(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

morning... sry to interrupt...

last week on kindermusik, one of the mommie's hb wan the baby group photo... i don have time to upload to my com, can i bluetooth to u tml... i finally found the SENT icon...
sorry for the delay...

just read abt the fall:
S/W n Sanrio...
heart ache, last Saturday nite JK fell from the bed...head down too. both me n hb witness the fall. can imagine our heart is "bleeding".
till now, JK will wail in the middle of the sleep, not sure is due to the fall anot.

hope bbK n bbC are fine now.

Beyond,
i've checked the booking in early Dec, still hv vacant but after think think...dun hv le

Gene,
if is not the 29th Feb, JK b.day will b on Friday.
me thot of celebrating 1 wk earlier. coz the actual day, wanna just to celebrate jus with hb, JK n myself

wat plan u hv huh?
at least u hv condo function room lei

Dlim,
as most of the guests are from the East so b.day venue prefer to b @East

thks for the deco supply store name, will go there n check it out @Raffles City.
u mentioned, deco svc too. they will provide ideas for u?

erm...if realli no venue or idea will hv 3 tables @Tung Lok ba. sianz right? erm....shall see

Mrs Lai,
heehee! din bluff u lah

can u imagine my hb so jealous abt it...tell u, all my hb's relatives say JK looks like my hb.
n all my frez say JK looks like me.
wat do u think?
BTW, u feeling better?

KSS,
*wink* pretty huh? heehee! wat a tomboy!

Dlim,
Yest, hv added u in MSN.
u rec'd?

is me again:
share with me hw ur feel n thot after reading this:

2 adults + maid w/4kids = 1 family
* out from kitchen (busy preparing food n drinks) saw 1 of the brand new toy was widely spread on the mat. this band new toy was in a sealed wrap, i hv no idea hw this nearly 6yrs old boy undo it. Is JK's brand new toy which i wanted to give to JK on his 1st b.day!!!
i was unhappy but REN!

before more destructive to be done on the toys, i stopped him for tearing the labels. But he din heed my "warning", still tearing!!! he rebut, "NO, I WANT lei!

* u must b wondering wat is his parent doing?
dad is sitting on sofa comfortably eat n watch TV program. mum is busy "chatting" with me.
maid? sitting there do nothing but dreaming.

* while eating, kids food were all over the floor, hb busy clearing as JK busy crawling too.
while we r picking up the mess, we still can hear somethings...aye! no need to pick lah.

* musical chair (Kelley, tat "potty"!)
instead of sitting, tat eldest one (6 yrs old) standing on it n the rest of siblings follow.

* while JK busy crawling "asking" for hugz or companion (mama n papa busy refill their drinks n food) those kids din "see" my little JK crawling n almost step on him. lucky my hb halted 2 of the kids. can't imagine if JK gets hurt.

* Ribena "bu dao wong"
my poor RIBENA, almost tore!
coz they are so "gentle" to it. They stepped n crushed on the "bu dao wong"!
their mummy said, they used to hv one but within a day is burst!

* the dectable muscial tray on the walker:
instead of pressing it, they throw on the floor n step on it.
still can use anot huh?

* that brand new toy can't satisfy them, the eldest one keeps on digging.
the way he digs, is to throw those he thinks is not fun = FAR FAR AWAY!!!!
finally, he dig out another brand new toy.
this time my hb STOP him from opening.
i can still rmbr he grinned when he finally get something he wants.

* wat more?
heehee! when his mum said wan to leave.
that boy say "Don't Want"!
hahahaha! u gals must think i must b almost faint right. heehee!
i carried JK n whispered to him, "oki...we are going to do the last feed le."

**THE END!**

i blamed myself for not KEEPING the toys away loh. but hor...those brand new toys were "well kept". wat to do? i got to buy a new set of toy for JK 1st b.day le.

omg Augleo .. but who r there? If me I wud juz tell them, 'ok kids, no more playing coz u all dunno how to take care' & keep all the toys :p

But in situation like tis, the parents shld at least do something .. how can tear open new toys like tis?

augleo: I will say to the boy: do you know if you take something without permission is called stealing? Don't you know your MANNERS?

Then I'll see the reaction of the parents. If he still insist on opening, I will just take it away - Sorry, this is NOT yours. And please do not rummage through our belongings. In case we carelessly misplace money, we will know it is NOT you who took it.

