(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

thank you to all the helpful mummies who gave their advice (on bb's bfast/maid/...)

esp to those who r already calling bb3 "girl"/"minnie"...hehehe...听了很爽!

now only wk 12...gotta wait till at least wk16 or even wk20 b4 unveiling the mystery...

BB Fair @ Expo
I think I'll pop by on Fri after my tuition (10-1pm) So by the time i reach there perhaps 3pm? who'll be there from say 2-5pm??

BB Bday Celebration
BB hippo's bday is on 31/3. Celebrating on 28-29th Mar at Aloha Loyang Chalet with just my family & hubby's.
haven't ordered the seafood BBQ and bday cake. Hubby said can wait till this weekend wor...

breakfast
everyone else's breakfast sounds so yummy! i'm lost when it comes to breakfast cos kaizer doesn't fancy cereal and bread. i'm a bit hesitant to intro cheese and yoghurt though. so i'll usually just bf him and give him plain banana or avocado. sometimes it's 1/4 bowl of homecooked porridge or 1/4 bowl of beancurd from the mkt on top of that.

maids
interacted with a lot of them as friends when i've worked for 1/2 year at a local maid agency after my 'A' levels. knew a couple more when i took my indon language classes. but i'll never ever ever ever employ one myself. they're really alright as normal human beings, but i guess its very difficult to match expectations since they come from a background, country and environment that is so different from ours.

Cool_D,

My maid also from Budget Home maid at Bt Timah Shopping Centre!! My 1st maid which i already
sent her back also from there. Now my current maid also from there. So far this maid still ok. *touchwood*
As what the rest of the mummies said, really have to depend on luck!

Traz,

Most likely I will be there on fri between 2pm-6pm also. Wanna meet up?

Oh ya, i forgot BB hippo's bday also coming soon.. Ya, order this wkend juz nice since
yr is the last wk of this month.

traz, you are still giving tuition on top of your day time teacher job? maybe you should cut down on your tuition assignments to give yourself more time to rest and maybe play with the boys before the third bb comes along.

sandwich,

took up the tuition assignments last year to supplement the household income...didn't expect to get pregnant and return to work so soon.
I know it's really tough for me... WORK + KIDS + DOG + PREGNANT + TUITION (3 times a week).

Will try my best to continue with the kids (all 3 - BOYS) as they've really improved tremendously and their parents are not "willing" to let me go. I feel obligated to take them through at least till end of this year... But if I really can't tahan, will hv to drop lor...cos not worth the effort as i'm not charging a lot too...a bit underpaid actually..

you forgot to add + housework too ...

do they know you're preg and going back to work? am sure they'll be understanding if you help them find alternative tutors by "advertising" amongst your teacher friends.

are you teaching in a sec sch? what subjects do you teach?

traz
you very wei da! anyway, don't get so stressed up over hippo's beakfast ok..

my boy also got no b'fast.. he drink milk at 8am then lunch - porridge at 11-12pm.

at most give cereal lor. if its noisy to blend then you can either steam and smash or grate it

min, me same as you.. just milk and porridge.. traz very wei da leh, dunno if i can cope with so any things at a time man.. hehe.. :p

SpringD,

no, you need to cook the rice for at least 15mins, then only you put the whole stainless steel pot into the magic pot. Normally, after 2 hours, then only i'll let Ning take the porridge, by the time, the porridge already well done

My 2nd darling ah.. i haven't get any ideas for the name yet le.. maybe will keep the "Ning"
my 2nd darling kicks me real hard these few days!! make me can't sit/stand still sometimes

traz,

dun worry, things will be done and fine later, let's pray that you'll get a good maid to share some of your burdens.

Kelley
Oh like dat ah…think Ashlyn probably wont be able to nap much liao lor….unless she’s the very easy to ‘knock out’ kind…like guys in the army. :p

Kate
Think I must send my boy for Kinder or learn from Lele in that case…he’s the timid, easy to cry and never smile at stranger type. :p

Sanrio
I am also the soft-hearted type…can’t bear to talk loudy or beat my boy….like you, the job of disciplining will probably have to go to my husband. But I worry if my son is stubborn and won’t listen…then likely to kanna big time beatings from his dad…and I’ll really be heartpain.

Sandwich
How’s your Egypt trip? Must be very interesting…any photos to share?

Aprilm
Oh…means cook rice in 15min in rice cooker …then transfer to magic pot to cook into porridge? Hmmm.. how to cook pasta then?

Hehehe…Regarding the powderful kicks…Though it may be alittle painful…I am sure you are still quite happy to feel them rite? Goes to prove that the little one is active & doing fine inside.

