(2007/04) April 2007 MTB

kss,
i give her daily

help to move her bowel as well !

dreamy , glynnis so chubby n happie . did she cry on plane ?
btw , re: caesarian
i hv been experiencing pain on my scar recently , a dull pain . anyone still feels pain on their wound ?

kelly got fever last night, highest is 39.2d, doc say if dun come down after 2 dose of med, got to go A&E liaoz, so heartpain.

gene,
its farley biscuit. i find it troublesome to break up leh. im gg to try heinz, the stick ones, its looks interesting.

Kris/Cool_d,
Agreed with Cool_d, Heinz teething rusk is so hard...I threw away the whole box liao.

Kris,
Hopefully BB Kelley will recover fast after the 2 dose..

Kris,

ai yo.. i know what you mean by "heartpain", take great care of kelly ya.. hope she gets well soon!

mummies meet up in paragon,

nice meeting some of you.. hehee..

cool, dlim,
coz the teething rusk looks very nice to hold, she lazy, wans me to feed her. if i put in her hand, she will throw away.

dlim, michelle, shirley,
her fever went down after 1 dose, she hit 39.2 b4 med and nw is 36.2, relief.

dreamygal: wow! looks really fun! but i got no guts to bring baby to holiday *hmmm* but i shd consider lah ...

Traz: coldwar is not healthy - ur kids are sensitive to such things and they will be affected also. *hugs* don't be to upset ok? try to find a time and talk things out calmly. If you find pumping milk v tiring, you may want to consider cutting down to 1 or 2 pumps a day and supplement with FM. It's really OK to stop - the MOST important thing is for you to be mentally and emotionally healthy. if you are so stressed, the milk may not be so good "quality" as well. If you fall sick and unhappy, your baby will be affected too ... don't feel guilty about stopping to bf.

caicai: mine lor ... esp when my gal loves to kick me there ... i dun even know if I shd attempt for number 2!

Kris: good that her fever is controlled - you still have to monitor just in case it shoots up again ...

haha... i'm also going to Krabi in 2 weeks' time and we have decided to go to australia instead of Japan in july.

kris, kelley so poor thing ah? must take care... kids get fever is no joke! by the way, when are you going to transfer me the $$ for the party ah?

Gene,
Sori sori... was in a rush to go pick boy as hb got company dinner tis evening.

Nice mtg evy1 tdy agn esp mummies who joined us for d 1st tx.
Actually tdy hb asked me not to go as wld b quite rush as he has company dinner 2nite. but i very much wanted to go mah. 5pm he picked me, wen to buy dinner n picked boy fr cc. reached hm n he got to rush off n i was like 'working' non-stop till now d 2 kids slp. phew finally....
came back hm, asked boy eat dinner but he sure up to mischief, eat 1 mouthful, sneak to play, next moment wan go toilet, blah blah blah. so me like aunty kip nagging at him to sit down, quickly eat. cher in walker, follow me evywhere while i prepare her porridge. fed her while continue nagging at boy. half way poo, mus clean n wash her. done with 2 kids dinner then i quickly 'swallowed up' my dinner. bathe boy n cher in playpen. next moment cher cried, quickly clean boy n ask him to dress himself up.
playtime: 2 of them playing happily 2geter but i mus supervise in case boy 'jump' on her.
finally put boy to slp, then put cher to slp. me wash up n now surf net.
finally can sit down in peace :p chuan..

hahaha....sanrio, i read until chuan too! come...give u massage.

gene...sorry too! i din know that u didnt know we left liao. cos everyone was going everywhere when we were leaving!

kris...
poor kelly, no wonder u never join us for our meet up. so next meet up can come rite since bb is well!

*michele*
this pig head cute? :mad:D

sanrio - wow! i thought i was so tired today so i left office after 2pm. now i read your post, i feel so dizzy hahaha ;)

see you next time

i assume you have 9 month old eh? have you or anyone of you tried for gifted babies in united square?

Din login after my last post.. no wonder i din knw it was changed to coffee club at Paragon.. me reached Taka one at 3pm.. shld hv called Gene or Jmon earlier.. anyway, nice meeting u ladies again..

Me now super tired lor.. got severe bodyache.. carrying a 8+ kg bb plus a bag for so many hrs.. really no joke..

Gene,
u got bodyache boh? btw, did u go up to the kids section later? din say bye to u..

Cherryteq,
So qiao we were in the same cohort in NUS.. got common fren somemore.. nice meeting u..

Jmon, Sandwich, Cherryteq,
Tks for telling me where was the nursery room.. (me suaku cos it's my first time in orchard after jo's arrival!! hahaha) The room's really big and nice and best of all, got high chair to feed jo.. else, I'd be very lost cos all alone with jo then.. din knw where to feed her..

Jmon,
u look radiant and slim leh.. pretty preggie mama!

Okie mummies,
i think i need to sleep very soon.. eyes are closing.. goodnite!

