(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

coolD,
thks thks...
managed to get 1 small gift for JK last Sunday @Isetan

see lah, yesterday asked u all abt utility bill.
today super hot lei, no choice but to on living room air-cond. think next few days sure hot hot. bill will shoot!

springD: In last mth's issue of mother n baby mag there was an issue on dev milestones. it was written tt bb @ ten mths will strt crawling. so your son not considered slow la. Like u said he is v curious @ touching things. So he could hve been concentrating on exploring w hands n gave them priority over crawling. as for the magic cooker, it's just a pot w no power supply.

Jo, and the rest of mommies - about maids:
I suggest you shld have a discussion with them about your expectation... spelling out in details what you want. You shld not think that they understand what you mean since they are coming from different cultures.

When a few of my friends and myself hired a maid here, we interviewed them alternately and asked them situation quesions. Like, 1) it's already 530pm and you need to cook, who will you prioritize, looking after the baby or cook? what will you do first? 2) What will you do if everyone in the family is sick on a sunday which is your day off? Will you proceed with your day off? Will you change it? It's endless questions and sometimes, no right / wrong answers but it gives you an idea of their motivation and their priorities. You might be able to have an idea of their character before hiring them.

Maids chat a lot- it's their past time. Let me share with you- my own nanny chit chat a lot while waiting for me outside the school when i was a kid. She was my nanny for 5-6years and in the end, she eloped with security guard! Sounds stupid but true!

Whenever i see my maid chatting with an other one, I would usually ask her who is she talking to and what they spoke about. I think my maid is also open to me so she tells me most of the time. I do not tell her not to talk to them, I encourage her to talk so she knows the experience of other maids and compare it with her current situation.

The more you say don't to them, the more stubborn they are...

Apologies for the long blog, hope this helps...

spring D: lele used to be mre reserved w strangers too. he will just stare @ them w/out even blinking even tho never cry. so we keep bringing him out to meet n interact w people... ... downstairs w some sweeper lady, playgrd w kids n other caregivers, lift w neighbours, shopping centres w good-willed aunties, inside the cab w driver ...basically anywhere w anyone who cared interact.

It took some time but he gradually opened up n now I think all the strangers r like his friends cos he won't mind them touching him (in fact he will hold out his hand for them to touch) or carrying him...

AUgleo-- wah you are a wonderful mum!! I have not done anything and will prob not do much except buy a small cake..

Re: Perfect Child
I managed to catch some parts of the show last nite- very impressive.. they were mainly talking abt Shichida method. Featured this (I think) 7 year old girl who after a glance at a card filled with 20 objects can recite all 20 objects!! Then another boy (prob 8 years old?) who can 'communicate' telepathically with his mum.

Oh and they advocate this 8 seconds hug very day.. has to be at least 8 seconds.

Any mummies want to go trial class for Shichida? (tongue-in-cheek haha)

Hey Beyond,
Your Lasik very cheap leh.. I'm going for mine this Thurs.. will prob cost $4,500 in total- but then I have astig, lao hua yen, and my degree very high both eyes.

How is it right after your op? you can see clearly immed after?

Re: Walking
Any babies walking already?

My bb J gave me a fright today.. he just stood up and attempted to walk on his own. He took one step and then fell on his bum. Cos most time, his way of walking is to lunge forward and I am so afraid he'll fall on his face and hurt himself.

leo,

will u be preparing red eggs? i was thinking to give each guest a red egg but it is very messy if eat the egg hor. if throw, wasted lei.

Hi Mrs Chia,

Yes, I can see quite clearly immediately. But better vision after an hour later and putting the eye drops.

mrc chia,
how are you? long time no see

btw, shicinda does not offer trial class. i must say i am impressed by their set up. they have several language usually in a session.
dlim has signed up bbJ and i know a few mummies who babe has already attended several months already.
if you are interested, there is one at HDB Hub which is nearby to you, they arelocated at LEvel 19, east wing. like i say, there is no trial class. bt if u are interested, they do organise talk(think its already $100+) cant remb exact amount which is redeeemable if u sign up lah. think 1 semester is ard $800+.

beyond,
do u have dry eyes after the lasik coz i heard fm few frends that they is typical.

