(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

halo min

i juz placed my orders for 1 of the BPs but it's actually already closed. juz trying my luck.
yeah u're right - i should juz get it from the shops here but m sure it's going to cost alot more. guess no choice loh since i never plan ahead. thanks again!

Hi Springdance
WAH!! $1.5K just to register at Eton.. only for the rich and famous.. sigh! bbJ's daddy not very keen to invest in these early education programs much less pay thru the nose.

Are you thinking of enrolling yr bb into some learning/ childcare program? I'm thinking maybe wait till bbJ is abt 18-20 mths.. abt Jan 2009, then can put him on some play groups, 3 times a week, 2 or 3 hours each time.

Cindy! how are you??? Miss you & Caitlyn! gymboree class so boring without both of u! now the place become 'international' school already - claire and chloe the only local!

Ya, 9kg is actually the benchmark - but what PDs will tell u is triple the birth weight by 12mths.

Hmm... eton house is really expensive - wonder if its really that good? anyway, not like i have a chance to try coz my sis will 'bish' me if i enrol claire anywhere other than her sch!

Good Morning Mummies,

Can't talk now...but would be grateful if you could recommend your part-time cleaner and/or tingkat service to me. :p

Thank you!!!

Jesse: Have PM you

hi michele...
how come so international now?? no more locals joining? i know cait misses the classes v much! if she is here now...syre will climb all over! i m sure claire is now happily climbing everywhere rite? u just reminded me...i still have 2 free passes for the gymboree here!

teething gel...in the end, i got oraljel n not hydragel cos the pharmacy at target din have it. but when i went babies r us the next day, they have....but the tablets only.

all @EXPO:

Times Books Sale

Public - Free Admission
Hall 4B
20-Mar-08 to 23-Mar-08
Start Time: 10:00
End Time: 22:00

Babycare Festival 2008

Public - Free Admission
Hall 6B

21-Mar-08 to 22-Mar-08
Start Time: 11:00
End Time: 21:00

23-Mar-08
Start Time: 11:00
End Time: 20:00

GOOD MORNING ALL!

Today is hippo's lunar bday...err...but not doing anything special for him.

If i get to go home early today, maybe will make him a red egg.

not letting him "grab" anything...too troublesome!

cindy, i guess all the local mummies went back to work? hehe... yes, claire still enjoys the classes very much and its the only place that i can let her climb up and down freely w/o being worried that she'll bump her head!

yes, utilise your free passes before u come back! i'm going to use mine when i go to australia in july!

michele...
thats smart! ya..must make full use! now cait can crawl and climb everywhere cos the floor is carpeted. she has fell backwards a few times but i dun think its painful. heheeh.

cher enjoys 'reading' books. i bought her those 'first words', 'food, transport, animals' etc.. when she sees pictures of bread n biscuits, she said 'armmmmmmmm'. wen she sees pictures of children, animals, soft toys, she 'kiss' them. so farni to watch her doing that.

Mrs Chia,
yup is gd for them to mix ard w more pple other than mummy all d tx. ash was more shy as a bb. cher more friendly mayb becos of korkor. if there is care, u can send J to playgp when he is abt 2. they wld enjoy n they really learn fast at tat age..

Party preparations - what i have done so far:
- booked the venue
- send out 1 batch of invitations
- reserved the helium tank
- bought 1 set of balloons
- started discussion on cake custom design
- decided on buffet items
- placed order for bbq items
- bought the goodie bags items
- started working on the slide show
- booked the photographer
- decided on the toys to rent
- ordered additional desserts

things i've not done
- confirm the buffet
- packed the goodie bags
- finalise guest count
- prepare guest book for signing

Michele,

Your preparation sounds like wedding preparation leh...hehehe...

Very good planning, still thought of slide show (Same as Augleo), guest book signing & photographer!

I think either hubby or myself will take the photos ourselves...

Dlim,
sure. u call me lah. all ur fotos, both family n jayden's very nice. is tat ur mum? she is so young n pretty. i like ur new hairstyle too. u rebond n cut it short?

Hi Sanrio,

Yes will call u when im abt to reach yr place..thanks..

Yes, thanks..thats my mum.
Oh ya I did rebond & cut my hair since begining of this year. Thought of change something new....

