(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

s/w
I was just reading about Lehman...

Cindy,
think caitlyn and JK same height! Now that I shaved J's head...he no longer has hair advantage...*sigh*

s/w
nice article...before we got married, we discussed about our finances too...my mom adviced me to do so.

s/w, D, caicai, CD
i m average, abt 1.61cm but light :p. yes, bb/todd boys tend to b heavier/taller than girls in general. ash was much heavier n taller compared to cher tis tx. kaizer is smaller frame but who knows he may suddenly grow tall n big.

Tall mummies:
i think gene n tracy are tall.

Tall babies:
i think JK n cait are tall, jesse looks quite tall too..

sanrio,
OK, will let you know when i'm on the way to bbatok. am taking 189 later, so will stop at the busstop downstairs of your place. my mum's place have a lot less toys than your place, but both of them can have fun chasing each other.

Mummies.......

I need help ! What to cook for a 17 mths old infant ?

I am being sick off cooking poriddge n poriddge.... i think my boi also boring on the daily menu liao. Any ideas ? please.....please....

D
Jesse less dan 83cm? it does not look like jboy taller dan J, but dat was e height e clinic gave me e last time. Maybe not accurate huh?

Anyway, both clinics I mentioned takes appt. Usually I will cal like 15min b4 appt. to chk e q and adjust accordingly. I do not like to wait at clinics too. I always feel too many sick pple n virus :p

But ABC the fone line usually bz.

apple red,
rice. my girl is also a bit sick of porridge already.
here's a simple one, both me n my girl had tis for lunch tdy:
1)chicken thigh, remove skin n bone (i usually ask the seller to do tat). wash n cut into pieces
2)pumpkin, cut into big pieces
3) yam, cut into big pieces
4) vegetables, brocolli or anything, sometx i put sweet peas if i hv them in fridge
5) rice
wash n put rice into rice cooker, put all ingtedients on top n push button, cook.
when rice ready, lightly stir to fluff up d rice, n put a bit of olive oil for fragrance n a tiny pinch of seasalt if u wish to.

optional: u can marinate chicken w tiny bit of seasalt or soya sauce or pepper or sesame oil or plum sauce if u wish to.

serve hot. for me, i wld eat w cut red chilli w lime, yummy. my daughter likes it as it is cos the chicken n pumpkin make d rice sweet.

u need to estimate d amt of water else rice wld b too soggy.

if u hv stock/soup, u can replace d water w stock, even nicer!

sandwich,
ok u give me a call when u reach. or we can pop by the bt batok mum n babies fri support gp at the pap blk, tink is blk 207.

sanrio,
what time does the support group start? can't wait to leave office at 3pm!

apple,
i prepared rice for kaizer to bring to sch this morning too. i steam everything at home, cos haven't bought a rice cooker yet. the pot has three tiers. first tier is a bowl of rice, second tier is a handful of minced chix (dropped a few drops of olive oil into it), third tier is frozen peas, 1/2 corn, 1 carrot.

Sanrio
Kettles unsalted…good idea! Least not as salty as Lays but taste good too.

Kimsamsoon
Yupz…am a true blue Canto…both sides of my grandparents are and hence my parents also…what abt U?

Kim/ Sandwich
By the way, I am also a shortie….always sit first row in class last time. Guess that’s why Jonas not tall also….haizz….

D
Oh ya…British Chippys takeaway….hehehe. I like salt & vinegar flavor.

Cindy
Think probably Caitlyn is the tallest girl here ….taller than many boys here in fact!

SD,
Talking about British Chippys, you tried the fried mars bars? Always very tempted to try but it seems very "gelak" :p

Talking about height, think i must be 1 of the shorties around here keke

springdance,
i am not cantonese but can speak/read cantonese though. i watched TVB series since primary.
i am a 100% hokkien. dad & mum hokkien.

