(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

springD,
I beta go hilite to my FIL abt e wind .. btw, juz now i came back oso let jboy goes bottomless again & i find out dat he pee like every 20mins or so .. .??!!

sandwich...
yap, my bbjorn can last up to 12kg. Caitlyn is about 9.4kg now but my back is already breaking!! I'm using the active. It's good but i oso hardly use it anymore.
In fact...i do think the ergo is better...bb will feel lighter and can carry more ways...but it looks abit like the sling so i think ur hb wont want to use it!! go n borrow jesse's bjorn and see if kaizer likes it. but its worth for you to buy since u r also planning for another bb!

jesse...
the ergo here cost $270???? so exxxx! it's retailing for about $100 here!

sandwich
my hubby rather hv aching arms fm carrying D then to use my sling.
and my boy is now 9kg.. i wonder how long can i go on slinging him.

anyway D also fell off bed last sat and its my fault. i came home and place him on the bed together with sling.
my eyes was on the tv.. then next moment i think he roll then fell down bed bcoz sling made it 'slippery'

disney
thanks very much for your recipe.. now craving for chawa!!

btw, hv u used any Pigeon instant food other than the corn soup
coz i saw instant porridge duno if its tasty anot

For the Chawa - you can use cheesecloth to strain so it will be smoother

Min - you are welcome.
Instant porridge - the unflavored white powdered one? if it is that one, yes. i use it.

Oh whenever my maid is off, i use the pigeon instant one that you can submerged in boiling water for 5 min and remove it then ready to eat.
1. there are chinese characters in the box that says seafood chinese chawanmushi -- that is the direct translation and on the upper right hand side has number 9 that means for 9 months onwards. Thats one of my son's fav
2. the other one is also in a box that has number 9 in the upper right hand side and has a label "ye tsai" and below it has 3 blue fishes on the left and 2 green leaves on the right. This one you just sprinkle on top of the rice and mix it. It is similar to the ones adults eat. My son loves the vegetable one but when i tried it, I feel like eating the japanease seaweed (nori). A lot of the jp babies eat it, japanese women say it is rich in calcium, iron, dha. As long as i do not need to prepare when my nanny is away since no one helps me in cleaning up, i use these products. it is also very helpful when travellling. If you live in central area, i can pass you a few sachets since i stocked a few.

You may Pm your mobile # and i can take a photo to send to u. Difficult to explain

disney
thats the porridge which i saw. need to either put in hot water or microwave it

i roughly know what u talking abt!! the seaweed stuff can also sprinkle onto porridge rite? that means i don't need to add any ingrediants into porridge if i need to go out

i like to browse Pigeon food stuffs.. very interesting. i realise Jap dept store like taka, isetan got whole range. its a pity Robinsons don't hv.

Hey AUgleo,
long time no log in already.. you forgot my little bb J on April 19th.

Will try to come for the May 3rd outing.. now not sure yet.. can I drop by on the day itself if I can make it?

Cindy,
yes, I think prices here are quite ridiculous. But since I'm back, I just have to suck it up! E.g. I want to get the Step 2 Kangaroo Climber for Jesse, it retails at 100+ in US, over here it's like 800+. But this one I understand lah, it's bulky so the shipping cost is a killer.

But yup, I advice all my friends coming back, buy whatever you need over there and ship it back. It's also easier to shop there since we know where to go/it's easy to do it online...over here *sigh*

Sandwich,
yup, the only way to know is to try but some times I just wish I didn't have to pay to try.

My HB used the bjorn, he also uses the Ergo. When used at the back, it just looks like a backpack. It is a lot more comfortable because the straps are padded and the weight distribution is very good...I've known people to use it when hiking.

disneytokyo,
The pigeon stuff sounds wonderful. Only available at Jap supermarkets? Meidi-ya?

Good Morning to all

Mrs Chia,
me din forget u n bbJ

if u realize, we hv more than 1 bb on those b.day.
e.g. Ashlyn, Joanie, Keira n other bb are not in the list

yes, come n join us on 3rd May. no problem

Coold , my ma said condition will worsen after we fed babies wif solids coz salty mah ....maybe the urine turned more acidic wif more foods that we introduced . juz a guess on my part lah .

btw , i went to Popular @ Orchard MRT , hv sale
bot some chinese stories books @ 3 for $5 /
Tang shi for baobao @ $1 per book
some English storybooks @ 20% ( 1 going @ $5.90 before disc)

dunno whether good deals or not , just share share

Jesse - yah it is avail in jp stores like taka while isetann has different range of juice selection. Meidiya - i dont remember, havent been there for a long time. I remember they have a lot of jp ingredients. I have to pass by sometime this week so will take a look.

Min & mommies who want to try the chawamushi - please remove the shrimp or fish
I think it is better to stick with chicken and beans... bb might get allergy! I remember dr did not advice me to use shrimp.

