(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Augleo,

Sorry can you remove my name from the JG trial cos we will be away in KL and cannot make it back in time for the class. Paisay...

my son drinks 210ml for the day and then 270-300ml for the nite at 9pm.

he will hv 3 milk and 2 or 3 solids for a day

hi Jo,
noted, enjoy ur trip

1 more slot

Mummies, Mummies pls take note of the NEW timing AGAIN!!!!

Jus rec call from JG:
changed to 5pm to 6.30pm!
pls advise ur attendance
class size: 14 kids

Julia Gabriel Free trial class
http://www.juliagabriel.com/eduplay.htm

Class: Playnest for 6mth to 18mth
Nurturing attachment and security
Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Time : 5pm to 6.30pm
@ Stuido 6
Trainer: Sujitha
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. sanrio
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD
6. Peg
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate **
11. Mrs Chia
12. Miss Tan
13. cai2

Sandwich,

Since u mentioned that kaizer has raised his appetite on his porridge & its a good sign. Although the milk
intake is low but at least the porridge can cover abit on the milk. U can also try to feed kaizer a few times
instead of 150ml at one go? I believe he will slowly increase his milk intake..

Mrs Lai,

No leh... need to melt butter 1st ar? Oh...maybe thats why my muffin is quite hard. Thanks
for highlighting...

Cool_d,

I still continue to sterilize by using the avent steamer. Will stop using when he is abt 14 mths ba..
Yes, the HFMD is so scarry...500+ cases in 1 day is alot!!

How come yr colleague so weird? I mean since u all have already noticed & your colleague still
continue to cheat? He/she not worry that u will find out?

Kelley,

U really have to rest well & dun over stress yrself. Take good care of yr little gal...

Im not sure whether is too young to start them on this course but the principal did mentioned
during age 2-4 is the best time to learn & absorb new things. But then in my class, i still
have bb as young as 8 mths old & they perform very well. U will be surprised they can actually
do as well as bb age from 12 - 14 mths old. So I cant comment much... it really depends how
well yr bb can adapt & if she is interested or not.

The principal even mentioned they have bb as young as 3mths old attending the course! But I
was wondering how can they understand??? My frd told me the best time to enroll is when they
r 8 mths old. There are also parent who enrolled they children at the age of 2. During the
enrolment day, all the classes for bb born in 2006 fully taken up!!

1K is during the 1st enrollment cox they included in the parenting class charges but after u
attended the class, they will refund u the money. After that, the 3mths course will cost ard
$700++.

caicai,
my son was born early and at 9 weeks, the Dr already said its redundant (cos his stomach was then big enough to take enough food in the day so he doesn't need anymore at night). He has been thriving and is at 95% for both height and weight.

Hope this makes you feel better. Of course, if Zach has problems then is better to confirm with Dr first. But for a normal baby, with proper day feeds (800ml of FM and some solids), night feeds are redundant.

Dlim,
what muffin are you making? If the method is as you wrote then probably Mrs Lai is right and you have to melt the better first. Otherwise, how do you mix the butter with the egg and milk? Or you can try doing the usual cake method lor. I find the normal cake method quite fail proof.

What kind of flour do you use? I've been thinking of making some cookies for Jesse but I'm thinking of using wholewheat flour and less sugar. Anyone has a recipe for that? I'm thinking of oatmeal choc chip raisin cookie.

Sterilzing
Mummies, do you still sterilize the bottles? We stopped doing it since we came back (when he was about 6 months). But of course, my friend still does it for her 3 yo out of habit. I thought, he's already putting so many other things in his mouth, it doesn't matter if the bottle is "sterile" or not, right? Hmm...

Walking
Mrs Lai
Vanessa isn't alone. Jesse (who was born in March) can't walk either! But I'm not too worried...he only started rolling over at 6+ months and only started crawling at 8-9 months. His first Dr used to say, "there's just more of him to move around". :p

jesse , ya , my son's weight n height also belong to the 95% percentile .
like Jesse , he is still a baby not a walking toddler .

i guess since he is not walking n exercising like kaizer / jayden , that is the reason he is heavy . so min , u shdnt worry too much , ur Dillon is walking too rite ?

mine started crawling when he is 10mths old ba ... SLOW

Disneytokyo,
I gave Jesse the porridge sprinkle on today. He loved it
I told my HB and he was like, "you sure there's no MSG?" hehe...

