(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

have to be in school by 7am everyday...got to catch the 6.25am bus...childcare/infant care centre only opens at 7am..so poor hubby has to send the boy (or boys, when MIL is not around)...hubby has to report in his sch by 7.15am..every morning he rush rush like mad man...and always late by abt 5-10 mins...

hubby has been pestering me to go get a maid asap...whereas i would want to engage one during my maternity leave so that i can train her properly...if get now, i'm busy working in the day and she might not get a good start..

after reading ur bad experiences...more headache! We thought getting filipino maid is better, altho more expensive but at least can speak english well. can communicate better. but these pple are also smarter and know how to "geng" leh...

how how????

Traz,
u r really very wei da! Provide such unconditional love to your 2 kids/familly..
for bread, i buy five loaves multigrain kind, juz break into pcs and feed jo..
for biscuits, i 'soak' rusks in water/milk and feed..

ixora,
how many rusks will you give her?
always have this impression that these rusks are snacks...can give only like 2 or 3...if more, like very "heaty" and unhealthy...
soak in milk...then become mushy and feed like whipped potato?? One bowl??

Springdance: thanks leh.. ur encouraging words.. suddenly I feel so wei da!!!

Kate: my gal depends.. my gal is super light sleeper.. bt ya.. super addictive loh.. my nephew sleep in it until he was 3 yrs old… hahaha… I hope ashlyn can get over it soon!!! My gal will regulate 14 hrs of sleep a day herself… so it’s on n off thingy if she sleep long

Beyond: wat happen to ur boy?? how come fever so long?? Poor thing… u can catch good sleep this long weekend!!

Traz: poor thing.. pat pat.. u r doing fine.. who cares about the neighbours like tat..kekeke.. hang on!! Before u know it.. ur princess will pop out soon!!kekeke when are u due?? so u know whether its mickey or minnie already??

Traz,

for rusks, i normally put 1 and half for Ning.. Same as Ixora, soak in milk(130ml). For Bread, I just give normal white gardenia bread, same, 1 piece and soak in milk(130ml). You can give more if Hippo's intake is more.

I think you need to get a helper if really you're too tired in taking care kids. Actually good or bad maid, really depends a bit on "luck". As for my maid, i can say that "not bad" .. so far so good. I will say, Phil. maid is better, if you or your hb can't speak Malay!! hmm... if you wanna know more abt my maid experience, feel free to call me ok.

Traz
just by reading, I also feel tired for you. You are a tough mummy! IMHO I think you should get a maid now instead of confinement. The maid will have ample time to learn to in the months before baby comes along. By then, you can rest more during your confinement. hmm...get MIL to jagar her while u are working.

wah Gene,
Ur HB's fren really "thumbs up". Can hv affair with fren's maid??!!

Maids
I juz want to say, for transfer maid, NEVER listen to what the agent says abt why the maid wants a transfer. 1/2 the time, they cook up story to make it seems like maid is not wrong, it's the previous employer so that u will take her.

From the grievances here & my own past experience, it really does seems like getting a gd maid required alot alot of luck. Till today, I am still glad I decided to go maidless, especially when i recall all the anger, & also argument with my hb.

Traz
bbJ's breakfast is very simple. It's usually juz plain cereal & another 120ml of FM. Sometimes when I am rushing (like last Sun), his breakfast was 240ml of FM. Guess I am lazy mummy.

traz,
when u stopping BM ???? thot we shared with u, need to stop liao coz u preggy with minnie

maybe, what you can do is blend apples then u freeze it. then in morning when juz brg will do

aprilmum,
my ex PH maid .. was 27 yrs old when I employ her and maybe coz she finished high sch like 4 yrs back, all her english also return to her sch :S

Traz,
i usually gv 2-3 pcs and put in abit of water to make it liek cereal.. light breakfast.. sometimes goes with fruits/yogurt/cheese..

