(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

aprilmum,
me already heartpain liao.. cos just order online the day before lor.. sob..

J&R,

yaya.. i know the "heartpain" feeling.... i kanna before also!! that's why last week i told my hb, "let's wait! get 1 tin first, and pray for NTUC having promo soon" hehe.. GOD heard my praying!! hehe

must me me la.. forgot to pray.. me jan gion ma, cos nanny says the milk powder getting low.. so i order both Gain IQ and Follow on lor.. cos online order is over $200 then got delivery.. *sob* *sob*

mummy
we can also order fm NTUC online if orders abv $80, delivery chrg will be $5. i mean sometimes parking fee oredi abt $5 so save the time and effort

but ntuc got lousy customer service

Kate
Erm…..on giving macaroni…how much to cook per meal each time ah? Did you boil or steam it? So have to feed bay one piece by one piece? Like very very long to finish lei…it’s a meal on its own rite? Not a snack….

CherryTeq
So long never see you..I was just wondering what happen to you…maybe you change job or something..

Cherryteq / Kelley
Free to meet for lunch next MONDAY?

Michelle: wat promo huh? I getting my huggies ultra this weekend! 3 packs enof boh?

Springdance: Monday I should nt hv a problem!!

<font color="ff0000">milk powder</font>: If our babies are not the prone-to-allergies kind, is it okay to switch between diff kinds of formula instead of sticking to just one?

ya lor.. for mine is another 2 weeks time.. so i start to stock up lor.. hehe.. :p

kelley, i saw shop and save always have promo on diapers one leh.. :p hehe..

kate: as i different brand? me havent tried before leh.. i just give her from follow-on and later stage is Gain IQ.. :p

tell u all one secret: now that i stop bfg, one day i tried to sqeeze "there", see got any milk, surprisingly still have leh.. funny hor.. :p haha.. :p

sprD:
<font color="ff0000">amount of macaroni</font>: about a handful is enough for about 2 meals, because macaroni will expand and absorb water when cooked so quite filling. If unsure I suggest just use a abit (like 1 tablespoon?) Your son might not like the taste on first try... Lele doesn't really like macaroni!

<font color="ff6000">Methods of cooking macaroni</font>
MIL's method:
1."wash" the macaroni first by putting in hot water and then drain away water.
2.Placing in a pot of water to boil for 15mins, then add vege and meat and boil for another 5-10mins.

My (lazy) method using magic cooker
1.Put macaroni into magic pot
2.fill w water, bring to boil and let boil for a few mins.
3.Cover w lid and place in magic cooker for 2 hours.
4.Drain away water, put a slice of kraft cheese on top and put in microwave oven for 2mins.
<font color="0000ff">*</font>Lele ate away the 1st few bites but half bowl only then dun wan liao... Thinking to try same recipe again this weekend!

<font color="0000ff">*</font>When cooked long enough, macaroni will be so soft that it can be easily cut into small pieces w the baby feeding spoon.
Even tho it is soft, we have to cut into sm pieces w spoon before feeding lele other wise he will choke (tried several times liao).

J&amp;R: Me also haven tried before... stuck to enfa from NB to now. When he had a bout of diarrhoea we switched to Isomil soy formula then switched back when he recovered. Oh, when he was 6mths we switched to dumex but hated the texture and it seemed to cause constipation so we switched back to enfa...

My colleague's friend "strategy" is: use whatever milk powder is on promotion on her children. Her theory is that since diff brands have diff nutrients, the child will benefit from anykind of power ma.
And it seems the child also okay w any kind of MP...

Leaves me wondering why we must stick to one single brand now that they are no longer NB w fragile digestive systems and especially if they are healthy and not prone to allergies...

when my baby was young (before 6mth).. i ever switch a few brands of FM.
from dumex, enfa, similac then back to enfa.

now stage 3 will be on enfa also. lucky stage 3 much cheaper lor.
i think as long as bb don't hv allergies problem, its ok to switch.

Sanrio: my account no is 389-371-548-5 UOB savings account south bridge road branch.. let me know when u transfer thanks

kelley , u never read my posts lah , i wrote abt the huggies ultra n pull up pants promo

2 barcodes = little tikes glow pal
4 barcodes = little tikes little fisher

Kate
Thanks for the macaroni recipe...hmm...have a feeling my boy won't like also ..just like Lele... :p

Maybe if I free on weekend just use plain boil a few pieces testing as snack 1st... LOLZZZ

<font color="0000ff">Pasta Recipes for Babies</font>
Hiya! Any mummies have successfully tried and can share the recipe here? Really appreciate.