Kim,
same! been watching HK drams since primary school too. But when I speak canto, everyone laughs... :p

SpringD,
Wa, then you must have grown up drinking lots of "leng tung"

Tall toddler
Think Dlim and Jayden also quite tall right? Kieron too.

HK drama
anybody watched 'jia1 hao3 yue4 yuan2'? My fren told me it's nice, and I hv been trying to find time to watch. So far, oni watched 1 episode :p

Kimsamsoon
So I guess you are fluent in both dialects yah? Actually I think it’s good to be able to speak & understand dialect and we should let our next generation learn it….I think my boy will learn canto too (from my MIL who is the caregiver)….Anyone speaks to Belle in dialect?

Meddy
Nope…neber tried the fried mars…like you say…see liao already “bao”…but I tried the sausage with mashed potato b4…though it’s the Maggi instant mashed potato, I quite like it with the sausage & gravy…hehehe.

By the way, when are you going for your PG trip? Decided on which hotel?

Cherryteq
Actaully my mum dun boil soups (“Dun Tang”) everyday…maybe like once or twice a week only…coz it takes up quite a lot of preparation work and time over the stove…I LOVE her soups though….as well as her desserts like Gingko barley with “Fu Chuk”.

Cool_D
Such a new show....haven watch it but I do believe it's good! Think it came out because the part 1 serial which just finished on SCV channel not too long ago was really popular & hot in HK. The lead actor & actress in part 1 won "Best Actor/Actress" TVB award last year....

i'm the shortest!! only 1.53cm!
my boy also may hv got my genes.. only 77-79cm. its a gauge coz he refused to be pinned down for measurement as he also don wanna stand

sanrio
which brand of olive oil wld you recommend?

apple red
you can try ABC pasta or sphagetti with tomatoes (boiled tomatoes then blend).
yday i cooked that and added some canned salmon on to it.. yummy!! and its easy to cook!

coolD
I've watched 'jia1 hao3 yue4 yuan2'... me like the drama..very nice

kim/cherryteq
me too..I've been watching TVB drama since i in primary...but when come to speaking eveyone laughs too..

bb height
I think K is abt 85+cm, many ppl commented tat he is big size for his age..

Hi hi everyone....

Been a long time since I dropped in...dun help that work is hectic and crasy for the past month & would continue until end Oct....

Wow...u all tried so many things for baby. Think I'm lazy & kiasi mummy...dun let Mal try any sweet or salty stuff like peanut butter, soft drinks or pasta. Seldom let him eat outside food also.

Nowadays, during weekend, I also cook lunch for Mal & myself. But that "smart" guy only wanta eat from my bowl (which has exactly the same stuff as his bowl)...shake head

hello all.... long long time never come in... work busy busy, busy with 2 BBs, etc 24hr is insufficient...

been lazy to read archieves, so anyone become 2nd time mummy again?

updates of my 2 'ma-lau' (cantonese):
adeline is 7kg now, can hold her neck quite good but still a bit unstable, can play & responds very well.

Aston finally can walk on 26 July (i still remember lolz) and able to say few words like open, mimi (which is referring to mummy), gong (grandfather), pish (ie fish), Mei You means no, meimei ie his little sister, meimei ie he says this when he's in his nice tshirt/pants, etc

need to rant..
juz visited my bestie at GlenE as she juz delivered in evening. she wanted to TBF but i advised her to take a break for tonight and let the nurse feed the baby then tomolo resume TBF.

so i told the nurse to cup feed the baby (to prevent nipple confusion) at night but she say what for?? since at home no one will cup feed the baby! so they will bottle feed the baby.

wow *&^%%& shows that GlenE is not pro in bf-ing!! shd have juz encourage my bestie to try bf at night!

min, if u want your friend to succeed in bfing, then u shd haf advise that the baby room in with her (and not rest for the night) - that way she can feed on demand and her milk supply will come in faster. bfing is based on supply and demand - if the nurses supplement now, she's more likely to fail in her attempt to total bf!

