b due to my low spending for that card.

Hi everybody...

Must say that I'm much more satisfied with the new childcare even though it is not as popular as Cherie Hearts. At least, Mal seems happier, socialise better with others and more disciplined. The CC even helped to curb his pacificer habits....Hip Hip hurray!

Thought this weekend got Isetan, Robinson and Taka Card member sale....seems like everywhere also have actually....

Leo

one of my credit cards also low spending...I called them up to waiver they say okay. That card has not really been used for almost 5 years! Every year I call them. hehe.

blue,
still recovering, can u imagine that ???
i spend jan 2nd at the A&E. now still no voice and coughing still.
finished 2 course of antibiotics. now thinking i have enuf of med. self heal beta ???
did u see today's papers, UNIQLO is coming to spore in april.

so how is your maid situation now?

sandwich,
hope u get it. i have been using UOB lady's card for the longest time. too bad they dun offer cash back dividend like the one citibank is offering though.
my husb has been asking me to change to that card coz my monthly spending is on the high side.

halo mick

good to hear from u! goodness, was it some super virus? sounds really bad! actually sometimes chinese medicine works better. the western doctors will juz keep piling u with antiboitics and medicine that may not even help but weakens your system instead. i'm quite a believer in chinese medicine actually.

and yep, heard that UNIQLO is coming! the quality of their clothes is really quite good for that kind of price. i bot quite a few manga tees for my family at the narita airport during my tokyo trip.

as for my maid, i sent her to the agency on Wed and she had a major argument with the staff there. she insisited on bringing the $1.5k cash we paid her with her instead of TT it home. the staff said she'll definitely lose the $ coz pp can tell she's a returning maid and will rob her.
anyway, i checked her clothes on the pretext of helping her pack. she actually bot a bottle of perfume for herself! i thot it was a gift for her mom! anyhow, i have got a transfer maid now who's older and a widow. she's better than my pervious maid in some areas, but not so in other areas. but coz' she's v smiley so my in laws like her better. and surprisingly, my girl likes her and have no problem taking to her. so that's good i suppose. but seriously, if i have a choice, i wouldn't want to get a maid.

D,
nah! ur cards can't b low spending

mayb they hv checked on other expeditures on other cards **grin**

Catherine,
me going Chinatown after JK's nap.
Will park @Chinatown point (did it annually) and walk over.
Glad that Mal is happier @the new cc.
JK still crying after I left him behind the playgroup gate.
I called it fake crying

Leo,
well, I obviously prefer to spend with one card so I use that all the time. Occasionally, I'll use this other card (if can get discount/freebies) but how often is that!

So how was Chinatown? Bought anything?

Hey everyone,

It's been a long time since I've logged in!!

Congrats Michele and Diane on your #2!!

Gladys already in playgroup for 2 months and I think she'd progressed quite well. She can sing/hum a couple of songs and sometimes she 'dances' too. But then she has a problem about sharing with her friends. She'll cry when she has to pass, say a ball, along the line. and holding her friends' hands while forming a circle. She'll insist on squeezing next to the teacher. Quite embarassing leh.

hi Gene,
hw ur Korea trip?

D,
bought a small n colorful windmill for JK.
he seems like it whenever we walk pass the YMCA CC.

sd/cherryteq/micK
my office at chinapoint lah ! so boring here . all the ah peks n ah mas , sianz .walk very slow lah , very crowded . at nite quite sleazy .
can see ah peks with those "young" chicks

cat- wow , mal kicked his pacifier habit at cc ??
i tried the method that diane n KSS taught me about cutting up the pacifier , no use at all .
my son insisted on chumming on his tutu at nite

sandwich , did u manage to get ur stuff fm METRO ?
i went to metro at paragon ,they dun sell the stuff i see in compasspoint metro , so scare u will make a waste trip down . paisay

D , i didnt shop at paragon Metro . i zoomed into the kids section and out !
nowadays , i dun shop much for myself .
yesterday's shopping was to buy hubby's belt at taka n zac's pacifier
kekeke ,i am "auntified" , shops at chinatown area nowadays .

