(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

sanrio,
i've uploaded cherelle's pics on kaizer's blog. will try to send you an email with the rest of the pics that i didnt upload.

jmon,
can go check out my blog, lots of cute cherelle and kaizer pics. will sure chase your monday blues away.

d,
the worse part of the labour process for me was going w/out food and drinks. my labour was damn long at 17+ hours, so i had to take abt 3 doses of epi. not supposed to eat, but whenever the nurses went out, i would start to drink ribena and eat my museli bar. the first thing i did after giving birth was to eat watermelon, while they were weighing the bb and wrapping him up, hahaa.

min,
i think that as long as the mother is resolute, the hospital can't really interfere much. i had side effects from the epi, like puking and headaches on the first night. but wanted to latch on nonetheless. so for the first feed abt 1/3 hr after the baby was born, i was puking (watermelon, hahaa) into a container on my right side, and then latching on my bb on the left side. quite comical, now that i think of it. and i hate to entertain visitors too. told everyone i knew that i looked terrible and that they are not supposed to come and visit me till i was discharged, but in the end a few relatives and 2 friends still came. i didn't care, just latch on in front of them whenever the bb needed to drink. after a while, they would get the message and leave a bit earlier.

michele,
i would definately get postnatal blues if i did a confinement of sorts with my mum or mil too! had engorgement and fever once too, but as i was staying alone, i just popped a panadol and continued to latch on as usual

D
Chippy’s salt & vinegar fish is not bad if you eat it fresh & hot…but it’s better to share a pack with someone else you may get kinda sick of it.

Wah…J wanna be SUPERMAN….You got grilles at home or not huh??

Catherine
Did you manage to rest abit during the one week school holidays in Sept? I used to be quite concerned to let my boy try “outside” food…but then this means going for stay out of our comfort home will be very troublesome since still need to cook for him…so letting him try the salty, fried, sweet & sinful foods bit by bit nowadays….. hahahha…me bad mummy!

Jmon
Considering that Adeline is a premmie….she sure is shooting up in weight very fast…Harlow, my boy still less than 10kg at 17months and Ade is already 3kg away!

Must share your secret on what you feed your kiddos……

Meddy
I like my traditional desserts hot hot…..kekeke.

So is your hotel is near to the beach? You planning to bring instant foods for your boy or cook there?

Min
The nurses are rather pro-BF when I stayed at Glen actually…but I didn’t ask to rest for a nite and started quite immediately after I delivered.

Dun be too concerned that you wasn’t too successful at BF previously…I am sure you have been sacrificing alot for D in many other areas since he was born and you are undoubtedly still a great mummy.

sandwich,
ok, hee... they are the cutest at this stage now.

btw, you all meeting the 2Cs this week? feel like bring Ashton to meet them but dont know if i can handle him alone with hb. he's like an 'octopus'. he will grab anything in his sight in no time...

springdance,
no secrets, i just feed them whenever they ask for milk/food.

now for Ashton, i sort of bo chap liao. just give him anything to eat when he asked. last night he tasted curry chicken and he likes it :p

michele,
who knows what the grass is like on the other side! I was alone...so...hmm...my parents came for a few weeks to help. My mom was a trooper but my dad started getting depressed. When my dad got depressed, the whole hh/d situation became quite unbearable so they had to leave. But then just kept on struggling until J became older lor... I might consider a confinement nanny if I give birth here. Think my parents and in-laws can't do much to help and won't volunteer anyway.

Well, we'll see what happens next time round lor... I'm sure you'll help me when I have questions or encounter problems

The China confinement ladies are really quite pro-bfing. One of my friends had one and she kept her for like 3 months! Her baby now 9 months and she's pregnant again!

Say, how did it go this morning?

I'll bring the info to my HB and discuss further. haha...I'm quite double-minded about sending him to "school" so early.

s/w
ya, that's what I read...can't eat and all that. I think that's torture man...rather go through a little bit of pain and have all my freedom. haha. Mentally, I've already got it "worked out" in my mind what to do if there's a "next time round".

This Thurs...where exactly are we meeting?

