(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

kelley,

same here loh!! cook until sian also. now i'm thinking ABC pasta, maybe can cook with others veges besides Spinach!!

kate, darbebe, leo, kelley,

ok, if like that, i'm going to let her try egg white liao. Since she's ok with egg yolk.

J&R
I stay PG, work at Changi. But I am ok wif collecting at citihall/ tanjong pagar etc. More West than that, tink I will lost my way .. haha. U?

Kate
750ml of milk is alot leh. I am also underfeeding if this is true. Hmm ..

ABC Pasta
My first attempt few weeks back failed & I neva try again le. Mine was pasta wif tomatoe puree, carrot, potatoe & minced meat. Verdict : jboy's vomit face. ** sobs sobs **

I prepared the broth and with the ingredients. Everything cooked, then I will add in the pasta
for another 10 mins before serving.

I will boil the pasta with water beforehand and rinse with cold water separately.

My first try, I added fish, carrot and potate.

Kris,

wow! thanks first!!

Dlim and darbebe,

hahaha.. you both blur blur this morning!!

kris and leo,

thanks for sharing the recipes.

kate,

me same! i am not a very creative mummy when it comes to adding variety to baby's menu! everyday, porridge with spinach/carrot/pumpkin/ potato/sweet potato!! That's!!! Ning been taking that for more than 2 months liao!!! She not sian, me also sian with the porridge ingredients!!

Kate,
ur welcome.
Am I underfeeding my girl? She drank less than 500ml/day.

Cool D,
is it becos the pasta too sour, because of the tomatoe puree?

A promotion from my colleauge.

1.8kg of Gain IQ is going at $49.40. Check out NTUC Xtra.

Not sure if its cheaper though. My girl not on this FM.

cool_d: The booklet did say that 750ml is a guideline for the child's requirements. Since the booklet also mentioned that milk and other diary products (cheese, yoghurt) is an important source of calcium for our babies, I guess 750ml of milk will contain the amt of calcium needed for baby perday.
Currently lele only takes 2 feeds of milk perday. I think this is grossly not enough lor, esp since he dun even take cheese or other diary products daily. So I worked out w MIL to reduce porridge amount and feed milk in between porridge meals, so that lele can have at least 3 milk feeds per day!

I tried potato patties with mince meat, cheese, carrot and egg. She dun really like it leh =(

I also sian of cooking porridge for her already. in fact today forgot to cook for her again! I'll let my maid deal with it lah. Must start writing down menu for the week =(

kate,
kelly now taking 4-5 feeds of milk, each time is 200 - 220ml. i still tot shes not drinkin enough. so relief to noe dat its enough. c other bb drink 280ml, i so sad.

augleo, cool,
ur pasta sounds so tasty. my one is so plain, only mushroom, ham n cheese. muz try minced meat, veg, etc.

milk requirements: Any mummies going to visit PD sometime soon? If yes, can shun bian ask about the 750ml/day requirement?
My personal opinion is, even if the amt of milk/day is not 750ml but there are other dairy products (such as cheese) in the diet at least some of the nutrition requirements(like calcium) are taken care of. Cos one slice of cheese=250ml of milk's calcium content.
I think baby needs lotsa milk at this stage cos they have wide range of nutritional needs that are found in formula milk...

kris: WOW, your baby drinks 800-1000ml of milk/day leh... and you still thought not enuf... TOO MUCH la!
wait over-nutrition wahahaha! Lele's "problem" is he needs to feed more often. Currently 2 feeds. We want to increase to 3/4 feeds.

kate and Kris,

Ning taking 4-5 feeds of milk, each time only 180ml. Kris, dun worry, Ning taking lesser than Kelly. Sometimes, cannot finish, and i need to feed her together with biscuits.

cheese,

i haven't let NIng tries the Cheese.. hehehe

Michk, Ixora, traz and Kris,

the Cheese from cold storage which i share with ixora and kris, still in the fridge!!! hahaha.. ok ok ok, mayb i can cook with pasta soon.

kate,
coz i c others baby drinkin 240 - 280ml and i was reli worried. She dun eat much oso, a bowl of porridge will take abt 1hr to finish, reli headache.

aprilmum,
dat cheese is still in my fridge oso, kelly is taking the normal italian cheese dat im using, hahah.

