(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

SpringD,

the idea is to be consistent over a period of time. Observe your MIL from afar (hide?)? I often keep myself hidden from Jesse when we're at my MIL's place...but he's a little blur blur so easier to trick.

Anyway, being consistent for a long long time (3 weeks and more) is very important otherwise they won't take us seriously. It's very tiring to be consistent...but if I slack up even once, he'll start his nonsense already. And they can "smell fear". haha.

feeding aside, I find that making sure he's looking at me when I'm talking to him (esp when I'm teaching him something) is very important. When I make him look at me, eye to eye, he knows I'm serious. That said, he's still very naughty!

Ya, I also cook very little...throw away also not sim tiah...and it keeps him wanting more ;)

SpringDance,

Dun know Mal's weight cos he refuses to lie still to take weight for the previous pd visit (18 month jab) Would try to take his weight again for his next visit this thu. Think he's at least 10kg bah...

Mal has several "conditions" to feed him.
1) He must be really hungry (i.e. usually after running, walking around in shopping center, he could eat more)
2) He prefers rice or bread then noodles. & he dun like eating same things for 2 consecutive meals...so sigh...must prepare different things.
3) He prefers watching his favourite Baby can Talk VCD (cos got songs & pretty little Enrica)
4) Must have other toys (Note: must be toys that he dun play with recently)
5) No one else must be eating at the same time!!

hello mummies

i'm gog to sunway lagoon with my entire flock + maid + my bro's family.

Thinking of staying together in a suite apartment.

anyone has good recommendations?

also, any cheap suite accomodation in KL city??

thanks in advance!

Cat,
I find it easier to feed when no one else is eating too! Usually my lunch is at 3pm. And ya, we've resorted to some toys. Recently, I started a "meal time" toy that he can only play when he's eating... hehe...

Traz,
I like to just stay at sunway lagoon. I know they now have villas. I haven't tried that though, let me check if my parents have. As for hotel room, they have interconnecting rooms.

traz, there are plenty of service apartments that you can stay in KL. i stayed in zon all suites residences (10 mins walk from klcc) and i took the 2 bedroom suite. while its not fantastic, its clean and comfortable. i understand that they also have 3 bedroom suites so you can consider that.

i must add though that i am not very particular about accommodations most of the time. clean & comfortable is what i look for and not luxurious. :p

D, michele,
thanks...now searching the internet for accomodation...a bit info overloaded! haha

Augleo
can send me the fox coupon at [email protected]?
Shd be gog down to take a look today...

Dee
Think my boy can "smell" me...as long as I am in the house, no way to hide from him...once he know I am in, he will run away from his food and start searching or knocking on the doors for me.

Anyway, I think it's too late for me to instil "fear" on him towards me coz I've been way too soft. But lucky thing we still got a weapon towards him which is his dad!

Cath
My boy hates rice! That's the thing which takes him more than one hour to finish one small bowl.

Just to find out...I think some of you will be starting your little one for school (am referring to those 5days a week type) in January next year. But I am thinking of wait till my boy is 24months or even 2.5years to start him off...is it too late? Coz one big worry is that he dunnoe how to self feed...so I dun think the teachers will have the patience to feed him lunch..especially since he is a fussy eater and slow to eat.

By the way, any recommendation on good schools located in the central area?

SpringD,

it's probably a lot harder to "break the habit" or "change things about" since you're not with him all the time (and they forget)....but from all that I've heard and read, it's easier dealing with a 20 month old than a 2 year old or even a 16 year old for that matter.

The idea is not to instill "fear" but to command respect and obedience. On top of all the lovey-dovey things I can do with my son, I also need him to learn how to admit his mistakes, to accept correction with the right attitude, to be respect of people (including me), take instruction from authority even if he doesn't agree with it etc etc. I'm sure you'll agree that all these have life-long benefits/repercussions.

As supernanny or nanny911 often tell parents, it's not too late...but you have to do it now. And these are to parents of older children (like 6 - 9). But, we have to be the parent (not friend) and have to be consistent.

This whole parenting thing is tough...many days I even understand why parents would send their children to boarding school! But for the most part, I'm happy/honored for the responsibility of parent this one child. Hang in there! Like previously said, maybe he's just a lousy eater like I was when I was young. I remember just thinking, "why can't I just not eat? I'm not hungry."

SpringD,

There's Learning Vision at Cecil and others:
http://www.learningvision.com/Parent/expertise/#infant

I've been strongly recommended Pat's Schoolhouse:
http://www.patschoolhouse.com/toddler.asp
I believe there's one near KK (not sure what you mean by "town". haha)

Eton House is also popular (there are branches in Newton and Orchard...town?):
http://www.etonhouse.com.sg/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=31&Itemid=45

I'm not sending Jesse to school any time soon and I'm not worried...BUT, if I (went back to work) and did, those would be the ones I'd look at (for 5 day lah).
Pat's is strongly recommended, just to be naggy.

