(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

Jmon

Wah, CONGRATS! i still remember chatting with u during our maternitg leave last year and NOW, you're on maternity leave again! ; o )

Cindy,
UWS = Upper West Side (I like Saigon Grill Restaurant there)

FAO is a toy store...I love it...it has all sorts of toys. think it's www.fao.com

Chinatown...hmmm...I don't really go there for food. But when I do, I guess Nyonya isn't too bad. It's on Grand St between Mott and Mulberry Sts. It's Malaysian food. For Hong Kong/Cantonese, there's Big Wong (think it's on Mott St, north side). Oh yes, there's Joe's Shanghai for dumplings on Pell St. The xiao long bao there is good...as for the rest of the stuff, it's just pretty standard. Usually, I just go there for the dumpling.

When I want to eat chinese food, I usually go to Grand Sichuan at St. Mark's Place. I love their beef brisket noodles...it's under their mini-menu but the portion is more than what you get in Singapore. It's cleaner than in Chinatown and I like the style of cooking there better...which is why I don't go to chinatown to eat much.

On the Upper East Side, there's Shanghai Pavilion. I love their lunch specials (usually order the fish) but that's only Mon-Fri.

For Chinese food, I know some of the ministers/ambassador like Wu Liang Ye in the 40s near 5th ave.

When in NYC, I think you should try the Italian food. I don't know about Boston but NYC has very good Italian food, better than what you can find in SG. I recommend Pescatore (midtown east) or Carmine's (Times Sq) or Pepolino (Little Italy, next to Chinatown). A quick and cheap meal option would be to get a slice at a pizzaria (if it's crowded, it should be okay).

All the restaurants I mention (and more) can be found here: www.menupages.com for more info.

Oh ya, forgot to say, if the weather is good, it's quite nice to walk across Brooklyn Bridge. Usually, I'd take a train (A or C) to Brooklyn (High St station) and walk back (in the evening, you have the sunset and the Manhattan skyline). It's really quite nice when the weather is in the 60s and low 70s.

that reminds me...read all travel advisories for the subway, it can be quite a mess on weekends.

I think it's still too early for markets...but if there are, it's usually on 6th Ave, can walk down from 57th st...on Sundays.

Cindy,
Oh, another food site to visit, if you don't already... www.chowhound.com

Cindy...
hehe...just asked my hb where he would eat in chinatown and he said, "actually, I'll only go there if I'm really desperate. I'd rather eat a salad, a wrap or a panini." It's really dirty and crowded, not stroller friendly. Nothing like the Boston Chinatown...use a carrier if you're bringing Caitlyn and if you must, just try Joe's Shanghai and/or Nyonya. That's your best bet.

Jesse...
Thanks very very much for all the info! So informative!! There's no way I can do and eat so many things!! sobbbbb!!! I like Sunday markets...i hope they have it already...but i think they sohould since it's spring already. But i must make a trip to chinatown...wanna see how it is like since it's the biggest one in US! Boston's one is so small...

Wow! Congrats to Jmon! A big welcome to your bb gal!

Mick

Long time no see!
Wow, your MIL still remember my two little monsters huh?

Leo

Trf done, see below

Funds Transfer to Other DBS/POSB A/C
14 Apr 2008 08:15 AM Singapore
To Account POSB Savings
053-31112-1 Leo
Amount S$54.10
Transaction Reference 1661406044

Payment rec'd for 3rd May Meet up

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Car</TD><TD>Pyt </TD></TR><TR><TD>Augleo</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>EE</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelley</TD><TD></TD><TD>today </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixora</TD><TD></TD><TD>27.05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>CoolD</TD><TD></TD><TD>today </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dlim</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Springdance</TD><TD></TD><TD>today </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Tan</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Augleo
I'm interested in the mothers' day buffet gathering @ plaza mkt cafe.
So I'll transfer $54.10 to ur acct? Or has the amt changed now?
TRaz + hb + gorgor + hippo
(helper will be going but not eating, can still bring in right???)

got the helper last week...what a big relief! Last weekend was the only weekend in a long long time that my house looked decent and not like ransacked by robbers....

Still have a lot to learn as an employer aka "Mom". Btw, when we eat out, do we ask the helper what she wants to eat or just decide for her? I will ask her but my brother said it'll "spoil" her. Also, I ask her to eat together with us at home, and not after us. Somehow i just dunno how to adopt a "top-down" manner with her...shang nao jing...hopefully she'll appreciate my "politeness" and not climb over my head!

