(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

sandwich,
so tell us what you know about the maid industry

Ya, my A levels also about 10 years ago. hehe.

Not nice for me to meet anyone this week...I'll feel really guilty if ppl fall sick because of me.

Next week? Hopefully I recover by then, I can meet next week at waraku.
The Jap place I used to like is Wahiro - but that's more traditional.

Food
Another place I used to love but not child-friendly is Rice Table. I say not child friendly cos it's a sit down meal that should take a while and our tots aren't going to let us sit a while.

Leo,
If you plan a Aug birthday (adults only, I don't even mind mummies only) gathering where you want to go?

Aug birthday mummies...interested? Can't be I'm the only mother willing (and happy) to go out without my baby, right? Haha. *evil mother*

jessesmom,
the maid industry is crap! crap crap crap crap crap! i was matching prospective employers and employees on a daily basis. but i had zilch knowledge abt indonesia/phillippines, zilch knowledge abt foreign culture and zilch knowledge abt household chores. how to be a good matchmaker? sometimes i can arbitrarily jack up agency matching fees to earn money for the agency if the prospective employers look well to do, and if i felt like helping my boss earn a bit more. while i was at the agency, i also spent a lot of time looking through the v v v very fine prints within the agency contracts. cos a lot of maids end up with problems, hence contract drafting is very impt to the agency to protect their own interests. my agency also used to have a maid Q&A column with a local mag. so i used to help my boss draft replies to the questions that she had received from the column (considering again that i have zilch knowledge about almost everything to have to do with maids). hence the maid industry is really crap crap crap!!!!

i think the maids have it quite bad themselves too, cos they are stuck between paying a hell lot of money to their agents to get to singapore, and then they can't resign if they don't like the job, blah blah blah.

after i've been through uni and spent lots of time mulling over artsy readings, i started to think that i might have engaged myself in a modern version of the slave trade when i worked for the agency. well, in any case, i'll never employ a live-in helper cos i can't foresee myself ever walking into any agency to source for one!

if i were to get a maid , i also want to get a swapa , ulu maid . teach her everything fm scratch also ok . coz i think those experienced ones know how to geng !
jessemom , rice table nice food . but im not aug bday !haiz

jesse
Looks like we r on e same boat when it comes to maid :p I also rather be w/o 1. Last wk my bro's maid came n stay wif me, so e maid topic surface again. But my ans is still NO NO NO, no maid for me.

yo fransea,
**pat pat** most impt. whole family return safe n sound.
bo bian on those lost...try keep ur "heart pain" short.
we shall meet again, long time din meet ur handsome prince

michele,
tried to login in the huggies website after entering their lucky draw but edit the profile. hv u edit C profile?

Jesse,
must rest well. see u next wk

oh yes, birthday outing = jus mummies (no bb)
even not Aug birthday mummies are welcome to join.
night outing or lunch?
will sound them again

Dlim,
your maid seems young, XIN HUA HUA + now u know she is chatting w/a guy.
she is now alone w/Jayden?
meanwhile call home often to check and think what to do next ba. discuss with ur hb, replacement won't b that fast right?

SD,
hv an enjoyable trip

Michele,
I was reading the huggies link (one step up lah) about the speech and understanding thing then it occurred to me... I'm like that too! Understand more than I can speak - Mandarin. haha. :p

dlim,

ops looks like i m the only 1 left..sori..
ergo carrier
ist choice: cranberry
2nd choice: black/green

don b so upset over the maids..if u found out tat there is a guy ...then its better to ask them to go...

tell u 1 experience -
there is this maid ..she was pregnant but damn smart hor... she went to do her maid checkup.
she bring along 'little master' urine...
so show negative...but too bad still kana found out later

Jesse,

Yes, she can borrow money from friends & worst still it can be someone who bought the phone
for her! U wont know... No, she is not alone with Jayden & I never leave my son with her.
Either my mom / mil will always keep an eye on her but there are times when they need to go
marketing or bring my dog downstairs for a walk. So she will get the chance to do all sort
of funny things.

Leo,
She is only 26, still young & "Xin Hua hua" as u mentioned. No mood to work, always think
of guys!! As mentioned above, I will not leave Jayden alone with her...NEVER cox u wont
know what she will do to my son. I already asked my mom to keep an eye on her today. See
what can she up to..

Milo,
She's smart but we are MORE SMARTER than her! No matter how they gonna hide from us, sooner
or later, we will also sure find out. Who's maid is that?? Now, I start to worry after u entioned
abt this...

I scanned through her phone today & u know what, tis morning there was one incoming SMS.
I open & read & it was from this guy. So I asked my Indonesian colleague to call this no
& speak in malay & try to look for "Ahmad" cox I want to test whether this is a malay guy
or Indian guy. Guess what??? He's an INDIAN GUY!!! *Faint*...........

