(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Min and Cherryteq
Your boys already very clever in my opinion already...have started to be toilet-trained.

Leo
Me very bad at riddles...absolute no idea...

michelle,
maybe there's cinnamon on the french toast?

He still sleeping in crib, don't think the seahorse mattress can fit, right?

J eats fish, but he's lazy to chew meat...

kaexin,
I'm just guessing, could it be the oil used to grill the toast that's the irritant on K's skin instead? maybe can test by giving her boiled egg?
Anyway my mum told me I was ok with cow's milk till I was 1yo. Then I became allergic and had to swtich to soy milk for a period of time. After that I was ok with cow's milk again. Maybe it's just a passing phase.
Btw, it's me who said the mattress was heavy, not cai2

SpringD,
I think it's because we always "eeee" and "scold" him when he poos in his diapers. We've terrorised M to warn us to avoid another round of nagging. Evil hor?

D, u can find babysafe mattress @ Kiddy Palace , if u are a mbr ( think hv 10% ) if i am not wrong ,maybe 160+ , i am not sure

even if u are not a mbr , juz sign up and use it for disc on ur mattress .

the reason why i bot babysafe mattress is becoz it is holey , allows air to breathe thru, so the baby wun feel too hot .

think J dun nid an "airy mattress" rite ?
is it a must that he has to sleep on cot ?
else u can juz buy the sea horse mattress ( 3 fold) , u can keep it nicely tuck away in the storeroom ... quite hard , good for posture and back, i feel personally .
though i didnt get the 3 fold one , mine is the 1 big piece type

u can go look c seahorse outlet@ compass point "HECOM" . quite near kiddy palace

cai,
i got the bbsafe mattress coz from newborn she was already using that. we scared she will suffocate if sleeping tummy down

kate
GUG say that is more beneficial if a child attend lesson 2-3 times a week. thats what D's teacher told me.
anyhow, i be switching him to wkday class next year bcoz United sq is very crowded on saturday and hubby hate it!

diff betw wkday and wkend is that they incl mandarin lesson for wkdays.

u going for Parents and Todd or the Babies class?

my boy got funny pattern lah. yday i ask him wanna sit potty anot? got poo poo? he shake his head

then i change his diaper.. 5min later, he poo in his diaper. aiyo very pek chek!

Funny thing is he can say "Fart" when someone really fart!

Cherryteq
yeah.. i will always scan his poo for worms. hubby think i'm crazy to always look at his poo.
Man don't understand!

cai
i been using this sack n seat for a year oredi. and i tell you its very useful! esp at coffee shop
and i brought this to korea too

its a good buy.. IMO

cai/SD
can check if you all..
when your boy starts walking at initial stage..
they will raise their hands mid way to balance themselves rite?

wanna ask how long do they walk like this?
my D been walking like this for a month. i wonder when can he walk normally.

D can finally come down from our high bed on his own and walk out to the living room. quite a feat for him to walk more steps now

min,
but GUG also offer mandarin class on wkends.
or you can change to suntec location.
i will be on sunday 9.30 in the new term.

coolD,
all bingo

Seahorse 3 fold-mattress hv 2 prices:
1. S$99
2. S$45

** 1st gen 3 fold-mattress i bot was $84 and is heavy.

Kate,
when lele still sleeping in cot bed, u were with him(mattress beside his cot bed)?

Cherryteq,
JK has mild eczema too but he is drinking peanut soup le. hmmm...he always feel itchy over all his body not sure is due to the peanuts?
i din pay much attention to it coz JK loves to scratch whenever he is in idle mode.

loves to scratch mean what huh???

Min,
the rest probably forgotten...
anyway, J was walking with his arms up for about 3+ months...only recently, he walks with his arms down.

caicai,
I keep him in the cot cos he's happy there and I'm happy he's happy.

I've seen the 3 fold before. My mom told me to get that for the maid (before she came). But we bought a sofa bed...now sofa bed white elephant. *sigh* If I had gotten the mattress, like you said, I can at least keep it in the storeroom.

D
thanks for assuring me.. i brought him out to J8 and held his hands and we walked quite a distance. juz that his arms was up and an uncle look at us weirdly so i duno if its normal for him to walk like this at initial stage

Kaexin
K is in Toddler class oredi? coz only Toddler class offer mandarin. Babes class don hv

yeah.. D is a big boy. sometimes he can repeat words after us. so we much watch wat we say now

min,
K still in babes class this term, but comes JAn willbe in tod class. they ask me whether i am interested in the mandarin class.

