(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

cool
avent don't hv glass bottles. for glass bottle if you drop will break issit?
then i can't use it coz my boys sometimes will throw the bottles after drinking leh

y JG keep changing time!?!? luckily that weekend, my in-laws are away and i don't have to eat dinner with me... so Leo, ok with me.

the cake is from ecreative.

thanks for all the compliments!

dlim ,

it seems that canada is banning those bottles that are non BPA . ( normal plastic bottles )
so they interviewed Spore MOH about this , spore has no wish to ban these bottles ,they said that it is not a proven health hazard , no room for alarm .
but the news mentioned that these harmful stuff will be released only when hot water is poured into the bottles . so a recommended water temperature of 50 degrees is mentioned . We are also advised to use the bottles after they cooled off fm the sterilization bins . and we shd not let hot water stay in the bottle for too long . POINT *** do not pour boiling hot water into your bottles .

so i told my mum to stop sterilizing the bottles liao and she asked me to change new bottles every 1-2 mths . i also cannot use glass bottles coz my son very notti

LEO ( u said u used glass bottles , will it crack easily when u dropped it , or u are very careful with those ? )

michele , what a pretty claire , nice outfit n beautiful cake

caicai
if the harmful chemical are released under high heat, so it will be released during sterlisation. Will it goes off when the bottles are cool? or we need to like 'rinse' them? But rinse liao = not sterilise?

coold , i also dunno .
in my pea brain opinion , i think if we pour hot water with milk powder in bottles -think chemical rxn ( higher chance of releasing the bad stuff into the milk n when baby drinks it , it goes into their system )

but if we sterilize the bottles n wait for the bottles to cool off , there will be no chemical rxn btw the plastic bottles n luke warm milk , so not much harm .

min, cai2 n coolD,
JK has been using glass bottles for past few months.
ever drop once (from height abt 5cm) n rolled on floor twice. so far no replacement yet.

wa liao that means no point in sterilising lor!!!!!
jiat lart.. sometimes i pour in hot water at night so that incase my son need to drink water in middle of nite , it be cooled down.

but with recent HFMD, i don't feel good not sterilising bottles or perhaps too used to routine of washing bottles liao

NUK teats standard size ba .
OOoh shit , Leo , glass bottles use big teats or standard huh ? mine is wide neck bottles teats . OHhhhhhh no .

this issue abt BPA has been debated for the longest time - a lot of the 'side-effects' will not be seen immediately but over long run. health experts conclude that these health risks accounts for the dramatic increase in cancer/health problems that our generation face. In SG, one in 3 adults will die due to critical illnesses. Its the same reasons why

1) we shd be using proper water bottles instead of those mineral bottles

2) we shd not heat up food in those takeaway plastic containers

etc etc

cai cai
shit shit also hahaha..
too used to avent and pigeon teats which comes in sizes.. and also wide neck

if gimme a standard teat, i duno how to punch or punch how many holes!

Mummies, Mummies pls take note of the NEW timing AGAIN!!!!

Jus rec call from JG:
changed to 5pm to 6.30pm!
pls advise ur attendance
class size: 14 kids

Julia Gabriel Free trial class
http://www.juliagabriel.com/eduplay.htm

Class: Playnest for 6mth to 18mth
Nurturing attachment and security
Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Time : 5pm to 6.30pm
@ Stuido 6
Trainer: Sujitha
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. sanrio
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD
6. Peg
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate **
11. Mrs Chia
12. jessesmom
13. cai2
14. Jo

wait list:

Cindy
No la, nothing in particular. Hehee..
Ok, I’ll try to upload something soon. Very lazy and extremely tied up with handling this lil rascal.

Caicai
Wah, your son must be quite chubby now hor. XL diapers! I thought he looked average the last time. Mine still skinny as before. Can still wear 6 months Carter’s rompers.

Sanrio
Ya, I find Huggies Ultra’s cutting big. So the L size is still in the store room. I’ll probably order some Goon to replace my Pampers active baby. Any idea can mix sizes or not? I also wanna order Huggies pull ups.