See if the parents still have any more reaction.

If still no, then I'll just say - I'm sorry but I am not uncomfortable with your children touching MY PERSONAL BELONGINGS. Then I will take all the things, and then lock it inside a room.

If they want to think you are petty, so be it. Afterall in our mind, we are already thinking, "what kind of parents are you? No wonder your kids are like that - inconsiderate and rude."

gene: dun say ah ... my sis MIL all so nice and like so trendy - then when she did the confinement for my sis ... the monster came out. 1) jealous of my sis - will bitch and complain how hard is her life 2) poor son, not enuff sleep so dun disturb him - my sis had to work and then look after her gal at nite. she was surviving on 3 to 4 hours of sleep a day. finally she got into an accident then the mil tried to help out at night. 3) cuz 3 of time only mah, so my sis cook 2 dishes plus rice. she complain why so little dishes, you mean you will also cook so little for your mum meh? I told my sis, if she said that again, just say our mother will just say let's eat maggi noodles! 4) went over to my sis place, never bring any baby clothings - somemore first grandchild.

augleo: My hubby upset now cuz baby only wants me or the maid. If he so much as touch her when she's not in the mood, she will scream. Then sometimes i tired need him to take over, she will scream her head off. So what we do is he hold something nice in his hand, like a remote or a necklace, then once she is interested, she can go over to him - then finally I can pee!

Come to think about it, she's quite selective about who carries her. She likes my BIL, but no FIL. She also dun like my mum to carry (except when she was younger and saw her boobs as a source of nutrition - she licked them in public once!!!!)

ok lah, I am very tired - been up on my feet since 10 am this morning - going to the market and then cooking for dinner tonite (had guests over). Thankfully everything taste edible and they helped to finish the fish!

Augleo
i'm shocked at the parents' attitude. no wonder the boy behave like a brat.

i will juz tell the boy off that "thats JK's bday pressie.. i'm gonna get your daddy to pay for it!!'

Dlim
did you buy all the party deco fm the shop at Raffles city.
i been there few times as its below my opic.
but i tot their stuffs are actually quite expensive rite?

there another shop at Centrepoint but i think its a different name

Tks mummies for all the well wishes.. I had a happy birthday with my 2 beloved ones..

Augleo,
can understand how u felt.. I'm the paiseh kind, think i wldn't know how to react then..
but that boy's parents really too much.. shld at least disciplined him.

Mrs Lai,
my gal only wants me to carry and pat her to sleep at nite.. she doesn't wan my hb..

CoolD, Mrs Lai n Min,
i hv no chance to refrain him from unwrapping the gift.
coz by the time me out from kitchen, the toys all over the place le

his mother using ant bite tone to call his boy name, "XXX dun like that huh!" n cont' exploring my hse.

Mrs Lai,
guests finished all the food esp. the fish which u dislike most. heehee! i love to eat fish, next time hv fish meal must invite me hor.

fish head is the best! heehee!

can imagine loh, ur hubby must b upset.
hey! it might b a good chance to tell ur hb to spend more time w/his Princess.
w/o using remote ctrl or HP to lure her, she will auto request for his hugz.

JK knows me the only one scold n "beat" him...when see his papa, he will prefers him.

Min,
u hv another lobang place to get cheaper B.day party deco? centrepooint?
think SKP oso hv but wld like to see more designs.

party thingies - the last decor i got from concourse ... but heard they moving? so cannot rem where they moving to!

Still not decided about decor yet (hubby cheapskate) so depending omn the final number of guests, then we will decide lah ...

saw the post on kaizer and cherelle...
hope the 2 babies are ok now!

michk...
hehee....nice talking to u too! Kelley...hurry install cam!
not bad...u can be my spokesperson too...can tell SpringD I bom bom! ahhaah
just brot Cait to the PD yest...she is now 9.4kg!!! she put on quite abit here!!! her appetite quite big now...dunno issit cos its cold here.

i think i better go and do some research on b'day! so many of you are planning such elaborate parties!

ixora, Kris, traz n coolD,
nice mtg all

CoolD,
thks for hosting

traz,
sorry for my "non-working" mind today. mentioned to my hb tat 1 mummy is waiting for hb, then he mentioned squeeze loh = removed the car seat. then i was....YAH Hor!!!
shld hv think of it earlier, hope u din wait too long.

ixora n coolD,
thks! *wink wink* pardon my "non-working" mind today.