D,
haha ya, the first thing i ate after delivery was Mos burger teriyaki chix...ya la, actually not suppose to eat chix when i have stitches but wat the heck, just wanna reward myself for the pain i went through haha Worse thing was my MIL caught me in the midst of eating the burger hahaha

ya for me Epi will not be ruled for for no.2 if labour is long cos my no.1 labour only 2hrs plus.

HUH? Jesse into being superman now? kekeke

SW,
Wow...labour for 17 hrs..must ne really tough on you ah..

Anybody tried the laughing gas? Does it really work? It made me super dizzy w/o taking the pain away? or w/o it the pain would be worse?
Still quite skeptical on how the gas works...

springdance,
if feeding outside food = bad mummy, then i must be the worst mummy around lah. since july when kaizer stopped liking porridge, we stopped providing him with home cooked dinner already. weekday dinners typically either chix rice from the market downstairs, japanese food from NUS canteen or some rice thing from NUH canteen. as long as there's no milk and eggs and nuts, he gets to eat whatever we're eating (will try to ask for no soy sauce for him). am more diligent for his lunches, will attempt to steam lunch for him to bring to school on those mornings that i manage to wake up at 7am.

weekends, my mum would cook for him w/out fail since she thinks we're torturing him on weekdays. hahaa, she always refer to us as kaizer's step parents.

meddy,
luffing gas:
oni know hw to use it after 7cm dilation.
nurse oso laughs @me.
hb said...wow! almost waste $ on the gas.

**btw, no email from u leh

SD,
no worries la, think most mommies will be giving their kids outside food by now. My gal loves Mac french fries and spicy muruku though hahaha

The hotel i'm staying is not near the beach,think its actually in town. Nope, not intending to cook. Will be bringing some pigeon food but judging by the size of the portion think have to supplement her rice/bread ah..

Since the shopping centre near the hotel has cold storage/restaurants should be quite easy to get food for her..WooHoo, AandW here i come! hahaha

d,
thanks for reminding me abt thursday's venue...

mummies who are meeting on thursday,
how abt Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar at raffles city basement? recalled that we wanted to meet there before, but there was some stroller problem previously i think? anyway, i've been there to eat and food is not too bad. no problem with high chairs, as there's a nice area for the toddlers to sit, so they probably don't need high chairs. toddlers who are adventurous can also go run abt the playing area while mummies eat. i'll be able to reach abt 3pm, so mummies who are earlier can prob meet at abt 2pm there? food is purchased in marche style, so no problems with settling the bill later.

Jmon,
haha ya, will get high and dizzy. I almost passed out from it during the last stage of birth and started screaming at HB to take it away from me hahaha

Leo,
at first i thought the mask wasn't working cos it was suppose to produce a "sound" when you breath it in. So i didn't really use it till the pain super kicked in (that was when the heavy breathing came naturally) so i think kinda waste money also hehe

**me looking for the disc wil send you asap

Meddy,

dunno if A&W under reno now or not...but there's other stuff to try

S/W
Thanks for the venue...ya, bring your wipes (HB said the play area not very clean). The food not bad...the Omu Rice (something like that) was good but I'm sure it had loads of MSG. haha.

Okay, I'll see y'all around the play area...area.

The pictures (on your blog) are very nice!

Btw, We have grilles...don't call the children's services just yet.

Min,
not failure lah. i din do too well for my 1st bb too. i agree w michele, u need Support (our country is quite lackg in tis area) n Perserverance. speak to pro-bfg frds n my frd really encouraged n helped me tru (i wld call n sms wen i needed help). bfg is not easy esp as a start. but once u cross d hurdle of 1st mth, then 3rd mth, is really much easier.

SW,
i saw ur blog, so funny, so cute
tks

Any one redeemed evoucher thru UOB on zuji website before ? i got my evoucher via sms juz now , tried to redeem my tics , cannot leh

Meddy,
i tried d gas, it works if u use it correctly. but my dilation was so slow, i gave up n asked for epi in d end. af epi, i fell aslp n wen i woke up, fully dilated liao. shd hv asked for epi much earlier (for my case). gynae said probably too tense, muscles tight n cld not dilate effectively.
for my 1st boy, i asked for epi wen i entered the labour ward at 9am (i rested in d hospital ward at 6am n tong d contraction pain for 3hrs then asked to go labour ward). he was born at abt 1pm. same, af epi, i fell aslp n woke up, fully dilated.

