(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

taro n s/w , what other good recommendations for books , can gv more titles , i wan to buy for my son too . his flashcards are too dog eared

caicai,

Ladybird

DK publisher books also not bad cause more photo realistic unlike cartoons.

Karen Katz books are sweet and tender loving

Eric Carle titles: http://www.eric-carle.com/home.html

taro,
i only have eric carle's brown bear book. haven't read the hungry caterpillar before, though i think its his most famous book.

caicai,
cannot advise on the books lah, cos depends on your personal preferences. you must choose something that you will enjoy reading, otherwise you'll get bored reading to zac. i think eric carle and curious george are quite popular. but i'm a big fan of dr seuss though, cos the books are zany and funny. for example, the alphabet book teachers that I stands for itchy itchy ichaboo, and Z stands for zizzer zazzer zuss. so nonsensical and funny, hehee. i try to read the alphabet book to kaizer on the bus on the way to school everyday to keep him from moving ard too much.

Sandwich,
i love Dr Suess too! have you read 1 fish 2 fish red fish blue fish? The ABC book is just about the only book that keeps my gal still! Usually i buy them from Amazon cos its cheaper..

but now with the 30% off can get it locally instead.. Thanks Diane!

Btw, do you mommies usually buy books which are clinged wrap or those without wraps? I see some kids reading at Borders, they do not handle the books with care ah

sandwich: I read the green eggs and ham for her but very funny ... she v angry when i read to her cuz it means the books not in her hand!

Springdance,
Tks! going for 10days.. Perth n Melb may visit sm frens, then to sydney..

Caicai, kikismom,
Tks too! catch up again..

CaiCai: Not sure if zach will like them, but I noticed that Lele's attention on books with huge simple pictures and one word or short sentence per page is better. There was this book called "My puppy friends" which I got from SK lib. It has photos of 1/2 puppy on each page and 1 adjective word to describe. Was pleasantly surprised tt Lele, who will usually only focus on books when he is strapped in the pram on the MRT, loved the book very much. He will random flip to a page and I will read out the adjective to him and he will look at my lips while I say out. Some puppies he will love so much he will "sayang".

I love ERIC CARLE too but found that Lele cannot focus the too-long stories. Also found that the pictures dun seem to capture his attn...

Diane
You are so nice....can describe Jonas's crying as Smart...hahaha....

OIC...is professional...Can share with me how much is the the photo package? By which studio?

Ixora
Wah...that's like one international flight and 2 domestic flights...is that Joanie's 1st time on the plane?

Me really "gian" to bring my boy for holidays..Errr....not sure if you are busy packing now but if you have a little bit of time, can share with me how you intend to cook Joanie's food over there or she will just eat the foods at restaurants with the adults?

Kate / Sandwich / Meddy
Jonas dun really concentrate (he just wanna flip & close up the book!) when I try to read to him "My Hungry Caterpillar" by Eric Carle.. I also find the pictures not that attractive like Kate mentioned.

Same case when I try to read to him the "Dr Seuss can Moo, Can U?" He dun have a liking for books I guess....

talking about children's books...
Jesse loves Sandra Boynton
He also likes that Suss ABC book but my HB hates it. Another Eric Carle that's good is "the very busy spider".

taro, meddy, diane, d,
i usually combine reading dr seuss with some action. if it's the ABC, i'll tickle him at the itchy page. if it's the moo book, i'll shake him at the thunder page. then there's another book where i teach him to kiss the goose. he will usually sit through the book in anticipation of the action pages.

meddy, diane,
i haven't started him on the fish and ham books, but have read them myself before i gave birth. and i do think that if ham was ever green, that'll be very cute. maybe can get them tomorrow if they have the hardcover version.

ixora,
enjoyr your trip to perth and melbourne!

sandwich,
I do that, otherwise, I'd be bored reading it for the tenth time in a row!
I have to play around to keep my interest going...

d,
i haven't tried reading a book times times in a row before. i think the most i've ever done was abt 6. hahaa ...

diane,
must keep trying lah. one day she will like you to read to her!

any1 looking for flash cards, Borders selling @S$7.90/box. if hv 30% off, it will b cheaper than wat we get from BP.

