(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

augleo n dlim .
ur relatives quite bu zi dong .... heehee . but last time my cousin actually asked us to take the foil balloons home . only when she said ok , we dare to take .paisay mah . still prepare goodie bag for my sonny . share wif u the trial cupcakes i baked . but i FAILED in my buttercream decoration . can anyone help me wif the recipe :p
1314843.jpg

mrs lai , i copied the buttercream recipe fm the forum lor . the cakes is ok . BUT cream very watery . i think my egg beating skills quite poor .... i dun hv an electric whisk

this pan was a loan fm my fren's mum. looks normal , i bot my cupcake paper fm SKP ( $1.50 only )

Meringue Buttercream
Ingredients
1/2 cup egg white (3-4 eggs)
1 cup castor sugar
300 g unsalted butter
1 tsp vanilla extract
Method
1. Put egg whites & sugar onto double boiler with simmering water. Heat gently, stirring occasionally till sugar dissolves.
2. Transfer to a very clean mixing bowl and whisk at highest speed 1 -2 mins till stiff peaks form.
3. Beat on medium speed until mixture cools down to room temperature (15 mins)
4. Add butter a tbsp a time until each piece is incorporated
5. Then beat at high speed for 1 min. Add vanilla and/or colouring if desired.

Jesse,
I hope I can do it. Will prepare some std ans in preparation for the situation. hehee...

Dlim,
ya, we can only 'arm dui' cos they have taken everything, leaving without anything for our baby.

Cool_D
Hahah….actually I really had no intention to go for the Fair all along…it’s like on Thursday nite, I was discussing with my husband what plans to make for the long weekend and casually mention about the baby fair that’s happening (which I think he’s probably not keen and I’m fine not going to)…who knows he says ‘anything lor’…so we went since there’s not much plans on what to do. :p

Kate
High 5! Mummies think alike…..

PGal
Nope…didn’t subscribe to the mags….not interested to read lei.

Augleo
Sounds like your this relative not much “Jia Jiao” on their kids…but relations are something that you can’t choose whether to have or ignore…so only thing to do is try your best to avoid meeting them if possible in future. :p

caicai,
if you don't have electric whisk, are you doing it by hand? I don't know if it's possible to do it by hand. Let me rephrase...it's probably possible but the last time I tried, it took more than 30 minutes...you have that kind of patience and strength?

jesse , i was standing there whisking for quite long .... maybe around 30min wor . sigh ~
so i must buy an electric whisk lah

Darbebe
She didn't pose for the camera la. She was busy licking the cream off her lips.

Michelle/ Cool Daughter/ Ixora
The dress is from Fox Baby. Her por-por got it for her. It's the 12-18 mths one which is still too big for her. Aiya, I don't care about the pacifier anymore. As long as it can stop her whining, ugly also never mind la.

Springdance/ Ixora
Those flowers and butterflies on the cake is actually cream but those on sticks are mashmellow lillipops which I bought separately and I bought about 10 of them to decorate the cake. The kids love them.

Sanrio
Ya lor. That's the one her por-por got for her. You remembered ah. Hee.
Cher very blessed hor. Got aunty bake cake specially for her. I hope to learn baking soon so that I can bake her 2nd birthday cake. But I seriously need some motivation!

Dlim
BbJ's bday cake so nice! Btw, the butterlies come with the cake or you bought them separately?

Invitation card:
can mummies advise me any software or program (easy to use) tat i can use to design an invitation card. tks

Caicai,

Wow... I feel like tasting yr cupcakes..heheh..
I really pei fu u leh..still have time to bake cakes. My hse still have one new oven
waiting for me to open ceremony..hahah...

Thanks for the receipe, I think I must really spend some time to try out. I love baking cupcakes but im damn lazy...

Actually yr cupcakes still look ok wat.. maybe not so puffy enough.

Darbebe,

I only complained to my mom when we were back home... As what Springd mentioned, no "Jia Jiao"..

Gene,

The moment I saw yr cake with the butterfly.. it actually remind me of Jayden's cake too.
The butterfly comes with the cake. I didnt know we can actually buy it outside. Where did u get it from?? With the butterfly add on, the cake really look very different!!

cai cai: actually for decorating buttercream that won't melt on you, you can use this other recipe (I learnt in my cake decorating class).

If I rem correctly ah

450g of icing sugar (SIS brand, sifted 3 times)
1 cup / 200g Crisco shortening
1 tablespoon Meringue Powder
2 tablespoon of water
1 teaspoon of colorless vanilla essence

1. beat crisco shortening with water and essence until well combined.
2. add icing sugar and meringue powder part by part while beating the mixture on medium speed.
3. Continue to beat for 1 min after the mixture is well combined.

U can add 1 more tablespoon of water to make it more manageable to squeeze.

sanrio: Actually one of my favourite programme to design E cards is Powerpoint. You can try it since MS has all those clipart anyway.

augleo/ dlim,
Ur 'automatic' relatives both really hor .. Hiaz. Sometimes relative abit diff to say. Friends still can avoid, relative diff.

oh, it reminds me tonight 9pm watch the channel 8 show .. there's a auntie 'automatic'. I like the show .. soo funni.

