(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

meddy
i used the brown potato and steam for 30 min but still cannot mash leh. in the end i blended it but its not what i want.
perhaps i used the wrong potato

AIG is trying to borrow US$40 billion from the US federal reserve - yes, the SG office is now flooded with people. from my understanding though, MAS regulates the industry quite tightly so all the insurance companies are required by law to put aside money in a life fund where claims can be paid out so we will (largely) be sheltered from this storm.

s/w, i know about NUH lah... that was one of my choice (coz i wanted water birth originally and its the only other one that 'offers) but too far lor! imagine if i went into labour during morning peak hour - how long it will take me to get there!

Min,
maybe you can go NTUC or Giant to buy the Russet Potatoes, 1 bag only 2-3 bucks. I use it for my daughter's porridge everyday and it makes it quite starchy and creamy.

Think Holland potato cannot mash ah

Traz has got the height & looks...I must share that even without makeup, she's still very natural & pleasant looking.

Sandwich
One of my good friend delivered her two boys at NUH. She stayed in one bedder room and her hubby bunked in. The environment is really quiet and you are right...due to the minimal baby deliveries and maternity patients there, the attention is all on my friend and her baby.

My guess is that probably there may be no very popular Gynaes housed there....and Gynaes from outside cannot go in to use the facilities there for their patients.

Mich,
ya alot ppl trying to cash out their $$ now. Everybody also waiting for MAS to finish their meeting with AIA/AIG at 5.00pm.

Wow..to think about it..most of the new car owners insurance is from AIG..

actually Springdance, one of the 'famous' pro natural birth OB is at NUH.

meddy, ya... i know! my clients called me to tell me about the 'crowd' at AIG!

SpringD,
my guess is too far lor...
when I research, I was also thinking of water birth but...NUH leh...it'll take me 45 minutes to get there and I don't have 45 minutes

AIA
Heard on the news on radio (at 7pm) that AIA says they are okay...don't panic.

Min,
I boil potatoes to mash. Russet may be the best but I usually just buy whatever...I love those that are washed already.
As for recipe, it's pretty much just agar agar. Some love to use sour cream but I don't think you want to lah. I would for myself... otherwise, I just use the water I used to boil the potatoes in and a little butter. That's pretty much in. Just add in some liquid when you mash so that it's smoother...if you add milk/sour cream/butter, it'll be creamier. Oh, boil till "fork tender" which just means you can use a fork to poke through...about 10-15mins. Lastly, it's easier to mash when hot.

yes, as i've explained earlier - MAS regulates the SG market (quite tightly) and all insurance companies are required by law to put aside part of the premiums that they collect into a life fund that will provide payout in the event any of the company becomes insolvent. the issue with AIG/AIA now is, IF the company really files for bankruptcy, all the existing policies may be terminated prematurely. if you have policies from them and still need the insurance coverage, you will need to purchase new policies at higher premium rates and/or your health may not be as good as, say 10 or 20 years ago and thus maybe even be declined by other insurance companies.

note that last week Lehman bros also said that they are fine as they believed that they will be bailed out by white knights but in the end?

springdance - hospitals, like doctors, can have specialised area of practice mah... so for NUH, their focus is not OB lor.

mich,
have you ever considered "home birth"? Do they have midwives here? Just thought you might know something about this...

I have an auntie who's a midwife but she's in NZ...actually, I did think about being one too...

michele,
haven't considered water bath myself ... don't really like soaking in hot tubs, jacuzzi and all in the first place. you referring to mary rauff? she always has an entourage of students and housemen following her whenever she does her rounds.

springdance,
perhaps some people are irked by the students and housemen since NUH has many learning docs. there are med students sitting in for abt 1/2 of all my gynae visits i think. and they're forever having a notepad with lots of questions for the patients. they can ask you abt your pregnancy, sex life, etc etc. they also get to touch and examine you after the doc has done so. some people may feel uncomfortable that they become "human guinea pigs" or find it irritating, but i'm fine with it. i find them quite amusing sometimes. i think abt 1/2 of our PD visits have students who sit in as well. during my delivery, it was a houseman who helped to cut and stitch me up. my husband heard the main gynae who's on duty tell the houseman that she shouldn't have cut at that particular juncture, cos she caused me to lose more blood than necessary etc. but that said, students and housemen are generally more gentle/courteous towards the patients. they're also a bit more cautious prob to make up for their lack of skills and experience.

