(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Aug: if u dun mind "pom pom" one hahaha

April: no no ... Mad about hair will do a BP soon, that's the one i bought my gal's tiara hair clip from. For kelley one, is i make one. Er ... ok ok ... i make one for ning also :p

aprilmum: u jealous ah.. ashlyn and van are "close" mates!! hahaha... no!! only ashlyn hv hand made clips from mrs lai!!! buahhahaha

Mrs Lai,
u will see more requests

Mummies, pls take note of the new timing.

Jus rec call from JG:
changed to 4pm to 5.30pm!!!!
pls advise ur attendance

Julia Gabriel Free trial class
http://www.juliagabriel.com/eduplay.htm

Class: Playnest for 6mth to 18mth
Nurturing attachment and security
Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Time : 4pm to 5.30pm
Trainer: Sujatha
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322

1. Augleo
2. Dlim **
3. Ixora **
3. bububear **
4. Gene **
5. CoolD **
6. Mrs Lai **
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate

Dear ladies,

do not fight with ashlyn (the quite botak)... give her some special hand made clips with love from mrs lai!!!

anyone wanna meet up tomorrow?

sandwich, somehow claire is a little frightened to move too much on the bicycle child seat - haha... but i think it won't be long before she starts 'exploring' ways to get out! i got mine with the bicycle. i've seen really nice ones from US though... thinking of whether to bringing it in! haha...

Jus rec call from JG:
pls advise ur attendance

Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Dlim **
3. Ixora **
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD **
6. Mrs Lai **
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate
11. Mrs Chia

michele: I also want to take leave tomm .. my assistants and I are so damn exhausted already, and so are our counterparts. But cannot =( exams coming and we have to make sure everything is ready first ... and I haven't even prepare for my briefing yet !!! *argh* Oh shoot, tomm i need to send out minutes for a meeting =(

Jus rec call from JG:
pls advise ur attendance

#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Dlim **
3. Ixora **
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD **
6. Mrs Lai **
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate
11. Mrs Chia
12. jessesmom

long time nv logged in. not becos of i m busy with work, in fact, i m damn FREE right now. as u all know, i gave birth last Sat.

and i passed my driving test b4 i chiong to KKH. well, it's a long story. not becos i passed the driving test and got too excited over it.

i had milky mucus discharge. i tot i had too much of cold drinks. so did not bothered abt it. then the contractions came on friday nite after dinner. i tot it's the LS signal cos i had been having LS for past 1+ wk.

but then later the pain came and went off. started to suspect tat it's contractions. pardon me for not knowing wat contraction is though i m a 2nd time mum. the 1st time i was induced so did not have the chance of went thru the contractions come suddenly stage.

i tahan the whole nite till Sat morning when i saw some blood in the discharge. suddenly i felt 'oh no, not this time.' the pains became quite intense but i still tahan all the way till my driving test time.

b4 i left house for the test, menses came. it's the sign liao and i made the decision for not going to the test. but then after think through, i still went. throughout the warm up and the test, the pains came and off, i still tahan. immediately chiong to KKH after the test (FIL & hb were on standby mode and waited for me at the driving centre).

the moment i reached KKH, i could not walked, felt like squatting down. but still tahan all the way and walked to the delivery suite. i broke down once i reach there, i cried and scream (almost). then the nurse said 'this one cannot wait liao' immediately push me to delivery suite.

when i was inside the delivery suite, i was strapped and put on drip and my gynae was informed. but b4 my gynae came and the doc in the delivery suite checked on how many CM i was dilated, the REAL pains came twice, waterbag burst and after 2-3 pushes, my girl was out. the whole process took 10min (reached KK at 1.52pm and girl was born at 2.01pm)

she was born at 28wk and 1.254kg. now in NICU. have to to BF her, no choice. now having 2 rocks hanging there.. damn jia lat now. but engorgement still bearable and better than the 1st time.

so far, she is doing good. heartbeat and breathing are ok but the weight dropped. doc said it's normal for premature bb and doc said she is happy with the girl so far.

YAY!
So glad we can go for a trial...it'll be the first one ever! Unless I itchy behind go for a My Gym trial before then. So exciting...hehe.

I figure the program would be about the same lah...if like course content, can always sign up with Evans Rd since Forum has bad reviews. I'll ask my SIL if she knows this teacher.

Rina,
I hardly go back to Bedok now...no one to visit...but yah, I think it is a great place
Good food!

Disneytokyo,
ya, I won't be giving Jesse any shellfish for now. I'm afraid he'll get allergies...I'll probably wait till 2 for that. Afterall, there's no real need to eat them now. Though oysters are rich in iron..

