(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

sandwich,
hope tat K is fine, nt down wif HFMD...

D,
agreed wif u...when child is sick ...is usually parents...especially mummies..
chloe is having fever yesterday..fever shot up to 40 early tis morning...had been sponging her whole nite n day...

s/w
glad it's not HFMD. Take care

d,
can't go back to school yet as the doc told us to play safe and stay at home for two days still. actually when he is sick, i usually will take pity on him that he's feeling uncomfortable, losing weight etc. other than that, i'm glad to be taking time off work and running errands, reading etc. i've just started on the jodi picoult book today! maybe can finish by friday since he's sick.

s/w,
Glad it's not as serious, but still take care. saw you at Coffee Grounds today. You were getting up to leave. I was walking towards the cafe, but you turned right after exiting the cafe, couldn't catch you in time. Lucky you have time off to clear.

Thanks everyone for the advice!

This lazy mummy dun have sunblock or even insect repellent for bb Mal...in fact, I dun even have a hat for him cos he would definately pull it off...okie....tom I shall be brave and attempt to bring him to zoo in the afternoon...(cos hubby wanta go, too & he only got leave in afternoon) Wish me luck!

s/w

Hehe...at the back of my mind I was thinking, at least you can sleep with Kaizer and probably read in bed!

Not so for Jesse who can't sleep with me.
Hope you enjoy the book!

Currently reading a novel by a Chinese writer (Jesse chose the book at the library). Quite interesting. "When Red is Black" by Qiu Xiaolong

Hi Sandwich,
Thanks for the wish! Good to know that Kaizer does not have HFMD! But poor boy...kena bad throat.

Hi Agnes,
Hope Joanie's throat is better too! And yay..it's Dec soon...Joanie's papa will be back!

seem like weather is not so good nowadays, many kiddo falling sick. my D also juz recover fm his cough.. thank god its not a phlegmy cough.
realise honey water helps alot!!

mummies at e Sentosa picnic
i uploaded some pix in jboy's blog .. (realised actually my lil sil din take alot). U may wan to go n take a look.

springD/ Ee
sorry, I did not see any pix of Jonas or Tiff.

d,
i was at robinson today, thk i saw the matt @$195, seems to have price increased since i bought mine. but today go 20% off for members

michelle,
wondering if non-members get 20% off from today...

Western Mamas...

Is there a play area at IMM?

Still thinking of whether to go to sale. haha. Thought if IMM have play area and restaurant/cafe, at least after "shopping" can bring Jesse there for his dinner and to run around.

cherryteq,
oh, then did you see the bits of spagetti kaizer left behind in the cafe? haha. its the first time i've visited the cafe, but only tried the pasta yesterday. pasta was not too bad, and prices were cheap too.

d,
i'm about 1/3 done with the book. argh, too bad can't read now since i'm in the office. taking PM leave again, and i'll be able to resume reading in the afternoon. can't wait to find out what happens in the end! you're reading a chinese book or an english book by a chinese author? that's a cool idea. i shall get kaizer to do the same when i next visit the library. hahaa. and yes, there's a very nice water play area at IMM for jesse. actually, there's also a sheltered playground, but i'm thinking that jesse will probably give this a miss and park his butt at the water play area.

D,
Qiu Xiaolong is quite good. Chanced upon his books on my own, no angel to pick for me.
If you like Qiu, you might like Da Chen too.

s/w,
No I couldn't walk fast enough to be near the cafe, as I was just coming up the stairs. The food is not bad, but quite 'instant' microwave heating and all. Mega Bites sells a wider variety and cheaper too actually. But food is average.
That's the trouble with working. Cannot read in the office at all. I have to leave my book in regret every morning, wishing I can just stay home to continue reading.

CaiCai
Yup, we tried pediasure for him before but makes no improvement to his appetite or liking for food. And it seems “heaty” coz after a few tins, he keeps getting runny nose with greenish discharge. So we stopped.