*mich*
yeah i totally regretted. bcoz she was trying to latch when i visited her and she went through 10 hrs of labour w/o epi and was super tired. she was also staying in 2bedder so they won't allow baby to sleep in with her.
so i tot maybe she can rest then try again tomolo.

coz TMC will offer to cup feed. and i tot it be same for all hospital

SD,
I will be heading to PG next Friday, only 3 days trip cos 1st time overseas with my gal keke
Will be staying at G hotel.

Wah your MIL knows how to make "Yi Mai Fu Chok"? I love it especially when its super cold! hehe

D,
at 1.54, think should be 1 of the shortest liaoz :p

CoolD,
I waiting for the whole serial to be out leh, watched the earlier series (Tang Xing Feng Bao) its damn addictive, my HB can watch the serial up to 3am in the morning hahaha

Min,
When i was at GlenE, they pushed the baby to be when she needed to be nursed ah. The nurse told be they dun encourage baby in room cos they wan the mothers to rest more.

wow you friend 10hrs Labour w/o Epi? *Pei Fu, Pei Fu*

meddy
i guess GenE practice is diff fm TMC
my boy was in my room most of times..

yes.. i told her i can salute to her liao. anyone who can do it w/o epi is my idol!!!! for no. 2.. i won't be bothered trying to tahan contractions oredi.

Confused...

So in order for the mummy to latch on successful, the mummy must go without rest, directly after labour, bf straight after bb is borned??

Cos I'm in TMC. BB Mal only came to my ward (single-bedded) after they bathed, checked by pd...think that's at least 6hrs later....BB dun stayed with me but they tried to bring him every 2 hours. Mal was very stubborn, refused to open mouth, refused to suckle. Total failure. He cried so much....sigh....I felt like total failure then.

C also roomed in with me @ RH.

Min, you can also idolised me. haha...

cat, that's why encouraged to room in so you can just sleep when the bb is latched on - its not that you have to go w/o rest. well-informed lactation consultants will recommend that you latch on the bb immediately after birth because that's when the bb's suckling reflex is the strongest.

*mich*/D
yes.. both of you are my idols!!! hahaha

Cat
D was brought to my breast the moment he came out and wrapped up. then they took him for PD check up.
think 3-4 hours they send him back to me. i also stay in 1bedder.
but i got problem latching coz D was drowsy (due to epi effect)all the way.. did not even bother to open eyes and mouth

so i also very desperate keep calling nurse to come in to help until to advise me to rest for the night (i delivered at 8pm) coz i was on verge of crying..

then i start practice latching the next day but still a failure bcoz got visitor streaming for the whole day as it was a Good Fri. so not convenience to latch and can only practice at night

so went home keep latching but no milk.. in the end gave bottle. my SS only came in on 5th day but i'm pathetic and rare 'cow' coz with persistent latch and pump for 6mth.. my SS is only 40ml on both sides.. so i'm also a failure in Bfing

if you tell TMC nurse that you wanna bf even at night.. they will bring the BB in every 2-3 hours to you and wake you up!

Min...
I thnk all hospitals will bring the baby in every 2-3hrs if you bf the bb.

Aiyo...dun say failure k! Next bb u can try again!

And really, cannot rest first...once you deliver, the bb should latch on to stimulate the supply.

min, yes I agree with Cindy - don't say u're a failure! its not ur fault! u're a 1st time mom afterall! blame it on the unsupportive environment we have here! i read A LOT and spoke to many people to get the information i wanted about bfing and most importantly, i am damn stubborn one lor - i wanna bf means i wanna bf! my MIL actually suggested that i shd give C my SIL's bm coz she thinks that i am starving her grandchild! i cried almost everyday during my confinement (i was staying with her and all her -ve comments hurt me so much!) which totally defeated the purpose of my hb wanting me to stay there (he was afraid that i would get post natal depression but in the end, his mom caused my post natal depression lor)

Sandwich
I thought I also stopped growing taller since abt sec 2. And the saddest thing is, my breasts stopped growing also.