Salt
Talking about salt. During Jesse's first birthday, his auntie gave him keropok! I was so mad. hmpf.

Mrs Lai,
what kind of ribbons are you looking at? Went to a shop in taka just now and saw some really nice ribbons. Reminded me of the ribbons my mother used on my hair! haha.

Wah...JMon, your second birth sounds a little like my first time. haha.

You very garang ah...still go for driving test and pass!

DOUBLE CONGRATULATIONS!

I hope baby L will continue to get healthier and that she can go home soon

Jmon - Your story put a smile to my face today. I was so busy with work and irritating clients. Anyway, glad to hear both of you and baby are safe. congratulationssss!!!!!

jesse- I think liver is also rich in iron, my boy likes it

Lentil is cheap source of good protein

disney,
you know, I've never tried giving my boy beans!

Tell me, do you buy the beans dried? Or do they actually see fresh beans? Or is it from a can? I know nothing about beans...previously I didn't know how to go to market (btw, now my MIL just buys and cuts it up for me and puts it in small containers...*hangs head in shame*)

But ya, tell me about beans...

I don't take liver and I think you can probably guess, I know nuts about liver too...I don't mind giving it to Jesse, if I knew what to do with it!

Michele,
where were you thinking of going for lunch tomorrow and what time?

I tried to bring Jesse out for lunch today and it's official...for now, our only lunch hour is 12noon - 1pm. Sian. I drag longer today and he didn't take his pm nap...and now having problems staying asleep!

We can do tea (4 - 6) a lot better! Anyone?

hi hi,, can i wait list for the trial class?

Jus rec call from JG:
pls advise ur attendance

#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Dlim **
3. Ixora **
3. bububear
4. Gene
5. CoolD **
6. Mrs Lai **
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate
11. Mrs Chia
12. jessesmom

Waitlist:
1. Xen

Michele
(I should really consolidate my posts...)

how were you thinking of bringing a bicycle in from the US? Any lobang? I'm thinking of buying something bulky as well but the shipping costs more than the product!

Kelley,

me jealous le.. heheheheheeh.. anyway, now no more feeling jealousy.. cos Mrs Lai said my Ning also can get one

Mrs Lai,

muacckkk!! From Ning
.. thanks you aunt Dianne

Jmon,

do take care and hope to see you post your bb L pic here soon to share your happiness with us

Jmon,

Double congrats!!
Wow..really salute u leh. U can still tong all the way
& go for your driving test?? Really cant imagine if u were driving half way
through then how?

You bb gal really cant wait to come out ya..
Hope your little darling will be
discharge soon.

Mind sharing where did u deliver this time round?

Sandwich,

Im also considering Learning Vision. Mind sharing how u find learing vision
& what make u choice them?

I have been sick for 2 days. Was having fever & throat infection..
Poor Jayden is having flu too...

Jesse - what a good life! i envy you and miss my mom and aunties heheh

beans, peas, lentil - they all belong to legume family
i just buy the frozen peas from cs last time, I dun know where to get fresh, then defroze them and then peel

I also gave him the edamame - u know the jp beans you can get in cs or paragon supermarket? I let him try last time, he liked it but only a few. Too fearful of allergy! I suggest u try peas first.

Lentil - they always say get the red lentils and submerge it in water for 20 to 30 min. I always boil lentil until soft then add leek and potato or rice. He has been having lentil since 11 months old. After cooking it, you will taste the sweetness but it comes from leek and lentil. Note that no sugar/salt was added.

I've always boiled peas, potato, carot, onions with water and then add brown/rice. Sometimes, i cook fried rice with it, just add chicken breast or pork, rice
I think what i really want is to encourage my son how to chew & gradually eat our food. (of course not additing too much salt/sugar/seasoning)

I will look for the recipe book and email to u. I always do it in large portion bec of the heavy eaters in my house.

xen,
sure, np

u can read my mind huh? wanna login n include the wait list.

dlim,
hw r u? feeling better now?
the above date n time for trial class u oki?

Mailer from John Little:

Upto 35% off
Men's, Ladies' & Nursery Merchandise @J.Little Marina Sq.

Date: 22April 6pm to 9.30pm

Mrs Lai n Kelley
**wink wink**

JG trial class new timing is JK 2nd nap timing, but these few days his 2nd nap timing dun seem regular hope i can make it for the trial class too

Jon's mummy,
is Jonathan better now?

Augleo,

Thanks..but im still having sore throat..

Your initial timing im ok cox Jayden shicida class start from 2:30pm.
Im afraid the new timing i cant cox Jayden finish class @ 3:30pm & I
worry he will be too tired..also its his nap time between 4-5pm.
So i got to give it a miss. Xen can replace me now..