D
Jonas likes Gerber puff…but I dun think that might fill his stomach if he dun take his lunch/dinner. Any filling and nice cookies you can recommend me to get and try? Best is bite-size ones…

S/W
How about getting some vitamins that help in improving appetite for Kaizer? I have just started trying out one for Jonas in fact.

Cool_D
No worries..it's okie.

SD
how abt giving bread with jam? use biscuit cutter to cut it into bite size
or give fruits. D will eat them if he don't take main meal

Springdance,
how about trying Multigrain Cheerios? I bought one and gave some to Nicole and she likes it.

Ixora,
I've dropped a PM to you.

Happy Belated Birthday, Cindy.

Sandwich,
glad that K is not having HFMD. Hope he recovers soon. Which book of Jodi's are you reading now?
I've picked up a book couple of months back but couldn't finish reading it within the loan period, so have to return it.

D,
the book you are reading now sounds very 'you mo shui"

michk,
robinsons 20% sales storeiwde for cardmembers? do u know when this sales is ending? tks

D,
i bring cher to IMM average 3 times a week. there is an outside playground n water play area at level 3. there are quite a no. of cafes too. can shop at daiso, popular bookshop, kidsmall, giant etc. we like imm cos is big. but is more crowded this time due to school holidays but still ok. else during 'off-peak' period, is really a good place to 'laze' at (for me) n enjoy d airon n for cher to walk/run ard.
if she takes her nap there, i wld enjoy my teabreak at secret receipe or coffee club or just sip a drink at macs or mos.

Darbebe, S/W
Haha...it's not. haha. It's actually a very simple English book written by someone who grew up in China but has since moved to the US.

Even though the storyline is simple, what makes it interesting or different for me is that the author adds in bits of "history" from the Cultural Revolution. I can't say if it's accurate since I don't know history. But I tend to like books with bits of history in it, including trashy stuff by Gabaldon and Gregory. Since I don't know history, I can make believe anything!

The other interesting aspect of this book for me is the language. It reads like a Chinese writer, if I could make a generalization.

S/w, I can't read Chinese to save my life. :p

So which Picoult book are you reading now? As in about what? I get them mixed up.

Now I have another book waiting for me (borrowed at the same time, due next week). I randomly picked that up from the same aisle. Richard North Patterson. What kind of writer is he anyway? Haha.

Thanks for the tip on the water play at IMM. Now I know to bring his swimwear and a towel...and to wear "wet" shoes.

Cherry,
thanks for the recommendation. I don't know when I'll go by the library again but I'll try to remember that. It'll probably be another random thing again where Jesse will hang on to a book and pass it to me with a look that says, "I recommend this".

SpringD,
snacks ah...

Every kid is different, I'll say that first up. If we met more often, I'd just give you samples...but if you ask what Jesse likes. Here goes...

What he currently has opened:
- Teddy Puffs (Original)
- Breakfast O's
- Earth's Best Cinnamon Cookies
- Various Pigeon snacks (since they come in small packs)

What he likes (on top of the above):
- Gerber Puffs/stars (Sweet Potato)
- Apple, Banana (the real fruit)
- Plain Wholewheat Toast (has to be Very brown, and I snip them to bite size)
- peanut butter sandwich
- Cheerios
- Weetabix with lactose-free milk

I rotate his snacks cos he gets bored. So when this box of cookies finishes, I'll wait a few months before opening another box.

I find that he can be quite fussy with the texture of the food (more liquid/more pasty), so you can experiment on that.

Also, he's quite lazy to chew. He won't eat much meat bits or even corn in a cup cos it requires too much effort. But he can stuff 2 - 3 of those cookies in his morning and slowly get through them. Those cookies are square and slightly more than 1cm per side. It's bite sized for Jesse.

Talking about texture, he'll refuse jarred foods with chunks (stage 3) but he still likes stage 1 stuff.

He currently like steam egg with fish and veg (I just dump it all in the egg mixture and steam). I also add a little of the Pigeon Vegetable soup powder for some flavour.

