(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

D, jesse is such a good helper , he is really an angel . he is so well behaved , very different from the kids i see . how u manage to teach him so well ?
min , if i brin him for his mmr jab , then i will ask the doc
but not so soon leh , maybe going 18 Aug

SAHM:
ash just turned 4 yr sold on 14 jul n tat oso marked my sahm 4 years anniversary :p yup, is not easy but worth it. many tx i feel like giving up but just move on loh. w proper tx mgt, i do still hv personal tx (since d kids slp quite early, abt 9pm n hv fixed schedule). i do hv tots of gg bk to work (esp i had gd job/benefits/bosses). probably wait till cher reaches 24mths n c how, hopefully can work part-tx.
living exp, edu cost, medical even daily expenses like food in s'pore are escalating at quite a fast pace now. a gd location 4rm (only) flat can cost half a million. now w 2 kids mus spend more wisely since expenses all doubled n 1 income.
just a note: medical insurance for kids v impt. d insurance paid for evytg wen ash wen for surgery recently n cher was admitted to hosp for high fever.

Sanrio,
I agree that Insurance is very impt regardless for children or adults. Cos i think the medical services here really cost a bomb especially if you are admitted into any hospital.

caicai,
thanks...I believe God made him that way.

Kate,
It's my way of getting more alone time when he's in his crib and also my way of training Jesse also - a training to play/entertain himself, a training in boundaries and being obedient, etc. It's also training for me in patience and remaining calm and multi-tasking.

Jesse does have to be told repeatedly not to do something, need to be distracted (hopefully just by vocal instruction, "where's Conrad (toy)?", "please take xxx", "read a book", etc) and finally if nothing else works, I do a time out (just bring him out of the kitchen and he walks back in immediately but from the time I carry him out, he's already crying! And he usually doesn't repeat the offense for that moment in time).

But ya, since he was a newborn, I've always told him, "there's only one mummy at home and I'm not free all the time, you have to wait and learn patience." He generally leaves my HB or I alone when we're doing housework...so clever (pretend don't know...haha).

Sanrio,
what insurance did you get for your children?

Frisk n Romp (a KID's joint!)
We were at ECP (big splash) last weekend and were forced to park at the other side of the carpark because of some car rally...

Anyway, we walked by the above named place and I kaypoh, last night went to their website. They have independent classes for 2yrs (and up)...5 days a week, 3 hours each time...guess how much??

$1400! Peng San!
Just thought it was amusing to share...

They are right by Chilton House...

Min,
despite his uncontrollable screaming?

I told my mom how he screamed at Claire and my mom was so disappointed - that he screamed and that I didn't slap his mouth. Erm...I've tried that during his last screaming phase, he just gets louder and more uncontrollable. Says she'll come downa and sort him out.

I do feel sorry for Claire...when he screams at me that close, my ears ring... Good thing yesterday he didn't scream at Claire...*phew*

But other then his "monthly specials" (last month food strike, this month screaming, etc) I have to admit he is a very good boy - teachable. And I really just thank God for knowing how much I can handle...

Re: Well-behaved Babies
Somehow...it seems to be that a few babies here with SAHM mummies are rather well-disciplined and independent....eg. Jesse, JK, Cher, Joanie etc....steady mummies trained up steady babies.

Ixora
Have PMed you the contact liaoz.

GoGoBambini
Date: 31Jul
Time: 2pm
** bring along socks for both adult and kid.
mummies, we will meet @the balls pool.

Jurong Birdpark:
Date: 15 or 16th Aug
Time: 2pm

D
he is so wellbehaved in the car seat! amazing.. my boy can't do that.

kris
thanks.. i think its sold out in alot of places

Dlim/ Min
I realised jboy is more quiet in the car seat if there is no one sitting behind with him. Once someone is there, he will want them to carry :S

Min, Dlim, Coold
yup, J has always sat alone at the back. We leave some toys in the car for him but he's sick of them already...and now that he's older, he seems to like looking out of the window. But because he wasn't used to being in a carseat (his first time was after he was 6 months old), he cried for two weeks, non-stop, each time he was in the carseat...I drove him everyday cos I just wanted him to get used to it faster. Boh pian lor...I just kept driving and he just kept crying. I told him there's nothing I can do to help him since I have to drive the car. Even when my HB drive, I refuse to sit behind with him (since more often than not, he'll be alone at the back). One day, he just stopped. And that was that. So it's not like he's a big angel...his mother just tough on him...

Agent D: I think if I were to spend time alone with my son the whole day without others to help, I would have to go "tough" in training independence too... else things will never get done right? I'm lucky at least there are the ILs to take over. Jesse will scream at other children huh? Kan bu chu lai leh. Lele will only scream in frustration but never see him scream at others, even when they play with/take away his toys.

