Gene: hmmm ok let's see my schedule on the 4th then. I may or may not be able to join but I'll let you know again.
Porridge: I tried making porridge with the dried silver fish. I'm not a fan of it, and probably will not make it again. 1) After I blitz it, my porridge turned GREY (though not that my girl really cares) 2) it was WAY TOO SALTY. I washed the silver fish a few times already - so I guess if I wanted to do it again, I probably have to soak it for an hour or so first. An alternative would be using the "cooked white bait" available from cold storage, they look similar enough to the silver fish!
Today I tried making with red grouper fillet (just bought a piece from NTUC). I called my ma jie for help and she told me to rub the fillet with some salt and ginger. So I chopped the ginger to bits and then rub the fillet, together with some salt. Then I left it in the fridge, while I boiled water and cooked the rice/ millet powder first. Before adding the fish, I washed off the salt and ginger bits. Then just left it on top of the porridge for it to be boiled/ steamed. My goodness, is the fish tough or it the fish tough. Normally, the fish can be flake easily once it's cooked right? This one was HARD TO MASH. But ok anyway, just had to make sure no bones again, and then served to the princess. I must say, it's actually quite good. Not fishy at all - and this coming from someone who really cannot tahan any fishiness even when NOT pregnant. Well, she loves it, so good lah =)
But I am stuck, what veggies can I cook with the fish porridge? The last time I gave spinach, she lao sai for a week! The peas come out as it is, so I'm not really sure what green veggies could be cooked for her now lor. I not ready to give brocolli yet, if you want to suggest that hehe but I guess I could try, just the green bits and no stems.
Ok I'm going to bed now ... to work to work i Go tomorrow =(