Mrs Lai
Yup, I had LA. But was shivering in the ops. Don’t know why leh. Maybe scared also lor. I was also damn hungry but was given only 1 sip of water, in case I vomit. So I was drooling when my friend came with a can of Coke and I took some lor, thinking its ok and suddenly I just puke. Then I find very ‘boh hua’ coz the package includes maternity meals right and I had to starve for 1st day and the next only given soft food, like yucky porridge.

Michele
Wah, your photos so nice. Both mummy and bb so sweet! I love Claire’s fairy wings!

Leo,
I took my name out, cos 6:30pm is when Jesse takes his bath and goes to bed for the night...too late for us.

----------

Jus rec call from JG:
pls advise ur attendance

Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

@ Stuido 6
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. sanrio
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD
6. Peg
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate **
11. Mrs Chia
13. cai2
14. Jo

wait list:

Moms,

Jesse went for some shots today...his 4th Prevenar and Chickenpox shot. I think the chickenpox one not painful since he didn't have much of a reaction. As for Prevenar, it's the usual "wwweeaaaahhh" Nothing a raisin can't solve.

On Jul 4th, he'll go for his MMR.

Any mothers currently giving Isomil but thinking of switching to cow's milk based formula (like Gain IQ)? I'm really quite after to try...don't know it he'll have any bad reaction.

Michele,
what an elaborate cake! Very nice photos

Cindy,
Yes, Broadway would pretty much cover the whole Manhattan... I'm glad you like the food and general sightseeing. This is a nice time of the year to go.

We CHOSE to come back, but I do regret the decision some times... It was mainly because my in-laws had never seen Jesse and they had indicated that they would love to help take care of him. Of course, right now, they don't do it and we're pretty much leading the same life we had in NYC except for different friends and bad weather and less shopping and interesting programs on TV...etc etc

Why are you in Boston?

Caitlyn seems like such an easy baby, I'm sure you'll do well during the flight back.

jessemom , u better monitor jesse's temp , i heard this prenav jab pretty high risk for fever.

gene , my sonny look not so chubby type but his tummy is round lor . :p my ma very kiasu , everything also let him wear big size , she said more comfy for him .

Jesse
Me ... jboy had been on isomil since 3mths & I am tinking of switching back to cow's milk. Tink tink only, haven do :p

Btw, Jesse slept at 6.30pm? Dats early . .and he sleeps thru' till the morning?

4May Sunday 6.30pm (after JG trial class):
any1 wanna to hv dinner together?

FYI:
carpark fee @Forum
6am to 6am the next day:
$3.20/entry

Gene,
yup can order mix sizes n mix brands. $60 n above, free delivery. 2nite i send u a referral n u can get $5 off i think if u order fr diaper.com.sg. wen ar u ordering?

Michele,
hmm.. perhaps i shd try meji milk. i hv lactose intolerant too. so i dont't drk milk. my hb oso dun drk milk. are by products ok for u? for me as i grow older, a little bit of cheese or some brands of icecream are ok. but somtx i get stomach upset af takg diary pdts.

Yo Miss Tan...
sure

Jus rec call from JG:
pls advise ur attendance

@ Stuido 6
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. sanrio
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD
6. Peg
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate **
11. Mrs Chia
12. Miss Tan
13. cai2
14. Jo

wait list:

any regulars in Orchard Forum? any recommendation?
if more than 5 mummies going to hv dinner together...need reservation?

FYI:
carpark fee @Forum
6am to 6am the next day:
$3.20/entry

any regulars in Orchard Forum? any recommendation?
if more than 5 mummies going to hv dinner together...need reservation?

FYI:
carpark fee @Forum
6am to 6am the next day:
$3.20/entry

leo, i'm sure you meant 6pm to 6am! hehe... count me in for dinner. we can always have dinner within the same vicinity, don't need to be in forum

sanrio, i can take cheese and yoghurt - no problems - only normal fresh milk i can't. hb also the same - drink milk oredi will LS. haha...

michele,
carpark info, me cut n paste from the website

4May (Sunday) 6.30pm dinner (after trial class)
1. Augleo
2. CoolD
3. michele

Michelle : How's JG class?
I called and they told me for our babies, only have weekday class, 2xs a week.