CoolD,

alamak.. so jia lat!!! my maid till Univeristy(halfway).. then stop her Uni education cos no money to cont. Her English solid!! She can read and sing songs .. so now, mostly Xin Ning "educate" by her everyday. Actually she's a transfer maid, before i get her, we test her to read newspapers in the maid agency!! hehehe.. Since she passed the "english testing", one of the reasons we take her last time.

aprilmum: u wana share maid experience with me too?? tot of getting an experienced one.. but HB say brand new maid beta.. only got to train.. but i don't 1 philippine maid.. i want indo country maid..hahaha.. so will not "fa dian" to my HB..hahhaa

Michelle: u say about blending apples.. are the apples steamed? or not? my gal still eat cereal and jar food for breakfast leh.. or with yogurt or with avocado..

forgot to say.. wish ashlyn lucky in surviving these 3 days.. cos my house is finally on the way.. the hacking starts today!!

From all the readings of maid, it really seems the case of luck when engaging one.

hmmm....how about me babysitting for your babies?
I will prepare delicious meals, teach, read to them etc. But no swinging here and there like the class. whahaha...

Just kidding la...I dont have the trait to be at home looking after baby 24/7. Maybe comes the 2nd one, I will consider.

traz
you can use cheese cube and spread it on the bread and toast it lightly. then break it into pieces or blend it

i sometimes will blend apple , plum and bread when i lazy to cook porridge for lunch

kelley,
congrats on your new project ! kekeke...
apple sad to say i am not the one preparing. my gf prepared a batch of organic apples for K and drop off at my office

aprilmum,
B4 this one I hv another PH maid, also very educated, somemore wif caregiver cert and speaks gd english. But end up, only after 1 mth, she home sick wanna go hm. And guess wat, all she need is to call hm her parents send her $$ to bring her back. She told us she has 2 cars at hm back in PH .. haha, qian jing siow jie. After she went hm, she somemore called me to ask abt me n bbJ !!

Dats y i surrender when it comes to maid .. I tink I really dun hv the life to enjoy dat kind of luxury.

haha kelley
What makes u tink Indo maid wun fa dian?? Recently in the paper there's a case of employer found a ah neh neh man in her maid's rm at nite, dat was a Indo maid .. married wif kids at hm somemore.

Michelle
you so good life, ppl preparing apple for K. Thought you are the one preparing it, then can spare some for Nicole. haha

CoolD,

your maid experiences.. really SOLID le.. hahahaha.. that's why i said, a bit depends on LUCK hor.. Initially, she's not the maid we wanna get. Our first choice, last min called the maid agent said she dun dare to come Singapore to take care Infact( she got a midwife cert!!!! and yet saying she dun dare to take care infact!!!) cos we paid everything liao, the maid agency boss(my SIL's good friend) also pai seh, hence she recomm this transferred maid to us. She personally trained her for 2 weeks before the maid comes to our house. Maybe me a bit "heng" loh, the lady boss really did help us in getting a good one. We trust her, cos she said based on her experience in getting maid, my this current Phil maid not bad, so we just take!!

Kelley,

you very funny le.. hahaha.. Indo maid mayb more good in fa dian !!!!! hahahahahaha... i tell you, if really you scare hor.. place your maid in your MIL's place, since it's just next door only. Then at night, we can get some privacy in your new house with your hb and kids.

aprilmum
Ya lor .. I really 'heng' hor :p U know, b4 all these, my only maid encounter was with my MIL ex maid. She's fm Indo & when she comes, she really tuk tuk (look like Hui ge)dunno english, but in her almost 4 yrs here, she picked up & learnt so much she can even communicate wif us in English. She also cooks very well & can cook like lor duck etc etc. She is those very hao shue kind, always asking us like how to say this & dat in english etc. too bad, her mum kena injured by lightning & she hv to go back & take care of her own kids .. hiaz ..

So, for those mummies who are looking for maids, there are really gd maids ard lah

Traz,
cher's brkfast is bf then bread or cereal w fruits. if no fruits at hm, then plain cereal.

Kate,
4got to mention. ash's class was previously at UE square, much bigger n brighter environment compared to Kallang which i din really like. oso he attended tue morning weekly class n most were expats (westerners or jap). somtx d class can be as few as 3-5 students.