Sry I missed out your post...

Cool_d,

Thanks for sharing. I think marjority all have problems with maids & im not the only one.
The problem is they dunno what is honesty!! Sometimes i find them very stupid. Want to tell
lies also never think b4 they do. I caught her so many times too... They really very
terrible..

There are pros & cons. If u get those stupid one, u need time to train them & be patient
with them. Experience one will be too smart. Like mine, She is those swaku one.. 1st time
to spore but after working here for coming 2 years. She learnt so many things & getting too
smart. It cant be helped sometimes...

Cai,

Yes, she is the one. I agreed, she very doting to jayden. Thats the only thing i like abt her.
She treat jayden as if her own son. But the promblem with her is she likes to tell lies!! I hate
ppl who lie & somemore this is not the 1st time. Really will vomit blood when due to this kind of
ppl.

Michele,

Here's our order..

<font color="blue"><font size="+0">Ergo Carrier</font></font>

1) Dlim
1st Choice Colour - Black/Green
2nd Choice colour - Black/Camel

2) Min
2nd Choice colour - Blue/Green

3) Milo
1st Choice Colour - Cranberry

Kindly let us know the amount &amp; will do the transfer to u ...thanks..

dlim,

ya nvr leave maids alone wif bbs.
its my gf's maid...
she even replaces all my gf collection of wine hor wif TEA...

dlim
Maids wif Indian man is very common. Usually they are those car washer in the carpark, or cleaner of the blocks. I hv heard so many stories of them. Jus beware.

Milo
Ur gf's maid really 'good' :p

there are also nice maids around though. those fat aunty type , very motherly one . i saw my coll maid , her son will cry whenever she return to indonesia every yr . been around for 10 yrs liao.

dlim,
yes preggie maid...my gf family found out she was pregnant..

my gf seldom drink her collection, she oso dono wat struck her..took out 1 bottle..start drinking...at first she tot spoil...
then she let her hubby tried...hubby say TEA!!!

Dlim
Awwy….so sweet to know you will miss me…leaving on Sun morning.

Augleo
Thanks dear! Will try to make the best out of the trip since we are unlikely to go there again for a very long while.

Re: Maid issues
Think if hiring a FT maid, it might be better to get someone older…like in her forties? For me &amp; my hubby, as we got MIL to look after baby, we would rather engage a part-time maid to do the cleaning &amp; ironing once a week…though it’s actually more expensive if you count the hourly pay, but least you dun need worry how messy her private life is or beware of possible house theft. :p

Dlim,
my maid went to borrow my SIL's maid's phone to use. Even after I sack her, still got Indian man calling my SIL's maid's phone to look for her. One day my BIL fed up scolded the Indian man and change number for his maid. See lah. Next time, don't let our maids talk to each other liao...terrible right. Always Indian...mine was philipino. And she lies like nobody's business...and sneak food into her room to eat...sms throughout the day, you name it lah...she does it. AND I'm at home all the time.

Animal Water Bottles

okay, I emailed contact this morning and she said just tell her how many and what. She hasn't told me the price yet but I'm guessing it'll be competitive with J.L after discount. Anyway can always cancel order after I tell you the price. I'm not doing bulk...she's just doing it as a favour.

Again, here are what I have (the only one missing is a blue elephant):

1499512.jpg

*disclaimer colour might vary from what you see due to unprofessional photo

Orange Tiger

Light Orange Lion

Yellow Monkey

Green Alligator

Purple Bear

Blue Elephant
1. jessesmom x1

This is a no obligation thingy...if nobody wants, I can still get my blue elephant for at discount. It is also non-binding and a confirmation list will be draw up after I tell you the price. After which I'll probably finalise the list in 3 days.

Any takers?

Btw,
she knows JL sells it cheaper but says it's out of their own margin so they don't/can't control it. So Leo, don't worry, JL will still do whatever they want to do

Animal Water Bottles

okay, I emailed contact this morning and she said just tell her how many and what. She hasn't told me the price yet but I'm guessing it'll be competitive with J.L after discount. Anyway can always cancel order after I tell you the price. I'm not doing bulk...she's just doing it as a favour.

Orange Tiger

Light Orange Lion

Yellow Monkey

Green Alligator

Purple Bear
1. Augleo X 1

Blue Elephant
1. jessesmom x1
2. Augleo X 1

Jesse,

How come your BIL allow her maid to use phone? I dun allow her to use HP at all..anyway, mine is
a long long story...

I want...can u pls count me in! Thanks for much for helping us to order...

