(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

can confirm if a child is more than 2 yr old.. he wil get a seat of his own and we pay for child air fare rite?

i also hv a few questions to ask since jboy approaching 18mths liao.

- Potty train : when start and is it on poo poo 1st? Wat abt e shee shee?

- Milk bottles
I am still sterilising .. can stop rite?

- seafood
can they start eating prawns and sotong etc?

Personally, I just feel that as long as J needs it, I'll apply it on him. He still sleeps in poopy diapers! so J needs it.
Different strokes for different folks. As for brushing of teeth, I still think he's okay without...though if he wants to try, I'll let him.

coold,
I won't ans the potty qn since it's up in the air and there's no "right or wrong". Do what you feel best.

As for milk bottle - I stopped sterilizing since he was 6 months. But do it on occasion: like when we came back from Bali trip.

Seafood - I think some kids have started. My family has history of allergy so we're not giving J yet. But our family doesn't have history of peanut allergy and J has had that since he was 1 years old (or less).
Recommended: for both is wait till 2 years old.

coolD
POtty train:
D still cannot verbalise his needs for pee and poo.
but we can only know his expression when he poo.
i will put him on potty when ever i need to change his diaper and when i see that he is gonna poo.

Milk bottles
I'm still doing it. though a part of me feel that its a hassle but i'm so used to it. may stop soon

Seafood
coincidentally i gave a prawn to D for 1st time yday. its ok to give seafood but in moderation provided J don't hv history of allergy

Sanrio
Gladys also wearing size 4/5 now. Still got 1 cm allowance. I should have at least got the 6/7. *pounding chest*

Springdance
She’s ok. She hit herself when she was on a kiddy ride at United Square last Friday. The corner of her eye hit the steering wheel. But the whole area bruised. I think it’s the vein. Then the next day, she was in the tent and she slipped on a ball and hit her face on the floor. Her whole mouth was bloodied. Headache leh. Coz she’s very naughty hor, I don’t know what to do with her. But luckily, she’s quite tough, most of the time, she’ll just cry for like 1 minute and with tears still in her eye, she’ll continue playing. *faint*

Bottles
I’m still sterilizing coz otherwise, the sterilizer will be chuck into the cupboard. Anyway, it has become a routine and the sterilizer is where I keep all her bottles. So if I stop sterilizing, I don’t know where to store her bottles leh.

Min
It must be a really tiring plane journey for you & your hubby then...have to cope with D on your lap for so many hours!

On the other hand, I think it's really good that D is ok with at least one jarred food as well as the pigeon corn soup and some rice meals in orea... I have a feeling if we bring Jonas for a week's trip, he'll probably starve for 7 days..he didn't do quite well even for a few days trip in Penang. Definitely ain't easy to bring a toddler for overseas trip....

Cool_D
Potty train: Last we put Jonas on potty, he cried & protest violently...so we didn't do it anymore in case he gets contispation. Since he seems quite comfy with poo in his diapers at this point of time, we just let it back. Sanrio every mentioned you will know when it's time for potty train...when she notices her boy starts to get uncomfortable in soiled diapers.

Sterilise Bottles: We still use the traditional method of boiling the bottles once a day..quite convenient and it removes the smell of the FM in the bottle...so we just continue lor.

Seafood: Have not tried before coz I think prawns and squids abit hard to chew ... but I believe my boy should not be allergic to it. We put bits of dried shredded scallops in his porridge since he was 6months.

Hi cindy,
I will get a set from u too.

Sanrio, sandwich
R u gals meeting this fri? I'm seeing my gynae
& will b on medical leave. If u r meeting somewhere,
Let me know ya.

Cool D:
Pee-Poo:Lele still can't verbalise his need to pee/poo but we are starting w pee first cos he will pee in potty but fuss when put on potty to poo. Like SD and Sanrio, I guesss he will let us know when he is ready to poo outa his diaper when he start to seem uncomfy in poodiaper.