Qn to All...
on the topic of giving birth. Just wondering, if you did, why did you go to the hospital before you were ready to give birth? Was it because it was "induced", "scheduled c-section", near or past DD, complications with bb, etc?

I'm just curious...cos for me, being really dense and suffering from great denial-instincts, I only went to the hospital after my water broke and I had the urge to push...a few hours after my contractions were consistantly "5-1-1". I'm not going to cut it so close again but I just want to know what was your indicator.

Jmon,
you so cute...keke

Sanrio,
maybe for no.3 you can ask for epi direct keke then no need to be so tense. The epi makes you sleepy?

jmon
bring Ash along.. then D and him will be octupos brothers! haha some mummies have oredi witness how swift my boy can be! he almost 'murdered' a bunch of uncles with broken bottle of chilli sauce

Bf
i hope will be more deligent in bf for No.2 coz i stil bu gan yan that i did not do it for D
anyway i told hubby that next time no need to inform so many ppl to come visit us at hospital oredi. juz get close relatives will do so that we can rest n latch the baby in peace!

D
i was induced coz D did not gain weight for past 3weeks and water level low.

Gas
i tried in initial contraction but threw it away coz very dizzy and can't get the right technique. nurse say when you feel contractions gonna come then breath it in.
for me.. i got no warning when contraction be coming. so i can only breath when i feel it so also useless

some swear by tigh jab!

outside food
IMO i think its ok to let bb try outside food so to let them get used to MSG/salt etc

if my boy takes a meal outside for lunch etc.. then i make sure his dinner will be home cook. so won't let him hv 2 meals of outside food in a day

but past few weekends.. i did not really cook much and was a happier mum letting him eat outside food

D
i was an induced case. So it was supper at bedok mkt, dan 'chk in' at 1am :p

Min
I find e thigh jab is gd for a short (super short) period only. When the pain came and I asked for jab, the nurse says cannot. So asked for epi instead.

Re : outside food
so far, table food r like tibits and extras for jboy. He still eats his hm cooked meals, but whatever we eat, he will taste also.

Meddy,
not epi make me sleepy :p but i tink was tired out by d pain. cos both my contractions started at early hrs like 3am n i cant slp. factory closed, no no. 3 :p

D,
for my both labour, waterbag did not break, was artifically ruptured. 1st tx was a bit more kc cos 1st tx mum. 2nd tx was i had regular contractions but dilation was just very slow.

Sandwich/ Meddy
Hey gals…thanks for sharing …good to know that there are like-minded mummies who have started giving tasty foods to their todds.

Sandwich
Went to KPO at Kaizer’s blog too…you sure is good with photo-taking and narrations! Definitely brightens up the day after reading…

Meddy
Maybe Nestle instant porridge the serving is bigger I think?

A&W…..I miss it too… rootbeer float and curly fries…yummys!

Jmon
Ohhh.…..No wonder the vast difference…coz my boy dun ask for food….he prefers to “eat air”…hahahah!

<font color="0000ff">Re: Sit-in Swimming Float for year 1-3</font>
Mummies, any idea which shop in Singapore sells this????

SD,

I also have the Nestle Porridge at home but think that one have to cook rite? The pigeon ones only have to heat up in hot water.

Re: Sit in Swimming Float
I got mine from Toys R Us, cost less than 10 bucks.

I haven't log in for a long time tho I do come in to read. Note the 18th get-together at Raffles Citty-- Jeremy and I will try to be there.

Toilet Training
just wondering if any of you have started or already started?

D,
I had the "Show" in the morning then slowly dilly dally to the hospital..heard that if water bag break, contractions would come faster compared to having the "Show"

SD- i saw toyrus has floats , maybe u go there to take a look ? i ordered thru overseas spree , but i think price wise , toyrus is not that expensive either .

my float has a tiny hole , punctured somemore .
cannot change . so i wld advise u to buy locally

I mean planning to start to toilet-train.. or already started? or when do you plan to start (if not started.

