(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

aiyoh mummies , regarding my thermos flask to cook porridge ( think it is not as nua as the type u cook using slow cooker )

1) Put hot water in ur thermos ( to heat it first ) let it settle in it for 5mins

2) Pour it away n pour in new hot water with ur rice grains, close tightly ( let it settle for abt 15-20min)

3) Pour the water away n pour in new batch of hot water , after abt 15min , the porridge is cooked

BUT for my own consumption , i put in soya sauce / bovril for flavouring.

Although thermos dun hv the separate bowl for the ingredients , i think it is a basic tool for me to use , coz it is pretty compact . last time i was torn btw deciding it and tiger food jar which i help Taro buy fm taka , in the end i bot thermos , coz it is more compact . anyway , what i need is a container to keep my porridge .
when they are older , i think it is ok for them to eat our table food . n bringing out too many things too leychey for me . worse case , buy bottled food jars outside :p
my hubby dannish colleague also buy bottled food for his sonny when they were here for holiday . how to cook porridge in hotel rooms n i dun think angmoh bothers !

wanna to bring your kid to the zoo?

http://www.zoo.com.sg/getinvolved/membership_foz.htm
http://www.zoo.com.sg/getinvolved/membership_silver.htm

(Friends of the Zoo or Wildlife Unlimited),

1. Augleo
2. ixora
3. The Mrs Lai
4. Cool Daughter
5. * michele * ($150)
6. Pisces Gal (Wants the S$150 membership only :))
7. Jessesmom ($150)
8. Gene ($150)
9. Mrs Chia ($150)
10. Jo ($150)
11. Shirley ($150)
12. mummy from other thread
13. mummy from other thread
14. Claire (lovelle) ($150- Family package))
15. Catherine ($150)
16. mummy from other thread

Rec'd reply:
* 10% if i can submit 20 memberships (combination of both type of memberships)

If u have family or friends are thinking to get the Zoo membership too, count them in too, so we can get the membership earlier.

Any mummies hv better lobang than 10% feel free to share

Kate,
Isetan private sales is for members only..

Gene,
I also give Bovril to my son. I gave all 3 types..Bovril, chicken & marmite..cox sometimes i find
it abit tastless so i add in abit for my boy..bad mummy..hahaha
Thanks..i will go & compare between Endo's flask & thermos..

Joyan,
Yes, Im BBJayden's mummy. I didnt train my boy much ..i bought him a 2 in 1 Push cart..so we will let him pass ard. Sometimes, daddy will hold on to Jayden while I will stand opp holding his flavourite toys & ask him to walk over..

BBJayden had a fall last nite! It was a serious fall cox he bang his hand against the edge of the wall!!
My heart sunk the moment he fell....

We were having dinner while my maid & Jayden were siting on the floor watching tv. But dunno why
suddenly Jayden stood up & walked very fast towards his bedroom. Somehow he lost his balance & fell.
The impact was quite hard as he knocked his head agaist the sharp edge of the wall.

He was screaming & crying so loud & daddy quickly ran fwd. By the time it was too late
cox jayden had a deep cut on his forehead & it is bleeding! We were really in a shock & quickly
brought him hospital! He even had a bump on his forehead!

Luckily there is no need for stitches..The nurse help us to clean the wound. Im really very pissed off with my maid!!!
I told her so many times must follow Jayden whenever he go. She still sit there doing nothing!!

Augleo,

I cant confirm if I can still go for the JWT trial class this sun. Cox doctor said it takes abt 1-2 wks for the wound to heal!

Im so angry cox by right this sat suppose to have photo session with foto-u & next wk is his birthday!!!

mrs lai,
ar u helping us to consolidate d order for d cb pdts? :p tks
d person is ima right?
i wld like to get d repellent spray and either calendula cream or aloe vera cream for ash to try. he has ezcema/sensitive/dry skin, do u tink calendula or aloe vera is more suitable??