Augleo & mummies,

I've borders card & the 30% off promo coupon (soft-copy). If anyone wanta, can e-mail u the promo coupon.

hello
juz got back fm our cruise to nowhere trip! now super fat after all the buffet meals.
we practically juz eat and sleep!

know what! we place D in childcare for 1 hour (S$8/hr) on 2days so that we can roam about and do jacuzzi. and amazingly he did not cry and even throw himself onto the babysitter! i have hopes for childcare oredi!!

Hi Min,

I also thought of going for a cruise trip in Sep. Can you let me know how u prepare the meal for your child?

beyond
we depart on Fri evening so i cooked his porridge and fed him for dinner on the cruise

Star cruise offer Heinz bottle food for babies

Sat:
breakfast: got congee and gave him bits of bread also bit of our food like hotdog, hash brown.

Lunch: waitress was sweet to get us congee (as it was not offered in the buffet line).
gave him bit of rice and our food and fruits

Dinner: seafood buffet. so i gave him Heinz bottled food (given by the cruise but must collect fm a certain restaurant).. and gave him soup, rice, cakes and fruits

to sum it up: he ate whatever we eat. my son can eat alot! so bring him to buffet very worth it!

btw, we gotta pay for our child. think i paid $185 for him

Min,
sounds like you had a great time! Yay!

What room did you take and how was the sea? How was the bed? haha. I'm sensitive to motion sickness...so recommended or not ah?

Also were there things to do? Do they provide crib? Ask so many questions like I wanna go like that hor...haha. Just very curious. I have thought about taking a cruise to PG and Phuket.

SD: Have you tried selecting books with big pics and simple words? At first Lele wasn't interested in books, until I discovered that he will focus on books when we are travelling in the train and he is in the pram. Dun be discouraged if he doesn't take to books. Keep on tryin and you'll discover what he likes.

S/W: You got me curious about the Dr. Seuss books. I think you're very creative to add your own actions in the stories! What are the titles?

Diane: S/W is right. Just have to keep on trying to discover what kind of books she likes...

Kris: How is Kelley now...?

D
i took the room with balcony. so each adult pay 555 bucks (b4 seaport tax etc)

i did ask for crib in the end they gave us a foldable sofabed but since our boy sleep with us so doesn't matter.

with a kid.. nothing much to do except to tour around the cruise, eat and sleep.
unless u put J in childcare for an hour like us then can go casino (we did not go) or massage or jacuzzi or jus some couple time

the bed so so only but we are not so fussy abt it no motion sickness.. u can't feel it moving

min,
sounds like a good short getaway. good that dillion is adventurous abt food, so feeding is not problematic.

diane,
i just opened up the dr seuss mini box of books. he had quite a bit of fun taking out the books and putting them back again. obsessive behaviour! does vanessa like her books? how many did you get in the end?

kate,
- mr brown can moo
- dr seuss' a b c
- wocket in my pocket
- teach my dog a lot of words
- ten apples up on top
- the alphabet book
plus, just bought a small box of 6 ultra mini dr seuss books with diane yesterday.

d,
i bought moo baa lalala yesterday to try on kaizer. lalala involves poking his belly button trice. haha, he's quite tickled by it.

ixora,
stole joanie's idea of feeding her bear. made kaizer do the same thing on his toy dog. so funny to hear him "mum mum" when he feeds the dog! hope you're having a great time in australia now!

SD: It;'s by tomato photography. You can check out the business thread - they have a thread in there. My package is "one-never-to-be-repeated-again" cuz it was their homecoming (to singapore) package. They have some new promo for august so you can check it out ...