GOGO: Looks like there's an outing at GOGO this Thur? Too bad Lele cannot join cos he is down with a bad cough and cold...

Dlim
How come you bought at $19.95? I bought at $24.95 leh. Lugi!!

D
Barney has to be on video if I want to drive in peace.

Augleo
So this Thurs confirm hor?

Check out this place:
www.playdays.com.sg

I came across it when I was at Sunset Arcade last night. It looks good and it's new.

Read from the website that we can attend a no obligation free trial. Perhaps we can organise something.

D,
So thats the reason how Jesse has been trained to sit alone. Mine was always accompanied by my maid
else I was behind with him. My boy not like Jesse, he will try to get out from his car seat & he dont like to
be tie onto the seat. So no choice we need someone behind to accompany him.

Gene,
Guess there was a special promotion when I went on Sat..

Thanks for the link. I have browsed through their website & Im interested with their free trial..

kate ,
bronchitis is a bad cough , baby mite hv a wheezing sound when sleeping .

for severe case, nid a neubilizer

not so severe , must take a powder form to "open airway"

Possible to infect others with the droplets , so think better to keep the sick child away and u must wash ur hands clean

What Are the Signs and Symptoms?
Acute bronchitis often starts with a dry, annoying cough that is triggered by the inflammation of the lining of the bronchial tubes. Other symptoms may include:

cough that may bring up thick white, yellow, or greenish mucus
headache
generally feeling ill
chills
fever (usually mild)
shortness of breath
soreness or a feeling of tightness in the chest
wheezing (a whistling or hissing sound with breathing)
Chronic bronchitis is most common in smokers, although people who have repeated episodes of acute bronchitis sometimes develop the chronic condition. Except for chills and fever, a person with chronic bronchitis has a chronic productive cough and most of the symptoms of acute bronchitis, such as shortness of breath and chest tightness, on most days of the month, for months or years.

A person with chronic bronchitis often takes longer than usual to recover from colds and other common respiratory illnesses. Wheezing, shortness of breath, and cough may become a part of daily life. Breathing can become increasingly difficult.

In people with asthma, bouts of bronchitis may come on suddenly and trigger episodes in which they have chest tightness, shortness of breath, wheezing, and difficulty exhaling (breathing out). In a severe episode of asthmatic bronchitis, the airways can become so narrowed and clogged that breathing is very difficult.

What Causes Bronchitis?
Acute bronchitis is usually caused by viruses, and it may occur together with or following a cold or other respiratory infection. Germs such as viruses can be spread from person to person by coughing. They can also be spread if you touch your mouth, nose, or eyes after coming into contact with respiratory fluids from an infected person.

Smoking (even for a brief time) and being around tobacco smoke, chemical fumes, and other air pollutants for long periods of time puts a person at risk for developing chronic bronchitis.

Some people who seem to have repeated bouts of bronchitis — with coughing, wheezing, and shortness of breath — may actually have asthma

Min
I finally found the Delrosa syrup at Guardian Pharmacy...but Jonas dun like...taste abit like Ribena but more SOUR. Looks like the whole big bottle gonna be wasted.

Kate
You suspect Lele got Bronchitis? Better consult PD early if unsure....

DLim / Gene
I went to the Taka toy fair yesterday...but can't find anything much suitable for my boy lei...end up only bought the Bubbles blowing gun. :p

But I have been yearning to buy a Big toy for my boy and unfortunately counldn't find any at the Fair...so end up trudge down to Toys R Us (no sales lar!) and bought the Push around buggy. My boy loves it! kekeke....

Here's a picture of it:

1594785.jpg

I'm trying to picture this

Mid-Autumn festival
Believe this year onward, our kids are able to enjoy holding (or appreciate) the lanterns more.

How abt a meet up 5pm to 7pm (best in open area)?
** Kids can walk around w/the lighted-up lanterns
** Adults busy catching kids and chit chatting and enjoy :
pomelo
chinese tea
mooncakes
snacks

usually RC will org such event ard HDB area but those kids not in same age. some like to play candles...if there is a group of kids walk around w/lanterns it gonna b fun

augleo
sounds like a great idea

springD
Can I ask how much is the buggy? Jboy sure will love it too. But he oredi has a tricycle :p

Gene
Playdays looks fun. If you mummies attending on wkend, I would be keen. But Clementi abit far, so need to cmf wif my 'driver' :p

SD,
since jonas dun like, u shld pass to min

then no wastage lor.

min,
beta brg go see doctor so you know what's wrong.

anybody interested in getting a brand new bob the builder crocs ?? duplicate order.
here is the pixture of it

1595055.jpg

• comfortable, cool, and molds to your feet
• orthotic foot bed; advanced toe-box ventilation system
• slip-resistant and non-marking soles
• anti-microbial and odor resistant
• ergonomic italian styling; wide, roomy foot bed; made with croslite PCCR material
• buoyant; weighs only ounces

Dlim,
Ya, have to be hard hearted lor...like I said before, haven't heard of a baby who's cried to death yet.
But my heart pain and brain stop functioning for a while lah...I just focus on the long term good...

