(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

KSS , ur birth story so short n sweet

lucky u , think u dun hv any phobia of #2 rite ?

potty training..
my D been giving me mixed signals.
last time when i carry him to sit on potty he is ok.. even when there is no poo/pee

lately.. he will refused to sit on it when i change diaper at times which i dunno issit bcoz there is no poo/pee or he juz trying to be funny and difficult with me.

and he stil cannot say 'shh' or 'sai sai' so can't realy train him yet

caicai,

i was quite lucky. i got phobia!! the forcep part!! as i didn't have epi, it was damn painful!! i screamed very x3 loud!!

#2..i am not prepared to go thru all over again lei! but i definitely want #2 la.

Meddy/ Caicai
OIC…Toys’Rus…Thanks for the info gals!

Meddy
The other time the Nestle instant porridge promoter told me add hot water also can… dun need boil it…. but I guess might taste better if we boil ba…..

KSS
I very not discipline during confinement....I wash hair and bath everyday!

Re: Birth Story
Think I am rather lucky….on the day of my EDD, I went to the Gynae’s clinic with ease…checked and he found I am 1cm dilated. So me & hubby went for lunch, go home bath and took my “baggage” and check in at hospital. After I went in delivery ward and “prepared” by the nurse, gynae came over and burst the water bag…around an hour later, the anaesthetist came and gave me epidural. So all in all, it was quite a painless process….but not that “au naturel” lar… :p

Coold,
I like mum's kitchen
Used them for my wedding.

Meddy,
I had everything but like "show" and even "water", all that can "replenish" one, so I just concentrated on contraction timing...called dr to find out how intense the pain had to be before going in. She said, "pain enough so you can't talk through it". So...I wait lor. I had been having regular contractions since 2am that morning... that day is always quite funny to me and my HB.

All the birth stories so fun...I don't know why I can't tire of it!! I'm still reading other birth stories online for fun! Maybe I just find the whole process amazing...

hi caicai, hi CoolD,
yes, of course! now I remember liao- yours is big Zac, and coolD's is Jordan.

Toilet-training
Don't know if I shld start now-- been reading and some books say start early, some books say don't start until after 2 years old. I thot I'd just try out but so far bbJ hasn't co-operated.. cannot sit on the potty for more than 2 min.

mrs chia, i think start when jeremy is ready - they will tell u.
c uses the potty at home but when she's out, she'll just sit on the toilet bowl and i'll hold onto her.

D, mine was induced. C was overdue and stupid OB refused to let me wait!
admitted to hospital at 7am+, doctor broke the water bag & put me on drip with pitocin and C came out at 7pm+.

kikismom, u wanna me to bring ur tupperware on thurs?

s/w, D & sanrio, i bought the SSO babies prom tickets already - couldn't get 4 tix side by side so i bought 2 x 2 (one row in front of another)

My giving birth story is rather long....

@ 38 weeks: I scolded my naughty 4T1 class (which also caused another pregnant tr 2b ordered by doc to stay in bed dor 2 weeks) then felt irregular contraction, saw some blood stains but I blur blur...not sure whether it is or not so decided to bear with it until gyne visit the next day, friday.

Next day, gyne said I've dilated 2cm & asked me whether I wanta induce labour. I decided to let nature take its own course...& I went out to celebrate....ate cheese cake, drink coke, etc....over the weekend

Then on Mon, nothing happened & I have to go back to work...all my colleagues had a shock of their life why I'm still back!!!

Guess what....a week went by, nothing happens....then another week....

finally almost end of 39 weeks, at 3am, felt a "pop" sensation. I wobbled to toilet & find I can't stop urinating...hmmmm...is this waterbag break? I woke up hubby..."Dear, today u no need go work!"

We went hospital @ 6am...no cars in sight. Then hubby still can go back work, settle outstanding e-mail, apply for paternity leave....while I took epi & watch tv. Waited until 2pm b4 bb comes out....very slow...I very lousy, no strength to push out bb...have to use suction...

I check with hubby....after Mal was borned @ 2pm, they brought him for bath, etc until 5pm then bring to me....

Can I ask s/w & michele how u instruct the hospital to leave bb with u & dun bath???

D, i'd like to think that the EDD is just a no. and thus, inaccurate to determine if the bb is indeed 40 weeks or not.

not don't bath lah... delay the bathing... nurse first.. coz after the 1st hour or so, bb will go into 'sleepy mode'. just tell them that you prefer to bf immediately - that was actually written in my birth plan (given to my OB before i went into labour). all medical procedures that are non-critical and urgent have to be 'delayed'.

