(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

mummies who are interested in bb contests - there are actually 4 other dates for the contest that claire won but at different districts. she won the 'eastern' one.

it was quite an experience actually - other than the physical assessment (weight, doctor's observation, ability to crawl, stand, etc), they also tested her motor skills (whether she can hold things with her fingers, putting the correct shapes into the shape sorter, passing ball) and language (mama, papa, milk.. etc).

we just took part for fun - never expected to win 1st prize (since i've always tot that judges like fat babies) so $10 was a good investment! haha... anyway the other 2 categories that she didn't win 'most photogenic baby' and 'daddy & baby chemistry'.

pasir ris park
i also wanna go leh! can or not?

Cool_D
You bringing Jordan for 2 classes on this Sunday ah? You not worried by the 2nd class..Jordan go to snooze land in class? heheh.....

Darbebe
Tell U something...Maryann was telling me on Sunday you look rather young! Such a young mummy... so I replied 'yup yup, can tell I'm older rite?'...and she replied "YES!" LOLZZZZ

Kate / Mindy
So what foods do you give your boy when outside? I so far only tried bring porridge in thermos flask b4...but I find the porridge dun look nice to eat liao after keeping in the flask for some time.

Codfish / Salmon to cook porridge for baby??
Quick check...anyone tried before? How does it taste? I think using salmon is quite yucky & fishy rite???

Thanks Dlim.

Seems like there will be a variety of activities.
Dont know my girl will have the attention span or not. heeheez

Keeping my fingers cross that she will well perform that day.

michele,

Pls update when will the shipment arrive? My boy birthday is next wk. I dont want to recieve my items late leh... thanks.

Springd,

I tried the codfish, taste quite sweet. My boy likes it alot. Salmon for porride...havent try yet.

Springdance,
looks can be deceiving. how young is young? hehe
Actually not really that young.

Thanks CaiCai for the show timing.

springdance
i will pack my HT cereal out and a bottled food to mix. i like Heinz banana range.

sometimes, i will bring a banana out to feed as snack.

when you go buffet, can get some fruits to feed them as well..

actually my son been eating bits of our food oredi.. coz he always make noise when we eat out so we bo bian, gotta pinch our food to feed him

hey Springdance
My mum tried before the Salmon porridge for my gal and she loves it. What she did was to cook the salmon soup and the plain porridge seperately 1st so that the porridge wont be that fishy. Then when my gal wants to eat, she will scoop a the soup and mixed it with the porridge. Do note that the porridge can not be too watery or else in wont go well with the salmon soup. the plain porridge must be those thick and sticky kind.

As for cod fish, we havent try.

Springdance, I have tried using cod fish for porridge. Oh boy, it was so fishy. I myself tried it. THe porridge dont seems as yummy as when I used ngor he.

Dlim
Hmm...So are you currently using codfish daily for porridge? Quite ex rite?

Min
My boy also like our foods much more than his plain porridge or cereal...so we also give hm some white rice when dining outside. But also quite tasteless...LOLZZ...

The only fruit that's easily mashed and my boy loves only is papaya....so end up not much options even though we may be at a buffet. :p

Actually I would think that the Chinese fish goes better with porridge...but then salmon & codfish have high fish oil content...good for brain development...that's why thinking to try or not...

Claire
ic...so your mum only just give the salmon soup stock? Never let your gal eat the salmon itself?

Re: Cheese in porridge
Another finding from a mummy...can add cheese spread or kraft cheese melt into porridge...she says says good & can provide calcium.

Kate,

do join us for some gathering sometimes, then we can discuss more abt bb development and bb foods.
For me, if bring Ning out in the afternoon, i'll normally feed her porridge first before that, then i'll prepare cereal and biscuits in tupperware, in case, she's bored and i can feed her some snacks while i'm meeting my friends outside.

Cereal

i agree with Min, sometimes, really got no time to prepare porridge, i'll just give cereal. But of course not always, cos i myself also not very "trust" in instant foods.

Thermos Mug

i bought from Robinson(after 20% discount +5%rebate), if i'm not mistaken, it's $30plus after discount.