RE: TRICYCLE

Gene, I saw one at BHG Tampines. Selling $49.90. Most likely I will buy for BB Belle. Reason being, I like colour & music is nice & not so loud. the brand is Lucky Baby.

went to a bicycle shop at Simei. the colour is O-biang. music is quite "lian" & loud. disco kinda music. ;p

Dlim,
oh, sorry to hear abt jayden fall. i undstd. wen ash started walking tat time, i hv to follow him evywhere, evy min. i try to child proof my hse, evy corner, evy cabinet, evy door (he wld open n bang, i wori it caught his fingers). but i noe those sharp corners of wall, hard to child proof.
hope his wound gets well soon. shd recover fast, dun wori as bb/kid skin heals very fast n well.

Gene,
wan go west coast park, call me lah. can call sandwich (wen she is back) n mrs lai n west mummies or even east mummies.
tricycle: i just sold off 1 cos ash dun like n cher din show interest. she more interested in korkor cars. my hse running out of space liao...

Gosh, poor Jayden. I hope he got over the shock.
That day I witness how my nephew fell and hit his forehead. Cousin suppose to be looking after him. My heart skipped a beat at that moment. Nephew, Im already so heartpain. What's more, when we are the mother.

dlim , poor bb jayden . u try boiling an egg to rub it on the bruised area ?to reduce the swelling n redness .
dun scld the maid aredi , coz things hv already happened . we cannot depend on outsiders , they can be careless , as mummies , we are more vigilant n careful coz our own flesh n blood mah

cai cai
i'm impressed that its so easy to cook porridge?
you mean a normal Thermos can do it?
actually my MIL say only need to boil rice for awhile then cover the pot. the porridge will cook by itself. But i don't believe her coz sometimes, i hate it when she has alot of comment on my porridge

how abt ingrediants for porridge? do you throw in at same time?

carrefour got lots of tricycle for sale leh.

Dlim
i'm sure yr maid is guilty as well. she taking his safety for granted coz maybe she tot he can walk really well oredi.
anyway, sayang Jayden for me ok! take care

CaiCai
I am certainly impressed on the way porridge can actually be cooked in tt manner. But how to u cook the ingredients? Can it be done with a insulator mug tt has a plastic interior?

Any other advise on whether plastic interior is suitable for BB? C

yo mummies ,
my thermos interior is stainless steel thruout . NO plastic inside . just a food jar .
I only tried wif white rice grains n hot water , nvr put ingredients at all ( i did not cook for my son in tis way coz i find it not very NUA , but definitely porridge for my own consumption )

i actually heard fm my aunty , those thermal cookers can save electric n gas , they boil the stuff in a pot over the stove for abt 15 min , when it is piping hot n still boiling, quickly put inside the special container n seal tight , wait for 30min , food is ready . no nid to watch over fire at all ...think AUGLEO used tis before , i recalled her showing a pic on the forum .

cai
i think cooking porridge w/o fire may not be ez (for me) coz i dunno how to guage how much water to use. coz if over fire, water evaporate fast

so my MIL is correct lah.. no need to cook porridge for too long. but if don't cook long, i dunno the grain will be soft anot

Leo,
Do you mean grind the teeth? Jesse does that some times when he's teething...He also loves grinding his teeth on his crib. He'll stand up and "rub" his teeth on the top edge...it'll have the "grrrr" sound.

Dlim, hope Jayden gets better soon.

Mummies, anyone into running here? I want to start...BUT...my knee has been giving me problems. So don't know if start will make it worse or maybe would help?

hi Dlim
poor bb Jayden!! Hope the wound will heal up really soon! and dont worry, BB Jayden is a l'il confident boy! i am sure he will get over it and be happy walking again!

hi Augleo,
really glad to have talk to you during the GUG class last Sat. it was a nice experience to meet up with all the other mummies the other day!

min , another lazy way is to use slow cooker .

i slice n grate all the carrots/ pumpkin / potatoes n dump them into the slow cooker wif the white rice grains . then i hv a timer ( 2.5 hrs ) to cook the stuff until nua nua ... the fish meat n meat i throw in last when the porridge is almost done

Cai2,
me using THERMOS shuttle pot daily.

