(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Springdance,
ok u pm me then.. tks so much!

mon haiz...i hate mons...
i was quite happy over the weekend...cos finally my girl can drink fr straw...

D,
thanks to the rubbermaid bottle...LOL..
now i feel like collecting the whole troop...

Leo: cannot, our students coming in this week with all the core activies for bidding of modules. I wish also, but this weekend also got exams to deal with.

Sour Grapes ah - i only really think of is juice them and then add some other sweeter fruits like apple to balance out the taste, if you dun wan to use sugar.

sandwich: actually i dun need 6 month maternity paid leave - I'll be happy if they allow me to work 75% part time instead of full time for 1 year after I return from ML, with the option to continue the part time scheme. I not asking for full pay also, just want the flexibilty to spend time with my kid. if 6 months let then us have the flexibilty to work 1/2 time over the next 6 months or 1/4 time over the next 1 year when we come back from the 3 months of ML.

Meddy / Gene,

I juz bought the small aqua doodle from taka too.
I decided to get the small one cox its cheaper & selling at $19.95!

kekeke micK , monday blues eh !i also very sianz at work.tired of workin

dlim the 19.95 mat is diff fm taro's picture ?
taro's 53 x 53 ,wat is the small mat's dimension

Sandwich,

I also hope for the 6 months paid maternity leave. But Mrs Lai part time scheme also sound attrative to me. I hope the government can answer my prayer... wahahahaha

Caicai,
the one Dlim mentioned is same as taro's.

Dlim,
I saw it too on Saturday. They mentioned something like 3 days offer = 19.95 hehe

Gogo suitable to those half walking / Half crawling tots? I tot of bringing my gal but dunno suitable for her anot.

Caicai,

Size 53x53cm same as Taro's one. Mum@work bought from there as well...same size also.

Meddy,

I bought it bcox of the special offer..
Did u buy?

meddy , that means offer over aredi lah .
talking abt baby incentive , i am also quite excited . some of the welfare states like danes , can go on paid 1 yr maternity leave , but their income taxes can be like 60% of ur salary .

Dlim,
i did not buy the mat cos my gal was already trying to chew on the pen there! Ended up buying a musical instruments set for her. Was feeling kinda glad that i didn't buy anything during my trip there on Thurs cos there were more offers over the weekend!

Mrs Lai,
ahh..i am all for your part time scheme! and preferably with more cash rewards and rebates too (other than income tax)! hehe

Caicai,
one of my jap counterparts went on 1 year leave (but dunno how many unpaid) and she is now back at work. Think if i request for 1 year leave they will fire me ah!

i think the last day for the toy fair was last sunday ah..

meddy and the other mummies: hehehehe i need to earn enuff to be able to hire a maid and to spend marnee on her education (need to save lots !!!!) and I also want to spend time with her, else my kid won't know who the parents are anymore. It's v sad lor - to be caught up in a vicious cycle, working to earn to get a maid and never seeing the child firsts.

by the way, think my girl trying to say byebye, she went "bur bur" only once when we asked her to say bye bye. never hear her again :p haiz.

meddy,
i frst brot K to GGBb in march. and that time she was still crawling, she still enjoy the ball area.
since kiddo under 2 are free, u only need to pay when u order thefood there.
but wkends very crowded. we went on a sat. there was a bday party in session too

Increase Maternity Benefits...

while the Govt may try to come up with better benefits for working moms, I really hope they don't touch the current income tax levels. As previously mentioned, our taxes are low compared to that of the other more "welfare" nations. I don't get anything as a SAHM, but at least my HB gets to keep more of what he earns. Just imagine how it would affect us if I still get nothing for being a SAHM and we (as a HH/d) have less disposable income due to higher taxes!

While I appreciate that this might be what the Govt wants - force SAHM to get back to the workforce - I truly hope they'd give it thorough thought. Do they really want our future generation to be brought up by maids and/or childcare only?

This is not a dig at working moms but I, of course, value what I do as a SAHM and feel it would be a loss to my child if I weren't able to be around for him...it's one thing not to be recognised for it, it's another to be penalised for it.