KSS,
so how u bringing bbIsabel

bb Jayden steady rite, walking and carrying the basket, that is my fav pix !

Hey Beyond,
I'm doing mine this Thurs afternoon.. then at night I still need to look after baby- will I be okay? or you think need hubby to stand by?

Hy MichK-- hi hi!! ya long time no see liao.. now alittle hectic cos started work since Jan and tho wld like to get PT maid, still not gotten one.

Shichida-- gosh! it's soooo ex!! $800!! how to afford?

You heard abt Montessori? one month can cost up to $1,000. Only for the super rich lah.

mrs chia,
think u beta ask husb to help in case he decided to lovingly box u

1 of mar mummy doing hers tomorrow, where u doing yours?
how come you went back to work?? then who is taking care bbJ?

Caymom,
Yup. You really slim down alot. I really can't recognise you at first sight lei. Pretty mama

Michk,
Hee. I would recommend the learning home instead of the kitchen.

mummies..
i'm also thinking of doing slide show. like what ixora said, its like a wedding montage. haha

anyway.. wanna aska suaku qn: how do download song from internet huh? wanna put it into the slide
any website to recommend?

are your babies very active at night, before they sleep?

i really cannot tahan my boy now. He will attempt to stand or do free fall (from sitting position) several times.. like a monkey whom so active.

really feel like taking a rope to tie him down.. every night is a struggle for me

michk,

yeah manz..bb jayden is very steady lar..*solid*

i will be bringing bb belle this friday..it is public holiday lor..so no 3 pcs of 8R..tsk tsk tsk!! i have checked if develop 'outside', $6/pc..

michk, ask u ar..u wore 1 outfit for the photo shooting? bb keira how many outfits ar?

about shichida, how many years to attend? 1 year? 2 years? 3 years or?

there is another one - glenn doman. but it is a home based. parents attend the class & teach their kid at home.

min,

my girl as well! i really missed those days!! she slept in the cot. drank milk every 3-4 hourly. *damn* easy to take care.

monkey. yes!!! my girl also like monkey. *headache*

kss,
i heard from 1 of the mummy the youngest one in her class started when she is only 5mths OLD !
ya, i am find it shocking.

PS.
i wore 1 outfit only while K managed changed to 3 and 1 bday suit

you shld consider taking 1/2 to go then, after that can brg Isabel out gai2 w/o the crowd.

glen doman
cant really say much coz i din explore that. only remb my landlady preparing cards with dots to flash to her boy

taro,

what is that ? got pix??

min,
haha..bbD dun want to sleep har and want to play issit? wat is his activity in the daytime?

maureen,
me too, i cant afford, so we will not send her to pat's schoolhouse, montesorri.

i making peanuts nia.
but maybe next time, thinking of sending her to Learning Vision when the time is rite.

michk
i duno what his activity during day coz he cared by my hubby's grandparents. so we got language barrier.. then i can't really chat with them on what he does during the day.

all i know is he sleep,eat and will be bought down for walks twice a day.

maybe he misses us so will play with us for awhile.
i really felt like i'm doing wrestling with him leh. he will attempt to sit up.. then do free fall.. and so enjoying it that he will repeat and repeat! *faint*

sometimes, when i think back.. i was so silly being so worried abt my boy's motor skill are so slow but now i really regret!
anyway, i enjoyed 11mth of peace when he was still not crawling. Now?? he give me grieves and make my pressue boil when he always attempt to climb all over me

Traz
My maid is from Indonesia and she speaks good English. Previous one also quite ok. As in, I understand her and she understands me. Indonesia maids don't need off days as compared to most Filippinos.
I really pei fu you. I can't imagine having to work and take care of bb at the same time. All this SAHM stuff is driving me bad enough. You have to take good care of your health though. Must get sufficient rest for the little one inside you.
I usually give rusk or bb biscuits to bbG just like that. But I try to make her drink more water from her favourite Barney bottle.