Maid:
till now hb still prefers no maid arrangement so i m d mummy cum hsekeeper (nicer name of maid) but work harder n longer hrs :p

Michelle,
ur gf v gd leh. K is so blessed. u too :p

Sorry to intrude. I am planning to buy a 6-panel play yard with 2 activities for my child. So need someone to share (meaning to buy the other 6-panel play yard with 2 doors).

Total Cost will be $180

If you are interested please call cheong Choon at 6532 3855.

Looks like I'm not the only one with problems. hehe. Well, honestly, the reason why she's still here is because till date she hasn't done anything bad towards J...it even seems she does like him. But of course, now there's the trust issue to contend with lah.

Mine, her english (also uni half way) not bad but pronounciation a bit hard to understand...on the whole, language is okay. She can also sing and read to J.

Well, I also don't know if the next one will be any better. That's another reason why I'm holding back. HB just thinks that we're a bad fit for her. He thinks maybe we should just get a brand new one for me to train. (Siong ah...train and train).

Btw, the indo maid I had previously is more vain than this one...her dressing also very sexy and wears more accessories than I when we go out! But she'a a harder worker and cooks well. haha. She chose to tranfers out...cos she wanted to go home, her hb seeing another woman back home.

ABC pasta
What's that?

Kate / Aprilmum
Endo Magic Pot dun need water?? That means just throw the uncooked rice & pasta inside and on the power switch and it will cook?? Blurzzz… :p

Sanrio
Well can’t have only all the good influence only when our kids go to school…all kinds of people they will meet. Guess our task is to help them ‘see’ which are the good things to pick up and which are the bad points to drop.

Oic….HTL at Pan Pacific.

Beyond
Wow…How come fever for so many days? Was it caused of “Yi Wen” or something?

My colleague’s boy of 2 years old recently had high fever and resulted in fits. Doctor say the fits will come again if her boy got fever higher that 38.5degree in future and this will continue until he is 6 years old. SOoooo sad……very tiring for the parents too.

Aprilmum
Hopefully there’s next gathering we can meet & chat more…though can be quite lonng….since I am a FTWM and can’t make it for weekdays Friday lunchies. :p

Btw, you think of the name for your 2nd one? Is it end with Ning also??

Kelley
Stay steady and keep it up yah!

Hmmm…what you mean by Ashlyn surviving fine these 3 days?

Traz
Why dun you change the fruits to evening time…after dinner? Then morning just prepare plain cereal will do.

<font color="ff0000">Maid issues</font>: Have all of you noticed that the maids really like to chat each other up? Whenever I bring Lele to the playground in the morning or evening, will see the maids chatting happily to each other while their charges run around and play with other kids.
Many of them (not sure Fili,Indo, srilanka or other) dressed in tight small Tee and a few even in shorts. I think their home clothes even more "fashionable" than mine, tee shirt and shorts!

Wonder if their employers mind them chatting and mingling?

Personally I think chatting and mingling is fine, BUT if I have to leave the maid alone w my kid during the day, I won't feel safe who she mixes with and "learn" from outside.

Mummies, share your opinions on this leh. Esp those w maids, you mind them mingling and creating social lives outside of homes?

Traz...
Now i give bb yogurt and add the healthy times cereal into it for her b'fast if i m too lazy to prepare anything. then will add some fruits like blueberries...no need to cut...no need to blend. or sometimes, i just give her the banana...filling rite?

hi traz

you really very wei da! i was so exhausted when i was still BFing for around 7 mths so can't imagine u are still doing it after so long, and still have to wake up early to prepare breakfast etc. i would have "peng san" already!