hi kris,
ya i saw the promotion in the newspaper also.. i buying the GainIQ online.. after GST, its costing $51.24 man.. sob.. mummies on Gain IQ can grab now.. hehe..

hi cool_D,
u ok if collect at Raffles Place ma? hehe.. if can, then i can ask my sister to pass you. cos she works there.. :p let me know.. thanks..

for milk powder bought in Abbotts, do you all know that you all can collect the points and change for FREE milk powder? up to you to choose from a list one.. i think each bottle is 100 point.. when you have 1000 point, you can exchange for a FREE 400gm GAIN IQ (for example).. but you have to submit the receipt to Abbott if you are not buying online la.. :p they only accept receipts from stores like FP, shop & Save, etc..

hi... so what do I do if allergy comes out after eating egg white? Any advise?

I had him eat my egg when we were in Tokyo and he was 7 months, his face turned red!!!! Didnt know what to do.... I am a bit afraid that it happens the 2nd time.

aprilmum- let her try the cheese. At first, my boy did not like it until he tried it 2nd time. I bought edam cheese which we adults also eat. Avoid goat cheese, blue cheeese. I would give my son a thin slice every morning and he is taking 2 - 3 thin small slices by himself every a.m.

he is beginning to hate porridge so i stopped it, lately, he has been eating rice with dish (chicken, pork, fish, meat) with a bit of soup so it is not dry at all. He enjoys it more than porridge. I feel so rejected when he stopped eating porridge but now happy since he eats like us hahah ;)

kate,
most kids take d mmr vaccine well. nowady most vaccines are very well improved to reduce chances of side effects. unless d child is 'confirmed/proven' to hv real alllergy to egg, d mmr vaccine shd b safe.
2 milk feeds a day now may seem a little but usually wen u ask pd n now tat they can eat solids beta, they wld tell u is ok.
some bb/kids are jus not milk lover.
i alwy tell my pd tat cher is so small size (like not growing much), he assured me is ok, she is healthy, happy, milestones are met. she eats right? then is ok..
sources of nutrients:
calcium: tofu, beans, green vege, other diary pdts
iron: beef, green leafy vege
vitamins: whole / mix grains rice, cereal
dha/aa: grains, fish
carbo: rice, bread, pasta
protein: chicken, meat, fish, beans

Sahms:
what do u all eat for lunch? i dun mind cooking (if i hv more tx) but i dun really like washing :p hinting to hb to consider buying a dishwasher if we move hse :p
becos i m bfg, i hv to eat. so usually is porridge, 1 vege (me vege lover) n somtx stir fry chicken or steam fish (depend on wat is in d fridge). my menu n schedule v much depend on cher's schedule. some lazy days, i ta bao fr coffee shop. once a while, i brg cher out for lunch in town.
i do miss lunching out w colleagues, go to amoy for famous fish soup, some days travelled to shopping malls n enjoy jap food etc. n wen boss gd mood, buy us gd lunch at crystal jade, jack place etc... if even beta mood, gave us $100 n ask us (2 to 3 of us) to buy ourselves gd lunch. keke..

disney,
my older boy definitely loves rice more than porride too. once he started to eat/chew well, i gave him rice n fr then on, porridge is 'yucks' to him. wen he wa syounger, i hv to cook a soup to go along w d rice. most food he can take well excpet hv to cut into tiny pcs till he was older.
7m is a bit early to start egg. egg is a highly allergenic food. u can try agn now but give very small amt. best is try w egg yolk 1st for 3 days. if ok, u can try d white.

aprilmum,
i try to 'experiment' w different ingredients n porridge menu for cher. wen ash was older then n can chew well, i even 'create' my own meatballs, oven baked mango chicken etc etc... very fun but w no. 2, i seem quite lazy....
i try to ensure is a balanced meal tat is i include food fr different food gp n varieties, so tat she gets a variety of nutrients.
eg: porridge is carbo, fish is protien, dark grren vege is iron n calcium. fruits is apple. next day is plum or banana. i try not to hv combination of potato or sweet potato w rice/porridge in 1 meal as too much carbo, heavy for their digestive system.