Cool Daughter
Really disgusting right! I can't believe it myself. The worse thing is, he's married! Damn bas****.
My current maid worse, last time when she come hor, got BO leh. Like her clothes not dry enough kind of smell. Luckily she's 'cleaner' now. In fact, quite hiao leh. Coz when we went BKK during CNY, she ask us to give her some money to buy clothes leh. But she keep them la, say wanna bring home.
Funniest thing is the agency we went to (FIL intro one), the owner is a chee ko pek. Look decent but then ask trainee maids to show him their breast. Then he was jailed. This news was in the papers sometime last year. I showed my maid the newspaper cutting and she was shocked lor. Luckily she never ganna.

Kelley
I prefer Indonesia maid coz they cooking is more to our taste, rather than Filippino, I think. Other than most of them come from kampong, I think they're more down to earth, in general though I've experienced an exceptional one.

Michelle
Wah, your friend so good to bbK hor.

Beyond/ Dlim
I'm a very bad mummy. Never really get things done. Only ordered the cake (eCreative) and buffet (ylscatering) lor. Bought some ballons which I'm gonna blow it myself. That's all. But I've prepared some goody bags for my friends' kids and bbs.

Dlim
Aiya, at least you walk behind bbJ hor. I gotta crawl after bbG leh. Backache. I guess all bbs are super hyperactive at this age coz suddenly, they're mobile and they've got so much things to explore!
When bbG kicked my slow cooker's glass cover off the table top, I slap her thighs really hard till got finger marks leh. She wailed so loudly and I scolded her some more. Till my maid can't take it and carry her away from me. I abit mad sometimes one. Vent on a bb.

Min
Same lor. I give milk in the morning then it's porridge for lunch already. I still have some cereal which I wanted to prepare for bb's breakfast but then every morning, I still very sleepy so just chop chop make milk and snuggle back to bed with bb. BbG poor thing coz she deprives of fruits so to explain her constipation problem.

Springdance
I'm the opposite of you. My hb is the 'kind' one.

Aprilmum
Suddenly I miss the feeling of bb kicking inside me. Quite shiok though uncomfortable. I hated the last part when the tummy gets so huge I can't squat or sit on the floor or sleep properly coz I love sleeping on my chest.

Sanrio
Wah, your niece really gifted leh.

Mrs Chia
You must be really excited about bbJ walking! BbG still tip toeing around. My mum said bbs with small n narrow heels will walk later so I guess she won't be starting soon.

today MC cuz kena food poisoning *sianz*

Well, hopefully i got time to settle my gal's party things! It's next saturday by the way ;P So let's cross fingers I can settle things and invites before Monday!

OK, going to check on the steam pork and spinach .. my gal's waiting for her breakfast porridge.

Ixora,
ha...my slides show, is very simple just pick some pix. coz me dun hv blog n wanna to share with frez n relatives hw my little one grow.

Mrs Chia,
congrat to ur clear vision

yes, i can imagine hw u feel abt bb walking.
when i first see JK walked, my eyes are wet

worry to get hurt? = that my hb's fear. hahahaha!

KSS,
if u hv seen my post on last Saturday, i've prepared red eggs (left over red powder from full month) for JK on his lunar b.day.
coz "ang mo" party no need to prepare eggs hahahaha!
the red powder, u can get it from medical hall = $1.50/bottle.

Mrs Lai,
so ur GP cfm is food posioning, oki...u better take a good rest n get more fluids.

disney,
i've replied u on the red eggs n items...revert if u've doubts

It's second last day of the work week, yipee! I am very sleepy and have puffy eyes. bbO was hogging my king size bed by sleeping diagonally so poor me have only a small corner to sleep in and cannot move much. bbO's other nick is Little Worm, cos he is always wriggling his way out of our arms on the bed hahaha...

Anyone planning to sign up their bb for classes? I would love to put bbO in some class so that he can socialise and be a friendly and confident bb like Lele and Claire!