Gene
Yup…I would certainly feel it’s really quite ‘fan’ to face baby day in & day out…that’s why I’ve always ‘PeiFu’ SAHM…like you say, cannot even enjoy a good meal properly. Practically is eating just to survive rather than enjoying what you eat…. And so much baggage to bring when go out. Fortunately you got drive and also a maid at home to help around.

My boy also has been standing on tip toes…dunnoe is it becoz he get this bad habit becoz of sittin gin the walker… I think he’ll have LOATS of difficulty learning to walk…maybe he should go for Ballet classes ..so can learn to leap & hop around…LOLZZZZZ

Cool_D
Correction….Jonas cried when teacher attempt to put crown on him…anyway, he was already on the verge of crying liao when we first entered the room. Think suddenly being close up inside a room with so many people and all the singing, he couldn’t take it. :p

Like Kate says, he really need some time to warm up. Lucy the trial class is 1.5hrs…else if 45min, by the time he warm up, the class over liaoz.

Kate
You not ‘lor sor’ lar…you like to share your thoughts & experience only mah…which I appreciate.

Huh…it never dawn upon me that little Glynnis can be shy also lei…why you say that?

Joeyan
I ever ‘Jioed’ the mummies here for a trial class for positive babies at Great World….my fren’s daughter who attended says it’s GOOD. But not enuf people that time so cancelled. You interested? The website is : www.positivefocus.com.sg

BlueRoti
Oh I know this shop…their Carrot Cake is well-known! But the price is quite ex like you say….The Animal Farm cake is nice…agree with MichK that you should get the matching balloon decors & banner.

Wah…you order almost one month in advance they also can’t do more designs for you ah…so busy meh..hmmm…do they charge you delivery costs?

Mrs Chia
Not planning to enrol Jonas in Playschool until he’s after 2 year old ba… but have heard about the expensive & well-known Eton house from friends so KPO just ring up to check…coz got one outlet quite near my house….not going for it definitely after knowing the price.

Btw, I heard that for popular schools like Nanyang Kinder or St James…need to register & waitlist like 2years in advance else can’t get a place!!

Michele
Hmmm...maybe you should find a dance partner for Claire too since the birthday party resembles a wedding... :p

i just returned fm cambodia trip . while we r discussing abt our babies 1st bday preps, i saw alot of kids wif no clothes / no shoes . saw many scenes of kids scavenging the rubbish dumps for food .

MUMMIES: URGENT!!!!

ANY GOOD CONFINEMENT LADY TO RECOMMEND? very important must know how to cook!

My colleague desperately need one for May, so please let me know asap!

Thank you!!!!

caicai
Very upset hor such scenes.. I rmbr when I was preggie, i went India & was abit overwhelmed by the beggar sights. So much so me n colleague end up looking into each other eyes n chat throughout. Both refuse to look out of car window.

CaiCai: Welcome back from your trip... I had been to Cambodia before. Seeing so many people (children and adults) limbless and begging was quite difficult to do... The children there like to say one thing to us foreigners..."1 dolla! 1 dolla!". One time we saw a girl (about 8?) playing on the roadside w a puppy. We stopped to chat. She looked at us innocently and sweetly, but when we rose to go, she said "1 dolla!"...

SprD: Thanks for your compliments
I'm glad that at least one person (you!) think I'm not lorsor...
Did I write that little Glynnis is shy? No lah, I never say that wor.p *don't be angry w me Dreamygal* I remember last time dreamygal said that Glynnis is very friendly and uninhibited w anyone but she will not let most people carry her except her parents and a few trusted caregivers(grandparents I think. Then my friend's DD also same "pattern". So I was wondering out loud if this pattern is more shy or sociable behaviour.

<font color="aa00aa">Dear Mummies, any nice poolside Alfresco dining places to recommend?</font>
For Lele's 1st year Bday, hub and I decided to keep it small-scaled. Just a simple dinner at the pool-side where Lele will take his first dip...
Any good poolside Alfresco (indoor also can) dining places to recommend?