Gene,
Me also still using pacy .. as long as it works. haha. But jboy usually only needs it to sleep

Cool_D,

Ya..relatives abit pai seh to tell them off leh..somemore he is still a kid.. haiz..

My boy also still using the pacy leh.. I keep telling myself its time to stop him from using.
But then sometime, he will cry in the middle of the nite & the only thing to stop him
from crying is that pacy.....

tonight ch5 7.30pm still hv MY PREFECT CHILD?
tonight not going to MIL hse for dinner, hope can watch

yes...can't avoid.
just tat her remarks make me feel like a lousy host.

+ points for party:
* guests appreciate my slide show n my dessert

* end as wat i've planned.

Jesse,
yes....i've recd the zoo card last Saturday. yippee!!! plan to make this wknd JK's 1st zoo trip (hopefully weather allowed).
as for our trip, yes when?
2 mummies hv asked abt our trip....

let plan for one.

Cai2,
jia u.

sanio,
i need to go back and see the actual things i can't rem what i buy. but i know have extra.

mrs lai,
i check with j&r 1st. she is not online (msn).

hehe Dlim, looks like we all use the pacy like 'stopper'. sometimes at nite if jboy sleeping on our bed & start fussing, i juz try n find pacy, use my finger find his mouth n stuff it in, all done w/o opening my own eyes :p

cai2,
just wanna share with u that last time we (another mummy here) made cupcakes , the elctric mixer went back to her mom's plc. ended we had to hand whisk too !!! luckliy my hubby ard, so he help.

i also made banana muffin yesterday afternoon, but forgot to add the banana for garnish

1315235.jpg

cai2,
the recipe that mrs lai used, i aslo used b4

but that time, din do from scratch.
mrs lai very hardworking leh, she woke up at 6am to do !!! kekekeke

micK , very tiring to do the cakes + decorations etc .
later i nid to buy an electric whisk + the ingredients which Mrs Lai mentioned . buy so many things , doesnt mean the end product will be ok . taking a risk :p

dlim,
yah lor .. especially during the oral hygiene demo, the dentist mentioned pacy may affect the growth of adult teeth. But dat is more for like 4-5 yrs old.

Cool_d,

I see so means that its still safe to use even though they are turing to 1 yr old ya?

Did the dentist mentioned when is the best time to stop using pacy?

cai2,
i understd .. so far i bought the ingredients that i bought for the cupcakes still turn out nice. Husb even brot to his office to share :p
but w/o the icing lah, too much work liao ! kekeke..
tried banana this time coz sian of choc cupcakes! the recipe i took from online as well

micK , now too late to go for whilton class , better practice my cakes n icing first . my sonny bday 18 Apr . no time liao . sob sob

dlim,
not really .. it's more like b4 the adult teeth comes out which is quite old le. But of coz, she oso mentioned imagine 7-8 yrs still on pacy or sucking thumb is not nice to look oso mah, so shld try n wean when e kids are more dong si.

oral hygiene :
today i read oso hear from radio=best to bring ur child to visit dentist @age 1.
any mummy done yet?
the 1st visit more to educate parents how to take care of ur child teeth n check gum.

egg white:
besides, Kelley n bububear...who else has given egg white to bb huh?

peg, mrs lai,
sorry me hvnt use dpowerpoint for a long time since i became a sahm :p can i noe where to get those nice pictures?

mrs lai,
nice pics of vanessa!

mrs lai - cute photos!!!!
can also put your photo beside her- cute together ;)

augleo - sorry ha, been busy with my work, too many problems at work but i can't help react to your experience. First, You have been a good host by inviting them! 2nd, I would have answered them, next time, ask your nanny to hold on to the balloons or don't lose it! One only for each kid! 3rd, can you not invite them? like CLOSE IMMEDIATE relatives only next time
hehehe

I spoke to dr btw tonight, she said, try to deviate the attention first and see if it works for the baby. Actually, that worked well for my son. Hope it does for you.

peg
i'm impress with your powerpoint invite! are all pix from clip art?
i also did mine via powerpoint.. but mine is really no standard!!

mrs lai, nice pics. so cute!

sanrio,
i downloaded it from one of the invitation card website. but too bad i cant location the website now. the one i did is a last min one so i go to web and copy the whole card and delete the centre portion and add in my text only.

btw, the party deco, my lil' niece unwrapped everything so it's kind of messy liao. i think not nice to pass to you. my niece is like unwrapping her birthday presents. sorry to keep u waiting for the link!

min/mrs lai,
thanks..too bad not my creation. if i can find the link, i post her for your ref.

mrs lai,
i like your card better with bbV. more personalise in fact.

J&R,
Ur Avent bottle BP has central or East collection? If not, West location kinda far for me.

I went chk out the bottles today. The 260ml ones comes with the 1m teat .. so I tink will get the 330ml & let jboy train his arm muscle :p

Mrs Lai
Nice pix .. i always like such baby's different expressions pix.

mrs lai
so lucky to capture so many diff expression..

my boy was so stone esp when we take family photos coz no one familar infront of him. only when he takes indiv shots then he will smile

<font color="0000ff">**Happy Birthday to Jayden**</font>

Disney,
thks...

noted.

Mrs Lai,
those collage pix of Vanessa are nice