Michelle,
good pte kindergarten in US (e.g. Columbia School) is about US$27000 per year. It's a good thing they have financial aid! (even for kindie)

not all SAHMs stay at home forever . some of them feels that the developing yrs of their children are very crucial , esp the 1st 3 yrs . so some contemplating returning to workforce after their kids grow up n they get bored staying at home .

these mummies also hv their skills n knowledge and i guess the govt appreciate SAHMs' efforts to raise a good citizen . hahaha ,i wun say they will force SAHMs to return to workforce , or rather , they hope to 'entice' these mummies back to workforce with some goodies in place . though i think they need more than cash rewards , coz a mother's luv / time with her child is irreplaceable . it is priceless !

D,
if given a choice i would definately choose to be a SAHM. Maybe they can create more jobs which dun require moms to stay in the office (data entry etc) Think this round they are giving more tax reliefs/rebates for families w/ SAHM.

Mrs Lai,
i realli hope they give more rebates for helpers cos i intend to employ 1 so that i can spend more time with my tot (or resting) instead of spending alot of my time on housework.

Mich,
dun go to the fair on sat evening..last sat was a mad squeeze and there was hardly any place to walk!

Caicai,
with all the rising cost of milk,pd consultations, food, transportations the govt really need to come up with a "super" package to kickstart the population growth ah

D,
not only just in the states, just look at Eton House, Chiltern House, Pats ..think school fees come up to more that 10k a year

caicai/Meddy,
I hope so!

Yes, it is true that when the child(ren) grows up, we SAHMs need a plan B (be it a job, a hobby... some sort of activity) but I can say I'm quite afraid of the gov, "bulldozing" tactics are not beyond them. So even now, when the child is still young, if they want the mom to go to work, they'll make it really hard for the mom to stay at home. Their "stop at two" policy went over really well, didn't it? I know many people of my parents' generation would've loved to have more than two but they were too afraid of the disincentives to disobey.

Yeah...I love data entry! haha. A lot of my HB's colleagues (who earn the similar pay) ask him, "your wife can afford to stay at home meh?" or "you should you can support your family?" And my HB just tells them, "it's a matter of expectations".

Anyway, financial issues aside, many of my friends would rather work than stay at home to look after their children...career satisfaction, recognition, self-actualization, or even just "for a bit of sanity"!

Meddy,
10K and 27K (forget about forex) is a lot of difference! I used to tell my friend (who's child was in that school), wow, I could go to school with that money! haha. But I'll admit, their program is fantastic.

On a side note, a friend here, says Pat's is really good. Which is why now but HB only can think of Pat's! But for kindie, we're also thinking two other church-linked centers
And I'm still not ruling out homeschooling...

D,
she ask me to make sure i start saving $$ for K so that when its her time for college, K can juz go over n stay with her :p
she is thinking of moving back to CA int he next few years. lsat time her old place at los altos was quite nearby

Michelle,
tell K to apply for financial aid or something man...that's what I'm going to tell J, "I'll give you the airticket there, and the first half year's tuition, you'll have to work for your allowance and find aid for the rest of it."

Actually my m'sian cousins studied in US and they just worked and got scholarships (there).

D,
that reminds me did some1 hear ask abt the church kinder next to Usq ?

i was thinking hen its time for kindie, i wld love to send my kid to one that is church based.

Mich, D
Me too! I wud also luv to send my kid to a church based Kinder but read somewhere that not all Church kinders are good well..but heard there is a "famous" St James Kinder though i am not very sure where is the location!

D , i am only waiting for an excuse to stay at home , #2 but really apprehensive to quit my job coz most of my frens are working , so diff to get them go shopping , take afternoon hightea wif me .
kate's absence to this forum , further reinforce the fact she is even busier after being sahm .
so sahm is even tougher than working mum + sahm has no annual leave / cannot take sick leave etc
by working , i give lil rewards to my kiddo , buying toys , clothes 4 him.
if i sahm , i think i will hv to be prudent wif my spending , i agree wif D , expectations hv to change . things hv to be sacrifice.

D,
my uncle who migrated there with his family, 2 kiddos in the 80's are berk and stan grad. luckily, my uncle can afford both of their edu.
then my gal cuz, who is in her late 20's.so far she only worked in sun for a year and now that she did her masters, she is now working in sf
we seriously think she enjoyed her education, she went to carnegie/paris as well. while she was at berk, she was doing a prog with NUS as well.
she is onen travelled person for a person in her 20's. she even went to europe for 2 mths after berk. she also did SE-asia, Japan and india too
i juz hope next time, k will enjoy as my cuz

meddy
my son whom is a crawler enjoy Gogo bcoz of the ball pit. and he can climb up and down the slope
basically i think he is a good climber so as to compensate the fact that he still can't walk

today.. he manage to climb up the slide on his own!!

min , want to ask u . will d crawl halfway n lose balance n whole body slam down onto the floor .
zac alwys does this , we think his legs quite weak .
dunno nid to see doc or not .