Kelley
OK onzzz...remember to write down somewhere our appt on next Monday...scare you forget. I'll SMS cherryteq to confirm.

I need some advice from all of u. Should we celebrate our babies' first birthday the weekend before the actual birthday or the weekend after if the actual birthday falls on a weekday for example, Wednesday.

Any suggestion? Please advise. Thanks mummies

PG,
IMHO, celebrate the wkend b4 the actual if falls on wkday coz we seldom have party after the bday, rite? dun ask me why ;)

kelley,
sory buzy this aftnoon, wanted to tell either 2 or 4. think kate got post the pix few days back

Kelley,
hv trf. tks
shd take 3 working days as i hv trf fr my posb to ur uob a/c

To Account UNITED OVERSEAS BANK LTD
3893715485 kelley
Amount S$64.00
Transaction Reference 1630911581

Mrs Lai
BbV's pictures so cute!
You can see eCreative's "1" candle on bbG's cake.

Beyond
I don't know if I was a good host during the party coz everything's happening so fast and I have an active bb on hand so didn't do much. But I think everything went fine.

Kate
My gal also not taking enough milk. She's only taking 2 x 180ml and 1 x 120ml. So that's a total of 480ml. I guess if bb's healthy, it should be ok. I hope it's ok.

Cheeze
Do you know if those cube sized cheeze is ok for bb? The promoter aunty say it's good for bb so I bought a box but bbG don't quite like leh. I think the brand is Laughing Cow or something.

Min
How long can we use a milk bottle?

Pisces Gal
Old people say better to celebrate bday earlier than later. So I celebrate my gal's the weekend before.

Michelle
You haven't tell me how much I owe you.

Constipation
BbG has constipation problem. It seems quite frequent leh. How ah? I heartpain everytime she tries to shit and cries coz of the pain. Is it the milk powder? She seems ok with Nan1 and Nan2 but now that she's on Nan3, the problem is persistent. Should I switch milk powder? What should I do? Today I bo bian, had to SOS call my mum to bring over an "atomic bomb". You know the small bottle of liquid to squeeze into the anus one. That eases the constipation but I'm worried that it happens again.

Pisces Gal,
celebrate the weekend earlier. Old folks say cannot celebrate after.

Gene,
u are a night owl.
Maybe you wanna try other FM to determine if the problem lies with FM.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Mrs Lai, michellek, gene and darbebe,</font>

Is there a 'rule' that Sunday would be better than Saturday as it is closer to the actual day of the baby's birthday on the following Wednesday?

For example, baby's birthday is on the 7 May, Wednesday, will it be better to celebrate on the 4th May, Sunday coz it is closer to the actual birthday? In this situation, does it matter 3rd May, Saturday or 4th May, Sunday?

Please advise on the above. Thanks mummies

Hi Pisces Gal,

I think it is personal preference. For me, if I choose saturday, I will hold it in the evening and if Sunday, will be noon. Cos if Sunday night, I feel that a lot of guests will wanna rush home as they are working on Monday.

Good Morning!!

Pisces Gal : I also feel that Sat is better. You will be so tired after the party. At least can rest for 1 day...

gene , did u feed gladys wif enuff water ?
coz her milk intake is not alot , so i suspect she is not hving enuff liquids.

maybe u try to feed banana ?
or wif more water to move her bowels

hi gene,

think for Nan3, you gota mix nan2 2 scoops + nan3 1 scoop like that switch over.. cannot totally switch over one.. i guess la.. cos for my Similac Gain IQ, they also ask me to switch like that.. cannot do it totally.. :p she say its different from the 2nd stage milk powder lor.. u wanna try doing that?

my nephew also use the "atomic bomb" that time when he has constipation.. hes around 14-15 months nia.. should be ok.. :p

<font color="0000ff">Milk requirements</font>: Thanks all mummies who shared your opinions on the topic!!! I shall ask the nurse/GP to clarify when Lele turns 15th mth... Btw, did I tell you all that my hub's teeth has a brownish stain which dentist said is due to poor nutrition and lack of calcium during childhood......................................?
To each her own opinion, but to me a happy and active child might be so because he/she has enough to eat, but this does not reflect that he/she is taking the right nutrients in his/her diet...
Maybe I'm just worried cos dun wan Lele to turn out w unhealthy teeth/gums/bones/body due to we adults not giving him the right nutrients, like his daddy...