caicai,
I actually like Chinatown. Explore it! It's great

And if you're bored...you're actually only two/three bus stops away from UE Square and Liang Court/Clarke Quay.

caicai,
yes it was a wasted trip, but no problem, it's not your fault. the particular nuby cup that i wanted was not sold in taka, robinson's orchard, OG orchard and isetan scotts. i actually walked quite a bit to find it. maybe this weekend will go to robinson's city hall to get it - cos i originally bought the cup with cindy and sanrio there.

s/w , i saw different nuby cups at compasspoint metro + kiddypalace too.

taka dun carry nuby stuff leh , didnt see it before.

wat type u are looking at ? maybe u join sprees to get it ?

Went to Chinatown OG cos thought American Express Cards have 20% storewide discount...kenna cheated cos only normal price item then got discount?!!? So angry...today have to rush down to Isetan to buy the Avent teat 4!! Got 20% off...Mal bite off his Avent teat 4....now the milk pour all over his face whenever he tried to drink...hahah

Also went Chinatown to buy toiletries....softener, toothbrush & razor blade...in the end, dun go the nite market...afraid of the crowds...8-p

My hubby and I commented that we are siao one lor cos we can shop without air-con, squeeze within the crowd when we are in Bangkok with Mal but we never (really never!) go any nite markets in S'pore....wahahah...mad mummy & daddy

i went China town last nite .. not too crowded so it was nice. every yr i will also go there to soak myself in CNY mood
Now there's a e-carpark at club street, so dun hv to worry abt parking.

Today is a tiring day .. 1st day of cc for jboy. Was wif him most of the time coz I wanna kpoh wat they do to the kids :p

talking about CNY... is it time to get new notes from banks? The last time I did it was a few years ago and that time only have $2 new notes...is it still the same now? Bigger denomination no new note?

millo, cai cai and cindy,
oh no. guess my search would be a futile one. hiyah, will have to try out some other cup design. thanks for all the feedback!

share with you all something funny. kaizer was in a theatrical play-acting mode today. my husband placed a wooden spinning toy on kaizer's arm, and then he wailed as if it was very painful, squinted his eyes till they were very small, and attempted to wiggle away from his father. all the while, he knew we were taking a video of him, hence he pretended that it was very painful and unbearable. the minute we stopped the video, he would urge us to place the toy on him again. so he play-acted 5 times for us, each time putting on a more exaggerated performance. so super funny!

Sandwich
The last time I got my Nuby's straw cup from AMK's FairPrice Xtra. $9.90. Not sure if they still have it now though.

s/w
i think ROb don't sell nuby straw . can check out Kiddy palace.
or order through babymall spree

D
u can change $2, 5 and 10 new notes.

i don't seem to be looking forward to CNY. dunno why.. perhaps SAHM got no festive mood and also no time to shop for own clothes or cut my hair.

any proper method to toilet train?

D still refuse to tell me when he wanna pee/poo.
i have started intro potty to him moons ago.

will make him sit when i change his diaper or when can sense he need to poo.
but sometimes it all depends on his mood. sometimes he will cry when i make him sit.

or sometimes when he is willing to sit but no poo. then wear new diaper then he start to poo!! aiyo.. driving me insane!!!

D, if u dun need a lot, can try withdrawing from the machines - usually they put in new $10 and $50 when its close to CNY but if u need $2, then u'll still need to queue.

Catherine,
Same. I also buy my toiletries from Chinatown. Lugging everything home is a challenge every trip.

cool_d,
same. I'd try to go Chinatown to soak in the festive mood every year too. This year haven't gone yet, looking forward to it.

sandwich,
it must have been really entertaining yesterday. Put Kaizer to drama school, who knows, he might get the next Green Apple Award.

Min,
I think we can only try, but dun force till the kid is ready ba. M also see mood one. Happy can indicate poo, not happy dun tell you till it's done. Or sometimes happy to tell you and poo at the same time.