Anyway ideal why they change timing? If they change again, i will go..

Dlim,
sore throat...honey / starfruit juice for u?

JG trial class:
no idea y they changed the timing.

oki, if i rec'd changed of timing will inform u

** who knows i might give up my slot too

jesse, i'm thinking of bringing in the child bicycle seat attachment, not the bicycle! hehe...

tomorrow? anyone wanna meet @ tampines? i'm going to bring my maid to the airport @ 11am then bring claire back for her nap 1st... so let's say we meet @ 2.30pm or so...

Jesse, here you go
Lovely Lentils (makes 8 portions)
(from karmel's new complete baby & toddler meal planner)

1/2 onion, finely chopped
100g/ 4oz carot, chopped
15 g/ 1/2 oz celery, chopped *
50g/ 2oz split red lentil
200g/7oz sweet potato peeled and chopped *
400ml/14 oz vegetable or chicken stock or water

* means i did not use them since i am too lazy

- Saute the onion, carrot and celery in the vegetable oil for 5 min or until softened.
- Add the washed lentils and sweet potato and pour over the stock or water.
- Bring to the boil, turn down heat and simmer covered for 20 min.
- Taste if lentil has softened or not if not, continue boiling.

You may puree this if your boy still wants pureed food.

Green lentil or semi red lentil might take longer time to cook.

Please note that the usual measurement is 1 cup of lentil is to 3 cups of water.

Happy cooking.

Congrats to Jmon-- your baby girl cannot wait to see the world!

Thanks, Augleo for signing me up.. Also- I might have known you wld not have forgotten abt my bbJ.. your memory is superb.

Just now, tried to wean bbJ off suckling to sleep-- at first he just "aiy-aiy" alittle, no tears, after abt 10 min he got so frustrated, he started yelling.. and I gave in (as usual- he won..*sigh* ) how to wean him off BF? any ideas, mummies?

disney,
Thank you for the recipe!!

Okay, time for my stupid question...where do you get your lentils from?

I just googled it, so at least now I know what it's supposed to look like...raw. haha. flat, irregularly round...

Yes, I give him peas...from the jar. The pre-made kind. (Think now ppl understand why it's better for some babies to eat bottled foods...otherwise they might starve because of their mothers!)

What kind of sweet potato do you buy (orange/yellow)? Does it matter?

I have frozen mixed veg in the freezer and tried to give it to Jesse before, he didn't like the corn and peas. Now I know why...I didn't peel them!

*sigh* this is getting to embarrassing...I should move on.

But yes, I understand how you feel...I was on my own for a long time. Actually, I'm still pretty much on my own lah, only in the last two weeks my MIL has been buying for me. She's afraid I just give Jesse jarred and instant foods. Already all her son eats is fast food and take out.

Btw, if you need any help, let me know I'll try to help you out. I've been in your situation, I know it's very hard and lonely. But you sound very strong.

Well, if I put Jesse in infant care, I'll be more available to render help.
But I'm still thinking about it. It's hard for me to make this decision.

Michele,
Yes, I could possibly meet up with you tomorrow but only after Jesse gets up from his nap. You live near Tampines? I live in Seng Kang.

I hope you feel a burden lifted off you after you see your maid off.
It's been a month and I'm still very happy without the maid.

Jessemom- I am very happy to know you bec before I always think that I really do not know how to cook after working for 10 years. Then during my sabbatical, I joined cooking classes and I asked the teacher what is a lentil. My classmates gave me "the look".
hehehe! Kidding you ok? Don:t get angry at me.

Lentil - you can buy in cs, if you cannot find it, ask the lady where they arrange it. Sometimes they might ask u if you want organic or not. Not all babies like lentil so you shld try it in small servings first. Or else, you/hb will eat it all.

Peas - yah you shld peel them when you are givng them the first few times and mince them. Usually after defrosting the peas, when you wash it, the peeling automatically comes out. As for corn, some babies find it difficult to chew. My boy does not like it so far.

Sweet Potato - I did not know there is an orange or yellow. i think it does not matter bec potatoes are naturally sweet. I substitute this with the ordinary potato. Anyway both are carbohydrates.

Thanks for your offer by the way.

Mommies - Any meet up in central area ?

disney,

if the timing is right, I can also meet in the central area.
My timing revolves around Jesse's naps...

I'm hopeless at buying foods. When my mom came for a visit in Jan this year, I asked her to show me what spinach looks like! I'm so glad they label it on the plastic bag at NTUC, cos I'm definitely not going to remember it!

Maybe there's supposed to be shame in my ignorance but well I just never thought about it growing up. I remember tearing in San Francisco Chinatown one afternoon because the shopkeepers kept asking me "what do you want?" and I just didn't know. Whatever I wanted was always just in the fridge...out in the "wild", I don't really recognise anything!
I missed my mother then.

