(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

during the last 3 nights with you, did he also sleep at 9 and wake at 11? Most of the time lele will doze off by himself after chitchat and play in his cot, but sometimes, like last night, he screamed murder when I put him into his cot, say goodnight and left the room (like I always do).

Puzzled, I went in and carried him. He continued to fuss, and indicated he wanted to play by pointing at the door, his nappy rash cream etc. So I say good night to him again and put him down and left the room. Because he woke up early, was out the whole day and did not nap much, I know he needs to sleep. So I thought he might be overstimulated from the day's activities. That's why I decided to let him cry it out for a couple of mins...

After screaming for less than 5 mins, he calmed down. Then he talked and played by himself for half hour before falling asleep.

lele is a good boy, maybe u hv been very consistent wif lele , that is why lele can take the cue that he must sleep.

the 3 nites he was wif me , he didnt nap @ 9pm , he sleeps at 11pm .everytime i closed the door n told him nitenite , baby sleep . he will cry and point to the door where his ah ma is . he just refuses to sleep and cried loudly . zac is really notti and stubborn . cried very loud until my ma told me to bring him out . the min he is outside , he will flash a smile while being carried by my ma . little rascal

michele,
on labour's day or on a weekday? i didnt buy the zoo pass, but i dun mind going too. i think kaizer should like the elephants and monkies since he's always happy to see them on his DVD

jesse: When dogs dun feel well, they will eat grass. I forgot why but it's for their tummy I think.

Spring: what is pu jua?

Anyway now seldom nose bleed, only when I was a kid. So I always had wet tiolet paper stuck to my forehead and grass sticking out of my nose. What a comical sight I must have been!

sandwich,
you can only go on Fridays, right? If you don't make it in the next few weeks....Mrs Lai, you interested to go on the 23rd? Otherwise, we can also go on 18th. I have the pass, so if I can make it this round, I can still go again.

Btw, I don't know if it still holds true, but HB camp was at Mandai (near Zoo) and he said, last time everyday 4pm, it'll rain.

mrs lai,
pu jua = heaty

Mummies who are interested in Ergo Carrier,

I have a contact - Lulu's hp Tel: 812 12840. I bought mine from her at about S$150 plus (CNY promotion). She is a very nice lady
. Can give her a try if u want.

sandwich,

Are u worried about HFMD since you are sending your baby to infant care coming June especially Learning Vision is one of the centres with serious HFMD? BTW, yours is a boy or gal ya?

These information are quoted from xin.sg (HFMD):

下令强制性关闭的幼稚园
PCS Jurong West Centre Blk 452
Ramakrishna Mission Sarada Kindergarten (Blk 179 Bartley Road)
St. Andrews Cathedral Child Development Centre (Blk 511 Jurong West 52)
Al-Istiqamah Mosque Kindergarten (Blk 2 Serangoon North Ave 2)
Just Kids at Jurong Pte Ltd (Blk 255 Jurong East St 24)
NTUC Childcare Co-operative Ltd (Blk 230 Compassvale Walk)
Blk 3 Halifax Road
Learning Vision@Work Pte Ltd (Blk 100 KKH Bukit Timah Road)

主动关闭的幼稚园
Cambridge CDC @ Tanglin Pte Ltd (Blk 38C Belvedere Close)
Pat's Schoolhouse Pte Ltd (Mount Emily) (Blk 19 Upper Wilkie Rd)
PCF Chong Pang Sparkletots Childcare Centre (Blk 142 Yishun Ring Rd)
Marine Parade-Aspiration Child Care Center Blk 201 Bedok North St 1
NTUC Childcare Co-operative Ltd (Blk 1 Haig Road)
Bedok Lutheran Church Kindergarten (Blk 485 Bedok South Ave 2)
PCF Serangoon (Blk 226 Serangoon Ave 4)
PCF Bukit Batok East (Blk 241 Bukit Batok East Ave 5)
Cherrybrook Kindergarten Vanda Road
Church of the Holy Trinity Kindergarten (Blk 20 Tampines St11)(只关闭豆豆班)
PCF Sengkang West Blk 303A
PCF Tampines Est Blk 261
PCS Punggol East Blk 103
St James Church Kindergarten (Blk 29 Harding Road)
Kinderland Preschool (Blk 449 Yio Chu Kang Road)

劝请主动关闭的托儿所
NTUC Childcare Co-operative Ltd (Blk 192 Toa Payoh Lor 4)
NTUC Childcare Co-operative Ltd (Blk 308C Anchorvale Road)
Brighton Montessori (Blk 125 Frankel Avenue)
Learning Vision @ Work Pte Ltd (Tan Tock Seng Hospital 4th Level)
PCF Moulmein - Tai Pei Childcare & Development (Blk 50 Dorset Road)

zoo visit
next friday shd be great - i think this fri may be a bit crowded (many pple will take this fri off to have a long weekend) and i'd prefer to go in the morning - not so hot i think. so who's keen?

michele,
sorry logged off just now cos kaizer was crying. going to sleep now. nitez!

pisces gal,
mine's a boy. i think learning vision has many branches. if the branch that i'm sending him to has HFMD, then probably i can postpone the enrolment by a month until they're clear. at the moment, that center is still alright.

coold and dlim ,
i saw ur names in the icesnow thread for the balls . ooops ! u better cancel ASAP since michele is getting the balls for u .

