(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

SD
aiyoh.. i cannot imagine using 1hr to feed him!!!!
yes can vomit blood. esp when he purposely pick up the rice on the table (after spitting them out) and put into his mouth

halo Min
u can put bananas in his cereal - that's what i do for my girl's breakfast so gives her more energy and think it's more tasty too.

hehe springdance, nope, the good food were gobbled down in a double quick time too! hehe

blueroti ,
i am the opposite of u.
last trip i dropped my son wif my ma , then my sis complained abt me being self centred blah blah .
so future trips , i cannot drop him aredi . nid to lug him along ... dunno can make it or not .
he is so so notti , i think he also on food strike coz he dun finiz his milk nowadays

blue,
K eats some bananas, ard her mouth area will turn slightly red.
yet to try wit other types of bananas

cai2,
your sis said you self centred har when u left for italy ? coz you din get any lv for her and your mum lah. kekekeke
juz kidding ok, dun angry

actually my il's prefers we left K with them instead. my hubby leh says wanna brg my ILs along

micK , u know how exp things in italy ? damn exp lor ...

anyway , cannot drop him wif my ma liao .
sometimes it is not the caregivers issue , but problem wif those around u . for my case , my sis lah ... nag n nag .
i guess coz she doesnt hv any kids of her own thus she dun understand our desire to get away .
maybe a lame excuse , though .
anyway , next time i hv to find a child frenly destination . dun think europe fits this criteria

cai2,
your sis staying with your mum? how come she nag so much? isist becoz she find your mum tired ?

go oz/us lor more child friendly but us the flight time so far. so that only leaves oz. but japan also can !!!! kekekeke

caicai
actually i tink i became more considerate to my bro's way of life after I hv jboy. Last time, i oso find dat etime hv to accomodate their timing etc very ma fan :p

mich,hmm...mayb K is allergic to bananas? mayb let her try other types of bananas 1st eg. del monte. think bananas are very nutritious and easy to eat.

and like u, my mom and in laws also prefer we didn't bring our girl coz they think she's too young to travel.

caicai,
actually, b4 the trip, i was contemplating if i should bring my girl - on 1 hand, i wanted a good rest but on the other, i'll feel guilty if i dun bring my girl. in the end, my girl decided for me - there was 1 nite i went out with my colleagues till 11 plus n she was crying for me for hours till she vomitted! SO i decided must definitely bring her for the trip.

anyway, u may want to consider going to perth or hokkaido? so far i only know the oz and japan are more child frenly. dun think europe is really suitable for kids plus the flight is so long and it's so ex!

CoolD,

Some parents delay their child's MMR so it becomes the last.

Anyway, do you still need help with letter? Doctors are busy so just write something to the point like:

Dear Dr xx

My son, Jxxxx xxx, received majority [or all but one] of his vaccinations from you. Hence, I would like to request for a "Certificate of Vaccination" from your clinic.

I will drop my son's Health/Baby book, at your reception, for your verification.

Thank you for your help.

Or something like that lah...that's just my pov.

Min,
Jesse went through a spitting phase too (which coincided with his last food strike). I just told (angrily) him "suck it back in", if it hadn't come out completely. Or if it's out, I'll catch it with the spoon/bowl and feed it right back to him. Did that a few times and he hasn't spit since.

D
yes i been catching food that he spat out and shove it back to his mouth.. don care whether its hygene anot or what so ever. and sometimes he ends up swallowing them too.

Blueroti
i normally add cheese, FM and purree apple into his oat meal for b'fast.

for bananas.. NTUC now sells those small bananas which is all wrapped up. i love eating them.

Cai2
we were questioned many times by the elders on why we bring D to korea during winter.
we almost wanted to top up extra to change our destination to Aussie.
But we survived! the only thing we dread was the flight other than that.. it was quite fun bonding as a family for 8days!
and also i definitely can't enjoy w/o having D ard with us.
maybe coz we are too attached to him

cai
perhaps you wanna do a short trip to Penang or to BKK? at least a 2-3 hr flight is still managable!

as long as you don't bring a BB to guided tour . i'm sure you can survive!

D is right, MMR is compulsory for the issuing of the cert coz the 'evidence' has to be produced when our child enrols into pri. 1. some kiasu childcare will also ask for a copy for reference.

cool_d, i dun mind going but i'd prefer to go on friday. keke... u going to take time off work again?

hi hi...need some advice...when's the best time to bring bb to zoo?? Mal usually have his morning nap from 10am to around 12pm but not fixed...so can only bring him out after 1pm...any particular route that I should take?? cos I most prob would be doing it alone with Mal...so need to plan very very carefully...any advices??

