(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Leo,
JK so creative!
He's definitely a bright child

d,
working mum rebate for child is a measly $2000 too. so i've still gotta pay quite a bit of income tax.

d,
i think antenatal benefits are a good idea. such that benefits start from the point of the conception of a baby. another benefit that SAHMs should have is groceries and transport subsidies. i think even $20-$100 a month would make a lot of difference to some families. but govt could run a background check and families who have a high disposable income can be excluded from such schemes.

cool_daughter,
i think the childcare providers will prob increase their monthly fees in parallel with the increase in subsidies. so net savings for parents will be very little eventually.

ya , abt cc providers
they said they going to up subsidies , but they said they want to ENHANCE the quality of ccs too
Quality = price increase , so all in all , the increased in subsidies doesnt warrant a lower payout in fees if these ccs increase their charges after the enhancement programs :{
right pocket in , left pocket out

s/w,
so little? my bad...the PTR scheme is for second kid up (here's something for you to look forward to): http://www.iras.gov.sg/irasHome/page03.aspx?id=1528

More incentive to have more children, s/w

When the time comes, I'll have to ask IRAS, if the whole amount can be claimed by HB. Right now, the onus is on the mother to let IRAS know (online/in writing) the amount of rebate to be portioned to HB.

s/w, caicai
u r rite .. in e end we r still not paying lesser for childcare. But dan, well, if the quality is better, it's still a good thing afterall

actually tho' I am a FTWM, i still dun ustand why is there a working mother subsidy or tax rebate and not working father subsidy. What if the papa is a house husband? Thot there shld be equity by now hor.

leo , 3 pkts leh .
wow wow wow .
kudos to ur creative cooking n tender care n tons of effort to grow this little boy
or i shd say big boy

D , i belong to the no ambition woman n spend lil $ type .

caicai,
then you should stay at home

coold,
that was what I wanted to do too until I heard that they don't get paid much...$1K? Erm...I'll stay at home...it's cheaper. :p

D , i spent lil $ on myself
but i comfort myself by buying lil prezzies for my son wif my measly pay .
i intend to stay home after #2 , but most of my frens are working , think shd be bored staying at home wor , face the 4 walls n 2 notti kids .

dlim , heehee

but i dun wan to hv #2 so soon .... very scare to go thru the process all over again
nowadays , whenever i see those tiny newborns , i will look at my hubby , i'll tell him "we hv been thru alot , xiaobao is so big now . cannot imagine 3hrs nid to feed the baby n they look so vulnerable"

Dearest Mummies
Thanks for the well wishes for my boy…

Just to update, the PD clinic finally called this morning (although they say they will call yesterday afternoon but didn’t… guess their service level not really good?) …results is negative on dengue so likely it’s the normal viral flu…good thing is that Jonas’s temperature is finally within control today and he’s starting to eat abit…but he still refuses water, juices and liquids…so body still a little warm and he didn’t pass motion for 2 days already. Hopefully he recovers fully by end of the week and start to take in water……..

Augleo
Apologies I didn’t realise yesterday…anyway, Happy Belated Birthday! Hubby got give you any special pressie?

WoW…looks like JK has got many teeth already…how many altogether?

CaiCai / DLim
The new benefits for working mums seems attractive…but then I dun feel like going through the phase again lei….my close colleague now preggy at 6 months…see her gonna enjoy all these benefits, feel abit “lugi” for myself and so envy of her. Plus, I foresee the possibility of taking over her work on top of mine for 4 months...Oh No! :p

caicai,
no subsidy for playgp.

s/w,
ash cc is $800/mth n d miserable subsidy for non-working mum is $75. hope they wld up d subsidy quickie b4 i take ash out next yr.

sanrio,
the 18mth old prog at kaizer's school costs $900 a month. so after subsidy of $150, i've gotta pay $750, that's like a lot per month still.

Caicai: read thru the archive tt zac din enjoy GUG. I agree with you that he really seemed to enjoy KM alot. Lele too, but he expresses his happiness by running around and squealing with joy;p Lele is gonna cont for another term... actually we wanted to quit and join something else but... Lele simply seems SO HAPPIEEEE at KM tt wo bu ren xin.(

Wanted to try GUG but not sure lele (or us) can tahan 1 1/2 hrs or not
esp since I haven even gone for trial. Hubbie also feels that GUG activities seemed more for older children and that since I am doing flashcards and stuff with him no need too much other enrichment just one (such as KM) for him to socialise and have fun.