Next time I go to Taka, I'll be sure to look around fo more interesting stuff for Jesse at the baby section.

Thank you for the recommendation!

caicai,
nothing to worry about lah...if Zach is thriving, then ya, it's safe to cut out the night feeds!

Jesse is a very good crawler, okay...he gets a good workout out of it! :p Haha. The only problem now is that he has black/brown needs...so do HB and I actually...from all that crawling. It'll go away once we all stop crawling, right? Right?

Jesse,

Im making choc chip muffin. Cox i took out the butter & left it on the tabel for quite some time
so while preparing that time, I juz threw the whole butter in ... so funny when i recalled this..
hahaha.. I only realized after Mrs lai mentioned need to melt it 1st.

Talking abt flour..there r soooo many out there so i juz choosed the flour specialised for muffin.
Oh ya, since u mentioned abt cookies... i have this Famous Amos cookie receipt that was flying
ard through email last time. Do u want? I can email u but then if u r doing for Jesse then im not sure
if its suitable cox it may be too sweet?

Hopefully this wkend, I have time to try out my muffin / cookies!

dlim
Ya me too. Last nite was tinking tinking than juz went ahead to sterlise.

My colleague ah, hiaz .. everybody also knows her pattern la, but it's small money so we usually juz leave it. Or sometimes we try & talk louder like "Oh, juz now the bus fare who paid huh" and she will get the hint & pay up.

Dlim,
Usually for butter, for baking we need it cold, unless you melt it of course, then it'll just have to be cool/rm temp.
As for eggs, it needs to be room temp so bring it our of the fridge 30 mins or more before using it.
Other liquids should be cool.

I guess you have to try to find out what happened.

I have my "go to" oatmeal cookie recipe but it uses normal flour etc. Guess like I said to you...if I want to change things about, I wouldn't know unless I try!

where do you live? it'll be interesting to watch you make the muffins. I stopped baking when Jesse was born, mainly because no time and I don't want to clean up...and there are ants in Singapore. But also because HB and I put on so much weight, I had to stop.

Dlim: I bought this delicious mag, and they happen to be talking about some ricotta spinach muffin!

Anyway according to the recipe, you are suppose to heat the milk with butter in it. Then the egg was added to the dry ingredients, when add the milk then everything whisk together until JUST combine.

Maybe can try that?

Kelley: U just take care OK? rem to rest well.

CoolD I used to have this male colleague who will always say to the rest" buy a pack of cigrattes and share" and they pay first. Obviously he will share the pack and never pay. One colleague v goodnaturedly let him take adv lor, then we were like "roll eyes". To her, it's not a big deal, she can afford it, even if she already know he wants to "cheat" her of the cigrattes. So my that lady colleague v cool! In her words, it's only a few dollars, why make things so difficult. BUT happily, when this guy met this other colleague, he changed SO MUCH. He paid for her hair rebonding tt cost $300 and we gasped at his generiosity. But I think his gf now wife is very good. They are now proud parents fo 3 kids! And no, he not so kiam anymore. The last gathering we had he actually bought herbal ducks for us to eat! So love can really change a person!

talking about trips, u all just made me rem this VERY yummy scallop chowder in Disneysea, Japan, at the Little Mermaid castle. I actually went again in a second trip after 2 years to go and eat the same thing again. Cannot forget it man ... *argh*

hi yoji,
sure. pls pm me ur email address, ur name, child name n ur hp#.

Mummies, Mummies pls take note of the NEW timing AGAIN!!!!

Jus rec call from JG:
changed to 5pm to 6.30pm!
pls advise ur attendance
class size: 14 kids

Julia Gabriel Free trial class
http://www.juliagabriel.com/eduplay.htm

Class: Playnest for 6mth to 18mth
Nurturing attachment and security
Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Time : 5pm to 6.30pm
@ Stuido 6
Trainer: Sujitha
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. sanrio
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD
6. Peg
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate **
11. Mrs Chia
12. Miss Tan
13. cai2
14. yoji

Jessemom: Ya, I'm not really worried, but I just wanted to encourage her to try walking and to make it "fun". My sis gal who is 3 weeks odler also not walking yet, although she has a really HEADFUL of hair. Vanessa's nothing even close to hers.