Re: Cheese for baby
Er...can I get advice on how you feed cheese to baby? I bought this horizon organic cheese and put on white bread for my boy to try...but it's seems very dry and he wans to puke after afew mouths. :p

Kate / aprilmum
My boy drinking 150ml - 200ml per milk feed only lei...I read somewhere else that baby dun need as much milk when they reach one lei...something like 450ml per day is enuf...coz they can get other types of nutrients from the solids ..hmmmm.....

aprilmum,
for eg: if she has beef, then i wont give dark green vege as iron is oreadi there so i may include corn or pumkpin or carrot instead.

Hi hi Mummies,
Wa MIA for almost a month, work is crazy! Cannot keep up with archives already. How's everyone and bbs?

Re: Cheese
Can share with me what brands of cheese to give bb? He's almost 11 months old, still haven't introduce cheese yet. Thanks.

Sanrio: Thanks for your detailed explanation on nutrition! Really appreciate it!

Lele is a milk lover, but my MIL will feed him one big soup bowl of porridge and then not feed him anything (except sometimes a piece of fruit) till FIVE hours later... ... ...

If you remember, I was quite worried since some time ago that lele is not taking enough milk. My main worry is that Lele might not be getting enough nutrients since he feed so few times. And it's not because he is a poor eater or what. He loves eating! But MIL has this MORTAL FEAR of overfeeding him, so only feed when it's "time".

Now after reading the HPB recommendation for milk requirements, I am more convinced that Lele really should be given more milk feeds than we allow him. So discussed w MIL to reduce porridge feed to about half bowl and then feed milk 3 hours later.

sprD: For cheese I just give kraft cheese. I melt it over cooked macaroni / mash potato+broccoli.
He loved the latter but din fancy the former.

<font color="0000ff">Anybody tried giving cheese on its own? will it be too dry?</font>

As for milk, I say check w your PD ba? Me no PD, so I'll check w the GP and nurse when he goes for MMR on 15th mth.)

Augleo.. got some qn to ask you:
from the steps you posted.. do you steam pasta with water? or you meant to steam the pasta first then steam it again with 10ml of water? sorry , abit confused by your steps

Btw, mummies, can we juz place a piece of chese on top of pasta then bring it to steam?

think old ppl don't fancy giving cheese to baby yet.

sanrio- thanks. will try.

About Cheese, The "safest" types of cheeses are Cottage cheese, ricotta, cream cheese, processed cheeses and hard cheeses like cheddar and parmesan. Cultured dairy products like yogurt are generally considered to be safe for both a baby and a pregnant woman. Check the labels on the cheese products you buy and ensure they are wither cultured or made from pastuerised milk products!
Avoid Brie, Feta, Camembert, Roquefort, and Bleu Cheese They are called "soft" cheeses meaning made from raw milk.

Kate - i give to my boy every am, just a few slices or peel of cheese and he eats it plainly. It is dry for us but not for them. I saw one of the 11month old babies eating like that so i tried it with my boy and he likes it. I think it's just a trial &amp; erros. He might not like it first but 2nd time he ate it, he loves it.

darbebe
I also dunno .. cud be sour, or cud be the pasta not soft enuff. Maybe jboy still not used to 'solid' solid food. So till now, it's still porridge &amp; cereal.

Kate,
Kinda diff to hit 750ml unless babies take like 4-5 feeds a day. jboy oni takes 3 times, bf, tea &amp; supper.

J&amp;R
Raffles plc is ok. When do i need to tell u how many I want har. I go back chk the condition of my bottles first :p

Btw, Abbort .. I always keep reciept but neva send out .. hiaz. Buy online fm abbort is slightly more ex than buy at FP.

Sanrio,
I need I need to brush up my food &amp; nutrients knowledge b4 I can give jboy a bal. diet. I am hopeless in terms of what nuturent, what vit. are present in what food.

Min - old people like MIL, FIL or anyone older than 50 might not fancy giving cheese to babies. I got scolded by doing that but don't really follow... not obedient ;)

Kris: hahaha.. yes.. u finally pointed it out.. I M NOT KRIS PRINCESS!!!

Dlim: thanks for missing me!! I miss u too!!! Beautiful mummy!

Aprilmum: why not spinach?

Kate: my ashlyn also drink very little.. as long as got enof to eat for the day.. I thnk ok loh..