Cai,

Thanks, will cancel my order from icesnow. Actually I posted a few days ago but no reponse so I thought the spree has closed.

Caicai,
Thanx. Actually we were on waitlist but I had oredi told her to drop me yday on PM. I cannot post on those restricted thread :p

Dlim,
I tink dats like an ongoing spree. Spree #6 close, they will start spree #7.

Michele,
Zoo is on 09 May? That's jboy's lunar bday so I oso dun mind bringing him there, like a celebration
Let me know ..

I can't go next week to the zoo. I'll prob skip this time and go another time.

jesse: i got to work the entire day on 17th, so 18th I'll pass. 23rd may still be possible ...

sandwich: like my colleague say, heng the NUS one didn't kena!

Mrs Lai,
okay lah, we can go on the 23rd

Michele,
I can't go on the 9th cos HB and I going away.

Disneytokyo,
have an enjoyable trip!

I think the policy for school closure is that if there have cases in their school for 15 (?) consecutive days, the school is forced to close for 10 days. Some schools that think they might have problems can also volunteer to close for 10 days before they get mandated to shut down.

PGal,
he can't walk yet but he crawls really well, so I just get him to crawl here and there

Caicai: Agree that we have been quite consistent w Lele for esp for sleep and meals. I think consistency will work its magic
with Little Zach too... If you think about it, the past 3 nights w you zach did not take nap at 9pm so by 11pm he must have been tired enough to not persist for milk at 2am. But when he was w your ma, she allowed a nap at 9pm. that could have been why he played till 2am before sleeping. Besides, he seemed quite attached to your ma. Perhaps your ma will carry him more quiickly when he fusses. Zach knows that "trait" so he will fuss more persistently when she puts her to bed, than say, when he was in your care?

For sleep, we have been trying to train Lele to sleep by himself since he was 7 months. In order for that, nap times are fixed. We let him sleep when 2/3 hours after he wakes in the morn.

During training hub or me will carry him for max 10mins (with rocking, humming etc) to lull him to sleep. When his eyelids start to close or when 10mins is up, we will say good night to him and then leave the room.
Initially he will cry, sometimes longer, sometimes shorter.
But we always wait at least 20mins (of crying) before going in to reassure him for 1/2mins before saying good night and leaving the room again. Sometimes we go in after 20mins and realised he pooed. Maybe that's why he fussed.
Sometimes he will fall asleep but just for 30mins. Then we will bring him out and considered nap taken. Sometimes he will continue to fuss/talk/play for one whole hour before nap. We also consider nap taken, and bring him out till 2 hours later for the next nap.

All the above methods are from the book "healthy sleep habits, happy child". I did not follow everything in the book cos very technical and some parts a bit confusing. The parts I did use worked for my boy, especially the "10mins of soothing" and "nap after 2 hours from wake up".

For my ILs, we also advised them that they must never carry baby till he actually dozed off. Must put him down when he starts to sleep. They usually just put him on his bed when it's time for nap cos son too heavy for my MIL to carry. And he will play a while before falling asleep most of the time. As long as he did sleep, even if the nap is short, say 30 mins, we will consider nap taken and bring him out to play for 2hours before letting him take the afternoon nap.

For bed time too.
We repeat the same routine and let him sleep at about the same time every night. Night time usually no problems with falling asleep. But initially he will wake up after just 3 hours of sleep and start to fuss. We will also wait for at lease 10 mins to go quick check he did not poo. And then wait another 20 mins before going in again if he continued fussing. Go in quick check and leave the room again. Usually he will settle within 5mins by himself bythis time. It took sometime but he managed to settle himself within 10mins even if he woke up. And then he stopped waking up.

I started at 7months and he finally can sleep by himself and settle himself back to sleep by 10months. Needs lots of patience and consistency. But I'm glad we made it...

... ...realised me so lorsor again... oops!

Caicai,
just to add on to Kate...she brought up something that jot my memory...

Yes, when Jesse was 2 - 3 months on, his schedule/routine was already fixed and we never let him nap within 4 hours of his sleep (for the night) time. i.e. If we decide to fix his sleep time at 8pm, he has to be up from his last nap at 4pm. Of course, around 5 - 6pm he gets a little tired (he was really young) so he steals a short nap (30mins) during that time. But now, he's up at around 3:30pm - 4pm and he doesn't get to sleep again until 7+pm. It's not quite 4 hours, but now after 10 months of training, he gets the idea liao...
When it's dark, he usually doesn't bother us.