CoolD
I was in M’sia over the weekend and when I was at my friend’s place, jia hao yue yuan was on Astro and it is quite nice, though I really catch no ball coz I didn’t follow from the start. My friend is a follower.

Min
Actually all mums who went thru natural deliveries, with or without epidural, are my idols. I can’t imagine something coming out from ‘there’.

Height
I’m about 1.66m. Think Cindy is the tallest among us here.
I’m the shortest in my family. My parents are both very tall. My brother is more than 1.8m. He got my mum’s legs. *jealous*
I usually wear flats coz it’s definitely more comfortable and my hb is not very tall so if I wear anything more than 2”, he’ll look shorter.
I think Gladys got his genes, small and petite but have my big and chubby face.

gene, i wanna complain! u so long never update ur blog!!

oh, realised that D asked about the montessori - normal rates : $550 p/semester (2x p/week, 1.5hrs each time). mygym @ MP is actually small (the premises) as compared to gymboree where C used to go.

meddy, mygym & the montessori that i'm talking about is opp NTUC (former Marine Parade library). they are in the same bldg, just different levels and the montessori sch has a half-day programme as well.

sanrio, i just boil the fish bones w/ the rest of the ingredients - maybe u didn't wash the fish bones clean? i'm not sure leh...

gene
yeah you so long nvr update blog! so who look after Gladys?

*mich*
i juz recalled that i still dunno the brand of the cereal that you posted on your blog

Michele/ Min
Ya, long time nv update my blog! Coz my laptop has so many problems and I'm really lazy sitting in the study room to do updating leh. Let me do something about it.

Min
My mum helped to look after Gladys lor. I'm so sad coz she said bb didn't really miss me. I missed her so much leh. The last time I went away without her was Sept last year.

Min,
Me also w/o epi, for no.2 you try w/o epi la,who knows things might might go very smoothly. Read somewhere that mostly labour time for no. 2 is shorter compared to no.1.

What i like is w/o epi, i was mobile and alert right after birth. My gal was encouraged to latched on right after the nurses checked her.

Mich,
I agree environment plays a very impt part. I was doing my Confinement at my mom's place then my parents are very not into breastfeeding so i couldn pump any milk to keep but only keep latching my gal on throughout the day. you know older generation like to say "You also grew up on FM, so whats the problem with FM now?" And like you, it defeated my purpose of doing my confinement at my mom's place i only ended up upset and crying alot..

And for no.2, very determind to do confinement in my own house kekekeke

Meddy,
same here, I love "au naturel" cos there's really no side effect to speak of and I can eat before and after delivery! No problems with answering nature's calls and all too...hehe...If possible, I'd love to try not having anything again. BUT, I always leave the option open for epi. ;) *chicken*

Mich,
One year how many sems? 2, 3 or 4?
I'm thinking of attempting bfing next time round. I'll ask you questions then. That said, I'm not like super super wanna do it...so cannot be to harsh on me ah. hahah. I can be stubborn lah, but my reasons to try are all quite "fluffy". And I obviously will not think FM is not good for my child...

Gtg save J from jumping out the window now...

Morning mummies...

Talk abt Monday blues...they actually took out my partner teacher & left me alone with the bunch of Monkey students....AAAHHHHHH!!!!

min, i haven't got the lab report yet.

meddy, totally lor! i wanna do at home too, now that we have a domestic helper! i kept asking my hb to hire one before i popped so that i can stay at home but he wanted to save $$$$!!!

D, one semester 10 weeks so one year 4 semesters. its gd to wanna bf but if u are not very determined one, then not easy coz its agonising the 1st few weeks (was for me at least) or maybe was because i was staying with MIL. i had engorgement, fever, permanently blocked milk ducts that had to be massaged VERY HARD everyday!