Min - yah u just sprinkle that, it contains 2 different flavors, one is like seaweed the other is fish both smell fishy to me. Yu can sprinkle it in porridge, rice and mix it. You try before you feed to your baby hehe
If you see those small round biscuits, or ring ones, those are also not bad. Just take note the number in the upper right hand side that has a small chinese word moon/month below is the month when you cn give that to your baby. I think your baby is already over 1 yr since u belong to april thread
so shld be fine.

sorry , i kpoh abit abt disney's recommendation

i bot the japanese baby bites ( 1 fish type n the small round rings vege types, i tot jpse are known to be health conscious and branded somemore )

1 saturday Chinese news on tv mentioned that some mummies like to buy baby bites for teething babies ... but some of these products are NOT suitable coz their SALT content is way too high for babies and they can cause potential kidney problems .

To my horror , those biscuits which i bot were FEATURED on the news . from then onwards , they are still lying in my fridge .

the news programme was too brief to show ALL brands , but becoz i bot the brand that disney mentioned , and when the boxes were featured briefly , i recognized it IMMEDIATELY . i did taste the fish type b4 , in my personal opinion it was salty to me .

the 2 boxes which i bot were featured , so i just wan to highlight to u all , u better avoid both types .

Chemical used in everyday products 'may cause cancer'

WASHINGTON - A FEDERAL health panel has, for the first time, acknowledged concerns that a chemical found in thousands of everyday products such as baby bottles and compact discs may cause cancer and other serious disorders.

Thu, Apr 17, 2008
The Straits Times

WASHINGTON - A FEDERAL health panel has, for the first time, acknowledged concerns that a chemical found in thousands of everyday products such as baby bottles and compact discs may cause cancer and other serious disorders.
The draft report by the National Toxicology Programme, an office of the National Institutes of Health, released on Tuesday said that experiments on rats found pre-cancerous tumours, urinary tract problems and early puberty when the animals were fed or injected with low doses of BPA.

It called for more research into the chemical's health effects. 'What we have got is a warning, a signal of some concerns,' said Mr Mike Shelby, director of the Centre for Evaluation for Risks to Human Reproduction. 'We could not dismiss the possibility that similar or related effects might occur in humans.'

Public health advocates said the report should spur the government to ban BPA, at least in baby products.

An ingredient of polycarbonate plastic, BPA is one of the most widely used synthetic chemicals in industry today.

Formula-fed infants are most vulnerable to the chemical because it is found in baby bottles as well as the linings of canned powdered and liquid formula.

'They get a double exposure,' said Dr Anila Jacob, a senior scientist at the non-profit Environmental Working Group.

But Mr Steven Hentges, executive director of the polycarbonate/BPA global group at the American Chemistry Council, said the new report does not mean BPA is unsafe.

'It found no serious or high-level concerns for human health,' he said. 'More research is always considered valuable.'

The toxicology panel used a five-level rating system, ranging from serious concern to negligible concern. It labelled the possible cancer risk of BPA as 'some concern', in the middle of the scale.

There was not enough scientific evidence to rank it as a 'concern' or 'serious concern', Mr Shelby said.

The draft report followed an 18-month review that was fraught with allegations of bias, heated disputes among scientists and the firing of a consulting company with financial ties to industry.

WASHINGTON POST, ASSOCIATED PRESS

Julia Gabriel Free trial class
http://www.juliagabriel.com/eduplay.htm

Class: Playnest for 6mth to 18mth
Nurturing attachment and security
Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

Date: 4 May (Sunday)
Time : 9am to 10.30am
Venue: Julia Gabriel Centre for Learning
#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884
Tel : 65-6733 4322

1. Augleo
2. Dlim **
3. Ixora **
3. bububear **
4. Gene **
5. CoolD **
6. Mrs Lai **

The above mummies hv shown interest on the trial class, pls advise can u make it on the above date n time for the class?

havefaith,
in the end, it's unconclusive also mah...the first few sentences do grab one's attention. The question is, how low was the dosage they administered to the rats (of what percentage of mass)? and also, how much exposure do babies get from bottles, formula tins, etc? Is it comparable? I think it's just one of those things the US is looking into but it'll be awhile yet before they come to any conclusion.

Cindy,
if I forget...

HAVE A GREAT TRIP IN NYC!

Augleo,

My personal feedback on JG at Forum. The teacher for PlayNest at Forum is no good. Many parents have withdrew their babies coz this particular Teacher Sreytt is no good. She is the main teacher for PlayNest at Forum.

However, since it is free then it should be ok but my personal view if any mummy decides to sign up for JG for a long term basis is don't even bother
!!

Just my thoughts as it is my personal experience to share

Leo,
dang...it coincides with church. hmmm... would be interested though.
My SIL thinks it's great both her children have been/are in JG...