FYI, the party shops @ concourse are moving either to tekka mall or middle road.

i just did a estimate of no. of guests for bb's 1st birthday party and already exceeded 100! think i really have to start sorting out the logistics for the party!

augleo - i can't help but tell u if it happens in my house, i would have disciplined those brats because they r in my hse. My hubby says, let it be.. kids are kids! That's my hubby not me.

anyone of you read the book SUPERNANNY by Jo Fxxxx? forgot the last name. Any feedback on that?

happy hearts week.

cool_D,
sorry din manage to go over despite so nearby liao. K fell asleep at aprilmum's so we headed home instead. ning also fell asleep

Dlim and all interetsed mummies, here is 1 of the mummy who attended the trial today. review from astro.
copied stock & barrel from her post.

GUG -- how I feel

hmmm.. i quite like it.. and i really understand now why they can proudly proclaim and patent their zoo-phonics success. it is certainly very refreshing and shows evidence of planning in the creating of the zoo-phonic system..that to me.. was the highlight, and by far the most impressive part, for the day..

First half of lesson
- small wonder audrey's son has superior pronunciation compared to kids their age. and again small wonder GUG can so yaya-ly say their zoo phonics is that good.. coz they really repeat it again and again for the first half of the lesson! and i must say they did it well. Though some animals they chose to represent the animals a bit unconmoon for our babies.. like Yak for Y, ..and irish worm (??) for I.. ehh. can't remember.. but still good attempt to increase vocabulary for our bbs lah.

thouugh the primary approach here is using flash cards.. but they brought it one level higher.. to include ryhmes, emphasis (on starting letters and sounds), animal association and matching/identification of animals on the wall by bbs.. was there some actions ah? ya. i think have right? i recalled the action for the elephant.. ya.. have actions.. so aside from just flashing the cards and that is.. they killed 4 birds with one stone! in one activity!! wah,.. impressed. ..:p

- first 15 mins used to explore the toys they have.. ehh. nothing much there.. maybe is just to wait for all to come.. and settle down. but maybe because we all very familiar with one another. i felt the environment was very conducive.. and indeed they have their house rules set and implemented very clearly. heehee.. poor daddies/mummies not in the room can only peep from a narrow glass slit .. haha

- movement and gross motor was a bit lacking.. maybe their emphasis was not that.. so only have tunnel play.. and teaching the mummies the creative use of tunnels vertically (playing peek-a-boo, never thought of that.. hahaha. not bad lah. quite creative).. and of course crawling thru it.. then allow bbs to crawl or play peek-a-boo. quite similar to gymboree PLAY classes.. nothing much there...

- reading of boardbook. i was distracted by teng.. and i really never pay attnetion to that. can't remember the story.. and draw any possible assoications.. hmm. but was good try.. need to teach our bbs to sit thru story telling.. will be useful when they go higher up.. kindergarten or nusery.. sure have this kind of storytelling. in primary school.. they stilldo that? i not sure.. but not bad training..

- numeracy, teaching bbs to count.. with an activity. i forgot liao.. coz i was busy prising teng's pudgy fingers open to count.. !! again a lot of repetition.. haha.. but good lah..got some banging of mat, wave byebye, what else? forgot.. but i think all these included to develop the coordination of our bbs..

- then intro the animal of the day.. i was like wondering how come introduce gorilla? .. SO that was the letter of the day , 'G'. .so Gregro the Gorilla..the peeling of the banana (grrrr..) [but how come peeling of banana will get grrrr sound ah?:p], Green flavouring.. (and when cornflour mixed with green solution)--> Goo.. wah. not bad. again empahsis and repetittion.

