(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

preparing baby food - what i do
so far i've prepared the following food for baby in chronological order:
- brown rice cereal (EYS w/si shen powder)
- sweet potato (steamed and mashed in puree)
- apple (steamed and blended)
- porridge (i blended the rice grains before cooking): rejected
- fish (steamed and mashed): rejected
- carrot (organic baby jar)
- nestle rice cereal (i personally find it sweet!): developed allergic reaction
- pumpkin (steamed and blended)
- spinach (steamed and blended)

next on the menu: papaya - was going to try banana but fruit seller said baby will have phlegm if eat too much banana.

i prepare small portions normally - enough for 4 days and will freeze into cubes. to prepare, i thaw in the fridge first until its watery. i will prepare the EYS cereal (pour hot water to mix, put on small fire to cook for 2 - 3 mins) before mixing together with fruits/vegetables. temperature usually just right when both mixed together.

currently 1 meal is replaced with solid food and i intend to replace 2 meals once she turns 7 mths(which is this weekend). to maintain milk supply, i have to pump during the time that she 'misses' her milk feed.

i also use the 'first foods' book as a reference but never actually follow coz i've always been cooking anyway.

augleo,
thanks for ur SMS.

Picnic @ECP
Date: 8th Nov 07 (Thursday)
Time: 10am

Venue: ECP - either F1 or F2 free carpark
** F1 near hawker center; bike rental kiosk
** F2 bigger carpark, better spots for picnic n washroom = free entry

1. Augleo + JK + HB (either sandwiches or fruits dessert)
2. Taro + YX + HB (potato salad)
3. Kris + Kelly + HB (fried tom yam bee hoon)
4. Kimsansoon + Isabelle + HB or sisters (agar agar/jelly)
5. Catherine + Malcolm + HB (may call for delivery)

** food = pot luck (but need to know wat each of us contributing)
** picnic stuffs - mats, foldable chairs...watever u think can use for picnic

Augleo,

We will love to join your outing in the East. However, we think will give this time round a miss. Maybe the next time join u all for the next outing

Jmon
You currently in first trimester rite? Must take care yah.

By the way, how is Ashton? Know how to crawl yet? Have you start planning go on how to take care of two kids next year?

EE
Can try test water with the baby sitter abt preparing apply puree daily or alternate days its actually quite easy.. maybe she dun mind.

Augleo
No lar my hubby never complain hahah he will juz gimme that Oh my God Not Again face when I tell him about forum gatherings.

Ehcorrection That time lunch at Central is becoz Kris who organised wan to go Central shop shopdefinitely not becoz of me okie. :p

Actually hor..come to think of it..none of the Singapore beaches is nice...

michele,
banana can take gek ning jio ("indian" banana) and ang ba jio ("red meat" banana)

Del monte strictly no no

Augleo: Would like to prepare sandwiches with u...wanta grab the food together & prepare?? I was thinking of preparing crabstick/egg mayo sandwich but donno whether bm feeding mummies can eat or not....

Think really need to think of alternate plans if it rains...e.g. if raining @ 9am, then all mummies, daddies & babies just go to one of the ppl's house & mj session....cos these few days been raining non-stop

Jmon

Gong xi ni!

SpringDance

I test b4, she told me bb not ready for puree fruits at this stage, think she felt troublesome to prepare it bah

wat is best way to smashed carrot and add to cereal?
i tried steaming for 30min but still abit tough. so shd i get a blender and blend it?

Michele: thanks!! My list coming to u soon!! Hahah

Caicai: then who going to look after bb if MJ?? Hahah wah.. use whose house huh?? I only saw *wink wink*

Cindy: why.. if my gal as good as urs.. I dont even mind #3 or #4.. but too bad.. she is a monster..

Thx Augleo

Picnic @ECP
Date: 8th Nov 07 (Thursday)
Time: 10am

Venue: ECP - either F1 or F2 free carpark
** F1 near hawker center; bike rental kiosk
** F2 bigger carpark, better spots for picnic n washroom = free entry

1. Augleo + JK + HB (either sandwiches or fruits dessert)
2. Taro + YX + HB (potato salad)
3. Kris + Kelly + HB (fried tom yam bee hoon)
4. Kimsansoon + Isabelle + HB or sisters (agar agar/jelly)
5. Catherine + Malcolm + HB (may call for delivery)
6. EE + HB + Tiffany + gorgor (2-3mats + food(TBC)

** food = pot luck (but need to know wat each of us contributing)
** picnic stuffs - mats, foldable chairs...watever u think can use for picnic

hello all ... wah so many days din come in so many post!

Jmons,
wah piang !!! u bluff me !!!!
congrats u on MSN that u preggy, u sais NO !

Augleo,
me joining mar mummies for picnic too on thursday, but theirs in the afternoon leh.

wasnt working yesterday, so went to kidsloft!
but only bought a stool.
let K try on this moo moo

1058115.jpg

Min...
I tried cooking carrots for my girl yest. v easy to prepare. i just cut the carrot into small cubes...then i cook the carrot cubes and porridge together. simmer for awhile, then i off the fire. dun open the cover of the pot. then about 1/2hr later, just on the fire again. u test test...see if the carrots are soft. if they are...u just take some of the cubes out and mash with a spoon. it should be soft enough to be mashed easily. if your porridge is ready, u can also add some to the carrots lor. i also added some broccoli. The porridge vvv tasty leh! Porridge can be cooked faster if you soak the rice first. if can blend, better still.

Kelley...
Mine is not easy baby leh!! she's only easy to take care when i bring her out. but at home....she demands for my attention!! i must do everything together with her...even watching tv!! i cannot imagine having another bb so quickly! ahahaha!