Leo, Michele,
Sure, let's do something...but how to tell when it won't rain? It has been raining sooooo much. Not that I'm complaining though. I love the cool weather...just a pity about the outdoor activities. Can't wait till I can bring him to zoo also..

Darbebe,

My boy dont like ngor.. Really depends on individual.. but im quite surprise my boy loves codfish..haha

Springd,

Yes, Im cook codfish porride for my boy quite often. His daily routine are "codfish","veg","pork","chicken","scallop",tofu". Sometimes i will add alittle bit of chicken\veg mamite in his porridge...

As for cheese with porridge, this is the 1st time i heard abt it leh. Dun u think it will taste abit funny? Normally I will give Jayden the kraft cheese alone for him to eat ...

Isetan having private member sales this thurs!!

aprilmum,

Im going to buy the Thermos Mug too! Else poor Jayden can only eat cereal while we r outside. At least with the Thermos Mug, we can put his porridge in & bring out with us.

Ya, Dlim,

then Jayden will be very happy to see his porridge in his outing next time
.. but hor, i need to tell you that, the thermos food mug only can last for few(3-4) hours max for warm food. So, dun keep the porridge too long in the mug

Cai,

Ok, i will take note of this brand. Is this good? How long can it last? Same as thermos only 3-4hrs?

aprilmum,

Thanks..Noted! At least Jayden can have his porridge while we r outside.

dlim , i dunno abt endo , cheap can aredi ...

i think thermos pretty exp leh .just a stainless steel flask . anyway , i think i use my thermos more than my sonny , coz he is alwys grounded at home ,nvr tot of feeding him outside coz he will b super distracted .

mummies, I have 1 unopened box of healthy times cereal (cant rem which one though) and 2 jar food to be given away.

My girl seldom takes cereal nowadays.

Please let me know if anyone is keen.

Springdance
My mum did let my gal eat the salmon. Blend the fish meat and soup at the end.

Themos Mug
Ladies, can you advise me on whether those insulator mug that's plastic on the inside is suitable for baby's food? Coz my mum told me it's not safe but my MIL say it's ok and gave me one of her used insulator mug that she used to put her own porridge to bring to work. Pls advise.

Cai,
Its all rite, i will go & recky..

Haha... the price already proves it ...thats why its recommend by mummies here!

claire ,personally i prefers stainless steel . coz i tried cooking porridge wif my thermos ( put hot water wif uncooked rice grains) , it works ...
so if u tell me , use plastic , i wld hv this image of cooking porridge in plastic . dunno hv chemical reaction or not . so i dun feel comfy , my personal opinion only :p

SpringD,
ya lor .. dats y HB gives me a 'Hiaz' look when i tell him tis Sun @ 10am & 2pm .. haha. i am quite worried la, but nvm lor, juz go since I oredi signed up. Maybe in between from 10.45am to 2pm let him sleep .. haha.

Btw, bbJ does not like codfish or salmon porridge. I gave him both he gave me the vomit look. Than I smell the porridge, i also give him vomit look .. hehe, really more fishy compared to threadfin.

Caicai
I tink mine is Endo .. brot it for $10 from carefour. So far so gd i tink

Caicai
U cooked porridge using Thermos?! Does it works? Coz I neber thot of cooking with it but juz to bring cooked porridge out for BB lovelle. Wow itz amazing

Cool_d,
Sry missed out your post.

Daddy will have to wait from 1:30pm till 2:10pm then after the break, daddy will take over. Oh ya, u have to attend two classes hor..no wonder yr hubby give u that look.

I was telling my hubby we have another trial class next sun. He was saying.. "Wow..why u not sick of going to so many trial class"? hahaha..

Ya lah..can u imagine they will put everything into their mouth?

Kate,
Yes, GUG is 1 1/2 hr & i find it abit too long. 45 - 1hr is juz nice..

