(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Mrs Chia,
I know my SIL told me to get Jesse to call her Kau Mo and my older brother "Kau-Fu". Her children call me Ku Che and my HB Ku Cheong. But that's all I know. I have one older brother.

Gene,

Though it is a bit harsh to use syringe but better than not taking any fluid and have dehyration and go for drip right. Sometimes just need to be a bit hard hearted leh.

Hope she's getting better.

the zoo photos are nice. Everyone seems to be having fun. Ahh...its been years since I last went. Was the weather bearable?

Leo,
If Im not wrong, spinach and tofu better not to be taken together becos the calcium in tofu will decreases the absorption of iron in spinach.

Gene,
correct me if im wrong

gene,
yukata - if i am not mistaken is the summer kimono version, suppose to be thinner material and more casual.
think u have seen them in some spore shops too !

darbebe,
think u are right ! just like how we can take iron and calcium tablet 2gether ;)

how is nic? maybe we shld organise a zoo trip on one of the wkend? ;p

Good Morning!!!

Hope all of u enjoyed ur Mothers' Day with ur loved ones yesterday.

Hb suggested going for the tree top walk since yday's weather was nice and breezy.

Ended up he parked at the furthest carpark, we (=hb + 5 mths pregnant me + maid + 11.5kg hippo w/o stroller + whiny gorgor who wanted to be carried) had to walk 3 km to the tree top bridge, then another 3 km trail, and another 3 km back to the car....that's 9km in total!!!!

What a way to spend my mothers' day...was cursing and swearing along the way...cos there were a lot of steep slopes/steps up +wet mud...and it certainly didnt help with a supper whiny kid tagging along, who kept on saying,
"Y didi can be carried but not me??"
"just how much longer do we hv to walk?"
"I'm not going to school tomorrow cos i need to rest!"
"who can carry me, huh?"
"I'm so tired! I'm only 4 yrs old leh!"
***whine whine whine.....***

Hippo was all wet too, not from perspiring (cos he was carried by papa all the time), but from papa's sweat....

my maid must be thinking: "why other employers go shoping, dining at air con shopping malls while mine go for trekking? Pai miah!"

NOw i'm aching all over...esp my back and thighs...but hey, my cough is getting better..dunno if it's bcos of "fresh air" + exercise yday...

Augleo,
your passage made me tear in the office, lucky I'm alone at the moment... now i've got monday blues...

gene,
to my limited knowledge, yukata is their pyjamas robe.

Traz,
gotta take care! that's too much walk... but at least your cough is better, glad to hear that.

traz,
oni 3km from carpark to treetop? i thot is 5km in total b 10km from the starting point lei. the route changed?

cherryteq,
sori to stir up ur Monday blues

darbebe,
noted w/thks

Augleo,
no that's not wat I mean. I meant that was a sobering and reflective passage. Made me think of the things I'm doing as a mother now, and also reflect. The blues cames from the many emotions in my mind now.

Traz: poor u.. tell HB u 5 months preggy still walk so much!! becareful loh.. later ur cervic open like mine ah... rest more.. so how.. urs is gal gal this time round??

any mummies got comment on water bed.. before the mother's day dinner last nite.. went shopping at furniture mall.. i simply love the water bed.. so shiok.. but as usual.. my MIL got tons of negative comment, nt gd for bed, rhuematism.. blah blah.. haiz..

Mrs chia
father's younger brother's wife?
-> my father is 2nd son so his younger bro e.g. 3rd son so wife will be 'san-sum'

How about your father's older brother's wife? Is it "dai -mo"? yes for da mu

And your mother's older brother's wife? Is it "Kau-mo"? yes

WOW …the Zoo excursion looks so fun….me so long never go liao didn’t even know got Wagon rides there….

Kikismom
Oic…so how much is metropolitan charging per nite? You bringing Kieren along?

Min
Thanks….so I believe Dillion drink Delrosa never drink gripewater liao rite? He’s taking cod live oil too?

Gene
I am thinking of change FM for Jonas only now…kekek…coz he’s beening drinking lesser & lesser & lesser! He’s on NAN…but poo not green lei…heheh.. any reason why you decided to change to Friso other than the vanilla smell…so many brands in the market hard to decide.

Cool_D
Is Jordan’s party this weekend? Doing the “lok lok” at your house?

Mrs Chia / Jessesmom / Mrs Lai / Min
Me me me…. Is a Canto….both my parents are Canto…so I know the dialect as a kid…training from watching TVB drama serials on videotapes when I was a kiddo. :p

By the way, I suspect my boy understands Canto but NOT English & Mandarin lei....coz my MIL who is the caregiver speaks this dialect to him...next time go school will have some language catching up to do liaoz.

Father's younger brother's wife = Sum Sum
Father's older brother's wife = Pak Leong
Mother's older brother's wife = Kau Mou

<font color="0000ff">Re: Brush Teeth</font>
Mummies, can advise how many times a day to brush teeth for baby? Any specific method? eg circular motion or up &amp; down motion?