Sandwich,

U saw the 3 cases of Hand Foot Mouth Diseases (HFMD) reported to us on 12 Jan 09 LV @ TLL? I just saw the notice
at the main door this morning. Oh No... why must it happened during this mth. Im so worry that Jayden may get it.

I wondering who are the affected children from the Toddler Class?

Caicai
I know what you mean about sleazy 'ah pek' and 'cheena chicks'...actually, if you notice at the Hong Lim park, there will be disgusting free shows on & off there lor...even in broad daylight! well...what to do, the 'Ah Peks' with retired monies like to hang out Chinatown area for kopi & chats..hence attracting the "Liu Ying" to come and join the fun also.

But other than that, I feel that Chinatown is generally a good place with convenience to many nice shops, foods and facilities.

Sandwich
Yeah...agree with cherryteq...maybe can let Kaizer join speech & drama class with act3...

Cool_D
How's 1st day of school for Jordan? Did he go great? Got play with Joanie?

Gene
Gladys with MMI rite? I heard that they dun let parent accompany from day 1...seems abit "chan ren" lei.

chinatown has plenty of nice food lah , i agree wif u . but hving worked at such a nice place in Great World City , nice executive toilet etc , i hate chinatown toilet . stink / ancient / they need a revamp lor .

sigh ~~~~talking abt chinatown makes me blue again :...(

dlim / s.w , u juz hv to monitor ur todds for HFDM . when we put our kids in schools , we will hv to brave ourselves for such infection .
that is the problem wif schools.
though i heard fm my coll , sometimes the cleaner at school also plays a role coz the cleaner and thorough they are , the less chance of infection

Little Nonya clothings:
alots selling in Chinatown, some girls want their parents to let them try on.
any mummy bought for ur princess?

springd
tink he still dun quite ustand that mummy cannot be wif him in sch. .. He will 1 moment run happily to his teachers w/o me, next moment when he realise i m not ard, start crying. Jo was great, can ask jboy 'dun cry' and help him take his water bottle etc .. such a sweet ger

Last night went to check, still have a few ang pows from last time...maybe can last this season.

I think I have to start potty training next week liao...think my HB "complaining" that I'm not teaching J any "life skills". Sigh.

This morning while giving him his shower...as I was washing the soap off him, he pooed right that. Oh well...

I went to the bank yesterday. My goodness, the q was so darn long. All the way to the shops outside.

D, I heard that there are no new notes for $50.
Any idea if that's true?

I heard Jo and I being mentioned...

Caicai, tks for saying we both sweet.. I'm not lah... me still not working, going for interview later..

darbebe,
i heard fr Sunflower they no longer hv half day or 3hr playgp prog... new intake all full day now.. so if got vacancy, will u put Nicole for full day?

Re: New Notes
Thanks, Michele and Ixora for your update.

The bank told my FIL that there are no new $50 notes this year. I was thinking could that be possible. Duh..wrong information from the bank.

Ixora,
Sunflower no vacancies else I don't mind putting her on full day.

Good luck to your interview later. Jia you!

wat is the diff. between potty n toilet training huh?

JK just know how to say "wee-wee" but most of the time, he jus walks to me and hold his "pte"...i will ask "wee-wee"?
He will reply "YES!"

most of the time hv to remind him.
long way to go:
* when he is on diaper during his nap = he refuses to go toilet when awake (coz he knows there is diaper)

* besides home, we yet try other place to let him pee n poo.

* outside, he will hold his "pte" n "informs" us he wants to pee but when we try to remove his diaper, he will protests.

darbebe,
can cal up n ask again. Yday i asked, they say oni expecting 2 more new students, so ttl oni 7 playgrp kids. I thot i rmbr they say max is 8 students .. but i m not very sure.

Cool D,
I just called and was told there is no movement in the waiting list. So, Im still number 15 on the waiting list :S

CaiCai,

I know.. there is a risk but he still need to go to school. Just now my mom called & said Jayden
keep puting his finger into his mouth & he cried & very cranky after he woke up from his nap.

Seems he is not feeling well... usually he dont behave like this. Anyway, later we r going to bring
him to see doctor & make sure he is fine.