(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

My baby Malcolm have strange eating habits...

Weekdays with nanny
7.30am 120ml of Mamil Gold 2
9am Bath & then another 120ml of FM
10am Nap
12.30pm 1 bowl of porridge
3.30pm 240ml of FM
5.30pm 1 bowl of porridge
7.30pm 1 bowl of rice with soup
9pm 90ml of FM

Weekend with us
7.30am 120ml of FM
9.30am 1 bowl of cereal with fruit puree
10.30am Nap
12pm 1 bowl of porridge
3pm 120ml of FM
5.30pm less than half bowl of porridge
7.30pm 120ml FM
9.30pm 80ml FM

Caicai,
think you can put Zac on 3 meals semi solids/solid. Dun worry about over stuffing as tods/babies will know how to stop when they are full.

My gal takes 240ml milk 3-4 times a day and has bread for bf and porridge for lunch/dinner and that does not include snacks in between.

Is Zac in the healthy weight range?

Cat
no longer giving EBM?
i don't find it strange except that he has 2 solid meal for dinner? wow!

my boy fixed eating n sleeping schedule:
At grands place:
8.30am 210ml FM
9.30am bread
10-12pm nap time
12+pm porridge
3pm 210ml FM + fruit puree in between
3.30-5 naptime
5.30 porridge
9pm 240ml FM

think his schedule juz go heywire under my care:
9+ FM (sometimes even later as we will laze on bed and play around)
11+ sometimes we go out for early lunch then he will eat a bit Or its nap time for him
1pm+ if no time then i give oatmeal+fruit puree otherwise it be porridge
3pm Milk
4+pm nap
7pm porridge
9pm Milk

can see that when i care for him.. he has no schedule to nap.. very bad! gonna start training him when i be fulltime SAHM

meddy , ya , i believe he used to b quite a heavy boy . but he has slimmed down recently.
didnt weigh him yet .
min , my parents n i brot him out for outings consecutively on sun till mon , he refused to tk his 2nd nap ysterday .think they prefer to play than nap. sigh ~~~~~
i must admit to make them sleep is a tough task

Cai,Min,
agree that its really hard to make them sleep!
My mom has to force my gal to take her nap in the afternoon if not she would be super grouchy during dinner!

read on Mumcentre milestones that Tods should be taking 2 naps in the afternoon but dun think its really that easy..

BTW, anyone started potty training?

my boy able to nap at Grand place coz got sarong
but come back with me.. he can take like 1hr to accompany him on bed to nap leh until i doze off before him

but if he missed morning nap he will sleep 1.5-2hr for afternoon. otherwise he only nap 45min per session

meddy
i started him on potty as and when i change diaper. so he mostly do his poo biz in potty.

actually very cute to see them poo in potty coz they will 'gek' their face when pushing the poo out. juz like an adult!

u can try putting them on potty after 4-5 hr and sit for a few min so as to let them get used to it. at least when proper toilet training, they won't reject potty

Min,
My boy only interested to play with the potty & not sit on it...

hello mummies...

super tired these 2 days, cos my girl is running a fever...sponging her...

caicai,
now zac still 'holiday' no classes on sun...

millo , hi hi
i read fm leo's pd clinic , got those type of cushions ( filled wif water) , can let the feverish child sleep on it . quite cooling so the heat can be dissipated .

ya , zac still holidaying , but starting on 17 Aug for GUG , missed the km lessons leh , quite fun for him . hopes he enjoys GUG .
but i bringing him for MMR On 15 Aug , dunno want to postpone or not , coz i scare he gets a fever fm the jab . he is very prone to fevers too

milo
did yr girl down with fever after jab? coz some say they will hv fever 5-7 days after jab. duno which is true?

Dlim
perhaps you can sit on a stool and be on same eye level with him. i will entice him with toys to distract him.

Min,
what kind of potty you use? I tot of using the one leftover from my wedding but it looks quite hard to sit/balance on it hehe

Milo,
Hope Chole will be fine soon

Cai,
what time lessons Zac going for at GUG?

meddy , i used my wedding potty . very good for my sonny leh . he more comfy wif using this than those cute n low types .

wedding one is cheap somemore , save $$$

he is sun class - 2pm . i think kiera n vanessa's class are on sat .

yes i use the red tum pui. coz for boys.. tum pui is betta then modern ones as the new ones are too shallow for their kuku-bird

meddy
one hand must hold the potty then the other support your child
then do the same thing when they finish.. otherwise the potty will stuck to their bum

cai
so u, kiera and vanessa are in same 2pm class? hmm.. i'm on 11.30am on sat.. tot of changing to your class since most of you are there

Darbebe,

Here's the recipe for Potato Patties from Mrs Lai

Ingredients
1 large potato - peeled and cubed into 1 inch bits
2 small shallots (or 1 small onion) - finely chopped
1 small heap of finely grated carrot (use the smallest holes) (about 2 to 3 tablespoon)
a handful of spinach or other green leafy veggies - washed, squeezed dry and finely chopped
2 tablespoon of meat - finely grounded or mince (I used pork)
1 large egg (or 2 egg whites)

Method
1. Cover the cubed potatoes with water in a pan and add a pinch of salt. Boiled till cooked. Alternatively, cover the cubed potatoes with water in microwavable bowl, add a pinch of salt, and microwave on high for 8 minutes (or till cooked). Drain and mash. Set aside.