Min: congrats to D's promo to official tod!
Brot Lele to the GUG tods class today. Oni upon arrival did i know that the lesson's gonna be 2hrs 'stead of 1 1/2. As Lele slept oni 45mins for nap (he fel aslp all by himself w/out me beside him... YEH!) I worried he might become crankie for lack of sleep.Surprisingly, he was much less fussie than I thought.
The activities captured his attn not sure I guess partly due to first time see. The only "trouble" was tt many activities required sitting down and listening, and Lele wanted to stand in front of teacher or walk around explore.
The teacher were Aida and 2 others followed by 2 more mandarin teachers for the mandarin session. Personally I dun like the 3 eng teachers. Aida and teacher Ash (somthing like that) were very cold and just wanted everyone to guai guai ting hua, like sit down and listen.
Even tho Lele oni first time in lesson and was among the youngest tods in class, they stared at me and wanted me to control him once he stands up and roam. I felt very pressurised to make sure he guai guai ting hua. I also felt that the other parents and caregivers not very frenly din make eye contact or interact w me

I think Lele also as confused as me whether want to attend. Cos when I asked him "do you like lesson?" he shake head. When I ask him, "do u want to go to lessons again?" he says yes!
But when I ask, "do you like teacher Aida and the other teachers?" he shake head again !??? And when I asked, "do u like laoshi?" he said "yes". Actually I prefer the laoshi better too:p

So I'm still considering whether to sign up...

Leo: When Lele was in the cot, I will leave the bedroom and leave him to fall aslp on his own for naps and nite slp. I felt save leaving him in the cot and he was used to this arrangement. But now that he transitted to sleeping on floor, I worrie is it safe to just leave the bedroom? Anyway, I left the bedroom for Lele to slp on his own this afternoon for his nap, and he did it!!! So happie
Of course the moment I left, he came to the door and banged and shuted mama mama mama heartwrenchingly. After 1 min, he decided to play.p Then he banged and cried agfain. So I went in and reassured him abit then left the room. He banged and cried, then started playing, then cried again. I went in 10mins later and reassured him then left. I wanted to go in if crying cont 15mins later but he fell aslp. )
How do you put JK to sleep? He been sleeping in tod bed for long time le right_? Can he fall aslp on his own in his own room for naps and slp? Muyst share how you do it ya! TIA

kate
D till now still crawl/walk about in the class esp the puppetry session.
yes, parents are expected to 'control' their child.
so i always hv to pull D back to sit down or carry him otherwise its disruptive to other kids

actually parents in our class also did not talk much esp if you are new
i also only talk to the parents whom i'm familar with and we had attended same class for past few terms. uh oh.. hope i don't sound unfriendly.

for first few lessons its normal for them to not to sit down and listen

kate,
aiyah, K also walk ard the class, she cant sit down guai tiam tiam one. somemore in class, apr babies are the oldest.

but my teachers are nice, maybe coz its babes class, they are more tolerance?

min,
come jan, some of the other mummies are fm my kinderclass, so more friendly faces

Min/Kaexin: I think teachers and the general vibe of class reallie plays a great part to Lele and me. It was the same in KM. Some terms the parents and children were very frenly n fun, n lessons were enjoyed by Lele, papa and myself. But some terms the parents were very cold (so were children) hence we all did not enjoy. Overall KM atmosphers more relax and playplay whereas GUG is academic. I can't decide which is better at Lele's young age

Talking about walking around in class. Several times when he fussed when I tried to get him to sit, I told him, "If u can't sit down then we will go outside." When we went out, we will peek into classroom through the little slit in the wall, while I try to make the activities inside sound very fun. Then I will ask him "Do u want to go in and play with the gorgor and jiejie?" and when he said "Yes", I'll tell him "If u want to go in you have to sit down, yes?" and he will say "Yes", then we will go in. This method worked hee hee...

kate,
i brought chloe fr GUG trial too...but was 2 weeks back...i shared the same feeling...chloe was the youngest in the class...the parents are cold, not so frenly...chloe can oni sit still fr an hour...after tat her crankiness start..haha..
so i m still deciding whether to sign her up fr GUG...

kate
yeah.. GUG is more like academic type. it took D, 2 terms to sit down during story time.

Kaexin
aiyo, i still heartache over my HK scissors ok. but then its my fault for putting it into my diaper bag.
hv to go Unite sq to buy 1 more again

min , congrats to D walking .
ya , zac also walking like that initially ( though i missed his first steps coz i was away) his arms are raised in the middle ,he didnt put his hands down then coz he is still not a very confident walker at that point

now , he is walking more steadily n "running" at times . darting here n there unsteadily
he can walk halfway then he can fall flat down .

give D some time . even now , zac wants to be carried when he is out shopping wif my parents , refusing to walk on his own

millo / kate , some parents are like that in GUG . but maybe coz u were onli there for 1 lesson, they nid time to warm up to u .
there were a few couple who are quite frenly in zac's old class leh . anyway , we dun get to talk in class much coz distracting . sometimes i will chat wif the mummy while waiting outside the classroom .

Min,
raising the arms in the air helps with balance. M was like that for over a month before he was steady enough to put his arms down.

Augleo,
M scratches at his usual eczema spots, if they become dry. Other than that he plays too much to remember. Do kiddos actually scratch for fun? Maybe u can look at where he usually scratches to see if there's dry skin. If JK scratches more after drinking peanut soup, maybe you might want to remove it from his diet to see if the condition improves.

Cherryteq
I think terrorising Jonas about soilded diapers is of no use...coz when we say "Cho Cho" and make faces when clearing his shity butt, he either laugh at it or attempt to run away with the butt stuck with gooey poo.....think he likes the warm feeling. LOLZZZ....