Caicai,
did you notice whether he does it intentionally?
My gal will crawl halfway and just throw herself on the floor..purposely.

dunno leh , he crawls very fast with sounds on his feet n hands . very fast .
then suddenly right smack on the floor , he never cried , continue wif his journey
we tot his legs no power , weak boy . sometimes when we tried to hold his arms n let him walk around , he will squat n sit .
dunno if he is lazy or his legs quite weak .
but he got thunder thighs leh . dunno wat is wrong .

Sahm life: Cai Cai, You're right that being SAHM is busier than work, at least my (previous) work. But then, my prev job was quite ez... Can eat snake here and there. Now being a SAHM cannot eat snake anyhow. When Lele sleeps, I will give myself 1/2 hour to chill and relax over coffee and tv, then need to rush to do some housework and then prepare his lunch/dinner. Finally got ME time is abit only, maybe 10mins or less till he wakes. In the day time not much time for myself. Having said all that, I'm glad I have the "luxury" to spend time with Lele... at least for now I'm glad la. But then I have been sahm 2 months nia! HAHAHA! Hope can tahan at least till lele reaches 3YO.

Walking: Forgot where I read but I came across article about milestones saying if child no inclination to walk after 15months should seeek doc advise cos might indicate spine problems. Earlier seek advise is better, the article said. Think if unsure better seek consultation.

cai cai
my boy don't slam his body
but when we hold him to guide him to walk.. his legs will go weak after 10 steps

will u be bringing for any jabs? perhaps can check with PD and also regards to Kate's info

i also wanna know.. i hope its not spinal problem but infact they are plain lazy!

kate
i gonna dread my SAHM in sept! i tot you got MIL ard? perhaps she can help share your load?

during the day, i don't do housework except for D's meal and washing of pots etc

i only do laundry, washing bottles etc after D sleep for the night. thats is 11pm.

this fri.. we will be going for our cruise to nowhere!
yeah.. finally a trip outta s'pore with my boy as a family!

Min,
so cute...cruise to nowhere. haha.

Don't dread being SAHM lah...it's tiring but can be fun too. I usually do laundry when he's awake! He can help me press the start button, take out clothes to transfer to dry etc...he enjoys it. Some days, he tells me to do laundry! I also do ironing when he's awake. I do it in the living room and tell him to play by himself or I'll talk to him and iron...

Min: Looks like I painted a grim picture of SAHM life for you...
It's not that bad at all. What I enjoy most about my SAHM life is that I get to go out on off-peak times, to shopping, library, eateries etc.) Of course, being able to spend time with Lele is the greatest reward! Even though it is a tad tiring sometimes, I enjoy the morning walks I take with him each morning after he wakes and exploring with him litle things we find alon the way. I enjoy the storytelling sessions when he will sit on my lap , the flashcards sessions when he will respong with joy. Most of all, I enjoy beyond words can describe the feeling of closeness that has developed between us now... ...

To me, that is priceless...

Yup, MIL is around to jaga when need be, but she leaves most of Lele and husband-related stuffs to me. Fair enough la, I think. Of course she still plays with Lele and looks after him sometimes. But actually half of Lele's wakeful hours are spent with me solely cos MIL will only wake up arounf 11 to 12plus for lunch. That is lele's nap time. Then after some activities and afternoon nap, it is time for bed at 8pm le.

Agent D: you good ah, can train Jesse into a "helper". I cannot imagine ironing with lele around cos he is all over the place, switching on and off switches, moving the hifi set, trying to crawl into tiny spaces and risk bumping into things, or even trying to pull my iron wire!

If in the kitchen, he will try to open and close the drawers...

With him so active, very hard to get things done. Need at least 2 persons. One to jaga him and the other to do things.

Mrs Lai, i like your suggestions. Flexibility on work arrangement. How I wish...

Hopefully the package is really something attractive.