Sterilising: I've stopped since he was six months le. Think can stop le since the cooking utensils all never sterilise. I just rinse with hot water after washing in case the detergent still remain in bottle n teat.
Seafood: We gave prawn, squid, kiwi fruit etc on several ocassions so far it seems he is fine. You can try a bit on J and see if there is reaction.

Mummies, I have 1 qn I desperately need help with. Any advice greatly appreciated! TIA!!!

Lele just started sleeping on d mattress a week ago cos we decided to dismantle his cot in case he try climbing out n hurt himself (fren's son fell out of the cot this way). Before this, Lele can fall asleep on his own in his own bedroom. Like Dee, we just say good night and leave the room, and he will play awhile etc then sleep for about 12-13hours. In the morn when he wakes he will talk/play awhile then asks to be out. Same for naps. Falls aslp on own and naps for 2 to 3 hours. Pretty much like Jesse.

But ever since switch to matttress, I've been sleeping beside him for naps and sleep cos I'm afraid the roon might be too dangerous for him (climb onto bed and fall for eg). For night sleep, he will usually fall asleep quite fast and everything as normal. But nap is drastically shorten to 1/2 to 1hour! Very frustrating, cos after making sure he sleeps, he will wake 1/2 hour later and start banging on door. Sometimes, he will fidget around even with me beside him and refuse to sleep.

For those of you whose chilren sleeps out of cot, can then fall asleep on their own? If so, how did you do it?

I really want to let Lele fall aslp on his own just like last time....................

Mummies, another qn... paiseh...
Which teacher in GUG is good cos hubbie wants Lele to try GUG. Thinking to try the trial class then go for a weekday slot if reallie good...

kate and min,
quite envious abt being able to feed seafood to your tods. i dun think i can even eat seafood properly myself w/out feeling psychologically bad after that (that i will itch, have a sleepless night etc). anyway, my boy vomitted his spag lunch out yesterday, abt 2 hours after he's eaten. we suspect the spag sauce was tainted with egg. yah, up till now he's unable to eat egg. but the allergy's not as bad as dairy lah. cos he will puke a few hours after he's eaten. my ergo carrier is in a mess, and went straight into the washing machine last night.

d,
what is your family generally allergic to? anyway the old testament it's in the old testament that shell fish/pork shouldn't be consumed right? perhaps they've known abt allergies a long long time ago!

Michele...
Yes! I am finally unpacking so I am seeing what i have in excess to sell! ahhahaah! Think I will on and off post things here! :D

IMM..
Wed - can't confirm
Fri - Will be going to the Disey Live Musical

Is it confirm Fri? If not, what about Thur?

Michelle...
I bot 2 more pairs for cait to last her till her feet outgrows 10/11!

Toothbrush & Toothpaste

I have 11 tubes I think (not at home so forgot!)

1. Dee
2&3. Gene
4. Michele
5. Dlim

Oh Gene...
Hope Gladys is feeling ok now. Poor girl!

Tom I most prob will be going town so wont be able to meet you for lunch. Can meet you on Thu. Gladys having class on Thu too rite? What time?

SW,
i met ur mum d other day in d library. tat day ash's sunday school teacher gave him almond biscuit n he puked badly af 2 small bites. dirtied his pants n was in brief in church :p gd tat 1 mummy has an extra pants meant for his son. but ash seems quite ok w seafood. he likes prawn, so far so gd. but i only let him try seafood mayb wen he was abt 2 yrs old..

gene , hope lil gladys is better now , quite a tough cookie hor . can play wif tears in her eyes . wat a description !

kate
for GUG , i juz take watever slots come my way . from wat i understand their lesson quite hot , so mite hv to be on waitlist , i dunno ... u nid to check wif the school

coolD , can stop sterilizing liao lah , jordan so big ~ .
but i still using the milk bottle cleanser , wonder if i can stop that . since it is quite exp :p

Gene
Glad to hear Gladys is still fine and cheerful after the minor accidents...she sure is one active & brave little gal... when she start school next year, do remember to tell the teachers that she is one active gal and to watch out for her.