As for self-feed, I'm not too worried. In fact, I think it might be a good chance for your J to learn. Motor-skills wise, I'm sure our kids can already do it, but for me, because I HATE mess, I don't let him do it at home, when we're out, he can feed himself with a folk and is 50% with the spoon. I'm sure it's just a matter of practice. So ya, don't worry, if they want the kids to self-feed, they'll deal with the mess...and your J will learn to be more discipline with his meals.
Maybe he'll even like eating when he can feed himself!

SD, I actually agree with D - you can start TODAY - important thing is to be consistent!

i used to have constant battles w C when it comes to meals but now she knows (most of the time) that i mean biz and she has gotta eat - she is definitely one of the lightest baby around so i don't compromise on that. now she only 'bullies' my maid when its meal time and not me anymore.

D,
muack

next time got lobang will share with u

FOX sale:
according to update @11.50am, there are about 30 ppl Q outside the door.

clown. blackmarket will open! Haha. I'd be sorely disappointed if they ran out of wipes!

Leo,
later lor...J still sleeping. HB called his mom to cook J's lunch, so I can leave earlier. haha. I sure get lost one... the last time I went to IMM, I got lost coming back!

Say, where's a good place to buy wrapping paper? I have quite a few presents to wrap but don't want to spend too much on paper, knowing that it'll be torn and thrown away...

wrapping papers...
if u ask me...heehee, usually will get from those 20cts/pc or free wrappers from shopping mall.

cheapo???? kekekekekeke!

Christmas in the Tropics
Orchard Rd - Marina Christmas Lightup 15 Nov 2008 - 2 Jan 2009 Fr 28 Nov, Every Fri, Sat & Sun (7pm-11pm)@ Orchard Rd: Sweet Family members will hand out free candy and take photos with shoppers.
Sweet-making demonstrations in the sweet huts along Orchard Road. Roving drummer band.

Barney & Friends at IMM, 25-30 Nov 2008:
1pm & 7pm weekdays.
there's an extra afternoon show for weekend (will check the poster again when i go back)

Sesame Street LIVE Show
Marina Square, 22 Nov-7 Dec
Tues-Thurs: 1pm & 7pm
Fri-Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm
Meet-n-Greet for first 40, no purchase required.

A Very Barney Christmas
ALL showtimes: Tue-Fri: 1pm & 7pm; Sat & Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm IMM, 25-30 Nov Lot 1, 2-7 Dec Plaza Sing. 9-14 Dec BT Panjang Plaza, 16-21 Dec Meet-n-Greet - Spend $30

Mr. Men & Little Misses
ALL showtimes: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm
Anchorpoint, 21-23 Nov (Meet-n-Greet only) Centrepoint, 25-30 Nov Causeway Point, 2-7 Dec Compass Point, 9-14 Dec Northpoint, 16-21 Dec Meet-n-Greet - Spend $30

Winx Club: Enchantix Christmas
United Square, 28 Nov-14 Dec
Showtimes at 2pm, 5pm & 7pm (No shows on Tues) Meet-n-Greet - Spend $30

Hello Kitty Show
ALL showtimes: Tue-Fri: 1pm & 7pm; Sat & Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm Junction 8,
25 Nov-7 Dec Tampines Mall (L4), 9-21 Dec Meet-n-Greet - Spend $30

Pooh & Friends
Takashimaya B2, 28 Nov - 8 Dec
1pm, 3pm, 5pm & 7pm
*No show on 2 Dec

Transformers LIVE!
Takashimaya B2, 9 Dec-14 Dec
1pm, 4pm & 7pm

Power Rangers
ALL showtimes: Tue-Fri: 1pm & 7pm; Sat & Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm Bt Panjang Plaza, 2-7 Dec Junction 8 (L3), 9-14 Dec Meet-n-Greet - Spend $30

Precious Moments LIVE! Show
Suntec City, 5-14 Dec
Mon-Fri: 1pm & 7pm
Sat & Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm
*No show on 9 Dec
~ Fun with Bubbles - Mon-Thurs: 3pm, 4pm & 5pm

Meet & Greet with Dora the Explorer
Parkway Parade, 28-30 Nov (Dora & Diego); 2-7 Dec (Dora) *NO Shows Tue &
Fri: 1pm & 7pm Sat & Sun: 1pm, 4pm & 7pm Meet-n-Greet - Spend $30

ANG MO KIO HUB has the following:-

Bubble Blast & Snow Sensations

28 Nov to 25 Dec, Mon to Thu - 8pm
Fri to Sun & PH - 6pm & 8pm
L1, Main Entrance

Come and have a ball of a time frolicking in the bubbles and snow! Open to kids of all ages, including those who are young at heart!

Showtimes subject to change/cancellation due to weather conditions.

Looney Tunes Christmas Carnival Meet & Greet

5 to 14 Dec, Mon to Fri - 1pm & 7pm (no show on Tue) Sat & Sun - 1pm, 4pm & 7pm B1, Exhibition Hall

Christmas Holidays will never be the same again! Your favourite Looney Tunes friends, Bugs, Tweety and Sylvester are coming to AMK Hub's Christmas Carnival!
Enjoy the high energy fun and games with the Looney Tunes stars and don't miss the photo-taking opportunity during the Meet & Greet!