2. Heat non-stick frying pan, add 1 teaspoon of oil and shallots and turned to low heat. Cooked till translucent (not brown). Add meat. Season with a little salt/ light soy sauce and pepper - it should be slightly over salted. Add carrots and spinach and mix well. Fry till cooked.

3. Remove meat and veggies from pan, into the bowl containing the mash potatoes. Mix well. Add egg and stir to combine thoroughly.

4. Hear non-stick frying pan on low heat and use a little oil to oil the pan (use a piece of kitchen towel to mop the oil all over the pan). Add spoonfuls of the egg-potato-meat mixture and slowly cook. You need to flip it to cook it like a pancake. Try not to "burn" it on high heat - we should not be introducing carcinogens to them at such a young age!

Tips: You can add peas, brocolli, etc too. It's really up to you! If you are using fish, cook the fish and then flake it - there's not need to mince or chop it before cooking.

Note: since I started using the grounded toasted ikan billis, i use it in place of salt. So if you have the same thing, just omit salt, add as necessary to the mash potatoes mixture BEFORE adding the egg and adjust accordingly. Once the taste is ok, then add egg to mixture.

pictures at: http://porkchopsonabun.blogspot.com/

Min , sat 4pm slot is the popular one
i cannot take that slot coz zac snooze btw 10 to 1pm , his next sleepy slot is 5pm , so i cant make the notti boy go for classes . we are still booked @ 2pm / sunday

Cai,
yours is Sun 2pm? Mine is Sun 4pm ah..think all their classes are like super full.

Hopefully the class choices will get better when they "promote" the tods to the the Parents and tods class..

Dlim / Meddy / CaiCai / Min
My boy also plays with & dismantle (instead of use!) his nice-looking ride-over potty which I bought from kiddy palace… My MIL insist that we should use the traditional red bucket potty if we wanna train him…. Or we will never be able to.

talking abt play , he will topple the potty n urine will be spilled out / or he will miss the aim
then he will use his hands n feet to rub the messy spill n he will smile . yucks
of coz he wun get to play with his sai lah

Kelley,
is it? see you!! hehe so you starting this sun or next sun?

Cai,
I guess its every kids nature to rub the pee on the floor..my mom said i did that when i was young too! hahaha

BTW, anybody knows if the potty at Ikea is good? it seems pretty shallow but it cost only 4.50!

Dlim,
thanks for the recipe.

Re: potting training
Nowadays my girl will pat pat her bums to signal she want to poo. Then we will bring her to the toilet bowl. Sometimes are false alarm therefore, have to make afew trips to the toilet before she really pooed. Though troublesome, but quite glad with her little achievement.

darbebe
thats very smart of your girl!
i can only guess from my son's gek sai face or when he lift his legs up when at sittng on high chair or lying down

Min,
at times she doesnt signal so I have to catch her gek sai face and rush her to the toilet.
After afew pooing session at the toilet bowl, she get the idea. Pooing = Toilet bowl. Having said that, she still pooed in her diaper sometimes.

potty-training: Lele has not started potty-training with poo yet, only w pee, n not with the potty. When he wants to pee, sometimes he will point at there (most of the times not) and we will bring him to the toilet bowl to pee and praise him when he pee. We will let him go diaperless for the day, in between his naps to train him...

whitish things on nails: any mummies know what it means when white things appear on your nails? I know it's indication of some nutrition lacking but not sure what. Cos found some on lele's nails

extracted from magazines on infant's nails reading...not sure doest it applies on toddlers:

white dots on nails
* worms in stomach
- keep clean @all time
- no bitting nails

Pale on lower part of nails
* mayb asthma, lung infection, diarrheas

"1/2 moon" on nails
* shouldn't b more than 1/4 of the nails
* if more than 1/3 shown lung is infected - consult doctor

leo,
kaizer's teacher will be on tv next tuesday. yesterday was on the airline industry. a few of the air stewardesses look quite "ah-lian"; think the air stewardesses in the past looked classier. at least that's how i remembered them to be.

meeting up at GGM tomorrow? i can't make it as there's some national day celebration at the infant school. so am not picking him up at 1 plus, will prob spend my PM leave going out with my husband instead.

s/w , since u are here . i saw kaizer's latest pics , his eyes are so so mesmerizing . can send electric waves type . hahaha
meddy u joining wat spree , clothes for urself or ur kiddo .
so many around mah

Cai,
I know the problem liaoz...i only look at the BP thread but didn't know other threads also have..
paisey paisey..

Potty Training
My mum stressed that I should put my bb on the potty as soon as she can sit. So I started training her like when she was 7 mths. Initially, there was nothing. Must try to catch the timing when she poo. Then around that time, make her sit. Or look out for signs like 'gek sai' or fart. The 1st time bb poo in the potty, must praise the bb! After Gladys poo, she'll clap. Coz that's what I do everytime.

When she's got nothing, she'll say no no no.

When she's 1 yo, I started her on the toddler seat cover on our toilet bowl. It's a life saviour. At least don't have to clean the shit out of the potty.

But then being so young. It's not 100% la. Once a while, there'll be accidents when she cannot control.

Ok any mummies interested in Jshoppers PM me ... i'll go ahead and order if i can hit 12000. Currently got 5000 yen of orders liao :p

caicai,
kaizer says thank you to you! i submitted one of the pics on the link that leo provided. hopefully can win a one hour photoshoot!