Min / Dee
Talking about food strike...my boy is at it again last evening...ate abit of his dinner and started running away...when we "Catch" him back, he protested and cried very violently...and this repeated a few times.. so his dad got very pissed off upon seeing this (though he wasn't the one doing the feeding), scolded my boy loudly and threw the whole bowl of his dinner into the rubbish bin. My boy was there crying and I had to comfort him. Haizzz.....

Dunnoe is it becoz I didn't eat too much when I was preggie that's why my boy end up got such a bad appetite....feeling kinda guilty.

D
nice .. straight to the point. Thanks

michele
2 Jan jboy starting his cc. so i tink i will go on Sat. Btw, there's grp discount if u buy in batch of 4 tix.

coold

As for motorized vehicle, there's this shop on the first flr of Hougang Point (I think, it's the one with FP Xtra), next to a Japan Home shop. They had about 5 motorized vehicles there. Think price starts from $250+.

SpringD,

You know, I don't have patience. If Jesse doesn't want to eat for more than 10 minutes (he stays on his chair whenever he eats), I'll throw it away and not give him anything else for at least an hour. 1) I don't want him to think it's "play", 2) maybe he really has no appetite so no point forcing and 3) I delay giving another "food" because I don't want him to think he can pick and choose. i.e. don't like one thing nevermind, mummy will give something else. No way! But after an hour, I'll give him something lah, like plain toast. He loves that. Or peanut butter sandwich.

Min,
I don't think it's unhygienic, it's his saliva only mah. It's bad etiquette though...but boh pian, part of learning.

Hi Cat
probably morning? actually i've not been to the zoo yet but i juz went to chk out their website - www.zoo.com.sg - and they've more details there like opening hrs (think they're open fr 8.30am), performance and feeding times so u may want to plan your trip accordingly. remember to bring sun block, mosquito repellant, hats etc.

Cat,

I've brought Jesse to the zoo a few times and I usually only spend 2 hours there, it opens at 8:30am. He's not really interested in the animals...but he loves the new Kids World.

If you want to keep it to the morning, usually cooler, can see the elephants bathing at 9am and then just head to the kid's playground. haha.

If you don't want him to get wet but just see animals, then I find a short walk to see the Polar Bear, cheetah, rhino, zebra, giraffe is quite nice since it's all nearby. Just doing that and walking back shouldn't be more than 1hr. If you want to extend it a little then go to the Kid's world, there'a petting zoo there too, and well, divert your boy from the wet area or bring a change of clothes and towel

I think some other mummies do longer trips and watch more shows. So far, Jesse isn't interested in shows so I don't bother and I'm not really nature-inclined.

Cindy
yes! its Dole bananas.. i buy them every week and it be gone in 2 days

SD
think don't make feedin a tramuatised situation for them

i also will try for a few mouthful and if he keeps spitting out then i will eat his food infront of him.

hubby's rationale is to starve them and they will ask for food if they are hungry

of coz as a mummy, we do feel heartache for them.
and nothing gotta do with whether you got eat much or less during yr pregnancy.

Min,
Urm, ok mine may be old wives' tales without scientific basis. The ones I learnt to avoid are bananas, honey, chicken and eggs. The first 2 cause more phlegm, the latter aggravate cough. And 'cooling' foods.

coolD,
manage to get ur Jordan's 1st cert?
JK's jabs from polyclinic n PD too.
JK has 2 certs...1 from polyclinic n 1 from PD.

SD: no lah, no such rubbish. my sister had MS thoughout her pregnancy, also dun really eat. my niece gobbles food like no tomorrow but she can't grow fat. the boy picky about food, wont eat meat but u can bribe him with veggies, esp brocolli :p dun ask me!

sometimes they dun wan to eat - dun want to eat, nothing we can really do. losing temper also no use, it's a losing battle. my gal has good days and lousy days. if she doesn't want to eat, then too bad lah, but at this stage, she is more willing to eat from my plate or anyone else plate than her own bowl, even if it's the same food. not a good habit to encourage, but at least she eats :p so these days we put more put in my niece and nephew's plate cuz she will auto zoom to theirs and "ahhhhh"

dun blame urself k

bunnie
i agree.. no use forcing the kids. Last nite jboy oso refuse his milk. Juz let him be and pour away e whole bottle of milk. i guess they r old enuff to want to eat when they are hungry :p

augleo
no cert yet .. haven email the doc. Tinking of bring the healthbook and pop by 1 of the evening when she is on duty.

D
Unfortunately, I have yet to find anything else as a replacement food if my boy doesn't eat...nope, he dun even like bread...so guess dun eat his main meal means no need eat anything. :p

Min / Bunnie
Thanks for assuring me... coz my stupid hubby will actually cite this as a possible reason when I am frustrated about my boy not eating...and this made me even more upset! Duhzzz...