Recently, bb hippo sudden;y has been clinging to me...and only me...doesn't want anyone to even touch him. Others cannot touch his milk bottle too! Dunno if it's becos of the new arrival of the helper, or becos (the old folks always say) I'm preggie.

Jesse,
Thx, Jon is easy at home when comes to sleeping cos very routine. I guess must go thru &amp; see how he is when in a diff pl.

Augleo,
Wrt to the mother's day lunch, is it still open? the price is $54.10 for 2 adults (HB + me) right?

hi traz n Jon's mummy,
welcome

yes...S$54.10 for 2 adults.

traz,
i've spoken to Plaza cafe PIC, no issue on helper not eating

Cindy: I rem my sis says the chinatown is nothing to visit - dirty and er ... not conducive for families with young kids. You may want to give it a miss lah.

unless u wan to go to even more factory outlets lor =) there's one apples something ...

mrs lai...
i think i will still go n visit...i have something for chinatowns in ang moh countries! ahhaha. weird...cos i dun even go to the one in Singapore!

Aprilmum: ya loh.. she make me realize that the time is about to come and I am not prepared!!!!

Traz: where did u get ur helper from? I haven’t gotten mine yet… help!!

Cindy,
I know the union sq one (small but cute) should be up already. The big one along 6th ave might only come up late spring and in summer.

There are many many things to do. I have things that I haven't even done yet like go to Arther Ave for Italian or City Island for seafood...but *sigh* it's hard to do it all.

Cindy,
like I said, it's always good to go once to see what it's like but don't bring your stroller, use a carrier. Seriously.

The nesrest outlet to NYC is at Harriman - Woodbury Commons. It's a 1+ hour drive there, I wouldn't recommend it if you are in NYC specifically to see the city. It's just another outlet which you can also find nearer boston.

Traz,
from my experience with maids (I have no issue calling them that since that is their job title) it's always best to be tougher and more strict in the beginning and less friendly. You must show them in the beginning who's boss, otherwise they will climb over your head (esp filipinos).

You must state what can and cannot be done in your home and not assume anything. E.g. you cannot go out unless you ask me first.

Also, for me, if I ever get a maid again, I'll tell them not to close the door when they sleep. I see no reason to and my last two were up to no good at night.

I think a lot of maids would prefer that you just decide what they eat when you go out. Just buy for them and that's it. If you know their food preference, you can always buy accordingly but do not let them decide. (In the beginning lah...cos they see it as "mom can be bullied"...plus they really don't expect it and don't know how to react and wonder if you're testing them...)

My HB said I have no experience with maids that's why end up they climb over my head. Keep them busy....that's very important. Otherwise, they'll think east think west.
Can always clean up the bookshelves, kitchen shelves, storeroom shelves and everything on it.

All these my SIL say one...she grew up with maids and have many who stay very long with her. Unfortunately she only tell me only after my maid left... heh. KIV lor.

Traz,
Actually I do agree with Jesse .. Be strict for a start, set the expectation. Anyway, now dat the maid is new to you, you oso wun know the character of this person, so I guess it's always better to be mindful. Than as times goes by, I am sure u will get to know her better, and if you feel by than dat she is ok &amp; 'automatic' kind, than it's never too late to be nice to her than. I am not asking you to be nasty to her now la, but like wat ur Bro say, dun spoil her.

Bear in mind, it's easier to be strict now &amp; looser next time. Than be chin cai now, &amp; next time you want to be strict, she will not be used to it le.

Gd luck ;)

Mother Day meet up:
Date: 3rd May 08 (Saturday)
Time: 12.30pm

Venue: Plaza Mkt cafe = 12.30pm to 5pm; free for kids below 6yrs old)

Address:
80 Bras Basah Road

Public Tpt:
City Hall MRT

Carpark:
Saturday, Sunday &amp; Public Holiday
Whole day S$2 for 1st 2 hours, S$0.30 for subsequent 15 minutes

complimentary items for this package:
Mini. 30 pax @S$23++/pax (walked in price S$27++)
1. Cake 1kg (Chef's choice)
2. Carpark coupon 10 pcs (S$2 value each )
* i wld like to suggest for those having the S$2 carpark coupon can pass S$1 to those not driving.
any objection?

Payment rec'd:

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Car</TD><TD>Pyt </TD></TR><TR><TD>Augleo</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>EE</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelley</TD><TD></TD><TD>today </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixora</TD><TD></TD><TD>27.05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>CoolD</TD><TD></TD><TD>today </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aprilmum</TD><TD></TD><TD>27.05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dlim</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Springdance</TD><TD></TD><TD>today </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Tan</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Pls trf $ to my POSB saving a/c BY TODAY:
053-31112-1
1pax: S$27.05
2pax: S$54.10

Regarding the 50% off voucher:
Just end the call with Plaza Cafe PIC and cfm we hv to pay the walked in price S$31.80/pax for the remaining of 18 pax.