Cindy,
which part of town you going tmr? I could pop by if you have the toothpaste... otherwise, can stick to the weekend.

S/W
my HB can't really take shellfish, he'll throw up or itch or something...my dad and bro also rash up with shellfish.

My HB can't take chinese herbs and of course, dairy.

Well, a Jewish lady once told me that those rules were there for their protection during that time...

d,
for protecting the human beings or the animals? oh yah, the jews still practice them. do you think jews will have lower risks of allergies than the general population then?

sanrio,
mine soiled his pants too. was walking in pampers for a while, but luckily we were at the suntec/marina area so we brought a new pair of pants for him.

D,

Will be ard taka and paragon area ard 12plus till abt 3plus...provided it doesnt rain!! If rain..i think i will just stay home and cancel the appt. :p

ok...i will bring the toothpaste along.

SD
its normal for them to dislike potty

for D.. he got funny patterns.
he can be ok with sitting potty for a few weeks.. then suddenly will cry and refuse to sit on it for another few weeks.. then ok again
the cycle repeats.

recently, he is quite ok with me putting him on toilet bowl. but i duno when is he gonna protest again.

talking abt poo..

D had been poo-ing 2-3 times almost every day! i wonder if he has got worms in his stomach anot or thats the reason for him being so light weight! i hope that this is normal for him

kate
D is under Aida from GUG on sat, 11.30am.
so far i'm quite ok with her and D quite like her too.
And she can be quite firm with kids whom can't sit still like D.
And D will listen to her instructions more then he listen to me *faint*

and its not easy to get a trial so betta don't choose teacher for your trial as they are always full house!!

Cindy
Ok, shall meet you on Thursday then. Gladys' class starts at 3.30pm.

Michelle
Thanks! Will take a look.

Springdance/ Caicai
She's driving me nuts.

Sandwich
Can I check with you why K vomits? Is it due to his allergies? Coz G also vomits quite a lot. Initially we thought it's due to motion sickness but then it's getting quite often. Like just now, she was having her milk and suddenly just puke like that. Totally ruined my bedsheets and her pjs. What should I do? Shall I just bring her to a pd? My hb said I'm too kan cheong.

Gene,
whenever J pukes his milk, it's because 1) he has a really big burp or 2) he had a really big meal prior (can be a few hours) or 3) his borderline full, has a burp and we accidentally "press" on his tummy when we're carrying him or 4) he drank too quickly. These are the "non-allergenic" reasons...haha

Okay, Cindy, will see if I can get there on time. J can sleep until 3pm! How do I contact you?

S/w,
she meant protection of humans cos that time no salt, so no "antiseptic". She once told me to experiment: raw pork, put salt on it and see if worms come out after a while. I haven't done it.

gene
u r rite on e bottle storage point. Dat is where we kept e bottles too
It really had became a routine for me. hehe. No harm rite? at e bac of my mind, me still hv e BPA concern somewhere.

thanx for the advise on potty train n bottles n seafood. Now jboy will tell me 'urh urh' after he poo, but it's after, not b4. Maybe i try n ask him tell me b4 he poo n see how he react.

caicai
wat is milk bottle cleanser?

GUG: mummies, thanks for the advice! I'll be bringing Lele for trial tomorrow 4pm. Dunno which teacher. But I guess the most impt is how Lele will do in lesson. If he enjoys the content, I guess teacher is just facilitator? Was told by the admin that sessions are either 2x / 3x per week. Wondering is it just for the weekdays? Is the weekend session 1x per week oni?