Cai: yes madam.. I m resting.. lying down with lappie on the bed.. I barely carried my gal these 2 days.. somehow feel so bad..haiz…

Dlim: thanks.. mayb I will consider.. actuali where is their lessons held ah..??

cai cai
my Dillion only started crawling at 11mth old. not even walking yet. and so very light. PD say he only at 50 percentile

mrs lai: yes.. i m resting.. getting bored n fat at home.. so sian... i can't stay home one leh...talking abt the ciggi thing hor.. my HB also like tat.. always say "quit" smoking.. but more of "quit" buying.. but always take from others... well i thnk some how is just a matter of give n take.. if nt willing to give.. then jst say loh.. although my HB has never been rejected.. cos when go out drinking.. he is alwys paying!! like bo hua hor..

Caicai: Jia you. ) Zach can do it one. It was quite tiring but for a few days only, like the first 4 days. After that the situation gets better till he stops waking altogether. Even though my hubbie did not sleep w me during training, he was the one to "cave in". On day 4, he sort of gave me a lecture, saying he dun agree from the start when I suggested stopping his milk feed when he wakes. He said I am torturing him, depriving him of milk when he is genuinely hungry, and depriving myself and Lele of sleep.

But I convinced him that he is waking up later and later and was easier to calm down unlike the beginning. I asked him to at least let me continue for 3 more days, when it will be a full week.

He relented, reluctantly.

I think we are doing the right thing, because instead of broken sleep, lele can sleep throughout the night. Proof that this arrangement is better is that his wake-up time is later than previous. So he actually sleeps 12hours plus a night as opposed to previous 11hours.
And we adults will start having some proper unbroken rest.

It is really strange... but now Lele will wake me up at "zhun zhun" 6-6.15am even though I never set alarm clock...

I think this is another habit thingie.

Perhaps I might stop this feed soon, but for now, this arrangement is okay le la.

kelley,
nearest to u is AMK hub, Level #19,right Doreen? if not, then u can go over to Springleaf Tower
then if u wanna enrol Ash, you or A needs to attend the parent session, and that briefing ends quite late,think ard 11.30pm

Cool_d,

Hahaha...I think we have used to it...

Sometimes, it fun to see all sort of personality in our company ya..

Jesse,

Thanks... will try out 1 more time & see where goes wrong. Wow.. u r stressing
me leh. Im a beginner & u want to come over & see? Wait till im more confident 1st ya..
Im staying at Bukit Batok. How abt u?

Mrs Lai,

Wow..seems like I have missed alot of steps.. no wonder my muffin didnt turn out well.
Noted yr instruction..thanks..

Kelley,
It will be either Springleaf or HDB Hub. I think HUB hub will be nearer to u? They
also have wkdays & wkends class. U can visit their website - http://www.shichidamethod.com/

MichK,

Finally u r in! Can advise why my muffin turned out to be quite hard har?
Btw, AMK Hub dun have leh... Briefing for yesterday really ends very late. Goosh... ard 11pm+
as I mentioned earlier.. But it still worth to attend. Lucky only 1 session only..

Weekend's coming! Something really interesting to share

How Smart Is Your Right Foot?

This is so funny that it will boggle your mind. And, you will keep trying it at least 50 more times to see if you can outsmart your foot. But you can't!!!

1. While sitting at your desk, lift your right foot off the floor and make clockwise circles with it.

2. Now, while doing this, draw the number '6' in the air with your right hand.. Your foot will change direction!!!

Shi***da lessons: Just testing response... any of you interested to attend private rightbrain lessons? At no reg., deposit and much cheaper rates, comducted by experienced teachers (from you-know-where) ?

Kate: I don't mind, but depends on location as well? I may start her on it later, if I can offload some of my portfolio! Otherwise it would be my helper attending the parent's class already!

kate , i dun mind , but pls provide details to us , say via email ( coz i think put on forum mite get the u- know- what in trouble ? )

Dlim,
u wanna to try this.