Using voucher:
Walked-in price S$31.80/pax

12 pax @50% off: S$190.80
18 pax @S$31.80: S$572.40
total: S$763.20
each pay S$26.15** (w/o carpark coupons n the cake)

** Pls note that sandwich and hubby will b paying 50% of the walked-in price which is S$31.80 for 2 pax.

sandwich,
rec'd ur email this morning, hope the above answered ur query.
u will pay ur bill.

jesse...
wah...use the carrier ah...i think i will kill my back!!!
wat ur sis taught u abt maid is so true...i was kind at the beginning...now the maid also over my head!

Cindy: my mum treats my maid better than me or my aunties. She always scold them or me but always tell the maid go and eat go and eat when I was still having my dinner (then who look after my gal?) So I fedup and I alwasy snapped "what? you think she's starving is it? I ill treat her is it?" then my mum gets angry and the whole cycle starts again. Sometimes I really cannot stand my mum, if anything goes wrong, it's her fault. Even before the part time maid comes, she will hurriedly clean the house so that the maid will not see the house in a mess. then what is the ($*^%*(&amp;%^ use of getting a part-timer to help with the cleaning?????????

Sorry just needed to rant, today first day of menses super grouchy, not to mention another big fat arrow landed on my desk.

3rd May meet up:

by looking @the cost, we will stick to our initial booking.
1 pax: S$27.05
2 pax: S$54.10

and is unlikely to enage photographer due to the cost.

Try to be around 2pm, hope to take a group pix

Jon's mummy,
makan starts @12.30pm
menu for ur reference
mime_pdf.gif

PMC_High_Tea_Menu.pdf (29.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

HB ask, what's the difference between Pampers with red packaging and the one with purple packaging.

Anyone knows?

Cindy,
unless I was going for long walks (e.g. Central Park or shopping, etc). I would always use the carrier and he was already 9KG and 27.5" then!

But really, Chinatown on weekends is not a place for strollers. I wouldn't use a stroller there on a normal day either...unless you know how to walk the less crowded streets or around the perimeter.

Traz,
I was too kind to my prev maid it's really not a good thing. They just don't operate that way. End up, she slept earlier and more than me and she gets to read the day's newspaper when I don't even have the time. When we go out, she can't wait to get rid of us so she can walk walk by herself (even want to dump the diaper bag on me) and I was the one who carried Jesse all the time, even when we were out, not her. She'd complain, he's too heavy lah...

It's a good thing you have more children, it'll keep her busy. haha. I wouldn't have another maid unless I have a bigger place or more children. And I would really be very firm and explicit in the beginning rather than pai sey and regret. (I taught her how to wash milk bottle, but if I don't physically watch her do it, she'll just rinse water and be done with it...it's like that.) If they know you're not vigilant, they'll take advantage of it.

augleo,
okie, i'll foot the final bill. hmm, thought we could engage a photographer with the savings from the voucher. but it's okie with me to spread the savings out amongst all the mummies, so that everyone pays a little less for the buffet instead of getting a photographer.

mummies meeting up on 3rd may,
i've requested for augleo to have me and my husband just pay 50% cos the voucher's coming from me. hope no one has any violent objections against that =)

augleo,
will sms/email you when i've transferred the money to you.

Jo - thanks for checking on me. i survived the move and bb's bday. i caught a bad flu so I:m staying at home. Have been quiet due to heavy load at work
no time to log into the forum. I am still unpacking
Also arranging tickets to fly out first week of may for a short vacation. So tired lately!

Jesse - you might want to try My Gym in great world city's 3rd floor for more physical based activities. My son goes there every week and loves it. I think for boys it is more fun. ;)

Aprilmum- I bought that volo stroller for my son since he is taller now, you saw him before right? he likes it and better than the one i am using now since it has more air circulating the stroller. Robinson had it on sale, cheaper than mothercare.

BTW, we brought Jesse to Globetrotters over the weekend and he loved the play area. He was SOOOOO excited and happy, it was so fun to watch.

I wish we had a bigger space or didn't have queen size bed in the guest room, then I would buy the climbing thing for him. The way his face lit up...precious.

