(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Augleo,

thanks.. i'm so used to be in the wait list cos seldom read the thread.. by the time i see the trial classes, the list is usually full
, so see u soon mummies

Mrs lai - your note made me feel so homesick of Japan. Yah I love the ramen, when I went to ajisen here I did not finish the food, I couldn't eat it. It was so different from the ramen I used to know> They boil the pork for like more than 8 hours and prepare it carefully. oh, like a sushi rest, you need a license to open up a ramen shop. Not everyone can do it unless you pass an exam and get the license fr the govt. Soba and udon is not bad here.

Jpanese are very meticulous in their cooking. You know when making tempura, they need to soak prawns in ice cold water before you dip them in flour and then egg? I did not know until i saw my japanese host mother did it before in front of me.

Im trying to get more assigments in jp so i can go there more often kekeke ;)

Min - what time are you free? I am a little bit flexible but just have to meet a client tomorrow. I work near suntec and live in central area so pretty flex. Where is raffles city? is that near stamford swisshotel?
Min - 1/4 is ok but what kind of cheese do u give? You can actually include it in bread or egg.

Mrs Lai - Lake Kwaguchi is in the same town as where mt fuji is... hoto - i have been thinking what is this dish and honestly, i am so hungry now. ;)

Jesse - what time are you avail tom?

Any other mommies interested to come?

Piscesgal - i forgot the name of the teacher who we also disliked because she was too pushy to sell the chinese class. I was really disappointed with their sanitation. The activities are too packed as well and I do not think they encourage creativity and uniqueness of each toddler.

disney,
I can most probably meet in town from 4pm - 5:45pm? Or earlier if he's wakes up sooner. It's always a hit or miss with this boy...But then there's Michele, whom I said I could meet today in an earlier post....she willing to go town?

Otherwise, I can meet you next week
Next Monday afternoon, I'll most probably be at raffles city because my husband has a meeting there and then maybe we can go home together. yay!

Raffles City is the only with Stamford.

Min,
you working, can you meet/pop by around that time if we're at RCT?

Michele,
can you go raffles city?

Mrs Lai,
I always thought what I did was Chinese cooking (excl the italian and stuff lah). Until I married my husband then I realise there's even more Chinese than that! My mom's nyonya, my parents are the can't speak chinese type....

baby's up. Mine still baby, since he still can't toddle.

Mummies, pls take note of the new timing.

Jus rec call from JG:
changed to 4pm to 5.30pm!!!!
pls advise ur attendance

Julia Gabriel Free trial class
http://www.juliagabriel.com/eduplay.htm

Class: Playnest for 6mth to 18mth
Nurturing attachment and security
Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Time : 4pm to 5.30pm
Trainer: Sujatha
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. Ixora **
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD **
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate **
11. Mrs Chia
12. jessesmom

yes, i'm fine with raffles city too... have to decide fast coz i'm leaving the hse around 10.30.

i also gave claire cheese y'day coz the past one week, she's not really interested in food (again) but she managed to finish the whole bowl of potato, pork minced mixed with one slice of cheese. however, i read that should not give the slice cheese (but that's the only cheese i had at home) so if got chance to go to cold storage or jasons, i'll buy her a proper portion of cheese.

michele,
if u wan to argue that those who turn up din eat dun have to pay, den it might b unfair to some. anywae, since u so badly wan ur $ back for ur hb n maid who did turn up but did not eat, i will juz trf the amt to you. juz to let u noe dat its frm my own pocket. u asked for the refund for ur maid after the party n to stop u frm makin noise, i oreadi trf the $10 to u, u sms me ur a/c no. go check ur bank on the date i stated in my previous post.

Michele,
my number is eight one three nine, zero four five nine. In case we haven't decided before you leave. But thought you'll be going back for Claire's nap before going out again? When's her second nap?

I think sliced cheese is fine, since it's from cheddar...right now I think they only can't take soft/moulded cheeses.

of course mine can't take cheese at all...sian.

If we meet at RCT, you can go market place to get cheese.
Can you meet around 4 to about 5:30? If you can then I confirm with you now lor. Can SMS me your number?