When can we start them on fresh milk huh? bbO loves to eat cheerio like thingy so quite excited when he can eat cereal then he can have the same brekky as mummy!

Disney,
Hey thanks for the tip. Next time I planning on hiring another maid i drag u along for the interview can? Hehee... Still working on your housing... let u know once i have anything ya

hi MichK,
my lasik doing at Gleneagles .. where is the Mar mum doing hers?

Work--
i am with Pru so time-wise more flexi and planning to work Tue- Fri.. so I will still have time with bb J. My mum and dad are looking after bbJ but then lately also noticed that bbJ can be quite a handful and also thinking that they may not be able to handle... so now wondering what to do?? Then thot maybe when bbJ alittle older be alittle easier-- otoh.. can be more challenging.. Haiz!

Hi Gene,
long time no see you also.. excited yes abt baby walking.. but then har, will be chasing after him liao. Cos they will be falling down more often than walking

Mrs Chia,
i did visit montessori n many others before deciding which school to send ash to. i tink his current school did a great job in teaching him. is fun too as they hv speech n drama as part of d curriculum. but costly loh, $800 a mth. so can't send cher for shichida course liao :p
nowady, parents 'heavily invest' in their kids. stressful n more stressful society..
i m not too sure but i heard fr mummy frd whom hv kids in shchida class for 2 yrs then stop. af tat certain memory thingy, u nid constant 'practice' else wld b lost.. n also both parents n d kids mus b those 'on' type n kids mus not belong to 'parents force type'..

Gene,
wen i wan to send kids for class, my hb alwy say too early. i tell him, not all kids or only a small % is like ur niece hoh :p
my frd left her 2 young kids w her 'trusted' maid n 1 day her mil (working but took leave on tat day) spot check n saw a man in d hse! my frd so angry n maid can still cry n say sorry mdm, she wont do it agn. maid sent back n my frd becum a sahm w no maid since then.
is it d same maid tat i saw tat day at ur hse? wah piang, tat kind of man, 'gd' tat u all saw his true colours early n kick him out of ur sight forever!

Mrs Chia,
actually i must say abt 1-2.5 yrs old is d toughest period i find. they ar alwy on d move. at a super curious stage n yet 'don't know dangers or exactly right/wrong' stage. n also d terrible 2 stage is very true, lots of tantrum n wailing. ash wen tru tat n i was very stressed then. yet hv to patiently teach n guide him. i m glad n tkful tat during then i can b a sahm n b there for him to teach/guide/learn/play w him. my mum can nvr handle them full tx cos she is not too fit type n not young anymore. she alwy say (like most other old folks), why d bb n kids nowady so active..

darbebe,
jus tell them is for red eggs...they will know

if not is known as HONG HUA powder.
any old folks in ur home know hw to make red eggs?

<font color="ff6000">Jo</font>:
Below is the excerpt from wholesome baby foods website on topic of whole cow's milk for baby.
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/milkforbaby.htm
Milk for Baby - When can Baby Drink Whole Cow Milk?

The Age for Introducing Whole Cow Milk to Baby: 12 Months

Why is Milk not recommended before age 12 months?

Whole Cow Milk does not contain enough nutrients, vitamins or minerals to adequately and properly sustain an infant's growth.

“Infants fed whole cow's milk receive inadequate amounts of Vitamin E, iron, essential fatty acids, and excessive amounts of protein, sodium, and potassium. These levels may be too high for the infant's system to handle."

Indeed, prior to the age of 1 year old, consumption of a lot of dairy products may put baby at risk for iron deficient anemia.

Milk impedes the proper absorption of iron and iron is one thing that an infant can not afford to have cut down or cut out of the diet. Additionally, whole cow's milk protein and fat are more difficult for an infant to digest and absorb. The most dramatic effects are on iron levels in the body.Recent studies show infants often have depleted levels when started on cow's milk at six months of age." MerckSource Dairy Facts - Infants

Did you know that Toddlers aged 1 year through 2 years do not need as much milk/dairy as you may think. The American Academy of Pediatrics suggests that 16 ounces of whole milk per day is all your toddler will need. Calcium for Infants &amp; Toddlers (AAP).