Sanrio/Srpingd,

I think im the opposite side...im the one who scold & beat my son if he is naughty.
Last night, he gave me a bite & I scolded him & bear his hand. Then he started to cry...
i so soft-hearted & later sayang him again...hahaha...

aprilmum,
wanna ask u .. what is xen ning in chinese?

Dlim,
Dat day during GUG, bbJ suddenly bend over n bite my tummy, juz below my belly button. The same nite, he bite the same spot again??!! Than I bite him back, same spot .. haha :p

SpringD: I still dunno which "type" Lele is. He hor, will not smile at strangers readily but will outstretch arms to anyone to carry. And when carried by anyone, he seldom shows distress even when carried far away from us *faintz*
Is that considered friendly? Dunno leh:p
Like now Lele is showing signs of walking right, so we try to encourage him to take a few steps by holding out a toy of interest and gesturing for him to walk over. He will walk one or two steps before hurriedly sitting down on his bum. Even the push car which I bot him, he will sit on his bum once the car starts moving forward...
Is that considered timid? Still trying to figure out!
Who knows maybe your boy is like mine, needs to take time to "sound" things out at their own pace and dun like to be pushed into situations they are not familiar w. My hub and I both recognised this in our boy, so whenever we need to give him a new exp like play with sea water/sand etc, we try to let him take the initiative himself (squat near the sand w him in arms and let him reach out for the sand himself for eg) and preparing by lots of talking, like tell him, "lele do you want to come down to the sea?" etc. Think this way works for Lele.

cool_d,

haha...he bite the same spot again...notti boy!
Sometimes i also do that leh...if he pull my hair, i will pull him back (of course not so hard).
Same if he bites me, i also bite him. But end up, he still im playing with him...

Hi MichelleK,
Yes, mine is done in SNEC by Peter Tseng. I will be going for checkup tomorrow. How does your friend know that it is over corrected??? The vision is blur or feel giddy or???

Hi Dlim,
KKH did help to shower my son when we went to the A&E. But after that, throught out the stay, only give paracetamol and took temperature. Didn't really do much.

Cool_d,

Yup...sometimes really dunno to be funny or angry with him...haiz..

Beyond,

OIC. But then they r still not professional enough..

Hi Jon's

Welcome!! Mind to introduce yrself? Yr bb born on which mth?

DLim: I am so envious. My gal's party is less than 2 weeks away and I'm hardly even done anything except to order cake and book the function room. Work is driving me crazy and I am so tired by the time i go home - so I dun have time to look at it yet. Wanted to send invitation cards also, but I think cannot liao. I'll just settle for E-card and confirmation of guest list. Reminds me, I haven't invited my relatives yet *argh*

Hi Jon's mummy, welcome!

kelley: Ash sleeps 14hours a day considered long liao leh. Not light sleeper la. you blur ah!

Sanrio: So u mean to say that JWT quality of lessons depend on location and "audience"? Hmm... like not much standard. Promotions aside, I wonder if they offer trial classes at UE sq branch for a fee or FOC. I'm int to let Lele trytry... Will call and ask

SpringD:Magic cooker needs water to cook. In fact, without cooker cannot. For endo cooker, 1.Put ingredients (rice, pasta etc) into pot, 2. 2.add water
3. bring to boil for 10mins
4. remove and put pot into magic cooker.
5. Leave for 2hours or more if want softer. My colleague will leave porridge overnight and eat next morning.
<font color="0000ff">*If want the ingredients to cook softer faster, you can take out pot after 2hours, add water if necc, and bring to boil over stove again, then put in the magic cooker to leave for an hour or two.</font>

cindy and cool_d: Thanks for sharing your opionions on maids. My hub thinks a maid will lighten the load of caregiving and reg house duties but I rather prefer p/t maid cos heard so many horror stories from EVERYONE. Maybe it depends on luck to get good one, but on the other hand, it's really diff to prevent the initial "good" maid from turning bad from mixing around. After all sing is small n they can meet their kind easy as hell. We also need to be humane to them ma. I'll feel bad to "lock" them in the home just because I dun wan them to mix w bad company, yet I dun have the trust in them.
So I rather not have ANY live-in help. P/T is as far as I will go.

Kate
PT is a gd idea if u only need help on hse work. My auntie is the one who comes my hse once a week to help me out. It's really gd, especially wif some one u know, i can give her e keys &amp; she comes like on any wkday when i m at work.

Jon's mummy
Welcome ..