Disney,
I just thought, my friends tell me that the ramen at Gallery Hotel, Robertson Quay not bad. Have you tried it? I haven't had a chance... and i've never been to Japan, so I don't know what good ramen is supposed to taste like. Does Ramen in NY count? haha.
I know Italian in Japan is supposed to be very good.

Jus rec call from JG:
pls advise ur attendance

Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. Ixora **
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD **
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate **
11. Mrs Chia
12. jessesmom
13. WAITLIST -caicai

Jus rec call from JG:
pls advise ur attendance

#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Xen
3. Ixora **
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD **
6. Peg
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate **
11. Mrs Chia
12. jessesmom

wait list:
1. sanrio
2. cai2

i agree that its so diff to find good ramen in s'pore! i havent found one tt is of similar std to the ones in tokyo!

michele(absolut vodka):like to know is it cannot give one slice of cheese?lke those commercial kraft cheese ?then can give which type of cheese..i also wan to introduce cheese to my sonny...thanks

Jesse - i dunt know the ramen in gallery hotel, do you have the name of the restaurant? The ramen in jp does not taste like cupnoodle though they manufacture tons of cup noodle. It is rich in flavor and a bit thick since they boil the ingredients for over 8 hours.

Oh yes, italian food and pizza/pasta in japan is great!!! It's a melting pot of different dishes.
You make me homesick... i want to have some decent sushi tody.

I might pop by meidiya to get some ingredients.

I will make sure my meeting ends bfore 4pm. So, pls sms me if it is a go.

cindy - when there is a japanese fair e.g. hokkaido fair or xxx fair in takashimaya, i would go tot he basement floor and usually have a bowl of noodle. They are the nearest i can get in sg. How I know they are authentic? I talk to them in Japanese and ask them, "is this near to the real thing?" The ramen chef bursted out in laughter as he knew what i meant. hahaha ;)

i find the ramen shop @ GWC quite nice leh , better than the over-rated ones @ CENTRAL , though i find it salty .

disney , i missed hokkaido ................food nice , weather nice , nice place

Lina - About Cheese, The "safest" types of cheeses are Cottage cheese, ricotta, cream cheese, processed cheeses and hard cheeses like cheddar and parmesan. Cultured dairy products like yogurt are generally considered to be safe for both a baby and a pregnant woman. Check the labels on the cheese products you buy and ensure they are wither cultured or made from pastuerised milk products!
Avoid Brie, Feta, Camembert, Roquefort, and Bleu Cheese They are called "soft" cheeses meaning made from raw milk.

Jmon , strive on your new motherhood .
engorgement is nothing lah, u see there are still many Apr 07 mummies still TBF . jiayou jiayou

CaiCai
Heheh...agree with you that the ramen at Central Clarke Quay is over-rated....especially the soup ramen...just soup & noodle (no "liao") already cost $15bucks...

Disney
Next time you go Meidi-Ya during lunch hour on weekdays...can jio me...I'm working somewhere near.

Jesse
I heard that the ramen in the restaurant at Gallery hotel...the noodles are imported from Japan. But I got a friend tried b4, says not that fantastic...

Jmon: congrats.. u just make all #2 mummies realize our time is reali comin and we still ding dong-ing!!! Shirley was panicking… kekeke

Aprilmum: wah.. win liao!!! It’s ashlyn’s first hair clip and u all wana fight!!! “Mei liang xing”!!!

Augleo: temptation has just started!!! SALE!!!

Mrs Lai: wah.. burnt fish and u doing so well now?? Hhmmm… it proves.. motherhood makes a diff!!!

disney
i personally like Ajisen ramen maybe bcoz i nvr try authentic ones in japan b4.
the one at gallery is good too esp their hard boiled egg.

if you ppl are meeting in town .. let me know.. i gotta pick up my son as i'm on half day today

disneytokyo,
there is 1 ramen shop at railway mall, i cant remb d name. i hvnt tried d gallery hotel one. i tried ajisen, i oso dun like.. i missed d one in japan too, d hot hot thick thick soup esp during winter.

disney,
I need your number if I'm to sms you
My number is in the post above.

I googled it and found, Miharu:
http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/lifestylenews/print/160906/1/.html

There was this place in Clarke Quay, years ago...maybe 2000, where they had very good sashimi. I can't remember the name but I remember that it was on the 2nd or 3rd flr and it was next to the ad agency saatchi and saatchi. Used to be a dream of mine to work for them...that's why I remember.

