(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

halo ixora!

wah, really been a long time since i last came into the forum! how have u been? i really feel like i have been away for years!

wah michk, u going for 10 days ah. actually m wondering if i should juz go for 5 days in case alexis cannot take the cold! alexis' hair is finally longer and she doesn't look like a boy now hehe what abt kiera? is her hair still very long and lots?

are u going to bring your milk powder along for kiera? actually i think of all the stuff i've to pack and lug around for the trip, i headache!

helo mummies...
thanks for the well wishes...chloe is still holding on to my hands...haha..

kate...
ya..i was shocked tat day too...hehe...mayb i shd continue KM ...

Milo: There is something about KM lor, I think. The other time I missed Sun lesson so I made up during the weekday. There was this Japanese kiddo who just decided, there and then, to stand up and walk! All of us were cheering him on. He looked so gleeful as he took teeny tiny yet confident steps! After that, there were no stoppin him. He was on his feet most times. Think perhaps the music, fun N all the walking kiddos having fun had some effect on Chloe ba.)

micK , thanks for missing me lah

i was on MC for 2 days . last fri gastric flu / yesterday cough ...
now still coughing , very scared i will spread to my sonny .
my sat night flt is at 8.30pm , cannot mit liao . rmbr to pack keira's stuff , 10 days sound very siong to me . i cannot imagine 10 days wif my son in a foreign ctry . *shudders*

SD --> pls reply to my pm . i brot ur loot

thanks kate n ixora for ur kind wishes .
hope the little tiny walkers can continue to go all the way . go go lil D , lil C and lil Z

Augleo,
I'm not available that weekend for the picnic

Never mind that, hope you guys enjoy yourselves.
Cya next gathering, if there is any.

Min/Milo/Caicai
we share your joy that your kiddos are walking.

Michelle,
enjoy yourselves during the trip.

Meddy,
we just got back yesterday evening, but I was online in Bali also lah...haha...just not as much.

Wah...so many tods walking liao! Congrats!

blueroti,
never met you before, right?

anyway, I agree...packing for the babe is a big hassle! I don't really like to travel with J...he's half our size but takes up more than double our luggage space!

Anyway...work can never finish one. If you've taken the leave, just go...

Mich,
very strange one lah, SQ. They always charge me more and then don't give me food. haha. E.g. Penang, I remember paying over $100 for j's ticket but another friend only paying $40! This trip, J's tix cost close to $200.

That said, we're still planning another trip to Penang either Christmas or NY.

Any tips on how to get cheap SQ tix and infant fare? How come mine always so ex?

D & Michele,
could the price difference be due to the season or timing of the flight? I know some months the tix could be cheaper than the usual or some 'unpopular' flight timing could be cheaper as well. Just guessing.

D,
welcome back! Think maybe they charge you child fare instead of Infant ah..this time i only paid 40++. but MUST remember to ask for "Post Weaning meal" keke so did you get any child meal for J this time round?

Cool D,

I'm left brained too. Apparently, majority will be left brained because of our education. We are being forced to be left brained. Less opportunity for us to think out of the box.

D / michele

i think infant fare changes (for the same flight) depending on 'when'( book early or last min) u book ur tix. for my last trip to perth, i got a refund frm SQ cos they charged me the 'higher' infant fare of $600 i/o $300 (refund abt $300). if i m nt wrong, infant fare shld gen be 50% or less of adult price

hmm...

Moxi, Meddy,

don't know leh...why they always charge me so much?? I usually buy his ticket at least a month before we leave, if not a few months.

AND for both our flights (to and fro) they didn't uplift any child meal for Jesse even though we had already requested for it when I bought the ticket (at T2)...double/triple confirm, some more.

On his way there, he had two bread rolls (no banana even *sigh*) and on his way back, they felt bad, gave him a packet of ribena and three bottles of heinz food. Sad, right? AND I didn't even eat! But not their fault lah...he fell asleep on me and I couldn't move (or he'll wake up).

BUT they have "lost" my food etc before so all this doesn't come to me as a surprise lah. I don't know why I'm still traveling with SQ. Oh wait...I know, I'm trying to finish up my mileage first...then we'll see. SQ and I no "yuan". (aside: if you want the economy to crash even faster, just ask me to apply for a job with them. works every time ;)) haha.

Moxi,
long time no see!