Traz,
Where's the trek? Haha...well, it's good exercise for her too. I was very grateful to have walked a lot during my pregnancy (although I didn't have anyone to carry!). I think it definitely makes labor easier and faster...if I ever get pregnant again, I hope to walk a lot too.

SpringDance,
don't worry lah, English is easily learnt in school. Dialect is a treasure...I can't speak any! I wish Jesse could learn some dialect but I have nothing to teach him.

I haven't started brushing Jesse's teeth yet. Need to ah?

SpringD,
I find it most convenient to use a cloth and rub M's teeth at this point in time. But M can bite and chew on his toothbrush so as to get used to the idea. He only "brushes" once a day. Cleaning 2 times daily.

Jesse,
I also wished I learnt my own dialect, but then the govt's policy was to speak Mandarin, so my parents didn't teach me dialect. Now we use dialect in front of M to "speak bad" of him so he cannot understand.

springD
Yes .. lok lok cum bbq. Hopefully lao tian ye cooporates
Next Mon I hv another 1yr old party at Downtown east (hb's colleague son) &amp; we are going to Wild wild wet .. also need lao tian ye to coorporate .. hehe. Tho' it's oni MOn, but I am soo looking forward to wkend !!

jesse,
the treetop is at macritchie reservoir. must choose to park ur car at the correct carpark.
if not on return trek, u will find it far. for me i actually walked back pass the footpath along the reservoir.
take a break by the seat next to the water ;)

Michelle,
is there a carpark number for the right carpark? It's be years (almost 10) since I last been to Macritchie!!

There are also some interesting walks at West Coast...saw in yesterdays papers.

jesse,
was telling my hubby that this morning, he said no thanks! wahahaha....

there is a carpark opp the mt A. but i think still not close enuf to my liking.

traz,
axl so cute! as always
think at his age he still can come up with the most innocent conversation.
ya, yr maid most likely thinking i bai mia ! wahahahaha

brushing: Lele started brushing after he turned 1. We used Pigeon stage 3 toothbrush. I will let him hold the toothbrush and hold his hand to brush. I brush in strokes from top to bottom because was taught this way. But seems the latest way is to brush in circular motion...
The instructions given by pigeon were also to brush in circular motions. I will say "Okay now, let's brush your teeth" and give him the toothbrush to hold. While brushing I will say "brush brush brush..." till done. when done I will say "done!" give him a smile (he'll smile back) and put back the toothbrush.) So far so good... Started using toothpaste on sat. He seemed to love the taste!

Spring
used to let him drink Delrosa but when i leave it at kitchen table always attract ants so i threw it away.. now nvr give liao

i din give cod too as i hate the smell

Jesse / cherryteq
Actually I also tot dun nid to brush can wait till baby has more teeth or know how to spit the toothpaste out…but recently have been hearing afew mummies saying that need to start brush to prevent early tooth decay… when I told my MIL about it (coz she the caregiver)…she was like wided-eye and “duh” … “I also never brush your hubby’s teeth when he was a baby/toddler and there’s no tooth decay wat..”.

Anyway, I’ve got a tube of the first teeth toothpaste..so ask my MIL try to finger brush for my boy lor every morning…but hor…looks like the mummies are saying to train the baby to brush on own…think my MIL will faintzzzz… :p

Cool_D
Oh ya... your cake from E-creative? I read got May mummies their order delayed or never arrive...better call up the gal and get their mobile number...just in case.

Mindy: Last time the gripe water also attracted ants. MIL taught me to wipe the mouth of bottle with damp cloth before capping, then wiping the whole bot with damp cloth

Any mummy here planning to send your babies to Shichida Methods or other schools like Growing up Gifted or Julie Gabriel? Have u signed up yet? Any feedbacks especially Shichida Methods?

Min,
everything that attracts ants, from gripe water to his meds, I just put in the fridge! haha.

SpringDance,
I've heard that it could happen lah...but I'm too lazy to start. Maybe when he can stand first...heh.

Michelle,
Okay, I'll go take a look at the street directory.
Hmm...it looks far from the carpark! Didn't know Macritchie so big.

Hey PGal,
did you post your photos from foto-u already? I've not been around...if yes, I'll go check the archive if you remember which date you posted on...otherwise...Where Are They?

Kate,
got this off an email :p

This is the Doctor I want as my primary physician, he answers
questions like this:

Q:I've heard that cardiovascular exercise can prolong life; is this true?
A:Your heart is only good for so many beats, and that's it... don't
waste them on exercise. Everything wears out eventually. Speeding up
your heart will not make you live longer; that's like saying you can
extend thelifeof yourcarby driving it faster. Want to live longer?
Take a nap.

Q:Should I cut down on meat and eat more fruits and vegetables?
A:You must grasp logistical efficiencies. What does a cow eat? Hay and
corn. And what are these? Vegetables. So a steak is nothing more than
an efficient mechanism of delivering vegetables to your system. Need
grain? Eat chicken. Beef is also a good source of field grass (green
leafy vegetable). And a pork chop can give you 100% of your
recommended daily allowance of vegetable products.