Okay, quick search on said agency's website shows they are still at Clarke Quay, Blk 3D, #03-01.

If you are ever in that area (why didn't think of it when we were there) see if the jap restaurant's still there. Let me know, okay?

Lina,
Yup, if your child is over 1, can take any hard cheese already. I guess cooked (like mozzerella) should be fine too. I know other one year olds eating pizza...but ya, can just get those cubed cheese, or Baby Bel, or string cheese...good stuff on the go.

Disney,
give me your number and I'll let you know if I'm meeting Michele at 4pm. Otherwise, we can still meet up there at 4pm if you want. Can also meet you at Liang Court. It makes no difference to me since I have to come down from SK anyway and either place is near my HB workplace.

Kelley: it's called a lot of practise!

Besides I never cook fish unless I have to steam or microwave it. To day I have only cook fish less than 10 times since i got married. :p

mrs lai: wah.. less than 10 mins?? hhmmm... ur practise is doing well loh.. my not so often practice my gal has to deal with it!! hahah..

sanrio: I don't like the ramen at the Railmall.

I know it's been raved over, but I rather eat ajisen than there!

They say the boil the soup stock for more than 24 hours, but something is missing from the soup. The aroma and sweetness cannot compare with the ones in Japan.

Perhaps the ramen stock I like is the clear one, compared to the milky one. We once had a very very good ramen in the habibucho (dunno how to spell) then we went back 1 year to search for it. End up, it's been taken over by a "chain" store and it SUCKS. V disappointed =(

Kelley,
is @evening, can ask ur hb goes with u

hope i can get the followings @good price:
1. tricycle
2. gate (kitchen n toilet)
3. toilet bowl extended cover (for JK)
4. n MISC hahahahahaha!

Hi Augleo : JG got free trial? Sorry huh... Recently didn't come in often, so didn't read all the post.

You call them up and request for 1?

J.Little sale:
yes, see hw many mummies we can meet there

hahahahahahahaha!

Motherhood Exhibition 08
Date: 5 to 8 June
Time: 12pm to 10pm
Venue: Expo Hall 5A

dreamygal,
moxi shared the free trial lobang in the thread (think few wks ago), after receiving the confirmation of the free trial class (email) i try n ask for wknd class for April thread.

u keen?

Mrs Lai,
unless it's in curry or fried, I don't cook fish! I can't even buy fresh fish, as in don't know how to choose...hehe.

I loved home econs. Too bad my school didn't allow me to do it for O levels.

Min,
we will be meeting later at around 4pm. Give me your phone number, PM or check my post above of my number and I'll let you know the details when it's confirmed. It's going to be that area lah, RCT, suntec, Marina Sq...

Where's a good (child friendly) place to meet at that area anyway? The last time I brought Jesse to Out of the Pan to have his dinner and watch the fountain...BIG MISTAKE. He was so excited, he couldn't stop screaming. PLUS, the table was so small, he almost pushed everything off the table in one fell swoop...I had to move everything on the table, including the table decor onto the fountain ledge. Heh.

Augleo : Your trial full liao leh. You can give me contact?

Glynnis's gymboree class coming to an end soon. Am looking around for what other classes to enrol her after this. Keen in GUG, but don't mind trying JG before committing.

1 shocking thing I found out yesterday is that…

<font color="0000ff">My MIL let my girl run along the corridor bare footed… I nearly faint when i saw this… Should not go back home too early after work… </font>

JL Sale: not going although I need to stock up on wipes. If u see carlson's wipes can let me know? Avent too? Then i pay back the mummy. No worries cuz I will order enuff for them to send back to my place!

I think tonite I will go taka and eat some jap food =( I really craving for jap food so bad now *sianz*

ixora,
i was thinking if both of us can't attend the trial class on 4may, mayb we can go for wkday class. oki?

dreamygal,
the contacts as shown above the name list.

Augleo: ask HB accompany me go where? The

Mrs Lai: oopsss.. hahha.. see la.. jst glance thru nia

Jesse: I also nv go before.. all I do is watch japan hour!

disneytokyo and I will be meeting up at Raffles City at around 4pm later. If anyone is interested PM, let me know
Min? Michele? Can?