D

o dear, they really so blur ..i suppose air travel is alw so heng / suay . alot depends on the crew tht day. if i dont rem wrongly, infant airfare doesnt get the child a 'seat' (they seat on ur lap). but child airfare gvs a seat.
haha, why u say works everytm? u ever been in a job that went kaputt aft u join them?

moxi! how did u get ur refund? teach me leh...

i also booked my tix in advance leh (if i remember correctly, i booked the july tix in mar)... when i called up SQ, they said infant fare is based on 10% of published fare - which they told me is S$5,000 from SQ to Brisbane. i actually checked qantas' tix online and C's tix would haf cost us about $400+ vs the $750 that SQ charged me.

on a side note, saw from ur blog that you got to know my neighbour... hehe... small world!

D, SQ also didn't indent food for C - on the way there, she had no food (but since it was a midnight flight, i didn't mind) but coming back, it was the same - after i asked and asked, they gave her 3 jars of food too.

Moxi,
yup, we paid infant fare, so I was surprised when the ticketing person asked if I wanted food for J, to which I said "yes". But in the end still no food.

Well...not all companies lah...just SQ in particular.

Mich,
our's all brunch and lunch time flight also no food... but I didn't ask and ask lah since when they told me it's not in the manifest, I also know it's just the same old story again. In my years of travel with SQ, there hasn't been one flight where everything went smoothly. Each time it's always SQ's fault except the one...oh wait, there was another time when things were pretty smooth, but that one not counted. None of the times did they compensate me.

Once they ran out of food (if that were possible) and they said they "lost" my meal. I told them okay, then I'll have the other choice. They said that was out too...so they gave me a horrible crew meal! On a few occasions krisworld wasn't working (mine and HB's seat)...and I'm talking 19hr flights here...not 1-2 hrs. aiyah...enough about them already...no "yuan"...

D,
wow, you'll make SQ bust if they ever employ you as a salesperson, hahaaa. i've always had super duper good experiences with them. flew with them twice to the states. for my first US trip, i was actually in my first trimester, so puked a total of 9 times on the flight, once even on the seat. totally unprepared for the puking, since i have no morning sickness or whatsoever throughout the pregnancy. but the air crew gladly cleaned up and were so polite, they made me feel bad. then on homeward bound flight for that trip, i actually missed the flight cos me and travel companion read the dates wrongly (how blur right). luckily i knew a friend's with SQ and is attached to that particular airport, so he was on duty and able to arrange for us to board a flight within 4-6 hours. no questions asked and no fuss, plus i had 3 seats to myself! slept throughout and had a great flight home. also lucky that the air crew serving my aisle was a uni galfriend, so had excellent service on the way home, hahaa. actually, it could be that i always land up in the empty flights, cos service is a lot better on emptier flights.

D,
i think i forgot how much the penang air tics for kaizer cost, now that you gals are discussing ticket prices. maybe tomorrow i call the airline and ask, cos the bill i have only states the consolidated price for the entire travelling party.

so wats e topic tonight? Holiday tours?
Guess i wont be able to do that for quite a while...Used to travel every sch hol...my first born is luckier...has travelled to msia,thailand,hongkong,australia,bintan with us....didi has taken the aeroplane only once...to hongkong when he was 10 mths old. I wonder when will meimei have her chance...now that i hv 3 kids in tow..

wanna check wif u ladies...did u shave ur bb botak? I did that for both my boys when they were 4 mths old...anyway they didn't hv much hair to begin with.

But meimei has quite a lot of hair and I can't bear to shave it. CL said better to shave at 1 mth as bb seldom goes out. Better than at 4 mths when bb has grown and it'll look more awful for a girl to be botak. If don't shave the hair will shed bit by bit, resulting in patches of uneven hair.