Jesse,
JK's cot oso full of his teeth marks. but recently he grind his teeth more often. esp. during the meals.

Hi Fong...
nice meeting u too

u wanna to join us on JWT this Sunday? under waiting list? coz all 15 slots taken up le

Sanrio,
I also child proof what i can but those sharp corners of the wall, i really cant do anything much.
Thanks.. I hope he dun have any scar..thats the most worry part..

Darbebe,
Its really difficult to prevent them from falling.. I always follow Jayden behind until I backache..

Augleo,
Thanks, I let u know again cox hubby ask me not to bring him out this wkend anymore..let him have a rest. But i will see how fast he can recover ya..

Cai,
Cannot use egg to rub cox the cut is right on the bump, if we rub, he will b very pain. We cant do anything, juz hope the bump will go off.. Even my hubby who dun scold maid was so angry & gave her a scolding last nite... I mean, that was initial part cox everyone was so shock & angry. Now ok already..

Min,
Yes she is very guilty & her eyes were red after the incident..

Jess/Fong,

Fong, u wanna give me yr email? I managed to snap some pict last sat & got a few of your gal gal photo..

Anyone of u watched the Schicida program last nite?

Can roughly tell me what is it abt? tx..

Dlim: So sorry to hear about BB Jayden. Dun be angry w the maid le lah. It's hard to keep up w an activ walker 24/7. Kin or no kin, anyone can be tired out by an active baby and lose concentration sometimes.
Furthermore BBJ rose suddenly right? No one wanted accidents to happen. What's impt is tt Jayden is not seriously harmed.
Take care...

eCreative Cake:
hv spoken to the eCreative sale...we can enjoy 10% to 15% discount if we can gather more than 5 cakes order.

It applied to their buffet n hi-tea too.

any1 interested?
1. Augleo

** mummies are currently accumulate points from eCreative: if u join in this direct discount, can't earn points hor

Dlim,

gosh.. poor bb Jayden!! Must be quite bad. I understand your panic and worry, cos i did sent Ning to KK emergency last time when she fell down from my bed and her teeth gum got cut and was bleeding too(whole mouth full of blood)!! It's quite scarrrry to see that!! Do take care of Jayden and really hope he's ok right now.

Dlim,
Omg .. seems like a really bad fall. Poor jayden, sayang him for me. Dun worry also, kids recovery are very fast one, so I am sure his bruise will heal very soon

Btw, I m also a Borvil mummy .. hehe. But not every meal la & it's usually juz a tinnie winnie bit :p

eCreative Cake:
can enjoy 10% to 15% discount if we can gather more than 5 cakes order.

It applied to their buffet n hi-tea too.

any1 interested?
1. Augleo
2. aprilmum

actually quite tempted to get a slow cooker. do u think i shd get small or medium size? wats the min. hours to cook it?

dlim , abt the shichida , basically they were saying that there is the right / left brain functions . so some programs are designed to stimulate the babies brain to enable them to maximize their brain power . basically , i guess it is an advert on shichida programs . some babies can react to repetition very well , so 1 mummy actually began to recite 10 diff languages to her dotter ( counting of nos. ) and her dotter can actually recite it in 9 different languages . the key here is REPETITION . there are 3 more series every MONDAY . i wld say it is a program to sell SHICHIDA lor .

Dlim,
i managed to catch the last 3mins of the shichida show.
seeing 1 daddy is flashing cards infront of a newborn.
i was "WOW!"
what m i doing when JK is 2 mth old.
me busy learning how to take care of him instead him learning

Shichida-PIC mentioned tat new born brain has lots of connections, giving the right connections will aids in their development (something like tat lah!)
other mummy can share more?

min , mine was a free one fm my ma , pretty big .
but i used that to double soups for myself / last time when i was preggy , i boiled bird nests .

now i used it to boil porridge . if u want to use it for long term , get a medium size ba . coz the small looks too "baby" to boil soup for the whole family .