SpringD,

yup, you just follow the steps which Kate explained above. It'a very easy and save energy to "watch fire".

jon's mummy,

WELCOME!!

michek and Kate,

i signed up for the trial lesson(next Friday 10.30am), kindermusic for Ning. Hope she likes the class!

CoolD,

Xin Ning chinese word ah.. hmm.. i dun have chinese star in my computer le.. hard to explain here.. ok, i'll see if Augleo can help me to post my girl's name here

Cool_D: I think PT also cheaper lor. Cos dun need to foot for her expenses, and just $10/hour. And since she is PT not live-in, I dun have to bother myself w her welfare, social life, homesickness etc. Besides, I just dun like that some stranger share the same house w me.
In fact my mum is a pt cleaner.p But of course cannot "employ" her la! HAHAHA!

<font color="ff0000">WELCOME</font> Jon's mummie to our chatter club

CoolD,

really?? they wrote as "xen Ning"??!! I never know that!! hahaha.. is Xin Ning
ai ya, nowonder you asked me lah. She dun have english name, cos we feel that her chinese name is quite nice in calling :p

jon's mummy,

join our gathering if you're free next time

Hello Jon' mummy,
welcome to the thread.

Sanrio,
children's drawing is always just so innocent!
What is the age gap between Ash and Cher?

Mrs Lai,

No lah..this mummy here too free liao..hahaha.. Dont worry, U can still have time to invite them since yr gal bday in april rite?

Jon's,

Welcome.. Do drop by our thread whenever u free. Free to share with us yr problem &amp; advise if u have.

Sanrio,

I look at the drawing for quite some time but still cant figure its a shark? hehehe...

Dlim,
haha, tats a kid's (his) drawing. only mommy can tell :p u saw 2 round eyes, 1 nose and lots of teeth and 'food' in d shark mouth, keke..

sanrio
Did he watched Sharks tale last wkend?

Anybody watched The perfect child on TV last nite? The little boy's drawing is kinda amazing actually .. (or maybe my art horrible, so very impressed).

darbb/min,
coz Cheerios seems to be OOS forever now(More than 1mth+). imported coz my ask my collg to brg in if she is flying in next week ! kekekeke

cooldaughter,
yes he did. he like it a lot
i din watch perfect child. my boy drawing n colouring is d messy type :p
talkg abt giftedness... my niece (bil's daughter) is gifted but they did not send her for any class since young. i noticed her 'intelligence' wen she was in k1. she could read a thick n difficult book n she talked more 'matured' than an adult. i remb she told me. she like to study d characters in the book and she wrote a 'cheam' review of d characters in d book at abt 5yrs old. during cny, other nieces n nephews her age, busy playing n eating but she observed n wrote a 'cheam' narration of wat she observed during cny. at p3, d school sent her for gifted assessment n she was trf to gifted class at henry park pri. now she is in sec 1 at raffles girl sec n wen i talk to her recently, i cannot 'match' her standard of thinking.... my brain really old liao...
her mommy said 'nvr groom' her, she is jus like tat woh...

dlim n michk,
me too. last wk, managed to catch last 5min.
yest. totally din watch.
coz both Monday @MIL hse for dinner.
next wk will schedule some other day

JK's party is a small scale party:

1. sent e-card 2wks ago (once get cfm the venue loh)

2. rec'd 18" foil balloons le

3. Metallic latex 12" balloons n balloons w/"happy birthday".

4. Deco = limited
* 2 banners (1 with Happy 1st b.day)
* table sheet
all from local

5. eCreative = finally settled with the modification.

6. Yesterday bought ingred. for dessert (heehee! going to do some simple dessert for my son 1st b.day) Mrs Lai, rmbr the dream i had?

7. Ordered frozen snacks from BP (Rebecca)

8. Now busy with the slides show (all abt JK) to present in the party.

tomr:
think will cfm hi-tea, helium tank n send gentle reminders to the guests.

what else i'v missed????

Kate
My boy is definitely more shy than Lele! He will let NO ONE else carry him, except his parents and grandparents. And when a stranger looks at him.. he will cry! Now izzn’t that shy or anti-social or wat??? Hmmm….

But he is KPO to touch all lifeless and ‘not supposed to touch’ things…like electric wires…fans…toilet floor…HIAZZ…

And yes, he is slow to learn crawling…only started about a month. No signs of walking yet neh…sloooowwwww……..

Kate / AprilM
Hmm…way of cooking sound similar to slow cooker….just that magic pot dun need power supply correct?

Mrs Lai
Use SMS lar to invite….fast to reach and easy to response…..that’s what I plan to do! :p