Dlim,
ya, my HB also likes to tell me such remarks. If not he will say aiya, bb so small he wun enjoy la, wait till he is bigger. Actually I do agree la, but I thot jus go & socialise & hv fun lor. Hopefully the in between 2-3hrs we can recharge him enuff for the GUG

hi sorry to intrude.. i'm from e jun thread n am organising a trial class for Julia Gabriel.. they usually only do weekday classes for our bb's age but i've written in specially for a weekday class..

it'll be held on 15 mar (sat), 9 - 1030am.. if u're keen, do drop by e jun thred to add in ur name.. thanks

GUG
nice meeting all of you yesterday. Quite a fun one indeed..but would be nicer if our bb are older.

Jo, i the one sitting next to you. Rem there's a bb gal kept staring at you.

Salmon/cod fish
I dun put the fish into the porridge. I will steam it and later add into the porridge (with scallop) or feed my gal separately. think it's quite wasteful if mixed and cannot finsh the porridge.

Kate
Another food i bring out is to put the mashed potatoes into the flask and bring out as a main dish for my gal cos she loves potatoes just like me. so when i abt to feed her, i will add a bit of either milk or water to make it smoother. i'm a potatoes queen. seem like my gal oso likes it though it's quite bland.

dlim,
if you dun mind to find out how much is the thermo flask. i tot of getting one too.

cooldaughter,
hb said same things as ur hb. this week hb is busy with work so i bringing my gal alone. hope she cooperate.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Jesse,</font>

My appointment is 2pm with Benjamin
. That means I might be seeing u and your baby. U are after me leh ;p

It should be consider a weekday coz it is after the public holiday. I assumed that I be getting the free 8R coz it is still a working day for all people. However, it will be good if u can double check with him if u are unsure.

Caicai: You mean you cook porridge w the THERMOS food mug? Can you share how you do it? Think it will save my MIL a lot of work if can cook w a mug! THANKS!

dlim, shd be this week. CGW has already BILLED me for the package even though it has not arrived!

endo
its 'OEM' thermos actually... thermos is made in japan and endo is made in malaysia but same company.

Augleo,

http://www.zoo.com.sg/getinvolved/membership_foz.htm
http://www.zoo.com.sg/getinvolved/membership_silver.htm

(Friends of the Zoo or Wildlife Unlimited),

1. Augleo
2. ixora
3. The Mrs Lai
4. Cool Daughter
5. * michele * ($150)
6. Pisces Gal (Wants the S$150 membership only :))
7. Jessesmom ($150)
8. Gene ($150)
9. Mrs Chia ($150)
10. Jo ($150)
11. Shirley ($150)
12. mummy from other thread
13. mummy from other thread
14. Claire (lovelle) ($150- Family package))
15. Catherine ($150)

Dear ALL,

Re: Codfish
Tried codfish last weekend. Added it in an hour b4 serving. Mal finished everything...*greedy piglet* actually, it smelled quite nice...me &amp; hubby tempted to finish it for him...
My mum said her colleagues always buy codfish for her babies' porridge, too.

Re: Storage of food to go out
I usually cook porridge once I woke up/after I came back from market, using slow cooker. Then, by lunch time, the porridge would be ready. I used Tiger Thermos jar

Lockable lid for easy open/close
Super Clean Finished Process
Includes a carrying bag
Microwavable inner bowls

Model : LWR A072
Qty/Ctn(pcs) 6
Measurement(m3) 0.024
Temperature retention(6h)(C) 50

Which can keep the porridge warm for 5 hours. If I need to go out early, I would use the Shuttle Pot to 'cook' the porridge while I'm out. Actually just takes some planning &amp; anticipation...

Hi Catherine: Wow, you must be a very organised person... have everything planned nice nice. Me blur+clueless sotong lor.p How much did you get the thermos flask for? and what's a shuttle pot? Is it the kind which we can throw the ingredients in and let everything cook without a fire? hub and I looking for something like that too.
couldn't understand half of what was posted about the specifics but {blue"Microwavable inner bowls"} is an attractive feature to me.
When I bring porridge out, might want to separate the ingredients and add to porridge only when lele is about to eat. Having more bowls will mean I can prepare diff types of food 'stead of putting everything "together"in one jar.