Double Chocolate Muffins (makes 12)

1-3/4cup plain flour Pre-heat oven @200 degree
1 tsp bicarbonate soda Sieve flour, bicarbonate soda & cocoa powder together.
3/4 cup castor sugar Stir in sugar. Beat egg & vanilla essence together.
1/4 cup cocoa powder Add all ingred. Into flour mixt. Fold together until the flour is dampended, but not smooth
100g butter (melted) Spoon mixt. Evenly into a 12 cup lined or greased medium-sized muffin tray.
1 egg Sprinkle some chocolate chips before baking.
1 cup low-fat plain yoghurt Bake for 10-12 min.on middle shelf or until the centre springs back when pressed lightly
1/2 tsp vanilla essence Leave to stand in pan for abt 3min before cooling on wire rack.
1/4 - 1/2 cup chocolate chips
1378167.jpg

jesse , cool_d : i'm on isomil advance 2..i will move on to pediasure after i finish my existing 6 tins of isomil..its true there no need to rush to switch to pediasure. swtiching back to cow or soy formula will depend on yr bb..like for mine i have allergic to quite a few things and antibiotic so is my sonny..that y i made the decision not to switch back to cow formula instead.

mrs lai:the receipe suitable for bb?if can i want to try heee

kate:are u talking about the 2 ex sc***da teachers conducting private lesson at north area?

cool: Ya you're not wrong BUT for kids like my sis, they eat well, not particular fussy, but just ultra lightweight for their size, so they are on pediasure as well. So my guess, for kids in the lower percentile?

Dlim,
looks like you have a lot of help already!

Wah...I don't even know how to get to where you live! I live at SK and even here, I'm lost a lot. haha.

cool_d,
that's what the Dr told me yesterday...that's why she said Jesse doesn't need/shouldn't drink pediasure since he's already growing well. *ahem*
Which actually leaves me with no lactose-free follow up formula to give him...

Mrs Lai,
how come our babies at this age cannot take chocolate? My dr didn't tell me that...and yes, I give it to Jesse...minuscule amount...like how I give him cream cheese with smoked salmon (yum!) and my HB gives him peanut butter (just the creamy bits).

Wah...the recipes look delish. Makes me want to make them! Especially the apple oatmeal one. I think Jesse might love it.

Nah...I shall wait a while more...when Jesse is older, he can help me

Poll!!
Do you cook Dinner every/most nights (SAHM & FTWM)? Otherwise, where do you usually get your dinner from?

My mom was sounded surprised that I stopped cooking dinner. Now I only cook for Jesse, lunch and dinner. Among the many reasons, I think the biggest one is my HB comes back so late (9 - 10pm)...erm, 1) I'm not going to cook that late lor and 2) at which time, it's not like we really want to eat dinner...

1) How often to all of u buy toys for your children coz their attention or interest for toys are short?

2) Do u always buy new toys for them or rent them?

3) Any place or website to recommend for rental of toys?

Thanks mummies for providing the above information

Kate : I want leh. Include me. You have my no right? Nowadays i cannot come in during officer hours le. Can only come in and read during my expressing session. Then got to run out for dinner and fetch my girl. Looking forward to stopping work... Hopefully in June.

PG : Actually the same set of toys can be played differently ya. You need to select the correct toys.

coolD, i have that ball - claire loves it coz of the music - when you spin the ball, music will play and when you press the alphabet, different tunes will also play. i think worthwhile to buy it - here it costs $49.90 i think. i also bought mine from bbcenter but quite some time back.

friday meetup mummies,
i'm on leave on all fridays next month! realized that i haven't been very diligent in clearing my leave this year hahaa! anyone free to meet up for lunch/tea next friday?

jessemom,
i received the carrier and accessories today. yeah, can try to use over the weekend! want to meet up next fri to get the sucking pads? sat lunch at plaza cafe, you haven't confirmed your attendance right?

dreamygal,
did you just resign? with kaizer moving home and starting infant care in june, i am actually considering working on a part-time scheme. thinking of working 6-8 hrs less a week, so that in the afternoons i can bring kaizer out to swim, go walk walk etc

Hi Kelley..
You better be a good girl and rest more ok! Take care!

Hi Jesse...
Yes...I will be going to Maine for the lobsters when my in laws are here in June. The weather should be v nice then! Wow...u r asking me to go so many places...unfortunately, my bank account is limited! Ben&Jerrys factory...issit near Boston?

Hi Sandwich...
Workig PT is ideal! U should do that! Then we can meet up even more!

MichK...
Have you recovered from your flu? U have been missing for a few days...so unlike of u!