I heard that there is a school in the formal turf city offering music and dance class for babies. Any mummies know the name of the school?

cai cai,
thank you for your concern.
I'll monitor his temp...Dr say 15-20% chance of fever.

CoolD,
he actually sleeps at around 7-ish. He takes his bath at 6:30pm, drinks his milk. Finish at around 7pm. Then I put him in his crib...and he goes to sleep at some point. He sleeps through till about 6:30 - 7am the next morning. He's been doing since 3 months.

The good thing is we get to rest. The bad thing is we can't go out.

So when are you thinking of switching to cow's milk? I don't know when also...Dr said he shouldn't drink pediasure since it's for fussy-eaters and children who need more calories...she say my baby is "growing well", so don't need. Ask me to try Gain IQ, Enfan??? or something else.

Mrs Lai,
is that why she didn't reply me? You work her too hard :p I'm glad you can find stuff. I love to buy a lot of things for Jesse as well...thankfully there's a space constrain.

Leo,
I just put the milo in his cereal/oats/barley and mix with water...
He takes his formula neat or sometimes a little doped up

But in the morning when my HB is having his oats and condensed milk...Jesse also takes some.

Btw, Dr asked if Jesse has started solids like porridge (seriously) and I said yes. Then I asked her if there's anything he shouldn't eat. She said to be careful with seafood and peanuts. Otherwise, everything is okay. "Even curry puff?"
Sure, as long as he likes the spice.

So yay! I can feed him anything...that thrills me.

Jesse....
I'm so envious that Jesse sleeps so early and thru the nite! If mine sleeps at 7pm...it's only her nap!

I'm in Boston cos my hb is doing taking a PhD module in MIT. Too bad its only for 1 sem.

Gene...
ok...will be waiting for you to post the pix in ur blog.

Cindy,
Ooh..MIT. I may ask you about info regarding that one day. Not for me, personally, but for someone I know who's thinking about it

One sem? Like an exchange program of sorts?

What's his topic?

jessemum, think lele and jesse can hold hands le. but now lele sleeps around 8 , wakes at 6 am for milk then cont to sleep till 8plus. Real piggie.

jessemom
my boy oredi taking alota junk. today my hubby took care of him and badly terrorised by my boy!!

my boy really a glutton.. can eat non-stop till my hubby, mil don't dare to eat infront of him. he will scream if we walk away w/o feedin him our food

this afternoon.. my hubby let him taste bitter liang teh thinkin that my boy will not like it.. but he was wrong. my boy actually scream when my hubby walked away with the cup.. he wants more bitter liang teh!

think my boy's stomach is a rubberise rubbish dump!

this week, kaizer suddenly upped his appetite. he can eat up to 8oz of porridge for dinner (measured by his thermos), a vast improvement from his pathetic skip breakfast/lunch/dinner weekend routine! hope his good appetite is here to stay for the weekend! goodnight all!

can i know how to make like baked marconi (lasgane style) for my bb?thanks

i'm also one using pigeon plastic bottles.can't be help.i got 4 BPA free bottles but the teats is same as avent..not every bb like and mine just doesn't so how to make it bpa free?sigh

augleo:i went to see the package for the fa kao and wah ko kuai..fa gao just add water can liao but for wahko kuai kent..nust add egg and water.

kate n jesse mum , how u manage to make ur babies sleep thru . my son is not a pig like urs . he sleeps @ 8pm , wake up @ 11 pm for milk , slept half way till 5am n cried for milk again . dun feed him , he dun sleep . feed water , he will cry after half an hour . his usual sleeping time @ 10/11 pm , damn crazy and he dun take noon naps

Cai,

Thanks for sharing.
Btw, last time i saw u baked some muffin & post it here.
Finally I have time to give it a try last wk. Although it didnt turned up very good but
still can eat lah..haha but then its abit hard.

Any ideal is it bcox I didnt beat the egg for long enough? How to make it more soft?

Cool_D,

I also juz bought 3 new avent bottles recently from bbgoh.