Kris
Gotta take care of bbK. Hope she's ok.
Thanks for the biscuit info. Ya, I usually give her half at a time so gotta break it up. But she loves it leh. Btw, the Heinz toothie peg is not really nice leh. Gladys will suck on it then throw on the floor. Wasted lor. It doesn't smell nice at all.
Anyway, wanna check with you. The Tiger thermo flask you help me buy hor. The head is a little cracked leh. Went to Taka to ask the auntie just now, she said that's the old model which they don't carry. You still got the receipt or not?

Caicai
My scar is super sensitive. Like when bb step the area near the scar, it feels as though it's tearing up. Other than that, it's quite ok.

Sanrio
It's ok la. Actually I was behind Ixora up the escalator. Then suddenly lost you guys. So went to the nursery to change bbG and wash up her bottle. By the time came out, shop around the area and when about to pay, I called you then realised that everyone gone. Anyway, I was with my friend Jessica so no worries. In fact, we walked around a bit then took the train back. When I reached home, almost 8pm already. So can image how shack I am? Backache from carrying bb on the sling and my huge bag and now also got calf ache leh. Feels like work out man.

Cindy
It's ok. Just that didn't get to say bye bye to bbC. We shall meet when you're back ya.

Ixora
Bodyache and calf ache also leh. Now almost dead on my bed. Haa..

Jmon
Ya, I agree with Ixora. You are indeed a pretty preggie mama. Compared to me, I was like a hippo. So sad that there's no photo to proof.

<font color="0000ff">Cai Cai : She was busy climbing up and down, peeking at the ppl sitting behind us and playing with the crews. Started crying when we have to buckle her up. But frankly, she was much better than i have expected.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Cool daughter : When the elephant came up to her, she was watching them as if they were aliens. Then to our surprise, she stretched out her hand and started beating them. Scared me... The whole elephant ride, mummy screamed more than baby. :p</font>

<font color="119911">Mrs Lai : The amount of preparation and things to pack is really a big headache. But i think its worth it. Glynnis really enjoyed her trip there. She struggled to get in to swimming pools, sea and bath tub... As long as she see water, she will try to struggle free from us. When she see me or my hubby going into the toilet, she will come after us very fast to see if we are going into the bathtub.

To me, its really wonderful. A full 4 days 3 nights with baby and hubby - just the 3 of us.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Michele : You will love it there. Nothing much to shop, but really a very relaxing trip.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Michelle : Totally enjoyed the trip. The place is nice, the hotel service is fantastic. The best thing is Glynnis smiled alot throughout the trips.

Mrs Lai,
it went up again tis mornin, 38.7, reli heartpain.

Michele,
im still waiting for u to sms me ur a/c no.

Cindy,
she a while ok, next she give me the sian look, so ke lian loh.

Gene,
dun have receipt le, my fren help me buy de, shes a taka member, but so long liaoz, dun tink she still have it.

working mummies who wants to prepare porridge for babies ...

Mummies, one of my new year resolution was to make nice yummy food for my gal, and to do that, a lot of you know that i batch process and freeze the food. But I realise cooking porridge is not so difficult if i organise myself around it.

I can still batch process her veggies and sweet potatoes and such, but I decided that I wont cook the meat and freeze them liao.

What I did was to go to my usual butcher, order the special processed mince pork for baby (he puts thru the grinder 3 times) in 4 small packs ($1 pack). I also ordered 2 chicken breasts deboned and deskinned (he didn;t have the meat grinder) and then i blenderize the meat myself. I then seperate the meat into smaller packs and put in the freezer.

My plan? everynight before I sleep, I will cook the porridge for her in the slow cooker. I can add the meat and the brown rice/ hulled millet (i haven';t venture to other gains yet!) and shaved carrot bits and let the slow cooker run overnite. In the morning when my maid wake up, all she need to do is to add in a cube of the spinach or broccolli to it and she's ready for it. We were "filleting" the pomfret fish earlier as well cuz no "ngor heer" and dividing it into portions for her daily porridge.

I just cooked fish with a little of chicken (I had the chicken breast bones with a little fleash on them) as the soup base, fished out the chicken bones, then add in the rest to cook. She finished 5 ounces of porridge (i feed her using the avent cup) and she finished almost all of it.

It's a little more work, but worth it to see my gal happily eating her meals. It's actually quite yummy to eat (i taste test always to figure out the best combi)!

mummies..
i hv some qn on using slow cooker for porridge..

When do u use the 'Low', 'High' and 'Auto' mode?

today i let my porridge cook for 5hr in 'Low' mode but it turn out still watery as i could hv used too much water or perhaps i shd switch to 'High'?

if i were to cook 2 meals.. do i switch to 'Auto' mode after lunch or i can off the cooker then on it to Auto when i need to serve it for dinner?

and do you throw in all ingrediants like spinach or pumpkin from the start or 1hr before serving??