Q:Should I reduce my alcohol intake?
A:No, not at all. Wine is made from fruit.Brandyis distilled wine,
that means they take the water out of the fruity bit so you get even
more of the goodness that way.Beeris also made out of grain.Bottoms up!

Q:!How can I calculate my body/fat ratio?
A:Well, if you have a body and you have fat, your ratio is one to one.
If you have two bodies, your ratio is two to one, etc.

Q:What are some of the advantages of participating in a regular
exercise program?
A:Can't think of a single one, sorry. My philosophy is: No Pain...Good!

Q:Aren't fried foods bad for you?
A:YOU'RE NOT LISTENING!!!.... Foods are fried these days in vegetable
oil. In fact, they're permeated in it. How could getting more
vegetables be bad for you?

Q:Will sit-ups help prevent me from getting a little soft around the middle?
A:Definitely not! When you exercise a muscle, it gets bigger. You
should only be doing sit-ups if you want a bigger stomach.

Q:Is chocolate bad for me?
A:Are you crazy?HELLOCocoa beans! Another vegetable!!! It's the best
feel-good food around!

Q:Is swimming good for your figure?
A:If swimming is good for your figure, explain whales to me.

Q:Is getting in-shape important for my lifestyle?
A:Hey! 'Round' is a shape!

Well, I hope this has cleared up any misconceptions you may have had
aboutfood and diets.
And remember:

"Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of
arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather
toskid in sideways - Chardonnay in one hand - chocolate in the other -
body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming"WAH-HOO, What
a Ride"

AND.....

For those of you who watch what you eat, here's the final word on
nutrition and health. It's a relief to know the truth after all those
conflicting nutritional studies.

1. The Japanese eat very little fat
and suffer fewer heart attacks than Americans.

2. The Mexicans eat a lot of fat

3. The Chinese drink very little red wine

4. The Italians drink a lot of red wineand suffer fewer heart attacks
than Americans.

5. The Germans drink a lot of beers and eat lots of sausages and fats

CONCLUSION

Eat and drink what you like.
Speaking English is apparently what kills you.thank you. LOL

jesse,
i kept asking when? when?? when are we reaching???
then when we reached?? when ? when?? when are we areaching the carpark???

gene,
visited your blog, gladys eats ice cream to keep herself hydrated?

cindy,
love the playground pics. caitlyn looks so happy in the states. why don't you guys stay there permanently? maybe alvin can start sourcing for a lab in boston that won't mind employing him for good.

jesse,
yes tell us about the trip soon. which villa did you stay in? i think i'm going to be at the seaview one when i visit this weekend.

i've just gotten a new HP number nine seven six five twenty twenty. please do not contact me on my old number anymore =)

jesse and traz,
the macritchie treetop walk is quite fun. i've been on it twice -- once with a nature fanatic group that walked really really slow cos the guys wanted to see every single thing on the trail (gosh!), and another time with my colleagues who were more normal. seriously can't imagine doing the macritchie route with a big belly and two kids (traz, you are amazing!)

by the way, there's a much much shorter treetop walk at bukit chandu. maybe you gals can consider that if you're into this tree top thingie. the bukit chandu route allows you to u-turn easily unlike the macritchie route. and it's closer to civilization (vivocity/alexandra/pasir panjang coffeeshops) so you can go for a snack when everyone's tired. i went there to walk abt a week before i gave birth and thought that it would be lovely to bring my baby there (haven't gotten round to doing it yet though)

cooldaughter: awfully chocolate is reali very nice.. it's like a newer version of the old "LANA" chocolate cake.. no design nothing.. jst chocolate..

Kate: i got a "qian bian" question.. wana try? not funny don't slap me ah..

kelley
Really nice ah .. ok lor. Here's the best design i can find .. hahaaha. Tis will be jboy's first ever birthday cake. Hope he wun mind :p

1416424.jpg

quik shoot ur qian bian quest .. i wanna hear !!

jesse: Thanks for the jokes! They helped to prevent my eyelids from drooping! The last conclusion should be: Americans suffer heart attacks no matter what they eat or do! HAHA!

Kelley: bring it on!

coolD,
i prefer animals design...coz is round is easy to cut...hahaha!

since Jordan visited zoo on his lunar b.day...then hv party animals cake on his b.day party ba

coold: mini zoo for me too.. but awfully chocolate got no design to what i know..hahah.. lana cake was one of my favourite birthday cakes as a child.. they don't sell off the rack.. all mst call n book even as of todate.. but awfully chocolate can.. can only choose flavour..

here goes my "qian bian"

"lian rong bao" and "siew mai" went to watch a movie together.. it was a sad movie.. how come the "lian rong bao" cried until very jialat but not the "siew mai"???

sandwich,
if you have specific questions can ask here cos review still pending...

We stayed at villa-on-the-rocks (302). It was nice. If you're into walking, bring your walking shoes. Even though I have some foot problems, we still enjoyed walking about in slippers...it's just hard to walk the slopes with slippers on. Should've wore track shoes.

Michelle,
haha...sounds like "how much further papa smurf?"

cool_d,
I had a balanced meal too...chicken nuggets (protein and veg)