min,
saw you and wendy in your cuz's facebook pics. such a coincidence that you both are cousins. we stayed in hall together.

springdance,
jonas looks like a big boy in the facebook pics, esp in one of the pics inside the jumper suit series!

haha.... D, maybe i should try my luck & ask him again but i think the answer is still NO!

yup s/w, mary is the one! wow... it is scary giving birth in NUH then! haha... i dun want to be a guinea pig or be watched when i give birth!

michele,
i like to carry her cos it's like carry a teddy bear lolzzzz but hb does not like me to carry cos he said this will spoilt her but i dont care :p

sandwich,
ya my neighbour also said so.. a lady in the bus asked me 'boy boy ah?' when i brought her for 5-1 jab. i said 'NO she is a girl!!' alamak, she was in pink leh.

Min,
me me. for both ash n cher tx, b4 epi, cervix cant dilate. af epi, i fell aslp n wen woke up, cervix fully dilated liao.

Birth stories:
ash: my gynae at kkh, v pro natural, bb ash's head was pressing on 1 of my nerve (at my upper thigh near V area) n i cld not walk during d last few weeks. v miserable as i need wheelchair wen i wen checkup. n at hm, i nid my mum to cum n help me wen i need to go toilet. else whole day is on bed reading, slping n watch tv. but my gynae said once ash's head wen further down d birth canal, i shd feel better n she asked me to wait patiently for natural birth symptoms at hm. my hb c me 'suffered' like tat, asked me to consider c section. gd tat my gynae was very pro natural.

cher: 2nd tx mum so i dun really follow my gynae instructions, terrible me. but mine not a high risk preg lah. at 37wks visit, i lost some wt n gynae said whether i wld like to consider induce birth. i said, no, i wld go hm n monitor, anytg i wld call him.

for both my 1st n 2nd, mine is very textbook. show, contractions, waterbag (burst by gynae), cervix fully dilated, pushed out quite fast no suction. gynae said my birth was considered simple n easy. both ash n cher were 3.2kg at birth.

Hospitals:
ash: kkh. cher: glenE. i m very blessed as kkh was under d umbrella of my ex-employer n my cousin is a SNM in glenE matenity ward. so i got d best svc n help.
ash tx: my pre, post checkups n hospital bill all paid by my employer under A ward.

Meddy...
I gave birth at Mt E and my gynae was Dr Kowa! I like Mt E and Dr Kowa! He is super experienced and very very reassuring. I felt v comfortable with him delivery my bb.

Mt E is not old anymore cos they did renovations. Nurses are v good n frenly. And best of all, the hospital is vvvv pro-bf! They insist that all babies be bfed unless for some reason the mommy cannot bf.
And hb also v happy cos he could pop by paragon to snack! And my frens were happy to go shopping after visiting!

Jmon,
adeline so chubby. yes they look so alike, esp d one on the bouncer.

Mrs Chia:
i only toilet train ash wen he was ready at abt 22mths. at 18m, i started training but stressed cos he wet d floor so often n he cried n i got stressed up cleaning floor too. if i put him on pull-up, he wld pee then tell me. so i stop n waited.
sign of readiness:
1) diaper stay dry for hours
2) diaper only 1 urine, not wet at all but he insisted wet, must change. this shows he has d feeling of wetness n dun like it
i train him pee standing up (boy mah). 1st into potty but once he got it, brg him to toilet bowl, std on stool or lift him up a little
wen he was ready, it was quite fast since he was ready, abt 1 week he got it but consistency is d key, 1st 2-3 days, sure got 'accidents'. i let him wear brief (daytx) wen i started training.
wen i brg him out, i put him on pull-up pants n wen he said he wan to pee, i brg him to toilet.
af a mth or so, he cld go diaperless outside n at nite. for nite, he was quite fast too as he dun drk milk to slp. he wld pass urine b4 bed tx. but i put a waterproof single bed size fitted waterproof sheet below his bedsheet.

s/w
you still in contact with wendy? i see her every sunday at Gramp's place

*mich*
i heard Dr Mary do very nice stitches!!