"THERMOS" food jar doesn't have this feature hor?

<font color="0000ff">ISETAN PRIVATE SALE THIS THUR</font>: Any mummies know where is the sale? Is it for some people only since it's a private sale? Really interested leh cos wanna get my thermos mug!

<font color="ff6000">Aprilmum</font>: Thanks for "inviting" me to the april mummies gathering. Actually I wanna join you all so much too, but all the gatherings so far only on weekdays...

<font color="119911">cool_d</font>: yup I cooked cereal for lele twice while we were out.) but cannot be cereal all the time ma. kekeke

<font color="0000ff">ISETAN PRIVATE SALE THIS THUR</font>: Any mummies know where is the sale? Is it for some people only since it's a private sale? Really interested leh cos wanna get my thermos mug!

Pease refer to this link for the CB prices:

http://www.freewebs.com/thepinkcream/cbbp.htm

Personal recommendations:
California Baby Natural Bug Blend Bug Repellent Spray 6.5oz @ S$17 - Just spray and go! and it's those pump spray so eco friendly!

California Baby Overtired &amp; Cranky Aromatherapy Bubble Bath 13oz @ S$18 - My girl uses this as her evening bath ...

Delivery Option:
Postage: Depends on total weight of order ( less than 2kg only)
Additional Register Mail S$2.24 (optional)
Home Delivery S$7
Pre-arranged meet-up @ Starbucks Tampines Mall (Sat or Sun 6:30pm)
Pre-arranged Meet-up @ McDonald's Clementi (Sat or Sun 5pm)
Pre-arrange Meet-up @ Burger King Causeway Point (Friday 6:30pm)
Self-Collection @ Block 504 Woodlands Drive 14 (ANYTIME)
Self-Collection @ Block 406 Pandan Gardens (DAILY:- Between morning til 1pm ONLY)

Michelle
Thanks. Do you mind sending me a pix of the tricycle again? Coz I saw something at Kids Mall but not as nice I think.

Michele
Congrats! Wah, now you are a xing1 ma1 (star's mum) liao. ;p

Jesse/ Min
Give me a high-5. I'm also feeding bbG my food. Some no-nos: Mc's nuggets and fries, bbq chix wings, fizzy drinks, udon, cakes, etc.

Park
Wei, Pasir Ris Park abit too far for me leh. West Coast Park can or not?

Dlim
I give bb Bovril. A little less healthy but more yummy I think. (My preference, not bb's) hee..

Caicai
I got the Endo flask for bb's porridge. Like Cool Daughter, I got it at Carrefour. The other day I went to Tiger's head office at Liang Seah St, my friend got one, which is on sale at $5 only!

Dlim
Endo's flask is not bad la. But then it's up to individual lor. Branded ones surely better but then for me, I don't wanna invest too much on these items that won't be used for long.

Springdance
If add cheeze into porridge, will it harden when porridge getting cold?

PGal...maybe we'll meet, maybe not. Cos we'll probably only get there zhun zhun at 4:30 your session would end by 3?

I received confirmation email from them...still must read faqs one. haha. homework.

Gene, I can't remember if I tried fries haha...but usually just the softer foods lah like fish and stuff. Oh and the bun of my burger

West Coast Park is far for me leh...think we stay opposite ends. But then you can meet Sanrio...since she stays that end

Good morning mummies. Ytd was super busy so din get a chance to login.

Dlim,
you are bbJayden's mummy? Wah must teach me how to teach O how to walk lor. My O so lazy dun even wanna learn to stand cos why walk when crawling is faster? hahaha Anyways, bbJayden so steady can walk quite fast.

Augleo,
yes I remember you and your bb. Thanks for confirming me on the next class. So excited. This time I will bring my hubby so I can dump O at him and chat with you all.

Peg,
Yes your bb gal so cute! O likes your gal, kept trying to sayang her hahaha. O is April baby, April 7. So your gal is jiejie =)

Michele,
Congrats! Wah bb C got her first trophy before her first bday. Star in the making =)