SprD: When are you going to give macaroni to your baby? By the way what's his name? :p
So far Lele tried a few times macaroni le. 2/3 times cooked by my MIL and one time cooked by me. I feel he doesn't like it probably because macaroni by itself quite tasteless, unlike porridge. And the texture is coarser compared w porridge. Even after adding other ingredients to the macaroni, like the way we add to porridge, macaroni still tastes more bland to me than porridge!
I'll try again this weekend and see if Lele will change his mind, HAHA!

Disney: You have a point... but I think getting children exposed to diff tastes is not such a bad thing. After all, we adults have lots of choices as well. Sooner or later our babies will dine at the table w us and eat our food. It's alright that they try diff foods, textures, colours.

Gene: You can try adding more food w soluble fibre (think apple, papaya, broccoli to name a few, check out wholesomebabyfood.com for more foods ba?). Soluble fibre will ease digestion more than insoluble fibre. In fact insoluble fibre, if taken in too great quantity but not w enough water, might make the faeces harder and so make consti worse...
Give BBG water as and when you remember. After wake, before sleep, in between meals etc...

You can try switching milk powder also. Last time Lele switched to dumex (the one w immunofortis) and he suffered constipation even tho we gave him much fibre and water! Right after we switched back to Enfa the problem solved. My hub says that the protein level in milk powder determines the "heaty" factor. The higher the protein level, the more "heaty" is the product. True enough, Dumex protein level quite high. This has also caused the powder to be more moist, which we hated (tho Lele seems fine w it).

Pisces: Sat and I would prefer noon - baby would be more awake also and more time to clean up and rest - though less time to prepare!

Kate,
K is on Dumex right now. MY husb hates that the powder is more moist, so what we do when we get the tin is we will shake it and if we can hear sound, means ok
(his theory and it seems to work)

anyway, was talking to my Mum yest and she was telling me that shld start on brown rice coz less starch. can some1 confirm this with me ??
K been on normal pearl rice.

gene: maybe u can feed your gal yoghurt and fruits like papaya and banana and avocado - they should help with the bowel movement. Too much iron will also cause constipation, so maybe if you still have Nan 2, you can 1/2 nan 2 and 1/2 nan 3 for her milk feed and see if it helps. The transition to the next stage of milk powder should take about 3 weeks.

Mick: not less starch but higher in nutrients, fibre and the er ... GI (i dunno is higher or lower). meaning the rice takes longer to be digested, less "rush" of carbos / sugar into the body and so baby will not be hungry so fast. My gal has been on brown rice all this while - can u try jasmine brown rice, instead of the sweet brown rice which I find takes longer to cook.

Got organic brands around lah, but I am using Phoeny - $3 cheaper per pack.

I rem someone telling me this but I cannot totally remember - pasta is made from wheat, and it's not encouraged to give to babies before 1 year old cuz of the digestive system.

but if your baby has no problems with it, then I don't see why baby cannot take it lah. I haven't start on pasta yet cuz i am too tired/ lazy to find something else to feed my gal now!

My gal is now eating organic fig (gene - i forgot, prunes and fig also help with the pooing) and she will just take 1/2 of it (about the size of our thumb) and chew and chew and chew. Even for cheerios, she is no longer contented with 1 in the mouth. She will cram 5 or 6 into her mouth and if you are fighting with her for the cheerios, even her mouth is full, she will grab a few more and stuff into her mouth.

I am only thankful she "works out" daily, else I cannot imagine what her weight would be now!

birthday celebration - does anyone know why it cannot be celebrated after ? we are also thinking to celebrate it a week after since all our relatives will be there that time.

mrs lai , that is a nice piece of decor . *envy envy * so hardworking to do cake decoration in the wee hrs of morning .

cai cai: if u wan to try the icing, maybe next weekend u free and u are in the west area , I can do 1 batch for u to see and try. then u can do what you need to do lor =)

mrs lai , i dun stay in the west area , i am in SENGKANG lor . nvm , i hv already printed out ur recipe , will try out tis weekend . but if i fail , i think it is becoz of my lousy skills lor . not cut out to be a baker :p