Orange Tiger

Light Orange Lion

Yellow Monkey

Green Alligator

Purple Bear
1. Augleo X 1
2. dlim x 1

Blue Elephant
1. jessesmom x1
2. Augleo X 1
3. dlim x 1

Leo,

*Hi5*! We have the same taste ya...
Actually after i posted, i saw yr reply so I went in to edit mine so as to follow up...

i join in the fun

Orange Tiger

Light Orange Lion

Yellow Monkey

Green Alligator

Purple Bear
1. Augleo X 1
2. dlim x 1

Blue Elephant
1. jessesmom x1
2. Augleo X 1
3. dlim x 1
4. caicai x 1

1499559.jpg

This is JK's bottle, in case mummies wanna to see the under the cap.

Don't see it small, the capacity is bigger than magmag. Is light in weight.
I can pour more than 250ml milk into it n is not filled.

Milo,

Terrible maid...
Felt so sorry for yr frd...all her wine all gone!

SD,
Of course..miss chatting with u! haaa..
Enjoyr yr trip &amp; must win more $$ ya..

Cool_D,
Shld be nice esle there wont be so many of us ordering
the blue elephant..hehehe...

coolD

cannot find one lah...it's on the tag that comes with the bottle, that's why I'm saying "blue elephant". hahaha...if not blue how ah? hahah.

Leo,
ya, terrible right? For ppl I meet easy lah...I give you, you pay me. For ppl I don't meet often, have to ask for help lor...you organize another mass outing lor. hahah. See how lah...if they no rush, I no rush.

And since this is a "fren fren" thing, I'm not opening it to ppl in other boards lah...just ppl here. I trust they are credible...if not, they'll have to live with their own reputation lor...and I'll just have more bottles haha.

Eh, you really promoting it ah...I'm not even promoting it! I'll say one thing though, each bottle have different capacity...don't ask me go look and see the capacity ah...I'll just say it's sufficient lah. Fine, I went to see, the biggest is the Lion (330ml)...Monkey and Tiger (250ml), Alligator (280ml)...Bear is with Jesse now at MIL's place (I'm guessing 250ml). I don't have the elephant but it's probably a bigger one.

Have you seen the elephant? Is it blue? haha.

Dlim,
Jesse hates sippy cups but likes this straw so who knows...

Oh, their maid with them for quite long already...anyway, it's not that I don't let my maid use h/p lor. I just don't want her to use it in the day time...but...still like that! Strange right? Give them an inch they'll take a yard. *sigh*

Animal Water Bottles

Orange Tiger (250ml)

Light Orange Lion (330ml)

Yellow Monkey (250ml)

Green Alligator (280ml)

Purple Bear (TBA - probably 250ml)
1. Augleo X 1
2. dlim x 1

Blue Elephant (don't know, have to confirm it it's blue!)
1. jessesmom x1
2. Augleo X 1
3. dlim x 1
4. caicai x 1

Closing date: 3 days after I tell you the actual px - TBA (Probably Wednesday, June 25th, 4pm sharp)

Payment: Pay when you collect (note: it's only for ppl on this board...if you tell your friend, you consolidate under your name)

Delivery: 1) When we meet up, 2) Ask someone I meet up with to collect for you, 3) self-collect at SK or I'll see if my HB will take it to Tg Pagar.

This is a "friendly" thing, it's not business.

Ok set .. will try out 2 first. If jboy likes it, will buy the rest :p Yday he finally started sucking fm a straw cup at IL plc .. yeah:D

Orange Tiger

Light Orange Lion
1. Cool Daughter x 1

Yellow Monkey

Green Alligator

Purple Bear
1. Augleo X 1
2. dlim x 1

Blue Elephant
1. jessesmom x1
2. Augleo X 1
3. dlim x 1
4. caicai x 1
5. Cool daughter x 1

Jessemom,
I stay at Serangoon.
now FTWM, working at HarbourFront.
Well i can make a trip to SK to collect
Wow..so tempted to get the whole collection..

jesse,
so sweet of u..heehee...after c-ing ur collection, i oso wan to start a mini collection...LOL

Orange Tiger (250ml)

1. milo x 1

Yellow Monkey (250ml)

Green Alligator (280ml)

1. Augleo X 1
2. dlim x 1
3. milo x 1

1. jessesmom x1
2. Augleo X 1
3. dlim x 1
4. caicai x

fairpriceplus card holder look out
19 -22 June .20% storewide at JL + 3X linkpoints
if u spend 100nett , can get 10 voucher

Okie, i gathered some orders from my colleagues, here it goes:

Orange Tiger (250ml)
1. Meddy x 1

1. milo x 1
2. Meddy x 1

Yellow Monkey (250ml)

Green Alligator (280ml)
1. Meddy x 1

1. Augleo X 1
2. dlim x 1
3. milo x 1
4. Meddy x 1

1. jessesmom x1
2. Augleo X 1
3. dlim x 1
4. caicai x
5. Meddy x 1