Oh, lastly, I give him cubes of pumpkin at all his meals cos it's his recent craze.

HTH.

sanrio,

thanks for the tip. I'm thinking of going there Tuesday around 4pm (after his lunch at home and the warehouse sale). Do you think it'll be crowded? Wanna meet me there?
I won't hang around long...will probably leave by 5:15pm cos going to pick HB up in town.

Say, i have frens coming to my place Tuesday evening. Any recommendation on what I can buy there for our supper?

D/sanrio,
think yest was only open to cardmembers aft 6pm, coz when i went in, they ask for my card.
today still for card members fm 6.30 -11pm

most likely, public sales shld be on tmr

IMM got playarea.
at 3rd level and if you go at 1pm, got barney live.

sanrio,
u and cin missed it yest. they are on until nov 30

D,
think normal hours still can go lah, but no disc?
thk ask your hubby go tmr beta. actually wanted to ask u whether u want me to help u buy, then ask them to deliver last nite, but realised dun have your number.

Michelle,
thanks for the thought. Ya hor...can buy for me and ask them delivery here...too bad.

Okay, any other members going? *grin*

Cindy,

Can you pass the toothbrush to Sanrio & I collect from her? Mean while, pls give me your
acct no & I will transfer the money to you. Thanks!

Min
Basically I think my boy has a really tiny appetite….for bread, he’ll eat but not more than 3 - 4 small mouths.. then he’ll run away. Fruits…he’s ok with papaya and pear only, but he must be able to play with the fruits, for instance, I must feed him while his is also scooping the papaya and throwing on the table, then he’ll eat…. Incredible & utterly spoilt rite?

Darbebe
Yupz …been wanting to buy Cheerios but I see it’s such a gigantic box…takes how long to finish??

Dee
Wow…thanks for sharing the long list of snacks that Jesses eats… there’s something in common I realize between our boys…my son also dun like to chew and prefer more pasty & liquid foods… hence, takes much longer to eat a small bowl of rice than porridge (that's when he will take one hour to complete his meal)…also rather take the Heinz baby cereal and not the one with oats & stuff. His fav snack is Gerber Puff (sweet potato flavor) too...

my D reject b'fast 'O'. think bcoz its bland. so ended up adding them into his oatmeal otherwise wasted.

quite tempted to buy Cheerios too. actually the Honey Stars cereal also nice. but abit sweet.

SpringD,

You can actually have Cheerios for breakfast, then it'll finish quite quickly! haha. Cornflakes is another thing Jesse likes.

Min,
if breakfast O's is bland for D, then I won't suggest original Cheerio's for D. It's even more like cardboard. For Jesse, having Breakfast O's is an upgrade cos there's a little sugar.

D
bfast 'O' got little sugar meh? tasted bland to me

btw, how does Weetabix taste like? this name sounds familar too me.

SpringD/Jess/Min,

Im giving Jayen Breakfast O' & he likes it too. I also find it bland but he seems to be ok with it.

Im very tempted to buy Cheerios also but its such a big box so Im also worry cant finish it. Maybe I shall give it a try after he finish his breakfast o'

min,
cheerios comes in a big box. i usually share mine with other mummies. shld have pass you some, i got a new pack unopened still.
k takes way too long to finish 1 bag

you want to meet me in bishan 1 of days next week?

kaexin
sure.. can meet u at bishan.
btw, doing anymore spree? think must start to buy CNY clothes liao
juz realise CNY is at end Jan09! time really fly

SD/Min/Dlim,
I agree! Cheerios comes in a big box. What I normally do was to munch it as snack for myself. Sometimes hungry at night, I will take that with milk too. Just so to finish up faster.

Kaexin,
you starting spree?

kaexin
u norm do Jshopper rite?

*mich*
whr r u flying to again? i yearn for another holiday again
but hubby got phobia of taking plane with D!!!

mich,
my tickets on WL for CNY

Jus spoke to SQ at 3pm. haiz.

min,
darbb got order fm another site. but dunno whether you will like.