KSS,
my 2nd labour is much longer than 1st one. cos i 'tong tong tong' n wanted to try wo epi for 2nd labour. so dragged for more hrs. in d end, cldn't take d pain, took epi, slp n woke up cervix fully dilated. few pushes, bb out. but my both birth stories almost d same... except 1st labour, my 1st symptom was severe bkache n i whole nite cant slp. for both, i had show at 11pm+ then more at 3am+ then contractions..

SD,
i bathe n washed hair evyday during cfment too. so hot d weather n worst af drking those soup n takg cfment food.

Michele,
tks!

cat
once you hv pop in the delivery ward tell the nurse or your gynae that you wanna try latching in the delivery ward. when the baby is still in bloody stain but swaddled with towel oredi

SD
wow 1 cm oredi sent down to delivery ward? i was 1cm for 2 weeks.

Mrs Chia
i always tell D that i wanna wash his face or brush his teeth (his fav bcoz of First teeth toothpaste) then he willing to sit on potty.

i think i ever heard or read that epi will help one to relax and mummy can rest so will speed up dilation.

if no epi then the body will tensed up and get stress signal so dilation slower.

so when i delivered D.. i told myself that if i cannot take it after 5 contractions, i will take epi.

mine was induced case and delivered after 5hr labour.
funny thing was when i was fully dilated.. Gynae instruct the nurse to rehearse and teach me how to push so that she can go home for a while thinking it may not be so fast.

but while practising with 3pushes.. D was on the verge of coming out that i was told to hold on to it like a big pc of shit in me as my gynae not here
wow that was the worst ! like my anus gonna burst!
waited for 5min then few more pushes.. D was out.

Haha...so nice to read the birth stories...

For me, I was given J to hold for 1 hour after he was born. No one else was with me and I was wondering why no one come and take him away. I don't think they are so pro-bf. But they had problems registering me so they can't register J and take him....terrible right!

Today's topic on birth stories? Interesting, I like reading them.

For me, I was feeling crampy the whole day throughout work though it gets more intense towards the end of the day. Still undecided to see gynae that evening or wait another 2 days for the appt. In the end, just popped over to gynae for a quick check and I was 2 cm dilated.
Was told to admit hospital that night. By then the contraction is like 2-3 mins once. Imagine that, I tolerated the pain throughout the night till next day 10am before epi.

Caicai, curious why you hate TMC?

D,
thanks, then think i will go there an buy keke i prefer normal diapers but my gal keeps tearing the stickers out!

Darbebe,
wow you mean you did not sleep the whole nite?

I guess everybody loves birth stories, that why even Starhub channel 72 keeps showing them! hehe

I love birth stories too, here's mine.......

I happened to go for my check up that day & gynae realised there are some small particles & she suspect
BB poo inside. She told me it's dangerous & suggest me to induced since im also 1cm dilated as well.
So we proceed to the delivery romm get changed & wait for anaesthetist came and gave me epidural. Cox of
my scoliosis problem, I was poked twice on my spine cox cannot find the correct position. Damn pain!

After that hubby went home to get my bag while I had a rest. Admitted ard 3pm+ & bb only came out the
next morning at 6am++. My dilation was very slow & it took me 15++ to delivery my boy. End up I have no
strength to push out bb & gynae have to use suction...

Hey D
my mum juz gave me a namecard of mum's kitchen yday. Dunno who's who work there she say :p I go surf e website later.

Somebody says epi speed up dilation? Mine din. For almost 12 hrs, I was lying in bed in e dlvy suite, watching TV.

Caicai,

Why u hate TMC? Actually Im considering to try other hospital this time round.

TMC is one of my consideration but after I heard some bad feedback, I decided to stick with
Gleneagles. Gleneagles so far very good. Nurse very friendly & they even guide me the correct way to BF.

Dlim,
I think GlenE is like hotel ah..that time i was suppose to check in got valet, bell boy to bring luggage and wheelchair etc haha
The amah who brings food and drinks very nice and friendly too..

There was a time when i sent my gal to TMC to see the GP at night, i saw the mummies have to walk to the delivery suites themselves ah..and 1 of them was having contractions and still have to climb up the stairs to the suite..so ke lian..

catherine,
why would the hospital want to bathe the bb immediately? i don't think they did so for kaizer till he was a day old. cos he looked a bit dirty and bloody everytime they brought him to me for his feeds on the first day. like michele said, you can provide very clear instructions to the med team that is helping you give birth. i didnt write down my instructions, but i did verbally remind every single nurse/gyne who attended to me during the 17 hrs labour that i want the bb to latch on within the first hour. then got the hospital to stick a tag to the bb basket saying that bb is supposed to latch on only, so that no one in the nursery will mistakenly bottlefeed bb.

caicai,
i do not have a very good impression of TMC too. visited my colleague's wife when she gave birth last year. was an emergency c-section, bb had pneumonia and had to go to NICU. hospital did not attempt to wheel the mom down to see/touch the bb or even encourage her to express out the milk. no mention abt breastfeeding, zilch. in the end, she only saw her bb after 24 hours since he was born. imagine how depressing that must be for her, knowing that her newborn is in NICU and she can't even see how he looks like. needless to say, she didnt even get a single shot in breastfeeding/expressing her milk at all.