- then exprimential play using the green solution and cornflour.. i like it a lot . it introduced physic.. (but still tied to 'G' theme for the day).. powdery cornflour, diffusion of green colouring in water (showing to the bbs, teng was STARING at the water turn colour.. i think all bbs were staring at it?:p} , green solution, then goo (cornflour mixture.. -- did they choose cornflour for a purpose? to produce the gluey goo? coz corn flour can do that.. other flour not as gluey goo?).. then let the bbs play. as thought it was VERY messy. they still inisit on letting the bbs do that.. i think it is good attempt. coz many educators/orgs often shy from implementating things which are too messy.. i think teng was fascinated with the cornflour mixture.. Rae and YT both 'no manners liao'.. haha. keep splashing me the mixture.. teng like boss. (star commented). dipped one pudgy hand test test onli.. then SUCK! so. he was the only bb who tasted the cornflour! haha. taste.. another lesson which he learned.. whahahaa. but he very cute with the cornflour stains around his mouth. i think YT wanted to bathe in it liao!!! right mejo??.. whahaha..

second half of lesson
mood spoilt by the bimbo..

but nonetheless.. quite fun..
star pointed out got live music accompaint. not pre-recorded..not bad.. but the action and stuff very similar to kindermusik lah..

ceiling got dangling stars. teng kept wanting to pluck them down.. and keep lifting his head to see them..huge mirror to reflect.. let bbs see their reflections..--good stimulation..

quality of faciilatators
i think they were relatively enthu without sounding fake.. def very well rehearsed.. and also firm.. had to tell the mummies to show good examples .. and focus on the teachers.. :p.. aiya. we all so naughty. SQ will scold us, never pay attention to teachers.. hhaaa.. so in a way, they were not afraid to be firm to deliver the lesson. i find that commendable. they could also control the class well. and appeared composed.. quite good..
we had teacher fairuz (she has ABRSM theory and is the head of music) to play the keyboard for us.. the other teacher has also a cert in preschool education.. so there was quality in the faciliators..

all in all. i like the class. i find that it is very coherent.. and def. very strong evidence in planning and the thought behind the design of the curriculum.. the deans.. (with their masters in education) reallhy know the pysche of pre-schoolers to involve so much repeition.. i had reservations abt the 1.5 hour. i thought it was too long iniatially but was actually quite fast paced. teng despite badly deprived of sleep did enjoy himself and didn't have time to fuss..too much.. :p and i think almost all the bbs had their eyes glued to gregro the gorilla when he made his appearance..
think GUG is not bad..

my two cents worth

Augleo/Kris/ Ixora/Traz
Nice meeting all of u today .. small gathering but it was fun. I tink bbJ enjoyed himself too, so many frens ard.

Augleo,
I tink I also had a non-working mind today, after taking care of jordan for 4 consecutive days .. actually forgotten to serve drinks to the guest:p

Michk,
No prob, can always meet up again. I din realise there was so many PG & SK mummies ard actually :p

another feedback, from starfruit, apart from what astro has wrote, i would have some other comments below.

The major thing that borthered me was this:
1) I feel that the 1st classroom we used was not that clean..sorry har but i am quite particular abt classroom cleandiness cos we have lots of babies here lah. apron were quite dirty (i think if i were to cont, i will bring my own apron)the mat were not clean that well too.. maybe i was wearing white shorts so dun dare to really sit on the mat. After the bubbles session, they just quickly wipe the mat, i wonder if they give the room/mat a through clean over every day.

Other that the above bad pt, my other feedback is
1) i like the overall lesson, very well planned and i like the fact that there were 2 instructor in each class/session. We are dealing with 11 babies + mummies, def u need 2 teachers.

2) Teachers were malay.. i wondered if there are chinese teachers (sorry hor, not being bias here) but i think maybe weekend more chinese teacher cos of the chinese segment.

3) The 2 teacher spoke good english, clear, loud, concise, simple, easy for the babies to understand and they prononce all the words correctly and clearly too, which i really like. They were spontaneous too (even crawling thru the narrow tunnel). I like the way they emphasis the "ge ge" G for Goat, Grass etc.

4) First segment, the tunnel activity a bit luan lah i guess can't be help cos of the babies all wanting to go their own way and mummies chansing them.
Story telling a bit chim for our babies cos the story was not that short.. i can see that some babies were getting impatient, cannot really sit thru the story. Can shorten the story leh. But hor, today, i finally realise that Rae can focus very well.. she can sit still and listen thru the 1st segment without fussing at all! esp the story telling , the troll who wanted to eat the 3 goats crossing the bridge.

5) I def like the hands on goo activity.. so fun for the babies.. but i think some of us were worried abt getting our clothes dirty, definitely our babies were not worried cos they had fun..Rae had cornflour all over her face!