Cindy: u got receipe for fish porridge..?? is it?? hhmmm.. she doesn't look like tat. hahha.. looks can be deceiving!! it's normal for bb to want attn ah.. if nt call BB.. i m sure last time ur big bb (HB) also demand attn rite?? kekeek..

gene: i throw everything into the blender and blitz it into pulp. I also add soup (from which the pork and everything was cooked in) to make it easier to blend.

I send u coupon tonite ok? going to work now. slept at 6:30am this morning cuz my gal wants to be hugged or carried to sleep ... *faint*

Michelle : I like the moo moo... So cute...

EE : Tired leh... 10am my butt may still be stuck to the bed loh... I get very tired easily recently... I think its a sign of aging liao...

Michele: Can check with u the sizing for ON? Cos last time, MichK shown us the clothes she bought from ON & the sizing a bit on the small side...

EE
In that case, you wanna give jarred baby fruit/vege puree for your darling? Very convenient just warm up will do in fact, nowadays, me also quite lazy have been mixing jarred baby foods with cereal.. coz my boy dun like to eat plain cereal.

*michele*
What's your email addy? Izzit PM you can liao?

kellrey...
my fish porridge v ez one.
i just cook the porridge in slow cooker. then at the end of it all, i will add 2 pieces of threadfin. when done, i will scoop up more fish than porridge, mash e fish n feed. i dun find the porridge fishy at all. i like it so i'll eat whatever is remaining, which is quite a lot!

Sandwich: Sry this thurs I cant...maybe some other day..

Kelley: U got Mail!

Michele: Im interested! What is the exchange rate for old navy?

Cindy: Must remember to check with small bones in the fish leh. My MIL say sometimes some small bones undetactable with the eyes so she will use her hands to feel for them.

kimsansoon,
was letting her test out those that can be tested out ! wahahahaa...

kelley,
if u lookin for the cot for your sis, they have a nice cow one. 50% fm $499
they also have range of wooden toys from I'm Toys

<font color="blue">Jmon:</font> Congrats to u!!!

<font color="Purple">Springdance:</font> Missed out your post! Yup...forgot u r also one of the mum without Blog

<font color="ff0000">The Mrs Lai</font>,

Hi! Can share with me too? You can PM me the information, please? Thanks

Kelly,
What is the "nursery rhyme talking bug from fisherprice" Sounds interesting. Got Pic?

Mrs Lai,
Can ask u more on the pork? Before u blend it to pulp, is the pork cooked or uncooked?

thanks Cindy, Taro & EE & Dlim (long time no 'see')

Springdance,
Ashton is ok. he starts to learn how to crawl but he crawls backwards. pushing himself using his big butts and tummy... lolzzz

he's now know to rotate himself 360 degree then roll himself in order to get to another corner of the hse...

springdance,
will let my mil take care of the newborn and fil and maid take care of Ashton lor..

ya 1st trim now.. MS is still ok. just feel stuffy at the chest area and feel giddy in the morning and still feel hungry all the times, jia lat....

Jmon, you will have to go through the confinement again! I like the food during then but not the sweaty and smelly part.

Was ur confinement period a breeze to you?

Dreamygal / Augleo
10am huh? I thought the time TBC...anyway will try my very best lah

Dreamygal
Get very tired easily? Think Is 1 of the MS sign! Gong xi ni!!

Springdance

I bought some HT jar baby fruit/vege, but yet to let my dear darling try.
Think this is the only way bah.
The jar must complete within 3 days right?

Kris

I still reserve the Nestle cereal for you, will pass it to you on this Thursday picnic

Lynn

Long time no see, u stay Bedok right?
Come to joint us this Thursday picnic?

Jmon
Sounds like Ashton is developing fast and well and youve got things planned out liao on how to take care of 2 kids. Thats really good!

Meanwhile, you relax and take care of yourself yahget ready your bird-nest and cordyceps. Heheheh!

Thanks Kate for the reminder! i get the maid to cut the portion of fish...and i keep asking her if there's bone. i never go and feel! she always say dun have and i find threadfin have v little bone but of cos must still be careful. i will check once more when mashing the fish.

Kelley,
i heard if the fish cook too long will become hard so i cook it only towards the end lor. i tried using cod b4...that was fishy!! n oily!! i think Caitlyn is so BIG cos i eat cod fish almost everyday and i bf her and i think my milk must be ultra oily!

jmons,
congrats! wow, second one to get preggy... i miss my bb being newborn...

michelle- ON spree
i wanna get something... am i too late?? the sizes run small is it?

springdance,
for cordyceps and birdnest.. they are waiting for me liao.. lolzzz can only consume when 4th mth preg..

but Ashton's still cannot sit on his own wor.. he's heavy!

EE,
cant make it on Thurs leh cos will go JB.

Darbebe,
i wil due on July on estimation, so not sure will the weather be cooling for me during tat period or not leh.. anyway whether cooling or hot, no diff for me cos i cannot stand nv shower for 1 day.

Jmon,
hopefully the weather is cool during july. Otherwise tough to tahan even though can bath.
heez..this makes me recall my confinement. Weather darn hot. Practically cannot be without fan or air con.

Btw, ur new maid come already?

Kelly, no need sorry lah. U still make effort to go find the link n pic online. So kan-tong! The FP toy looks good. Ur gal likes it? Does she know how to flip the pages or need u to help her?

darbebe,
replacement maid has not come..

anyway, tell u hor i bath 'hundred' times during my confinement... i do not care.. i also switch on fan and aircon.. wash hair alternate days..

i rem i went to saloon to wash hair when i brought Ashton to KKH to make the birth cert.. the person was a bit reluctant to wash my hair. i told her dont care just wash... lolzzz