Limited seats per session. Admission on a first-come, first-served basis only

forget to add, till last year i still do up crafts on top of the wrappers. some pop-up lah...but doubts this year hv time for them

coolD,
thks for sharing....
want to bring JK to c Orchard lightings, the ERP huh...so expensive!!!!

Leo,
have meh? Even the mall across from me selling at $1! Then Compass selling $1.20. Last time Blanco Court sold wrappers for 10 - 20 cents...

Unfortunately, I bought the presents already but didn't come with wrapper. *sigh*

Hmmm...

taking the info from another board re jnj sale:

-baby bath (blue) - 2 for $11.50
carefree red packing 40s - $2.00
carefree orange ultra slim 40s - $1.00
- I saw baby wipes @ 3 for $9 but not sure what color was the packing.
- then no point going down. Guardian having a sale for the wipe 3 for $10.45

just fyi

Jesse's up!

Dee and Michele
Yes I do understand the important of being consistent and to be 'serious' when there is the need...but guess like D mentioned, since I am mostly not around and when I'm back home tired from home on weekdays, I dun the energy to 'battle' anymore..also since I dun face my son all the time (hence less frustration..hahah!), I tend to be more giving in. :p

And Dee, I think you are correct...that's probably what was in my boy's mind "I'm not hungry mum...can't you stop making me eat for goodness's sake?"... LOLZZZZ

Dee
Thanks for the school recommendations...juz wondering, may I know what makes you put your strong vote on Pat's amongst the 3 you quoted? Some experiences with them?

Back from fox sales too! Too bad didnt meet cath, kris & traz.

Thanks michk for tobang me hor! Muacks!! My total damage - $114!!

dlim,
wahahaha... u steady sia. what abt your driver ? how much did he get ? u know his car window so tinted, cant see who at first

where u go for lunch ?

Kaexin,

I actually put back some clothing while Im in the q else I would have spent more..haaa

My colleague only spent $50++. Yup, I saw u parking beside us & I was waving at u but u cant see me clearly..
We went to serangoon for lunch & only reached office at 230pm.. lucky boss not ard..kekee..

Where u went for lunch?

augleo,

we went last sun for xmas lite up 'tour'.. nothing much if compared to many yrs back, but i tink jboy was still quite fascinated by the lighting. Was even waving at pple in other vehices
We passed by raffles city and illegal park along e rdside for some quick pix .. hehe.

re fox sales
wah. . seems quite happening
me lazing at hm since 2.30pm. .. shld had gone there.

dlim,
went to nearby coffeeshop my office to pack. we reached back at 1.40pm. my boss not back yet. kekeke...
coz he went to remove 2 nails from his car tyres. heng, otherwise he will be earlier than us

helped to get 2 sets for a mummy here, ask her to concentrate beta this evening, no need to go.
wahahaha

Dlim,
I'm sure you did buy alot. I find Fox clothes for gals very pretty. #2 is a gal for me too. Time to start shopping! At Fox for a start.

cherryteq,

Congrats! Planning to stop at #2?
Its really worth to buy from the fox sales especially for gals clothes! Happy Shopping!

Cherryteq,

Yes its really worth. Just some update..

T-shirt & shorts (1 set) - $9
Bottoms - $6
Top - $6
socks - $1
shoes - $3

Dlim,
wow... you're really tempting me. That's really economical! Is the place difficult to find? Cos Tampines is really out of the way for me.

SpringD,

My friends put their children there (their children now in Pri school already). Anyway, it was recommended by them.

But I guess with all schools, you have to see your own comfort level, convenience, budget, etc lor... I haven't had personal experience. Earlier this year I had wanted to put Jesse in Pat's Baby Haven, but then the HFMD thing came up and even they told me not to bring J there if I were visiting. Then... well, my "I need to put him in school" mood fluctuates and I've just learnt to recognise it.

Leo, I didn't go in the end!

I dropped J off at MIL's and then went to J8. The jnj wipes at BHG was $9.20 for a pack of three. It's okay for me since it's 3 for $9 at the sale and it's so far away! Couldn't cover petrol cost! haha.

D,
is far lah....that is the main reason why I give it a miss for 3 years.

Century Sq. hv BHG too...next wk I'm free

kekekekekeke!

i was thinking next wk, go airport. Few mummies sms me do a mini meet up

jessemum: there is pat's schoolhouse in Kovan I think. Met one granny in the train and she was on her way to fetch grandson from Pat's schoolhouse in Kovan. Dunno the info accurate or not la but just tot to share w ya since you are sort of looking for schooling options.

Eating: Wow, so much sharing on this subject reallie opened my eyes to the kinds of eaters there are out there! I can't cook to save my life, so I'm reallie very lucki to have a non-fussy eater of a son. Of course, his eating habits are changing by the day... and I hope he won't become too demanding to handle:p

cherry
congrats ! so nice to have a girl ... Fox's clothes for girls are always better than boys!!

but then i realise its so easy to get my son dressed up! juz a polo tee and pants will do.
for girls. i think i may take time to dress them up. hahaha