So any mummies want to go there, let me know

gene and disneytokyo,

i checked in Robinson already.. the VOlo is the older version. And think i'll hold on for Volo first.. cos my friend called me last saturday when i was on my way to Robinson, she said she bought Volo for her girl when she was just 1 yr old.. and it's not so suitable!! Is better to wait till they're 2 yrs old onward... So, i hold on for the Volo and may get Mclaren Quest. But too bad, Robinson only promo. for Volo and no Quest there.

jesse,
keira and kaizer had a good time acting like bb pirates when they were at globetrotters 2 fridays ago too! both were laughing away and crawling abt frantically. michelle had a hard time trying to get a nice shot of them together.

Augleo
Have made the payment transfer of $54.10 to you for the lunch gathering on 3 May.

Details below:
Transaction reference: 1661731567
Date/Time: 14 Apr 2008 / 11:36 AM
Nick: springdance

So sorry for the delay.... Thanks again for coordinating this event! =)

Jesse
Oh so you stayed in NY for sometime? Were you studying or working there?

ixora
HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO JOANIE!

appreciate your confirmation on ur attendance for those yet to trf

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Car</TD><TD>Pyt </TD></TR><TR><TD>Augleo</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>EE</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kelley</TD><TD></TD><TD>today </TD></TR><TR><TD>bububear</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ixora</TD><TD></TD><TD>27.05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>CoolD</TD><TD></TD><TD>27.05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gene</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Aprilmum</TD><TD></TD><TD>27.05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dlim</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>michele</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sanrio</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Springdance</TD><TD></TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Catherine</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kimsansoon</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>babyraphael</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ms Tan</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>54.10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michk</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>traz</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jon's mummy</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Cindy,
he "stopped" growing when we came back to Singapore. It's the water there!

He's currently about 79cm/31" and 10.6KG/23lb. He barely grew...and he's leaning out now.

Did you find Caitlyn growing faster in Boston? hehe.

S/W
Yup, Jesse absolutely loves the telescope and wheel...

aprilmum,
we have the quest, Jesse loved it in cooler weather but now hates it in Singapore. But then, he hates all strollers now. Maybe one day, I'll put it in the car and see if he takes to it in the mall. We have another stroller in the car so haven't tried the quest yet. But, ALL Maclaren strollers have the same problem of tipping over, so you can't hang anything on it (diaper bag, hangbag, etc) or it'll tip over the moment you take baby out. Also, if you have a good baby who'll sleep in the stroller and are used to being able to cover her up all the way with the shade, the Maclaren doesn't have that feature either. Mine doesn't sleep in strollers...sadly.

Jessesmom,

so far, Ning ok with Mclaren XT.. She can sleep in the stroller, that's why i am thinking of getting her a Quest, cos Quest can adjust the lying level for bb/toddler. Then her XT needs to pass to my 2nd darling - NB.

jesse...
caitlyn definitely grew taller since we came but she din put on much wt...she is leaning out too! i think all bb this age r like that cos they r getting active! she is 9.4kg but i'm clueless abt her ht. but think she's ard jesse's ht.

ya. my quest always tips over but i still like it. caitlyn can zzzz in it n she has been using it since she was 3 months! as for the shade, can buy a sun shade for it.

Mrs Lai,
then we probably have the same stroller...dark blue with red trim

if you are interested, I called up My Gym just now, all three branches to find out about their schedule (for our babies, think their class is about 50 minutes long).

Great World City
Mon - 3:30pm
Thurs, Sat and Sun: 11:30am

Free Play time:
Mon and Tues: 12:30 - 3(? - Jesse bit me and I forgot what she said)
Wed: 9:30am - 2pm
Thurs: 12:30 - 1:30pm
Fri: 9:30 - 3:30pm

Woodlands
Thurs - 11:40 - 12:30pm
They also have Sat and Sun, but I forgot to ask since I'm only interested in weekday classes

Free Play time:
Tue &amp; Thurs - 12:30 - 1:30
Sat &amp; Sun - 1:30 - 2:30

Marine Parade
Wed - 10:15 - 11am
Thur - 2:30 - 3:15pm
Fri - 4 - 4:45pm
Don't know why their class 45minutes...

Free Play:
Wed: 3 - 4pm
Thurs: 6 - 7pm
Fri: 12 - 1pm
Sat &amp; Sun: 1 - 2pm

*Free Play is the usage of the gym/equipment, own time own target.

Their cost is $300 for 8 lessons and 8 Free play time. Probably have membership fee, but she didn't say...hmm..

Woodlands is nearest to me but timing not "right". The best one for him is Friday from 4 - 4:45pm at Marine Parade but when it ends, Still Road probably will have jam. Must move back to the east!