6) music segment, very good, teacher's voice was very nice, i like the live keyboard accompaniment, it makes the session much livelier. Dancing bit similar to Kinder. instrument also similar to kinder.. think maybe kinder uses more instrument?? not sure yet.

Overall, i think its quite good, def can consider. I am thinking of letting Rae join after her kinder session ends.

d.tokyo,
hw r u? back in SIN?
FYI: JK's walker tray is not working...hb still fixing it. hope it can b recovered.
hope aprilthread wkly meet up will resume soon, so we all can meet

Augleo,
Wa reading about that family and kids you had to entertain made my blood boil! I had a similar encounter, when my distant relatives came to visit during my confinement. Treated as if my house was theirs, pulled out all my books and magazines strewn all over the floor, went into my rooms and touched this and that, and the kids surrounded my less-than-1-month bb then and wanted to poke his face! Lucky my mum stopped them.

Cool_D,
Glad to hear you had a good gathering yesterday. Hope we'll get to meet up one day. Really think you and your hubby look familiar, think we might have met before.

Augleo, Cool D, Kris n Traz,
yup I had a great time chatting with u all.. always make me feel I'm not alone handling some situations with bb..
Thot there'll b more mummies there..

Cool D,
tks for hosting..

Augleo,
hope your mind back to working function liao.. it's ok, sometimes when we r too pre-occupied with bbs/things, we tend to forget..

Sanrio, Sandwich,
I juz read abt Cher and Kaizer, hope they are both ok.. Agree very heartpain to see them fall..

btw, my gal doesn't like to sleep in her cot, she'll cry.. she is happier/sleeps soundly w/o fussing with us.. like that jia lat.. worry she'll fall, and i can't sleep well too.. thinkin of placing a 'di lum' on the flr for her to try if she's ok..

Cherryteq,
during confinement, dun think i hv strength to stop these destructive damages.
personnel hygienes, bb care, pumping n so many things to attend so no guests during tat 1 month. except MIL visited me twice.
lucky ur mum is there to stop them from hurting Matt.

hw abt me? wanna to meet me? me oso no chance to meet u lei....kekekekekekekekeke!

Augleo,
yes! I also wanna meet you. Have been chatting with you thru this forum but haven't seen your ru shan zhen mian mu yet...

Cool_D,
wa historical data, makes me feel like dinosaur...

Sandwich,
ya my mum told me she met you and Kaizer. She said Kaizer seems to have lost weight. He looks even skinnier. Maybe he's even more active now but food intake the same?

I'm from the Feb thread, but have recently started chatting in the March thread.
Heard you girls are organizing a GUG trial... can I put my name down if the timing is OK?

GUG Trial Class $45
1. Dlim
2. The Mrs Lai
3. Aprilmum
4. michellek
5. kiddo
6. bbmouse
7.fen
8. darbebe
9. huskiebabs

GUG Trial Class $45
1. Dlim
2. The Mrs Lai
3. Aprilmum
4. michellek
5. kiddo
6. bbmouse
7.fen
8. darbebe
9. huskiebabs
10. ixora

HI, I'm fr march thread and missed the trial. if date and timing is appropriate, can i join too?
GUG Trial Class $45
1. Dlim
2. The Mrs Lai
3. Aprilmum
4. michellek
5. kiddo
6. bbmouse
7.fen
8. darbebe
9. huskiebabs
10. ixora
11. carol

mummies where will the trial be at??
1. Dlim
2. The Mrs Lai
3. Aprilmum
4. michellek
5. kiddo
6. bbmouse
7.fen
8. darbebe
9. huskiebabs
10. ixora
11. mindy

Cindy
It’s okie lar…we all are female…won’t get too imaginative even knowing that you go ‘bom bom’….hahah…

Hey, me added you on SP liao…can see me?

Beyond
Wah…100over guests ah….no wonder you booked 2 days at NSRCC….have you decided on the caterer yet?

Darbebe
Hey did you go to the market over the weekends? Manage to grab fish bones?

Cherryteq
We stay so near also have not meet b4…..

SpringDance,
Ya lor, it's difficult to meet up hor? Must make a point to meet up leh...
Where do you work? If our workplace nearby can meet up first then arrange another time for our boys to meet.