Min
Yup. Jonas also raise his hands alittle when he first started walking...but mostly he will prefer to hold on to our hands to walk (he very insecure boy...). So by then he is finally ready to release our hand (which took a loonngggg while), he can walking without having to raise his hands to balance himself.

Like the other mummies mention...patience is the key. They will get to know eventually...

Now, I am neck long long waiting for my boy to talk....

SD/Cai/Cherry
thanks. my boy also have to hold our hands when he is outside and he wants to be carried most of times too. only on few occasions then he wanna walk.

feel like buying the bag with straps to ensure he don't anyhow walk away from us coz now he is the one guiding us where to walk. and cry if we don't go his direction. *sian* cannot walk also complain.. can walk lagi headache

springdance,
mine occasionally indicates that he likes his hands to be held when we go out, and he's definately not insecure. hmm, to put it in a nice way, ours are sweet and affectionate boys who enjoy holding hands with their parents (and grandparents also)!

SpringD,
I think it really depends on the personality of the kid. Our method may work becos M is a clean freak. He cannot stand food dropped on the table in front of him and will pick it up with his hand and ask us to clean his hand. When he finishes his snack in his plate/bowl, he will try to get the crumbs/leftovers out either by tipping everything onto the table and asking us to clean, or try to wipe it clean with his own hand then get us to clean his hand. Even a morsel of food left at the corner of his mouth needs to be cleaned immediately! Alot of time, tissue papers and hankies needed for mealtimes.

SpringD/Min/Sandwich
Yup, I feel comforted to know our boys enjoy holding our hands. Better enjoy these moments before they grow up and don't want to be seen with us within 1km radius!

cherryteq,
arghhhhh, he's even cleaner than me! mine only washes his hands once before food and once after food. mine's totally happy creating a mess, eating the mess, and squashing the mess. whenever i complain abt it to my hsuband, he would claim that i am "obsessed with cleanliness". wah, wait till he reads about M!!!!!

sandwich,
I don't know if it's a good thing or not that M's like that. I just know for now, he's bossy and demanding, leaving us with no peace to have our meals. Maybe we adults didn't give him a chance to be creative and messy at the beginning, now it's come back to haunt us!

oh no i think my boy is the dirty one. sometimes we don't even wash his hands.. we juz forget abt it

and he is fine with soiled poppy diapers

cherryteq , ur M is really a clean boy .did he pick this habit fm u or ur hubby ?
my boy is a dirty fellow , he likes to play wif his urine ...yucks

$2 COE!
any1 here gets it?

cherryteq,
JK jus like to scratch, dun think any child here like him. the peanuts soup was like few days ago. will monitor

Kate,
other than J, lele is another child having abt 14 sleeping hours. 7pm to 7am

lele is doing great

We have a safety gate @kitchen. in the day i won't lock it unless i'm doing so HOT WORK but we will lock it at night.

Used to have another gate in his room door, but after the 3rd month he will bang for protesting.

so far, if JK not ready for nap he will walks out his room happily (usually w/cheeky smile) w/his bolster or plush toy to look for me.
if he is ready for nap, he will sleep even I'm busy tidy his chest drawers infront of him.

hmmm....come to think abt it, i didn't think whether is safe for JK to leave his bedroom leh.
coz I play-hide n seek w/him often.
even when he is awake from his nap, he can't find me he will jus sit down w/his bolster n wait for his mama to give up.

augleo
you so lucky that JK can sleep so early which means more me-time for yourself.

D been waking up early for past few times. he will wake up at 7am asking for neh-neh
. he seem to be sleeping less at night

J doesn't sleep from 7 - 7 lah...more like 7:30 - 6:30

And he does wake up at night, it's just that we ignore him...Or rather, I don't even hear him! He sleeps in his own room in a crib and I think that helps, even though it's terrible when we travel. But i guess it'll be okay when he's older.

SD,
JK has limited words too.
Both our boys are almost 1 month apart so i think ur J will catch up very soon.

see, before u know it ur J is running le

Min
My boy also likes to be carried alot too.. think he abit lazy ba. :p

Sandwich/Cherryteq
ok ok...maybe I should say that my boy likes to 'playsafe'...becoz when at that time when he was learning to walk and balancing skills were not so good, he insisted on holding our hands before he dare to take even a single step ... guess he thinks that in this way, he won't fall down so easily since got someone to hang onto.. hehehe....

Leo
Will certainly look forward to hear my boy start yakking away..hahah...but I must praise that JK is certainly a fast learner in many things already even though his words may be limited now.

D,
are you going to the museum then? i haven't been to the peranakan museum before! i'm going to eat tomorrow too! meeting a galfriend to go to merchant court for lunch ... they're serving crab at their buffets this month! and i love the durian-y things they serve. still thinking if i want to bring kaizer along or not ...

s/w
mine too..expiry end of dec. and i'm avoiding their calls to renew coz can't make up my mind since i'm not working in raffles city area. but i love their hotel stay!