Meddy/D
thanks for potato tips
i saw fm NTUC that they are selling Russet potato in a big pack.. din dare to buy. and i saw a potato smasher too..
i added cheese and din add full cream milk. anyway my boy only eat a few mouth then spit out. duno issit bcoz i added cheese or he is too full.
don't you hate it when you child do not eat your food cook with love?? *sigh*

Jmon
A don't look like a premie! well fed with your milk!

augleo...

sorry...was busy this few days, and my silly nose kip runny for past few days...keke...
can i pm u by tis sat? pls pls?

i enjoyed reading the birth stories...
my bb was born in Mt A...i felt blessed in Mt A...
the mid wife encourage mi to bf bb straight after birth...i find tat they are quite pro-bf leh...the sister even visit mi ....

min,
ya, her weight shoot up when she was still on BM. i stopped 2mths ago.

basically, whether she's on BM or FM, she's milk-addict lor. every 2.5 hour needs milk in day time. now she can sleep through the night like gor gor last time.

but now gor gor abit 'sot sot'. one night can wake up 1-2 times for milk. sigh! but nvm, hb is in charge of him and i can sleep :p

jmon
finally u post the photos .
adeline realli resembles ashton alot .
both of them looks more like u or ur hubby huh ? i think ur hubby ...

leo , can i suggest , u request the #2 mummies to post pics of the #2s n #1 , and we guess ? hehehe

Agent D
That’s true…it is more of a West hospital…

Michele
Ya hor….think same goes for SGH too.

Sandwich
Now that you mentioned, I recalled when I was younger and got admitted to NUH due to serious asthma and lung infection, the housemen doctors keep coming to examine me…and they took like 2-3 big tubes of blood from me to test…..

Heheh…I think when you go for the gynae or PD visits…the sit-in housemen must be thinking this young looking lady patient resembles my junior…. :p

Wow….you are so fast in FB…I just loaded the photos last nite and you saw them already. Guess Jonas seems to suddenly grow up a lot to you is becoz I dun maintain a blog so it’s been quite awhile since you or any mummy here saw him.

JMons
I would have guess your 2 chubby kids look like your hubby...you are so slim! Hahahah...

Good morning mummies

min,
my intention to remind mummies do "trading" tomr. e.g. collect spree, passing items, pay "debts".
me need to pay 1 mummy $ n pass items to 2 mummies

milo,
thks, wanna to do it on Monday so appreciate to rec on this wknd

pls take care too

sanrio,
i bring along the environkids bars for ash tomorrow okay? and kaizer says thanks for the breakfast-Os. he's been taking them along with his teddy puffs. he's very methodological in eating. he will pick up all the breakfast-Os in his snack container to eat first. and then proceed to pick out the teddy puffs next to eat. heard from his teachers that this is how he self feeds in school. he will eat up his veg (veg by veg) first, then eat the plain rice. for convenience sake when i feed him, i try to get him to eat everything together, cos i have to hide the meat within the rice.

JMons
Oppss...so your hubby quite slim izzit? "PaiSei Paisei" I assumed he was chubby...hahah! Actually, it's becoz I find that many guys whom I know, including my hubby, generally put on weight and grow horizontally after marriage. :p

now my boy is into phrase of spitting food out.
and its very sad.
he used be able to eat anything and quite tam jiak

recently, he spat out cheese, mashed potato, tuna.. dunno if he not hungry or he trying to be funny

i just hope he is not gonna be a picky eater when he is 18mth!

Min , my son also .
last time i alwys said that he is a milk monster , alwys drink n eyeing his cousin's milk . not a drop left ...
nowadays , he will leave like 50ml to 100ml of milk . spat out his porridge etc
very notti .

i think it is part of growing phase

My boy the same, will spit out his food & always cant finish it. Milk also left abt 10ml-40ml.

I also hope this is part of growing phase.

SW,
tks. ash likes that a lot. gd tat kaizer likes breakfast O, is a healthy snack n very low risk of allergy. he is so cute, systematic in eatg. now, ash wld eat up all d meat n rice last n pick out evy green. so what i did was: i kept 2 chicken wings or meat or anytg he likes n told him, if u dun fin d rice n vege, i wld confiscate ur chicken wings, hahahaha..

Cai,Min,Dlim,
My gal is also in the begining of terrible twos stage...1 bot of milk can take in 3 instalments..then porridge always "gum" in the mouth..and is starting to have a hell of a temper!