I'm also looking at some full month cake packages. Plan to get a big cake for my colleagues and some family packages for my neighbours and close friends. Any recommendations? Also looking at vouchers for friends who stay quite far away...besides bengawan solo, which other cake shops provide such vouchers?

hi michelle,

started packing? so how many luggage r u bringing? I'm always guilty of packing too much stuff (for the kids) when travelling...

traz,
din shave K botak leh. u can see for yrself her hair now right? ;p
how is Gvel?

darbb,
hope the trip is gd

blueroti,
alexis got hair now har ? kekeke... gd lah ! so sweet gal one, hair juz a matter of time nia.
K still got lots until 3 weeks ago, her fringe got "mangled" when my ILs brot her there.

traz, hope u're coping well so far...

u're right, i always think 1st born the luckiest coz they get all the attention + get to do many things. and i also agree that gals botak very ugly one so i didn't shave C - at one point, she had a bald spot at the back of her head (beginning of the yr) when she was shedding hair but now ok already. at the end of the day, its all boils down to whether you want to believe or not lor. i'm believe quite a few of our bb gals here didn't shave their head and don't have uneven hair.

as for full month, there are many options nowadays - i chose the giftbox w/red eggs, fruit tarts & personalised choco bar from one of the many companies just to be a bit 'different'. as for vouchers, i think you can get them at all the major bakeries

traz
i think its ok not to shave for girls. i wld not hv the heart to do it if i hv a girl with nice hair

Agree with *mich* that most major bakeries will sell vouchers. but i think Bengawan is flexible to exch vouchers for their kuehs or cakes

michelle,
haha...believe it or not..when it comes to packing luggage, i always procrastinate till the last min...last time when travelling to Korea and NZ, packed the luggage in the middle of the night...when the flight was in the early morning!

Then when i hv kids...still the same bad habit...stayed up to pack the luggage the night before, then slept for 1-2 hrs before heading for the flight...for all my trips to thailand, hk and even australia! and i can still pack toys, jig-saw puzzles, storybooks for the kids...haha

vodka,
*wave* hi hi, oh i remember Claire's hair...so long and all standing up when she was a bb...tat u had to apply olive oil to "tame" it...

halo michk

yeah, since we shaved alexis bald when she was 6 mths old, we have not cut her hair since then! her hair very precious! hehe

btw, my fren juz told me that altho it's the start of autum in japan now, but it's not that cold. but she didn't mention what's the temperature now tho.

Hi Agent D
yeah, we've never met coz' i've never gone for any gatherings leh. sigh i juz cancelled my leave for today, and will do so on thurs again - have to finish some project before i go on leave.

btw, the SIA customer service officer did ask me when i'm travelling before quoting me the airfare for my girl. so guess when you travel plays a part.

Min: Lele was in the Village class but no longer cos decided to explore other classes. Currently wanna bring him to trial class of JWT kids gym and Seimpi...

kate
ya saw fm your blog. i'm still thinking of whether to let D do Kinder although he likes instruments and music.. but location is a problem as we hv no car.
and further more duno if i shd do Village or OUr Time as he is already 18mth but still not walking totally.

Saw that lele dial 999! wow thats a lesson learnt! i must make sure that D don't touch house phone. think its safer to play with our hp since we can keypad lock

Min: Think if you like KM and D likes it, no harm going for 1 term c how. They go by age so D will prolly join Our Time. As for walking, it's a matter of time that D will start walking. Very soon! Whr do you stay? Me also no car and stay punggol. lesson at 2pm have to leave home at 12.30 so that we can have a 15mins lunch before lesson. Can u imagine_? So distance really a factor to consider...
SEIMPI has branch at Hougang Mall so very near mine. But deciding factor is Lele must enjoy lesson...

Ya lor, we were so surprised as well. He anyhow press also can press for trouble. $5000 fine for a 2nd time lor. Cannot let Lele playplay liao. My hp keypad not locked one. A few times he dialled the number of people I know such as my colleague and mum by accident (I think?). One time his he was playing w my hp when the houseph rang. I picked up and realised it was Lele. Same ting happened to DH. Lele "accidentally" dialled his hp number using my hp lor.

kate
ops .. we stay at bishan.. so i beta don't complain abt the distant

think i need to try another trial to see how coz that time its was a relief teacher further more that teacher was pregnant.. not that she not good but can see that she is quite breathless with her singing and was tired.
must say being a KM teacher not easy!! GUG teacher seem easier

min,
chloe is in the same class as lele...but ended liao...i m still deciding to carry on or not...
cos chloe is turning 18mths soon ....but nt reali walking

Hey gals,
I've just signed Gladys up at MMI's playgroup programme (accompanied) at Jurong East. That's the only one I can find which is near to my home and is affordable. Any verdict?

Traz
I received some Polar vouchers and can use them to buy anything in the shop.