Cherryteq
Jonas also got hit his head with his head…like having a terrible headache! I see liao quite worry also…will try pull his hands away.

He has no specific time to poo lei…so hard to tell when he got “urge”….by then I see him trying to “gek”…already too late to transfer him to potty liao!

Kate
Woah….seems like you read alot about the tactics & strategies of training baby….did you actually attend a course or something?

spring: u can tell when ur son wants to gek one ah?

I only know my gal when want to do sometimes, have this shocked look on her face and clambers on to me quickly. Other times, she will just be VERYYYYYY quiet and still. then continue when she's done. She dun even fuss now if her diapers are soiled!

Mummies, Mummies pls take note of the NEW timing AGAIN!!!!

Jus rec call from JG:
changed to 5pm to 6.30pm!
pls advise ur attendance
class size: 14 kids

Julia Gabriel Free trial class
http://www.juliagabriel.com/eduplay.htm

Class: Playnest for 6mth to 18mth
Nurturing attachment and security
Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Time : 5pm to 6.30pm
@ Stuido 6
Trainer: Sujitha
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. sanrio
4. bububear
5. Gene
6. CoolD
7. Peg
8. *michele*
9. EE
10. Catherine
11. Mrs Chia
12. Miss Tan
13. cai2
14. yoji

any suggestion whr to hv dinner?
need to cfm a place for makan.
coz after class will b 6.30pm and we need to settled down fast to feed our toddlers dinner.
dun wish to waste time to search for the makan place
latest need to leave FORUM @7.45pm

4May (Sunday) 6.30pm dinner (after trial class)
1. Augleo
2. CoolD
3. michele
4. bububear
5. EE

Michele or any mummy,

what time would you be a the Toys R Us sale today? My parents flight delayed...I might go in the afternoon...anyone else?

UPCOMING MEET UP:

Pre-Mother Day makan
Date: 3rd May (Saturday)
Venue: Plaza Mkt Cafe (Raffles City) @City Hall MRT
Time: 12.30pm

Saturday carpark fee @Raffles City
$2 for 1st 2 hrs
$0.30 subsequent 15 mins

JG free trial class
Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322
Time: 5pm to 6.30pm

** mummies in the cfm list, do advise if you can't make it for the trial class.

Zoo trip
Date: 9 May (Friday)
Time: 9am
Venue: Zoo entrance

suggested itinerary:
AM prg:
http://www.zoo.com.sg/visitor/am_itinerary.htm

our little princess on her b'day. she din smile much that day cos was a little overwhelmed by d crowd but overall she was ok n as usual, eyes big big observing people.
1387096.jpg

Dlim & Cool_daughter,

Which type of ball are both of u getting from Michelle? Any picture to show me? Any special function for this ball and how much?

Please let me know. Thanks

SprD: No lah, I haven't attended a course on that :p
But I just feel quite strongly about setting up good sleeping habits for Lele cos I feel that good sleeping habits are important for young brains' growth. And from asking around, I realised that all children wake quite early despite sleeping time. So I just thought if they can get more sleep by sleeping early and soundly, why not have earlier bedtime?

My husband's family all late night sleepers, wake up late and easily awaken one, whereas I am the sleep-like log, can wake late but wake early also okay one. My mum will not very educated and not particular about early childhood dos and donts BUT she believes children should not sleep late. So I remember when I was about 8YO she will make us go to the bedroom to sleep at 9pm. Not that we resisted much la.p

wow , kate , thanks for the lengthy write up abt sleeping . BUT , ysterday , zac is back to his notti ways again .

he slept at 9pm ( after his milk time ) , i tot he will wake up @ 11 pm for another round , coz i purposely ask his dad to give him just 180ml so that he will be hungry for another feed.
NO he didnt wake up @ 11pm , he woke up @ 230am
at first , he gv out short little cries , but i pat him . he kept quiet , can see he is trying to sleep . but then 30min later , he started wailing . wail until woke my ma up , she went to make milk for him ..... after that , he slept for 10min before crying ( which i think he has nitemare) but after my ma soothe him for 5min , he slept thru until 715am this morning . *shake head* . how to train like lele eh ?
actually i was reluctant to let him sleep @ 9pm , but my ma told me he didnt nap in the afternoon that is why so tired . zac dun hv a FIXED nap time , my ma let him hv his ways , sometimes he wants to sleep , she let him be . if not , she will let him play by himself . when he is wif me , unless we go out kaikai , else he is able to nap in the morning and afternoon

Pgal,
It's the leapfrog discovery ball. I haven got it, so I am not sure what features it has .. shld be the usual music n play guah ..

Btw, we are not 'literally going to the zoo together, we are meeting there. Wanna join us?

sanrio,
Cher looks cool leh .. her focus so sharp, juz like those mag super model

*Michelle*,

How much is the leapfrog discovery ball and do u mind telling me more details about this ball? I am interested leh
. Please revert or u can email me in case I miss your posting here.

Thanks in advance