SpringDance,
Yes I'm interested but i saw the schedule online, classes are all on weekdays and I have to work =( so unless they have weekend classes otherwise I cannot compromise...

some kids dun ask for money , they ask for sweets . some ask for food . as a mummy , myself , i think that my son is very fortunate to be born in Spore . to live a pampered life in aircon places / to eat at restaurants / to study at pre-schools , enrichment programmes while some of the kids there , dun even hv a decent meal to eat . things that we take for granted in Spore are really tough issues in a poverty stricken ctry

PGal,
sent her back to agency yesterday already. She seemed happy...when I went back later to give the passport and WP (forgot to give the first time), she was sitting there chatting and laughing with the boss. It's such a scam!

Kate,
All I can think of right now is Ah Hoi's kitchen, I think, at Traders' Hotel. Not sure if you can use the pool though. I can only think of clubs or hotel where you can use the pool and also eat....hmm...

KFC Family Feast:
Feast A S$24.60
Feast B S$29.60

free a Exclusive ladies' bag (various colors) n a voucher from MY SPA worth S$48
with a choice of the followings:
3 svc
- spa facial = 60min
- healing spa = 30min
- Bamboo massage = 30min

Jesse,

1) She is already a transferred maid when u took her in, right?

2) Is she going to have a new employer?

3) How long has she been in Singapore in total?

4) Indonesian huh?

5) Does your package allows a new replacement?

springdance,
if u keen w NY kindergdn, now mus go put name or pay a deposit to cfm a place. d current waiting list is 3yrs. but i dun like d 'yxx yxx' attitude of d staff (tru a phone call). put us off..
we are quite keen to put ash in st james but hv to consider d travelling distance. poor thg to c him so young but hv to travel so long to n fro in a schoolbus.
eton house is out of our budget.

mrs lai,
my cf lady doing cfment for my frd this coming may. if u still want her contact, i can pm u. but if she recommend her frds, then i dun noe gd or not leh..

Dear Mummies

I really buay tahan the escalating costs of living. Similac Stage 2 is sooooooooooo bloody expensive now. Cannot imagine when my xiaobao comes along in May. I think I will go bankrupt pretty soon. Sigh ....

Taitai,
Ya i agree Similac like increasing their prices every quarter rite? Every 3 months i go and stock up price change again... sigh..

Schoolbus:
My friend's niece started kindergarten ( i think its St James, or one of the church along that row) and she lives in Senja. The crazy thing is that her school bus takes 45 mins! She is the first to board the bus to school, and last to alight from bus from school. I think must really check the route the bus is travelling otherwise by the time the poor child returns from school will be starving. My friend said she never saw her niece so hungry and finished her lunch without prompting and shouting.

Cool_D / Darbebe
Woah thanks! If my boy is a Prince…..that makes me Queen. :p

Hmm…so prince must wear what? LOLZZZZ

Joeyan
If private class, they can do a weekend one….so can do if we can ‘jio’ enuf people to go…but I think coming month is not a good idea since many will be busy with 1st birthday parties on weekends…quite unlikely get enuf response I think.

Sanrio
Wow…so it’s true that the waitlist is sooo long!!! Well, this means we must register NOW to get into these schools... But both Nanyang &amp; St James not really convenient to our house…so not so sure if it’s a good idea to send my boy there….long travel journey by public transport.

Dlim
Not quite sure why they are so popular…BRANDED I guess…If I am not wrong…I think also got affiliation to famous primary schools…Sanrio might probably know more about them.

hi springdance

yeah, i like their carrot cake altho my hubby thinks it's sama sama as cedele's. the truth is - i forgot to ask for the price coz desperate already when they told me they are fully booked for march and early april. so when they finally said ok, can squeeze in my order, i juz grab! only realised it's that ex when i paid the deposit! = o P

will go chk out the tekka mall for the party stuff!

Hi blueroti,

Their recommended flavours are Choc-a-lot cake or Summertime Carrot Cake.

Pricing: $33 per kg
Add candies on top: add $6 per kg

I did enquired with them b4 &amp; they able to accept my order but end up I go to eCreative
cox they can only do a normal cake &amp; not those 3D cake i want..

SpringDance,
No problem, maybe we can target mummies from other months too so that we can gather enuf numbers if we don't have enuf from April mummies. So excited... bbO loves to go for classes and i notice the change in him after every class. He used to dislike being around strangers and could never stand having a stranger near his face, much less carry him. Nowadays its better so I am so excited to enrol him into regular class, BUT cannot decide which one...