As for shaving, my mom shaved my bro's hair cos it was very little and only grew at one spot. But for me, she said I had a lot of hair so she didn't shave mine. Though I wonder if I could have more if she did...
Personally, I think it's okay to shave when they are young, they really don't know any better lor...

I shaved for Jesse, I don't know if it gave him more hair, but definitely more even.

sandwich,
hehe...of course if they employ me, they can look at it another way...i've had so much experience with them, I can see how they can improve!
And all said and done, I always get my parents to travel on SQ...cos I know it's just "me". I've had very good experience on MH though..hehe.

Min,
J has dialed 999 before too! Since then, I just keep an eye on him when he's on the phone.

traz, ya lor... C had hair and grew very fast (in her 1st year, i cut her hair 4 - 5 times!!) but haven't cut since coz i wanna let her have long hair - her hair is very fine though. about the olive oil, actually old pple say that put olive oil & massage will help in hair growth! haha...

gene, MMI's standard varies according to the location of the center so you have to observe & see if the one u chose is ok. my sis had trainee teachers from there before and her feedback is they are not as well versed as they should be. maybe its a good idea for you to do some reading up on montessori yourself then u can see how the teachers fare?

haha... u know i'm always terrified that C will call 999 coz she's always playing with my phones!

Kate, my girl also dialed 999 before. She was fiddling with my hp when I heard a voice coming out of the hp. I took it over from her then realised it's 999 she had dialed. Opps!

Anyway, my hp is a slide phone. So once she slide the phone, the keypad will be unlocked.

abt dialing 999,
my nephew (now 4 plus) had dialed it a couple of times w/out the family realizing. they eventually received a letter from the police informing them about it, but i don't recall them mentioning that they were fined $5000. perhaps they only fine people who dial with malicious intent? hmm not sure. anyway, i don't have a residential line, so pretty safe on that. kaizer doesn't really enjoy pressing our phone buttons nowadays, he's more interested to listen to the other party speak.

Gene,
cher started playgp too, at somewhere bt timah.

Traz,
i din shave both ash n cher. ash has quite a lot of hair but cher has super little hair. now is finally growing very slowly but no uneven patches.

J.little 4 days sale starts tomr, any1 going?
can help to check on the any additional discount on toys on top of the 20%?

Agent D
Hmmm... maybe you should try another airlines on your next trip...mayb you "Ba Zi Bu He" with SQ...heheh.

Hey, any photos to share with us on your Bali Trip? Must be Spa massage and rest & relax itinerary everyday there?

Sandwich
You going Penang with Kaizer? When's your trip? We going there soon too...hehe.

Actually, I realised that Phuket resorts seems to be a really child-friendly place to go...but I only realised that after I booked Penang..otherwise, will opt for Phuket instead.

Traz
I didn't shave hair for boy.. it looks fine todate.

Blueroti
Sounds like your job is terribly busy...You work in a MNC? Think you have alot of AL to clear situation again next year since you'll be bringing forrward 15days which is on top of your entitlement for next year!

re : 999
jboy dialed accidentally to some of my frens n relative b4 .. but I guess he somehow pressed the quik dial. So far, no 999 but I beta start to keep an eye :p There's once he anyhow press wrong # so there will be a singtel announcement rite? he panic n throw e handset away .. hahah.

Traz
How hv u been? n how's mei mei? Btw, wats e outcome of vote for mei mei's name?

Btw, i shaved jboy's hair at 4mth but e growth is still very thin. I shaved again soooo many times and now, his hair seems a tinie winie bit thicker. Hope by CNY, will be longer so I can 'style' him

michele

for my case, they refunded me before i even went off for my trip. Like u, i was also shocked when they first charged me $600+. Subsequently, it so happened that i was speakig to a diff SQ officer (abt sthg else) n found out tht indeed other infants were gettg charged $300 oni for that same upcoming flight . so the officer agreed to do the refund to me. what i understood was tht diff time of bookg generates diff pricing for infants .. sthg like that.

wow.. small world, i knw ur neighbour ?? stayg at the same EC as u?

moxi, lucky u then... since we went and came back oredi, i doubt they will refund me. i recalled u went to perth? i think going rate for perth shd be $300+ for infant coz that's what my SIL paid. keke...

yup... u met her & her son @ raffles city according to both your blogs! :p