Babies and toddlers play and learn in rich, stimulating and nurturing environments created through specially designed studios and with developmentally appropriate toys and equipment; with a focus on hands-on meaningful interaction in a language-rich environment. Learning is facilitated through an array of activities including, music, art & craft, stories, puppets and even a healthy organic snack!

#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Dlim **
3. Ixora **
3. bububear **
4. Gene **
5. CoolD **
6. Mrs Lai **
7. Rina

#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Dlim **
3. Ixora **
3. bububear **
4. Gene **
5. CoolD **
6. Mrs Lai **
7. Rina
8. *michele*

#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Dlim **
3. Ixora **
3. bububear **
4. Gene **
5. CoolD **
6. Mrs Lai **
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice

min,disneytokyo:yes infant care have their own food but the problem is the only give 1 bowl porridge per day and evening time give cereal.my boy hates cereal and have to take 2 bowls porridge.so everymorn i use shuttlechef cook and bring to infantcare centre.1st round they use the porridge they cooked 2nd rounf used mine..i have made arrangement with the infantcare with reg to food becoz my bb is allergic to quite a few type of food.

cindy:thanks but no offence the cherios cereal is quite sweet right so u give it once a day only with her milk?break it up in small pieces and just add to her milk hor?

sandwich: i have been using the combi carrier from bb 5mths till now..still v durable.u might want to consider..got mine at kp tpy.it can withstand weight up to 11.2kg..

jessesmom,

Evan Road's JG is not public transport friendly without a car so i didn't try

As for the learning vision, we will try again with your tel number.

has any mummy switch to BPA free bottles ? any recommendation on what is good ? I m using AVENT appearently not BPA free. As a precaustion wondering if shd switch .. hhmmm..

#04-00 Forum
583 Orchard Road
Singapore 238884

1. Augleo
2. Dlim **
3. Ixora **
3. bububear **
4. Gene **
5. CoolD **
6. Mrs Lai **
7. Rina
8. *michele*
9. fisherprice
10. Kate

pisces gal,
calling the centre
i called the centre using the number provided on this list: http://www.childcarelink.gov.sg/ccls/home/ChdCccLst.jsp. try to see if you can obtain the principle's direct line, cos if you call the centre number itself, chances are the teachers are too busy with the bbs/todds to pick up your phone. the principle of the temasek labs centre is quite savvy. she responds to her emails pretty fast. maybe you can try emailing them?

waiting list
placed my bb on the waiting list on 27 mar when me and husband bought him down to visit the centre. had to fill up a registration form to let the centre know that we're really interested. most likely they won't be entertain phone requests, since they probably have a lot of phone requests on a daily basis. actually, i don't know why this centre is so popular. i was enquiring with two other nearby infant care centres, and they didnt have any problems with their vacancies.

current arrangements
currently, my boy is being cared for by two bbsitters (twin sisters). i'm paying $700 a month.

infant care fees
the centre is charging $1400+ per month for their full day program. i'll be getting a $400 subsidy since i'm a full time working mum. there's another $50 discount if my husband is able to prove that he's gainfully employed by NUS (that's not confirmed yet)

very sian...bbjonathan having fever off & on. Not sure whether is it cos of teething. Worst of all, he refused to let anybody take his temperature so we only aga aga that his fever is high/low. + also have cough with phlegm...see him very poor thing

sandwich: cuz a lot of NUS staff put their babies at the LV@NUS =) Hence the longer waiting list compared to the rest I guess. Just wondering how many gals ur boy is going to kiss!!!!

Lina: I eat the cheerios with my gal, personally I find it tasteless, just with a "burnt toast" kind of aroma. I give her the plain multi-wheat cheerios, so maybe not so sweet?

Aug: 4th may should be ok if I send my hubby. Let me check with him first.

Jesse...
Thanks!I'm going to write down everythig u recommended!

Lina,
Yap, i actually only gave caitlyn the milk n cereal once. it's something like cheerios but not so sweet n organic. n will be for breakfast only.
i never break into bits cos she can chew well. if u r worried, can let the cereal soak in the milk awhile b4 feeding.

jesse,
thanks for the very good feedback abt the carriers. don't worry, i didnt misunderstand anything. i might be going down to the department stores to get my husband to try the ergo and bjorn carriers, before deciding. but so far, ergo seems the most plausible since the website suggests that it can carry todds up to 5 yrs old. hiking sounds great. i'm thinking i can bring the bb cycling if we get the carrier, cos now he's too young to be sitting on a child bicycle seat by himself.

cindy,
the ergo costs USD92 on its website. i think my husband takes issue with my current sling being purple/pink. haha, asian men! i've actually seen a lot of caucasian dads carrying their bbs in MIM-looking slings that are in light colours, there's totally nothing sissy abt it, i dunno why asian dads should think otherwise. hiyah, cultural divide. anyway if the ergo is blue/black, it will solve his problems.

lina,
i don't remember how the combi one looks like. hmm, maybe can also lookout for it, thanks!