as for maids, i've an indonesian maid and she's a transfer maid. she's quite ok and surprisingly, her english is not bad too. she can write simple english words eg. fish, meat and she also knows winnie the pooh! she is quite smart actually. but i agree with most mummies that it's all a matter of luck. the maid i chose didn't make it to s'pore coz' of some problems with her passport. so i had no choice but to choose a transfer maid coz' i was desperate to get 1 during my confinement. according to agency, her previous employer didn't want her after 1 month coz' her english wasn't good enuff. i dun think that's true coz' for an indo. maid, her english is really quite good. so there must be some other reason wh i've no idea why.
but i think it's best to be stern with your maid in the beginning coz think i've been too "qing cai" so sometimes, when she forgets to do certain things eg. once, she forgot to bring my girl's milk bottle teat, she would juz laughed it off! but overall, she's still ok. guess it's not possible to find a perfect maid.

hi Kate...
My maid is the kind who will initiate to say HI to the other maids!!! We and the agent have told her not to talk to strangers from the v beginning but she still does it. Then if we dun let her, i feel bad too cos they are human afterall...but i personally don't like it cos i feel they will get "bad". and there are many occassions where she walks the dog which is an excuse to go out! Best of all, she doesnt tell us cos she thinks we wont know as we are always upstairs in our room (it's a house so easier to sneak out). But a few times i need her...call out her name so many times no answer...so obviously she went out! I will tell her off but she still does it! i dun like having maids. when i have my own place, i will not hire one.

Hi Kelly &amp; Springdance,

KKH just told me is viral infection and throughout the hospital stay, they only give paracetamol and took temperature. It was only when I bring him to Raffles, then the PD diagnosis that my son kanna Influenza A. She said that the behaviour of this illness is fever for 7 days. And indeed, at the end of 7 days the fever was gone.

Hi J&amp;R,
The lasik is suppose to cost $4.5K (senior consultant) including the pre and post check up. However, as I was having fever and postponed the appointment to 1 week later, then it happended that they revised the rate and all in all, I have to pay only abt $3.3K. So the fever "helped" me to save $1.2K....

Michelle: which nice gf.. can intro me??

Blending of apples.. mummies… do u all steam the apples before blending? Hw to blend bread??

Cooldaughter: now u r reali scaring me.. which agency is urs.. can recommend?

Aprilmum: I will be putting maid at her place in the day loh.. she will not be at my new house alone w/o supervision… as for privacy.. the maid is needed to help me look after ashlyn who wakes up at nite or even feed new born at nite.. so I can reali sleep!! Haha… I will hv privacy when my new house done!! Yipeee.. can wear undies and walk around!!

Baby breakfast: cereal is which kind of cereal do u all give? Is it too hard for bb to eat??

Springdance: oh.. cos drilling all the old floor tiles.. hacking ma.. she next door.. hope she can survive the noise loh.. sleep sure also difficult.. cos it’s hacking from 9 – 5pm.. thank god.. I not at home..

Cindy: caitlyn can gum the blue berries ah.. wow!!! forgot to say ashlyn don't reali like bananas!!!

kelley,
aiyah, my frend since standard 1 lor. somemore her gal is juz a day older than mine. she is also a SAHM

cindy went to koonz liao

beyond,
ur fever really helps U save $$.
where u got your done ?? SNEC ?? which doctor.
juz chatting with my ex collg, she had her done early this month and now her right eye seems to be over corrected.
so gg back tomorrow for another chkup.

kate,
K starting this sunday at 11am with shauna

dunno whether last sat/sun we got activities for K, yesterday my PILs commented that K more chatty and livelier.

sanrio,
keke, ya! we very blessed.

darbb,
wanted to offer u the other time, but all at MIL's freezer forgotten to take out some until in the car on the way over

u try cheese on nicole yet ? want to try?? can pass u one to try

Michele: GOOD FOR YOU! Thought Kinder peeps said that wait list very full? So fast got space liao hor. Lucky you! Ever since Lele joined the kindermusik classes, he has become chattier and more active too. Quite noticeable because after lesson when we bring him for lunch, he will be very "interactive" and smile easily, and last sun on the way back he even took initiative to "seduce" fellow passengers on the train by waving bye bye and "comecome" at them and playing "peek-a-boo" w them! Now he's much chattier and smiley at home too!