Dlim,
I watched the program last night. Think the subject line is that babies can and should be stimulated from birth cos after that 6 years, "absorption rate" slows down and for languages after 10 years it'll be harder for a person to learn a new language.

It seems like Shichida uses a lot of flash card and memory work. Their take is to stimulate the right hemisphere of the brain early on.

Showed example of 3 yr old girl who can count to 10 in 5 different languages. (At which point my husband joined me and queried, "what's the purpose of that [counting to 10]". Haha.

Honestly, I don't think I'm completely sold on their theories lah. But well, my brain was stimulated when I was 0 - 6 years so maybe I didn't catch most of what was being said. :p

Oh lastly, the thing that totally blew my husband away was the prenatal classes held by shichida. They say a healthy diet (high in Vit C) is very good for the fetus and erm...the expectant mother can communicate with the unborn through visualization and rubbing of tummy.

(Caveat: mind our skepticism, but we don't even buy the common "put headphones on tummy and play classical music" thing done by many expectant parents. Husband commonly cites Beethoven and Einstein who never had all these and still turn out...okay.)

Leo,
which cake are you thinking of getting?

I'm still looking for a cake for Jesse's birthday. We only have 15 people at our little gathering...

Augleo,
My new boss also always bragged that he started flashcard wif his son when he was 1-2mths old. So now he is very smart!! By the way, I need to shout here .. 'I HATE MY NEW BOSS' !!! phew, shiok :D

Caicai,
I agree with repetition. Now I am trying to teach bbJ getting down bed leg down first. So every nite I will show him, repeat the same actions. Now he start to get it le. Yday he got down the sofa & even my platform he oso tries & shift his body so his leg is down first

Jesse,
likely will get the "ONE" design.
the pix in the website more to girl, hv requested to more boy's tone.

blue, green...balloons n banners

small gathering: erm...think min. need 2kg order to enjoy the discount.

u all are still flashing the cards? hai.. think i'm one lazy mum. i only do it once every weeks when i remembered. coz we will watch 9pm channel 8 drama together. then i will off lights at 10pm to make him sleep so cld not read or flash cards

Dlim
((((((SAYANG & HUGZ FOR JAYDEN)))))

Hope his wound will recover very soon & there won’t be any scar…in future, think you better dun depend solely on the maid (an outsider) liaoz….both you & your hubby need to help keep a watchful eye over your boy as well…like Kate says, it can be quite hard for 1 person to look out for an active baby 24x7.

I have not tried the porridge with cheese b4…but the mummy told me it’s like hmm…pasta with cheese kindda feeling…maybe like cheese baked rice?

Darbebe
Actually….Actual age doesn’t matter as long as you have the young looks!

Min/Gene
Basically you only add the cheese in after the porridge is just cooked & hot…it will melt into the porridge. Just like adding marmite sauce…..

Dun think the cheese will harden even if the porridge cool down ba…it’s like not you are leaving the porridge outside for hours or feeding in a cold temperature.

Cool_D
So what you intend to give Jordan for lunch on Sunday? Since you outside the whole day…

Hmmm….Looks like got mixed feedback about codfish & salmon porridge…a few mummies says their baby enjoy it…hmmm…maybe it’s the freshness of the fish?? Or the way the porridge is prepared? Now I in a dilemma whether to try or not…scarly cooked liao whole pot wasted….

Mrs Lai
I interested in the CB products too…is it order online at the “pinkycream” blog?? Can’t edit the spreadsheet you provided.

Oh ya…does Vanessa like salmon or codfish porridge?

Augleo
Does JK still like Flash cards? Jonas seems to have lost interests in them liao...keep looking away or crawl away...seeing such reaction, i also can't be bothered to 'flash' to him nowadays. :p

Jesse
LOLZZZ.....My husband also TOTALLY dun believe in such theories....he's a old generation man....always comment our generation dun have such things and we turn out fine...it's like LKY never had such experience and yet is such a prominent leader now...:p

augleo
not yet. waiting to order from Mong coz i chop a date with her before she close her orders but then i'm expect 50-60 guests so i duno if she will or can do it . otherwise i join u on e-creative BP