Leo,
Sounds good...when's MAF anyway? Probably go Pasir Ris? Or if West mummies also going have to go somewhere more central...

D,
actual day of MAF = 14 Sep
in case some mummies hv family gathering on the actual day, we can hv meet up 1 wk earlier = 6 Sep = Saturday.

Michk,
wat size is the above blue crocs n hw much huh?

Leo,
It sounds like fun!
Unless it's far far away from where I live, we'll probably join in. Why? Got to chiong back for J to bathe and orh-orh mah...haha...we'll see how lah.

Augleo
Sounds like a fun idea…. await further details.

Cool_D
I was also contemplating between tricycle (I know Jordan has one!
) & the buggy coz the prices are near…but I noticed my boy loves steering wheel so decided on the buggy which is at $120…

Min
You wanna get the Delrosa from me like MichK suggested? But gotta see if possible to meet at a convenient place for both of us.

springD
actually i asked also bcoz jboy likes to steer wheel
U know those shopping center kiddy ride or those archade car game, once he get on he refuse to come down. Btw, e px is not near ah .. tricycle is 1/2 of buggy!!

coold n sd ,
taka toy fair got steering wheel ( looks like , can stick onto the side of the car window screen) , tat can keep the lil one entertained on his car seat . can buy that if ur sons luv steering wheel

caicai
i hv 2 at hm .. 1 is the fisher price elmo one, e other is something dat can be stuck to the car window .. maybe dats wat u saw at Taka. jboy will pull out the one stuck onto the window wif his violent steering. But i noticed he will play wif them, but not for long. He still prefers those 'real car steering wheel'. I thinking maybe buy those battery operated car where they can step n go, but only when he is older.

CaiCai: Thanks so much for the detailed info on bronchitis! I realised that I was just being paranoid. Lele's cold/cough has already gone down le. His mucus is clear watery and not yellowish-greenish. He had high fever which came on-off after 3 days but no fever now. Generally his appetite is just slightly worse off than before and he seemed quite active. Able to sleep thruought the night last night despite cough. Just have to keep on monitoring his progress lor...

SD: I didn't suspect Lele has bron but just wanted to be sure what to loook out for lest the cold/cough dev into bron and I din know. Heng ah, it's not! Will just keep on monitoring his progress lor.

hi kate,
glad to hear lele is recovering...

augleo,
i luv idea, but cant join u gals...i hv 3 weddings to attend 6,7 and 14 sep..(A big Hole in pocket)

kate , u hv to watch out for any wheezing sounds when he sleeps .

i hv a fren whose dotter's persistent cough resulted in the need to use a neubilizer .

if there is a cough , we hv to treat it fast n not let it worsen . coz it can lead to sensitive airways etc .

michk
if my son can walk.. i will surely get that Crocs fm you!
perhaps you wanna consider starting a spree for Apr mummies

augleo,
i hope i can eat too...LOL...cos i will b bring my girl along...she likes to pull and take things on d table, cant sit still

Aussino got sale for single bedsheet $6 bucks only ... i mite hv an extra set next week , any1 wants ? no promises coz my coll helped me reserve 2 sets , i wan onli 1 set .
so just checking if any mummies want

Cool_D
The tricycles selling at Toys R’Us about the same price as the buggy I bought… :p

CaiCai
Aiyah….Didn’t notice the steering wheels at the Taka fair yesterday…dun think will be going there again liao…did you get for Zac?

Kate
Glad to hear that Lele is just having minor cough …Bronchitis is no joke…terrible feeling for baby and even more tiring and painful for mummy & daddy.

Augleo
Wah.. that one we need someone with very “steady bom pi pi” Mandarin to think of the riddles…for eg. Ms Leo.

sd , u didnt see it ? i went last week ( or is it sold out liao ) got 2 types leh .
i didnt buy lah , my car very cramp , add this thing , i think more cluttered .
zac has a tiny tikes cozy coupe at home , he used that to drive around like his daddy .

leo: ok, but erm, can be another day other than thurs/ fri? Thurs a bit hard for me usu cuz I am on "duty" that day, so difficult to take leave or time off, cuz my colleague have to cover me for the duty.