S/W: Lele's papa is allergic to crab so we haven't tried giving that yet. As for other foods, I just let my guard down and let him try abit of everything (tho his main meals are still homecooked even when we are out). Heard many people say that allergies can be outgrown... I'm sure Kaizer will outgrow most if not all allergies soon esp since he likes eating so much

Cot Mattresses

Anyone has any recommendation for good cot mattress? (And where to get it.) We're thinking of changing J's. He's currently sleeping on high density foam mattress...but am thinking it might not be sufficient since he seems to be waking up from pins and needles - whenever he wakes up, he'll point to one of his limbs and say "pain, pain". When we rub him down, he seems better.

D , my son also suffers fm pins n needles but more dued to his sitting position when he is watching TV or playing wif toys .
he kneels when he is doing this

issi becoz J nvr toss and turn when he is sleeping ? he was in the same position for too long that resulted in pins n needles ?

or is it the fan was blowing at his legs for too long ? did he wear socks or long pants when sleeping ?

my son alwys hv various sleeping position every other hour , so he doesnt hv this trouble .
he sleeps on the floor mattress wif us though . ours is those hard type fm seahorse

gene,
if she's puking after every feed, then perhaps you want to bring her to PD to ask if she's lactose intolerant/allergic to diary products again. cos i recalled that she was on soy for quite some time because of the problem right? gladys' drinking 125ml still at the moment? if so, i don't think she's puking from overfeeding lah.

kate,
the allergic + like to eat a lot person is sanrio's boy ashrel lah. my boy's very conservative in eating, and other than fruits/veg, he won't readily try other food. at the moment, we're facing some difficulty getting him to eat fish.

From Zoo magazine

Reader's Riddles
1. What is the best way to paint a rabbit?
2. What do frogs order in restaurants?
3. What job does a bat do?
4. Why can't leopard hide?
5. Where does a horse go when it is sick?

Dec holiday activities @Rainforest Kidzworld
1. DORA
2. DIEGO
3. Spongebob & Patrick

Keeper Demo sessions
1. Dog walk
2. Falabella Grooming
3. Meet Kampung Critters
4. Show Animal contact
5. Goat feeding

michele, michelle
haha..

where to find babysafe mattress?

caicai,
I don't sleep with him, so I can't tell you if he flips. He does make a little noise (rolling about and kicking) once or twice through the night, it sets off the monitor. But other then that, I can't say... He still wears those long pjs with feet and many buttons.

s/w,
I just managed to feed J pieces of chix two days ago...steamed. He tried it from Joanie's porridge before...so I tried cooking and he actually ate it! That's his first meat! haha.

Re: Cot Mattress
Seahorse brand 3-fold for M.

Re: Sterilising and storing bottles
Stopped at 1yo. Bottles are kept in boxes with a sliding cover that are meant to store bread.

Re: Seafood and Peanut
M has eczema, so PD advised no seafood nor peanuts until further notice. We're still waiting for the go-ahead.

Re: Pee and Poo
M will make the sound, point and run on tip-toes to his potty. If we're not fast enough, there it goes onto his diapers. No luck with pee.

Min,
If it's really worms, you should see them in the poo.

Re: pork
Pork should always be fully cooked, and not eaten semi-cooked. Not sure about the quality of pork nowadays, but that was what I learnt in school. There are many parasites in pigs. Surprisingly, beef need not be fully cooked before consumption, but not pork.

D,
Babysafe mattress can be found at Taka, Kiddy Palace. It's not cheap though. Plus it's very heavy, need transport arrangements.

Augleo,
I'm only confident of Qn 4.

D,
think xmas is ard the corner, shld have discounts. i got mine from the bbfair last year, but can get fm taka. ya, i agree with cai2, there are heavy.

for the 3 fold seahorse mattress, i juz bought at $99. not bad. firm. K loves it.

wow! J has his 1st taste of meat ? somefar, fed, K mostly chicken, minced pork and fish. a lot of fish!

cherry,
i think K slightly allergy to egg leh lately. weird.
on sat at Hay dairies, 1 of the mummy offered her french toast and after a bite, area ard her mouth turn red