Mrs Lai: there is no HK candle at the HK shop.. sorry

Michelle: the huggy promo u talking abt is it still on to change FP toy?

disney
ya lor.. old ppl got old sch of tots. they only give normal stuff.
when i sugg asparagus, tomato, peach pasta.. they think i crazy.

so i can only give during wkend

Bottles
after my boy turn 1. i be changing all his milk bottle to new ones for his oral hygene sake

hi cool_D,
ok sure.. let me know.. thanks.

hi kate,
i give my girl plain cheese lor.. once she finish, i give her water to drink.. so far she ok leh.. hehe.. :p

Darbebe,

Ya lor...dunno wat happened to me. Maybe after reading yr post, I kanna virus from u ...hehehe..

Kelley,

Im not pretty mum lah...dun call me like that...

Min,

Can share what are the available milk bottle specialise for oral hygene? Im still using his Avent Milk bottle till now..

cool_d: I think if diff to hit 750ml it should be fine. Since it's just a guideline. How much does J drink per feed? Lele drinks 250ml per feed, 2 feeds per day, early morning and bf. If I increase to one more feed at tea and one more before sleep, then will be able to increase to 750ml le.

Disney, min: why dun they fancy giving cheese? I asked my MIL to give cheese to lele. At 1st she was hesitant but later she decided to give. Is it because it's something "western"? My MIL always say that nowadays we add all sorts of stuff to baby food but last time just porridge, fish, spinach, carrot, potato and some pumpkin/sweet potato.

min: so far I only tried giving mash potato+broccoli+cheese combo once to lele:p Last Fri brot lele to east coast park so prepared for his lunch.
I used 3 baby potatoes, 2 stalks of broccoli and 1 slice of kraft processed cheese.
At first I thought should be enough, but he fin le and cried for more food, so I gave some milk (150ml).

Disney: Okay! Lemme try some plain cheese on Lele by this week

dlim
no lah.. no special milk bottle for oral hygene lah

juz that i felt its high time to change bottle after using for 1yr. i'm currently using pigeon and avent

for teats i always make it a point to change every 3-4mth. well dentist oredi emphasize that we must change toothbrush every quarter so i think it shd be same for BB

kate
ya lor they juz cook those stuff that they used last time so to them cheese or even brocoli is western to them.

issit ok i use plain cheese cube from kraft?
i normally spread it on bread then toast it and break it into small pieces as snack while he watch his VCD.

nowadays i don't give 2 meal of porridge. i will give either bread+apple or pasta or cereal as lunch then porridge for dinner

so that i don't hv to re heat the porridge or cook the porridge twice

kate,
jboy drinks 240ml for bf &amp; supper, 180ml for tea. If bf we gives him cereal, than will only give him 120ml.

Min/ dlim,
I also felt the same .. last wk i hold jboy's bottle against the light, the bottle inside like got milk stain. Dats why I am buying new bottles .. J&amp;R avent BP came juz in time

min: now that you mention it, my MIL was a bit surprised when I gave lele brocco and cauli. But now she will give almost every day, after she see that lele suffered no ill effects from eating these foods. Even brinjal she did not allow me to give, so I dun give lor. But next day whe heard from radio programme that brinjal very nutritious but might be harder to digest (so dun give too often/too much). So she agreed to give brinjal.

It's a matter of getting used to new ideas...

Wonder how WE will react when we reach MIL/granny stage...... ...... will be interesting:S

thanks for sharing all your porridge and pasta recipes with me

Later, i'll wait for my hb and CHEONG to NTUC to get the Gain IQ for Ning.. hahaha.. luckily last week i only got her 1 tin only!! if not, now i'll feel very very "heart pain"!!hehe

kate - i dunno also. i just know they are conservative. Some things they haven't tried, they will not risk. I think they have good intention but shld be educated. For us, we just have to know the risk, pro/cons of the food before we give and if we find it rational, logical, then ok. ;) But these days, we have to be more creative bec toddlers get bore easily with the food they eat. However, a few rules still apply:
- if you do not let them taste sugar, they will never know how a sugar tastes like ;) So, stay awy from sweets at this early stage.
- if you do not give them too many choices, they will not know they have choices at this early stage.