My cooking is mainly adult stuff, spicy/strong stuff, stews, italian, american and baking (I don't decorate). I don't know all this baby/healthy stuff. I can whip up pancakes easily but only recently did I start cooking porridge. (It's "sick people food" to my HB and I.) Which is why Jesse has always eaten jarred foods daily.

Yup, if you need help in anything...let me know.

Jmon,
I oso salute u! U r really very steady!!!! If I were u, I wldnt hv gone 4 driving test.. cos I'd be worried like mad.. let alone passing the test!
And u could still tahan the pain!!
Yup double congratulations!!
Hope your gal can be discharge soon!

Augleo,
I will get back to u on JG class.. 4-530 is oso Jo's afternoon nap time.. tks for org!

Mrs Chia,
Think muz perservere.. I weaned off Jo fr latching as well as pacy that way.. but then again, she was still a 'young' bb, unlike at this stage, the kids will fuss more.. hmm, me suddenly thot of what cool_d mentioned to me wanna put ru yi oil on things she doesnt wan Jordan to lick, dunno if can put ru yi oil on your breasts or not..

jesse: my hubby would love to eat what u cook! but i am traditional chinese at heart, i love my chinese food!!!!!

Disney: you are not the only one who doesn't know what is a lentil. I read in my book and then had to google the item to see wat it looks like. Up to now, although I already bought dried pinto beans, I don't have the courage to add it to her meals yet cuz i dunno wat to do with it!

Speaking about oyster, cuz maid sick so i cook porridge for lunch. Since I boil my stock first, so i scoop over a bit from my pot to make porridge for my gal. My gal got the scallop plus dried oyster stock and she seems very happy with the porridge. Thankfully nothing showed up but still have to be careful I guess.

Aug: I think I give my slot up ... hubby doesn't seem to be interested in it.

Jmon: wahhhhhhhh ... i kowtow to you ... your endurance of pain is THE BEST! I hope you gal can be discharge soon ... she must miss mummy and mummy miss her!

Jesse: jarred food is ok really. sometimes I am too tired or lazy to cook, I'll just open one jar for her. You can also make pancakes for your boy to eat =) I'm sure he'll love it! I can't make pancakes at all so I'll just scramble an egg for her breakfast, tt's the easiest!

Hi Ixora,
yah- actually I was also thinking of putting "fong yau" (Cantonese) or something like that to discourage him from suckling.. but then again, feel so sorry for my little baby.

Sanrio-- are you still BFg bb Cher?

come to think of it.. our babies are no longer "babies".. they are now TODDLERS! bbJ has been walking since 3 weeks ago and now quite steady. Sometimes he gets so excited he practically runs!

disney: I was told japanese cooking is one of the hardest to do, cuz it's suppose to be very precised? I tend to believe it after watching that "jaing tai de shou si" and I was like ... so much work! Also one friend told me japanese soups are difficult also and needs skill.

What I really want to learn from japanese cooking is this noodle dish I had at Lake Kawaguchi ... it's called "hoto" or something ... it's the first time i actually finished the entire bowl of soup/ noodles all by myself without sharing with anyone! I still hope to go back and that the shop is still there selling me that noodles! I had the best ramen rt up at the mountains ... takayama ... and i rem the shop was a small one, but run by this really old man. The soup was so superb I slurp up everything - it was clear, sweet and flavourful. Nothing in Singapore comes even close to it!

Argh I wan to go japan again!!!!!!!

ixora: my gal cannot do without her pacificers leh ... i think really start to wean her from it liao ... she can happily suck on her pacifier for an hour!

jesse: when i first started learning how to bake (despite having those complusory home economics class) only my dogs were willing to touch / eat my cakes. In my cooking class at home econs - my fish was BURNT. I didn't know how to cook ladyfingers also, added water and it turned into mush. Better still, prawn omelette, how difficult can it be? Yes, I screwed it up!

jmon
i also kowtow you leh.. i was induced and tried bearing with contractions but it was hell. and u actually can tahan!! means ur treshold very high lor

Jesse/disney
i also idiot in cooking. initially i don even know how to cook porridge until my MIL fell ill then no choice, gotta learn

for peas, i get frozen ones. i juz soak for a while then 'pinch' the peas, the skin will come off.

anyway, i also embarassed to say i duno how to peel onion!! *LOL*.. tempted to get the ready-peeled onion fm CS but i scared i duno how to slice it

disney
i work in raffles city.. which part of central you work or live? i don't mind meetin up in central

think most of mummies here stay in east or SK