Meddy,
They have bell boy to bring luggaue for u? Hmm.. how come I didnt know..hehehe
But I agreed their service really good!

TMC really that bad? That lady really ke lian leh..

Anyone try before the Mt Alvernia Hospital? Any good feedback?

Dlim,
I heard that MT A, their nurses friendly and ward charges quite cheap..Dun mind trying MT A for next one but still very tempted to go back to GlenE.

dlim,
one of my cousin who gave birth last year at mt alvernia ran into some complications during her scheduled c-section, she was bleeding profusely for a month, so in the end her womb was removed. but of course it is just her and nothing to do with the hospital lah, cos she has had some problems with pregnancies and deliveries in general. her first delivery, she could't dilate at all, so was an emergency c-section. she had 2 miscarriages in between and obviously her second scheduled c-section delivery didnt go too well too.

i also dun like TMC - to borrow D's word - my 'fluffy' reason - the valets scratched the car of 2 of my friends!

my hb also dun like TMC coz of the horrendous traffic in the area.

Dlim, my sis and a colleague gave birth there and they both like the environment - the nurses are mostly sisters but its a tad too old for me.

RH is still the nicest in my opinion, so i'll still use them for my 2nd birth! haha... very yummy food (with a menu selection) and good service. hotel standard - i love their suites - pte nurses + jacuzzi + bar fridge lor!

Sanrio
Precisely…weather already so hot…still need to drink hot soups, drink red date tea, eat food with lotsa of ginger…and BF…if ask me dun bath, that will be like living hell to me… :p

Min
Actually I also blur blur just follow Gynae’s instruction…that day was supposed to be my EDD..so when he say “Ok, you are 1cm dilated…can check in hospital for delivery…” so I just “guai guai” go lor….I waited very long in the delivery ward for the full dilation though …checked in during afternoon, deliver only after midnight (so actual delivery is in fact the next day from my EDD.). If I have no. 2, maybe I might "tong" longer then check in…but then, I also worry scarly dilation is faster for No. 2 and by then I check in, too late to take Epi! Me very scared of pain…Hahah!

DLim/ Cool_D/ Meddy
I am also quite satisfied with GlenE…but too bad I “lugi” one day…coz I checked in on the day’s afternoon and stayed in the delivery ward until around 3am or so …and that is counted as one day liao…which means I only get to stay one night in my bedroom and have to check out the next day….

dlim
i opt for 1 bed as I want my hb to stay in wif me. But they ran out of 1 bedded rm, so they gave us (me n hb) a 2 bedded rm. Gd for my hb as he has a bed to sleep on.

U din use e bellboy? Hehe, there is coz i used them too

Mich,
talking about traffic, I just joke with my friend who is due to give birth in feb/mar 09 (Mt E) that she better not go into contractions on weekend afternoons cos the road to MT E is always jammed! keke

18th Sep (coming Thur)
there are ard 15mummies attending, rmbr to arrange ur "transactions" among them

** collecte items
** pay $

I know i've at least 3 "transactions" to b done on that day

Michele,
*poof* I don't like TMC (but the last time I was there was 2004). I don't like their parking (as a visitor).

According to my mom, when she visited my cousin who delivered there (then - 2004) my cousin was a "wreck". She didn't know how to bf and the nurses did help her. Didn't help her to sit up and all that. Just wheel bb to the room and left. I think my cousin had c-section. Anyway, when my mom was there, my cousin was just sitting there with her boobs hanging out cos dunno what to do.

Anyway, I just don't like the parking.

I've always wanted to go to Raffles (like the location (can you get more fluffy than that!))...but the OBGYM I'm going to now only works in Mt E (parking sucks too). *sigh* This OBGYN recommended by friend who uses her and her sister gave birth to 3 children under her as well. She says it's (hospital) and she (OB) very good...

I visited a friend at RH (she had to remove some fibriods) and I agree that the room looks very nice.
Hmmm...should I change OBGYN? Guess I'll reconsider when the time comes. My fren who goes to RH says her OBGYN very good too and her mother also goes to her. Hmm....

Which one more ex ah? But I'll say that i'm comfortable with the OBGYN at MtE lah...she's more senior and very motherly...or grandmotherly... hehe.