It is thought that more than 16 ounces of milk per day may put an toddler at risk for anemia as well as nutrient displacement - a toddler who consumes too much milk will most likely not be eating all the whole foods that he needs!

Mrs Chia: Yes I know what it is to wake up with almost perfect eyesight and not have to fumble for glasses! To this day, sometimes I still want to push the non-existent glasses on my nose up! then i realise, oh no glasses hor ...

Augleo: Ya ... so gimme today MC. I feel so much better after vomitting!

Darbebe: Only i suay kena - my stomach v sensitive, so a little bit wrong I sure peng first. None of my colleagues kena.

Classes: I am more incline towards GUG, but no hurry unless another mummy wants to sign up for the same class as me!

Thanks Augleo.
I think my MIL knows how to but well.......

Im thinking of making red eggs for my girl on her lunar birthday. Should be easy to make right.

Re: Cheerios
Bot one box like 2 months back...hardly give bb...he doesn't really like them and I find the smell too strong..not exactly smelly but just too strong to be pleasant...now still 1 big packet sitting in my overcrowded fridge..

I prefer to give bb Weetabix soaked in milk...

Augleo,

Wow..u still prepare slides show for your guests ar? I never thought of that...

KSS,

I didnt know David post his photos there..

Yeah...very active boy rite.. always carry things &amp; walk ard in the hse!

Re - Schicida class

I have enrolled my Jayden &amp; his class will start next mth. Yes I agreed its very exp,
per term (consist of 3mths) already cost $800++. We just want to give it a try. I know
is very exp but I dun mind to invest on my son...hahah..very kia su rite!

The person in charge did mentioned at least let yr child try out 1 year. Do not drop
out half way through. Beside that, mummy has to attend a special class organise for
mummy. We also have to do homework at home everyday at least for abt 15-20 mins i think.

Michele,

montesorri also not cheap rite? How much is their fee? Im thinking of sending Jayden
to some learning school when he is ard 3 years cox my mum abit tired looking after
my boy liao...

Gene,

Actually a simple bday is good too. At least u did celebrate for yr girl.

Wow.. u also a fierce mummy leh.. hehehe.. I can imagine how hard u slap her thighs leh.

Sanrio,

What school did u send ash to now?

sanrio: mind sharing the name of the school Ash is attending right now? $800/mth for full day right? Is half day avail?

Modern Montessori Institute: My hub's colleague sends her DD to MMI in Sengkang and she is totally happy with this decision even tho the school fee is exorbitant. She described to my hub till he is rather impressed. Her DD is now 3/4 but already know maths concepts of ones, tens, hundreds and thousands very well. She can easily "read" a 4 digit number. It seems MMI focuses quite a lot on teaching "real life". For one of the project, she was encouraged to investigate the lifecycle of a fish.

Aug: JK can walk liao huh? CONGRATS...
So now you can add another agenda to his party.... CATWALK! hee hee..................

classes: for me right now, sending Lele to lesson is more of a pressure-free thing. Dun expect him to actually show me what he has learnt. As long as we all enjoy the lesson it is enough liao. So I dun wan something too ex like shichida. Maybe when he is past 3 I will "invest" more into education.

Sry the below msg is for Michk.. i missed out 1 "L"...

Michk,

montesorri also not cheap rite? How much is their fee? Im thinking of sending Jayden
to some learning school when he is ard 3 years cox my mum abit tired looking after
my boy liao...

Mrs Lai,
simple n nice n it rhythme

hope u are feeling beta. me hv very sensitive stomach too.

Dlim,
st joseph church childcare centre at upper bt timah. d environment is nice, serene n spacious too. lots of running space which we like. but they only take 18m onwards.

Gene,
din noe u so fierce :p so far i hv not 'beat' cherelle. she hvnt made me real angry so far....

Jo - you are welcome. If you are interested, you and your son can come to my gym in great world city. My son goes there every monday 1030am. if you want another timeslot, let me know ur availability, can ask them.