Cat,
i jus brought cher to zoo tdy. we visit d zoo quite often. hv tried both morning n late noon timing. me n cher prefer mid/late noon. i usually let her take a morning nap, feed her lunch at hm then reach zoo abt 2pm. can b a bit hot but by abt 3-4pm, usually d weather wld turn a bit 'cloudy'. n anyway s'pore is humid at any hour of d day. i find morning very rush n i usually dun cook n brg out her food now. kentucky is not suitable for her. also by abt 10am+, d weather can get very very hot.
we usually just look at animals on our way to d kids world. then cher wld spend abt 2 hrs playing there. when tired n hot, we wld sit in kentucky for snack n a drk. then abt 5pm, hm sweet hm.

leo u hv cert fm polyclinic? Aft coold postg abt cert,i went 2 cal polyclinic abt mmr n 18mth, tey say polyclinic wil isue when he rtn for 3yo asesment.true?
Min ,cough cant tk fruits,coz sweet thg causes phlegm. Like cheryteq said,no egg n chix. My ma said no fish.btw è dole banana is bery liang,not gd 4 cough.re: trip w bb,i thk i wil brin zac nxt tme,seein all ur sucess.mayb not europe. Jpn ba.mileage tixs .

today i went market and bot 8 pieces of Yong tau foo for only $1.60 and boil them with ikan bilis soup then serve with rice.

wow D ate abt 10 spoon ful and i'm very happy!

i think perhaps his cough is affecting his appetite. and i also hope he is teething as his cuspid is still MIA

SpringD,
cookies? crackers? Pigeon snacks?

Those work for J too...

But the difference is that I hardly ever allow him to run around during mealtime unless in at a place with no highchair.

And when I give him the above, including bread, he's having a snack. And that means he gets to walk around and eat as and when. There's the snack area and the mealtime area for him.

i think kaizer may be having HFMD. he was having a fever over the weekend. this morning he wasn't feverish already, so i dropped him off in school. BUT school called my husband and said they can't accept him cos still have slight temparature + ulcers (dunno where). anyway, i've to stay in the office till lunch time before i can go off. so in the meantime my husband is going to fetch him and take care of him first.

sandwich,

Your boy in Learning vision at NUS, right? Do take care ya! I think he has to be confined for about two weeks if confirmed HFMD. Do bring him to see a doctor to confirm asap ;p

cai2,
yes, polyclinic issued the cert.
i was told diff. polyclinics hv diff. practices

Cath n mummies...
THERMOS w/hse sale starts this Friday.
hapi shopping

sandwich,

hope it's not HFMD. I had a variant of it a few months ago. Only ulcers (7!) in the mouth and the mouthwash given by Dr was really effective. Though, I don't know how you can give mouthwash to Kaizer.

If it's in the mouth only, at least it's not HFMD and he can go back to school soon. But wah...have to charge up on Patience man! Feeding will be pure torture.

If it is HFMD...take care...

Alway siong/tough on the parents when the child is sick...hang in there.

SW,
Hope is not HFMD. Take care..

<font color="blue">CHARLES &amp; KEITH WAREHOUSE SALE

Up to 70% Off

Date: 27th Nov 2008 (Exclusively for Members*)
28-30th Nov 2008 (Open to Public)

Time: 10am-8pm

Buses: 22, 24, 28, 43, 58, 62, 70, 76, 80, 93, 158
Nearest MRT: Paya Lebar and Serangoon

http://www.streetdb.com/singapore-street-d...-KEITH-BLDG.htm

* VIP card to be presented. Members are allowed to bring 3 guests.

- Only CASH or NETS payment is accepted.
- All merchandise sold are non-exchangeable and non-refundable.
- Sale items may vary everyday.
- Not applicable with any privileges card and/or promotion.
- The Management reserves the rights to amend its terms &amp; conditions without prior notice.
- Should there be any dispute, the Management's decision is final and binding. </font>

good news, it's not HFMD. but it's a pretty bad throat infection that comes with phlegm and a running nose.

d is right, feeding is quite troublesome for him. doc is a little concerned abt weight cos he's back to a measly 9.1kg. earlier on in the month just before we went to penang, we weighed and found him to be abt 10kg. but well, at least he's been willing to take spagetti yesterday and today - a couple of monthfuls per meal. other than that, he also took abt 10-20 peas/corn for dinner last night. he loves jelly, whether he has an infection or not, so gulped down a whole cup of marigold fruit jelly just now. he tried to tell me that the jelly was "mmy" = yummy, hahaa. it's the first time he used the yummy descriptor for his food!