Hope Zac will start enjoying GUG when he got the hang of things.)

#2: Actually wheneva I see a NB babe, I will want to be preggie again just so I can relish having a small little cuddlie baby rely on you for all your needs. I'll even start daydreeem abt all the things I will do differently with this 2nd one. More TLC etc...

But when I see my Lele now and how activ he has turned out, I think ,"maybe when Lele become more settled I will have another!"

Augleo
Happy belated Birthday!

CoolD
I'm more polite. Even 40s waitress I call them xiao jie so that they'll attend to me sooner!

Today...
I brought Gladys for a haircut to cut away the 'tail' part and crop her fringe. Wah, she was like wailing her lungs out when my stylist used the electric shaver on her. The results, uneven fringe. But cannot complain since its FOC.
Maybe next time should bring to the whatever league. But they charge $18 for a kiddy haircut. That's ex la.
After her haircut, I brought her for her 2nd dose of pneumococcus and at the same time I thought better to give her chickenpox vaccine. Needless to say, it was a terrible day for her.

Btw, a friend called me last night saying that her 1 yo bb just ganna chickenpox and it spreads to his 2 elder brothers. My poor friend had to take care of 3 sick kids.
One of her friend's young bb also having chickenpox so I thought better to vaccine Gladys since it's an airborne disease.
The doc did say that there's a possibility that even after vaccine, there's a chance of getting chickenpox but then it'll be milder and less pus-sy.

gene, i brought C to junior's league before - not worth the money lah. i now cut her hair myself! haha... just buy the layering scissors and trim off where its too long. keke... i've trimmed her hair like more than 5 times oredi.

Gene,
I shaved Jesse's hair before, that was the only time he didn't cry. When we came back, brought him to the kid's haircut place at UE SQ, he cried. Then 3 more times around the around (adults place) also cried, each time worse than before....so now, I'm just letting it grow out. Buay Tahan, I'll shave it myself, already bought the shaver

how hv u been?

Life's been really challenging for me so far...abt a mth ago i even had premature contractions and was admitted to the hosp...

Well, in short, i'm going through a separation/divorce. I should say that it's a decision made 4 years late...It's very difficult for me but I believe it's for the better. The darkest moments when I would cry my eyes out are over. I'm more calm and settled now.

Saw my gynae yday and bb has not been growing well. She shd be abt 2.4kg now at 34wks but she is still 1.7kg, which is the av weight for 31wks. Gynae is concerned abt the blood/oxygen flow and has arranged for a growth scan at thomson hosp tmr. If bb is really not thriving, i will hv to induce labour at 37 weeks. And if bb is still not within ideal weight, she will hv to stay in the hosp for a longer period of time.

I'm so worried...it's all my fault...to let her suffer my emotional trauma with me all this while...I've only gained 7-8kg so far. I've tried eating more but i really have got no appetite. And I've been feeling nauseous all over again...

oh dear, traz, pls take care of urself! marriage beyond salvation? possible for the 2 of u to sit down and talk things thru calmly? hey, u haf my mobile no. right? pls feel free to call me if you need a listening ear!

traz , for the time being , u hv to concentrate on being +ve , for the sake of urself n ur unborn child .
throw all -ve tots out of ur head , focus on happy stuff first . dun add undue stress on urself now . post/prenatal stress is harmful .
u hv some good frens in this forum , talk to them

Traz,
do take care. is there anytg tat can b done for d marriage? is not ur fault, dun blame urself, i m sure ur dearest bb girl wld b ok. if u nid any 1 of us to talk to, do let us noe.

Gene,
wen we 1st brought ash to junior league, he cried his lungs out too, so d hair salon made no diff to him. like michele, i cut ash's hair all d way till he was old enough to undstd abt 'hair cut in a hair salon' n i no longer can manage his thicker hair. since then, his hair is being cut at fantatsic sam. very good.

Traz

So sorry to hear that!
Hang in there, be strong!
You are tired and need some rest, give yourself some break and try to put down all your burden for the time being. Stay calm!

traz,
so sad to hear that. guess the decision to separate didn't come easy, since there are three young kids involved. since there's still 6 wks to go, there's still time for your gal to gain a bit of weight. must trust that the foetuses are very resilient. take care yourself and do let us know if you need to come out for a chat.

traz
pls take care of yourself and baby
let us know if you need a listening ears or support
you still hv friends and families mbr whom still loves you.
cheer up and chin up ok!