Sandwich: she only had interest in them for 1 min. I forgot to tell you i got a big book in the same series as the 5 ducks one. I got it at $4 from careefour book sale - v worth it =) i think she's almost ripped out the peekaboo flaps aklready 8ahiz*

diane,
realized the mini books have flaps inside. very very worth it! downside of course, is that the books must be read with adult supervision, lest the babies rip the flaps apart.

Min
Sounds like your trip was really enjoyable & relaxing….and happy for you that D can be quite independent. Springdance aunty praise “Dillion is a brave & good little boy! (pats pats).

Kate
I do have books with big pic and one word…but he doesn’t seem to keen either…well, will try again as & when (but dun think will stock up on books for time being)…anyway, thanks for the encouragement gal.

Pretty Diane aka Bunnie
Tomato…the name so cute….will check it out. Thanks!

Spring: U remind me of my colleague. she said she brought her boy to the beach the other day - dun wan to touch the sand, dun wan to go near water, complain the sand in his shoes .... hahahaha

Your babies do pretend play? Know what YX's into these days? He doesn't enjoy me flashing cards to him but he likes me to give him 1 card at a time for him to hold and see. Then one fine day, he got hold a picture of a bunch of grapes. He started plucking out the grape and wanna give "it" to me. Hahaha
Since then, we've been pretending eating food or fruits out of cards and giving whatever objects in the card to each other

Any similar experience or funny incidents?

taro , i brot zac to pizza hut once , i guessed he observed us fm his chair . ( we didnt gv him anything fm our table)
a few days later , i rec'd a flyer fm pizzahut n i showed it to him . he pretended to 'take' a piece n feed himself .

my boy don't pretend play. was wondering if i shd get those cooking masak for him to play so that he can pretend to cook things for us?

any idea where can i get baby chair for him? those proper ones with 4 legs so that he can do artwork at home

Min,
haha...so far I've been on cruise twice and I've been sick the whole time! Terok! I'm quite scared of water...but it's good to know you all did so well!

sandwich,
J loves that book too. For lalala, I just sing various tonic triads for him...I love boynton books because it gives me the opportunity to make funny tunes. Other possible ones are "Snuggle Puppy", "Belly Button Book" (he loves this cos he keeps getting tickled!) and of course, "Personal Penguin"...that was his first book! I was singing my own tune for the longest time until I went to the website... http://www.workman.com/boynton/

Oh and lastly, he really loves "Barnyard Dance" because of all the possible actions we can include.

SpringD,
J actually doesn't like "short" books...he likes books with "storyline"... If we show him books with one big picture and one word or even one sentence, he'll be like, "ya so?". Michele can attest that the books he makes me read to him are really not meant for him...guess just trying to say that every child is different and just have to try a big variety of books to see what makes your's "tick".
But ya, J makes me read the worst books too...meaningless and stupid...I didn't buy them!

cai/Mrs lai
thanks.. for take a look
Mrs lai
yeah i saw it fm Mar thread but MIL's house cannot accomodate a another table for my son.. *sigh*

springD
jboy is also not a book kid. I hv soo many books at hm, passed down fm his cousins, but he more keen in destroying them:p The longest I saw him 'reading' is perhaps 2-3min. But than, his attention span for almost everything also short .. including his barney vcd.

CoolD,
my gal attention span also very short, for any shows, she will just watch the starting (opening theme) and ending (credits). Books she will only want to flip them herself. She use to listen and enjoy when she was younger but now she just can stop moving!! All her books have now gone to waste hai~~

catherine,
hope nothing serious.

Kate,
yest whole day din bleed, lots of ppl say might b heaty due to the weather but she drink lots of water n somemore bleed 2 times, dats y so wori, will bring her back for review in 1 wk time.

Taro
My flash cards are play cards. Gladys will usually scatter it all around her and pick up pictures that interest her. Like for ice cream, she’ll ‘pick’ up with her fingers and ‘eat’ it. For tiger, she’ll roar.