Well, maybe Lele just grew up and got more confi and his changed behavior has nothin to do w lesson. Or perhaps ANY lesson w interaction will engage him... dunno la:p

Must wait a while next sun after lesson hor! Wanna chat w you a little before Lele begins lesson at 12!
Btw K will receive a Tshirt fr Kindermusik that day. The size not very big so try to change to a bigger size lor. I change to a bigbig size so lele can wear for much longer kee kee...

Michelle,
I'm sure Nicole dont mind cheese. heheh
But this suaku mummy dont knw how should be fed to her. just feed her as it is or need to go with sth else?

Springdance,
yup panpac. i mus 'thank' my hb for teaching him cos he is very strict w him esp in 2 areas: respect and manners.
eg: half way eating rice, due to some matters, ash threw tantrum, hb nicely tell him, he refused to listen n 'shouted' back. hb would stop him fr eating, brg him to rm, punish him to stand at notti corner. he would cry. hb would not give in. make sure he kip quiet, then he can come out. apologise n tell hb wat he did wrong n promise not to do it agn. then hb wld hug him n he can cont to eat rice. if half way he run out of rm but is still crying, hb wld 'catch' him back. if he did not apologise n cont to wail (somtx), hb wld take his rice away n no dinner.
not like me soft-hearted, somtx i gave in....
recently hb bought a cane but only use it when he really really misbehave..
we realised is impt to instill discipline esp now at this age, he starts to undstd right n wrong..

Adding dried fruits to cereal:
i cant remb when i let ash tried dried fruits w cereal. maybe wen he was 11m old. i remb he loves it.
to make dried fruits softer n more easily digestible: soak it in warm boiled water for a while. af tat, drain, cut/chop into fine pcs (depending on how well ur bb can take coarser texture, ash was good w coarser texture but cher not as good).
mix into cereal.
can try: apricot, blueberries, fig, cranberries etc.. but go for natural wo sugar added. me organic fan :p
but try 1 at a tx only n small amt. apricot for example contain iron so can b a bit heaty but it does contain gd fibre n nutrients too. go for organic apricot (brown colour) wo sulphate as d preservative.

Cindy,
hi hi, tdy i not online yahoo as hb took d laptop. US has plenty of brkfast choices hoh n blueberries are cheap. here blueberries cost a bomb..

kate,
okok, will wait for you if K doesnt fuss
kekeke..
but K already likes to smile and look and wave like crzy whenever she is seated down in high chair when we are eating. she very KPO one

michk
which cheese you giving K.. juz give cheese alone? nvr give with bread?

kelley
now i no longer steam fruits (except veg). i will use my tolly joy foodmaker and grate it directly. i grate apple, plum, pear, peach

MK: Look forward to seeing little Keira...I wanna carry her leh! Lele likes to KPO on the highchair too BUT he will get bored easily in it unless we give him a nibble or toy.

Gene,

My boy very active &amp; also likes to carry things &amp; walk ard the hse...poor mummy has
to follow him behind..

Beyond,

Actually I always think that KKH is specialise in BB but after reading yr post...i really
have to think twice. So disappointed with KKH. 40.4 degree is very high, how come they
only give paracetamol and took temperature? I heard some hospital actually shower bb in
cold water...Lucky u brought yr boy to Raffles to see his PD.

RE - Jayden's Birthday

- Have already invited &amp; notified relatives/frds abt Jayden's coming bday celebration
this Sat.
- Ordered his cake from eCreative
- Ordered buffet from chilipadi
- Bought some party items from Party city &amp; a nearby small shop at Holland V.

Augleo/Gene,

Wanna share yr preparation too?

kelley,
my MIL ex good maid &amp; all my bad maids r fm the same agent .. Budget Home maid at Hougang Green.

Kate,
personnally, i tink whether allow maid to socialise depends on the maid also. So for a start, i wun allow, but if times goes by &amp; u see she is ok, dan maybe hi hi smile smile shld b ok guah .. BUT, i also dun like maids crowding ard at playground chit chatting .. sometimes leaving the kids wandering ard.