Traz,
please take care...you have michele's number and if you want to meet up tomorrow, let me know, I think you stay near me...can pick you up.
my number is: eight one three nine zero four five nine.

I'm no dr, so I can't say anything about your bbgal except, rest more and drink more water...hope the scan goes on well...and eggs are very nutritious. Hope you can focus on the reminder of your pregnancy....take care!

anyone keen to buy blank flashcards? i'm thinking of doing a bulk purchase from a local supplier. size : 4" x 24" as recommended by Glenn Doman in 'How to Teach Your Baby to Read'

Michele,
around how much is it? I need to buy some blank cards/heavy-weight paper for something I'm doing...haha...not flashing
But ya, if it isn't too ex, I'll buy.

Michele
Wah, you pro leh. I don’t trust myself doing a good job leh.
But Claire will sit still and let you trim her hair? Gladys can’t be still for nuts. How?

D
I used to shave Gladys with my shaver for a couple of time when she was little, when her hair’s growing out in patches. She was already screaming for her life whenever she hears the little motor running. I suspect she’s got phobia on the sound.

Traz
Sorry to hear about your situation. Is it so bad that it’s beyond salvation? I know we outsiders can never understand how you’re feeling now but I suggest you put it on hold first until your bb gal is out. Don’t add on stress to yourself. You know how much damage it can be on both yourself and bb.
I truly understand how difficult it is to be going through a separation or divorce. It is most important to share your thoughts with people you can trust. Spill it all out, don’t keep in to yourself. It can be so miserable but for the sake of the unborn, think on the bright side.
I’m sure many of us are willing to lend our listening ears. Do take good care of your health.

D, I heard its like $63 for 1,800 pcs! hehe... not very sure. I just emailed the gal for a quote. i just wanna have a feel how many people keen and how many pcs we need then can negotiate accordingly.

gene, not pro lah - the key is to keep her focused on something. i sit her on the basin in the toilet and let her play with the tap (she enjoys it lah) while i quickly snip off. i use the combi layering scissors and its really not very difficult lah.

and you know what? I am so proud of C... my mum (and hb) has been bugging me the last couple of weeks to start toilet training her but i never really got down to it. and this amazing gal, just somehow learnt to be toilet trained by herself! i keep the door opened when i do my biz whether its big or small and always invite her to sit on her potty at the same time. the 1st couple of times, she would protest and want to get out of the potty (keeps shaking her head and look terrified). however, she slowly started 'accepting' the potty and would mimic me (coz I try to exaggerate when doing my biz) and now, she will just come to me, try to pull down her diapers and go either mm, mm or bian bian when she wants to do her biz. truly amazing! i didn't really believe her initially (thought it was just coincidence) but now i know she is serious when she does that and i'll quickly bring her to her potty. seems like she has to 'graduate' from wearing rompers and start wearing 2 pieces to allows herself to pull down her pants when she wants to do her biz!

so now i really believe 'when they are ready, they will let you know!' so really no need to worry and rush them!

michele,
that's great! kaizer is having a little inclination too, like he will pee when i take out his diapers. but he's nowhere near claire lah, and i'm also not rushing him cos i'm a bit lazy myself to toilet train so soon.

s/w
me too another lazy mummy to start toilet train :p But I do shee shee jboy when i take off his diaper b4 shower and he will pee. For the big biz, he usually squat down n start doing it, wif his diaper on

From 1 Jan 2009, the infant care subsidy will be increased from $400 to a maximum of $600 per month to help parents offset the cost of centre-based care. The subsidy applies to all Singapore Citizen children regardless of child order.

The childcare subsidy will be increased from $150 to a maximum of $300 per month. The subsidy applies to all Singapore Citizen children regardless of child order.

Cai,
i know you lah! coz u requested mah, so asking anyone else.

jon's mummy,
you wanna order crocs? i am aslo taking in orders for crocs too

yo mummies,
was out since 8am

SD, jon's mom, n Gene,
thk u

SD,
u n Jonas feeling beta le?
back to norm body temp. n no more sore throat?

coolD,
nice date, ha...small celebration on this date

traz,
i'm sure u hv lots of listening ears around esp. with ur good nature, alots of nice frez are around u. call us whenever u are ready. if u hv time, wanna meet up tomr?

Michele
Think I should invest in the Combi scissors then. Coz I tried cutting with the normal paper scissors.
Congrats on C’s success on potty training! Continue to praise her!

Caicai
Can I know if the childcare subsidy applies to children with sahm? Or only to both ftwp?