I hv started then stopped then started again but bbJ not very co-operative.

mrs chia , jordan belongs to coold .
my son is zac :p

no , my ma tried to get him to signal when he wants to poo . sometimes he will make the "uuuuhhh" sound .
other than tat , if we see that he has not poo-ed for the day , we will sit him on potty n "uuuh" for him . if there is really biz to be done , he will cooperate by sitting on potty. if no poo , he will attempt to runaway fm potty .

min,

bring Ashton is my 1st project of the week. only brought him downstairs which i cant tahan liao.

not sure if i can survive with him outside alone.

err... mummies, when u bring kid out alone, will you bring pram?

coming Thur makan plc cfm @Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar??

Reservation needed??? esp. the high chairs

Wkly meet up (most imptly we all want to meet the 2C)

Date: 18th Sep (Thur)
Time: 2pm
Venue: Raffles City
Makan plc : Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar @Basement
1. Cindy (joining ard 3pm)
2. D
3. s/w (joining ard 3pm)
4. Gene
5. michele
6. Augleo
7. sanrio
8. Catherine (joining ard 3pm)
9. michellek
10. ixora
11. coolD
12. mindy
13. Jmonster (TBC)
14. Mrs Chia

can me &amp; k join u gals for lunch?

Wkly meet up (most imptly we all want to meet the 2C)

Date: 18th Sep (Thur)
Time: 2pm
Venue: Raffles City
Makan plc : Shokudo Japanese Food Bazaar @Basement
1. Cindy (joining ard 3pm)
2. D
3. s/w (joining ard 3pm)
4. Gene
5. michele
6. Augleo
7. sanrio
8. Catherine (joining ard 3pm)
9. michellek
10. ixora
11. coolD
12. mindy
13. Jmonster (TBC)
14. Mrs Chia
15. kikismom

coold
Have try Neo Garden.. their curry chicken &amp; elchair are good.. their service not bad too.. can try..

mrs chia
my mom has been toilet trained k since he's lil.. now he is able to bring us to the potty if he needs to poo poo..but he still dunno how to show us tat he wants pee pee
I thinks it harder for them to say they want to pee pee...maybe by touching their birdie to indicate tat they wan to pee..

re: toilet &amp; potty training

eerr..shall we toilet or potty training our toddler..toilet or potty first? which potty is comfy? any recommendation?

if toilet..i think my Belle will drop into the toilet bowl..:p or she will splish splash at the toilet bowl..

kikis,
of coz lah

after makan, wanna make a trip to Robinson

JM,
u driving there? if yes, then shldn't b an issue. me will bring stroller w/me. if not, i can hold JK for long

kss,
buy the toilet seat for kid?

KSS
I started with potty first. But nowadays coz Gladys eat lots of rubbish, her poo also gets bigger. So I 'upgrade' her to toilet so that I don't have to wash the potty. Btw, when I give her the potty, I'll lay a thick layer of tissue on the base, so that I don't have to 'rub it off'. For toilet, I suggest you get a child seat cover.

D
I had the 'show' at 2am and had dribbles throughout the night. But I didn't go to the hospital until my contractions kicked in at abt 8am. Still, I had to bathe and pack my bag. My scheduled C-sect is 1 week away leh. I cried on the way to hospital coz you know how bad traffic is at 9am. I was stuck, though I was only abt 5 mins from the hospital.

agent_D,

re: abt giving birth

i went for weekly check up at 38 weeks. gynae checked my cervix. he said: i can feel ur baby's heart. u are 4cm dilated. gosh! i was very shocked. perhaps i had been telling Belle: when do u want to come out? for many many times..
then i was wheeled to delivery suite immediately. i had laughing gas as i didn't want epi at the first place. gynae broke my waterbag. i gave birth to Belle within 3 hours. the day before, i was shopping with hb from 1pm+ to 9pm+. no signs at all.