Mindy: I bring my stuff to boil before putting it into the slow cooker. Cuz if on auto, it takes at least 1 hour before it even comes close to boiling.

when you cook with slow cooker, you add less water than usual. THis is becuz there is very very little water loss. I put mine on auto mode cuz it's overnight. I find that even 5 hours of slow cooking, it doesn't give me what I want. If I put on high, I find the side of the pot is "burnt".

Veggies, if already cooked, I add in last few minutes before serving. If raw, you can add in 20 min before serving, cuz too long the veggies will turn yellow.

After I scoop out what I need for lunch, I scoop out the rest and put into her thermos flask to keep warm till dinner time.

If pumpkin, you prob need to put an hour at least before serving time cuz that takes longer to cook.

Mrs Lai
Wah, the meals you prepare sounds yummy leh. You are a really hardworking mummy. In contrast, I'm a really lazy mum.

Min
Perhaps you can try adding in boiling water instead of normal temperature water lor. What I did is after washing the rice, I'll drain it then add boiling water into the pot. Then set to high so that it starts cooking immediately. When the porridge almost done, I'll add in the meat or things like carrot which requires more time to cook. Then when everythings done, I'll add in the vege or things like tofu which don't require much cooking and I'll turn in to auto mode liao. The whole process takes about 2 hours? The porridge I prepare now is more 'rice' than 'congee' with the rice bits coz I wanna bb to practice 'chewing' but the texture is really soft la. But the other ingredients are still mashed up coz I don't wanna her to choke.

gene: wah urs so good? Mine 2 hours also not near to cooking - i find that brown rice needs longer time to really soften. I add boiling water my stuff also won't boil till 1 hour later. So I always put over the stove and once boiling, then i transfer into the metal pot. I guess if rice is broken up, then it's faster to cook but i hate to watch the pot over the stove :p and I for sure want to snooze in bed for 20 mins more ;P

before I forget - mummies who wants to try pea. after trial and error with frozen peas, i realise that the peas have this skin holding the green stuff inside. My gal has problem eating the skin and often spits it out. So now what I do is to soak the peas, then one by one pinch out the skin. It's a bit tedious, but at least i know my gal wont choke on it or something.

dreamygal, ya i know that krabi is great for a relaxing getaway coz we've been there before... i love that its less 'touristy' compared to the other thai beach resorts!

gene/mrs lai
thx so much for info on slow cooker.. think i'm really a disaster in kitchen.

at least now i know must add hot water. otherwise, my boy wil starve if i were to use normal water.

btw.. carrot need how long to be soften in slow cooker? and sweet potato and corn easy to cook anot or must throw in early like carrot?

Ixora,
Ya so very qiao. Fate gave us a second chance to know each other :p

caicai,
same as Gene, only when baby steps on the area around the scar will it hurt very much.

Jmon,
pretty mummy!

Cindy, sandwich, gene, Mrs Chia, michele, Sanrio, ixora,
All the super mummies I met on Friday. thanks for the companionship and tips! I brought my boy out on my "lau ya" sling on Sat, it works! But shoulders ached like mad after like 5 hours of shopping with my mum. I still didn't go out alone.

Need some advice still. My boy seems to be having problems moving his bowels now that he's on Enfapro. I heard from Sanrio Ash also same prob. Any mummies experience same with your bbs?

What other brands of Fm are your bbs on? any comments? thanks!

Mrs Lai : I stayed in 2 hotels. First night at Ao-nang sunset hotel along Ao-nang beach. The room is ok, quite nice and clean.

The 2nd day i moved to Sofitel. The resort is super nice. The service of all the staff are very good. I totally enjoyed my stay with them. The only disadvantage is that the hotel is some distance away from the more famous Ao-nang beach.

hello mummies
have not visited this thread for a long time. i jus started giving FM to my girl as my frozen stock has completely depleted. but she's not taking it very well. like jus now her last feed she took only 30mls after a long time and alot of struggle. jus wondering how you did it the 1st time you introduced FM. actually it's not her 1st time cos i've given it to her b4 but it's jus that i've not given it to her for a long time now till my frozen stock depleted. how long will it take her to adjust?

Mrs Lai
I'll remove the skin of peas too. But I'll steam it for about 10 mins. So the peas is really soft. Then I'll just pick one up, give it a gentle squeeze and the 'flesh' will pop out. Then I'll mash up the skinless peas and dump it into the slow cooker.

Min
We all learn thru trial and error. No probs.
For carrots and sweet potatoes, I'll usually steam it first. Then mash in before adding into the porridge. Easier to be thoroughly cooked this way. But if I'm really lazy, I'll chop in into finely bits. Otherwise, they are so hard and it will take ages to cook. Not sure if vitamins are lost since a lot of juices are 'lost'. I've not tried corn yet leh. I think more tedious coz must remove the corn bits. But I guess it'll be easier to get the frozen ones.

Cherryteq
It was nice meeting you! You are so nice to talk to.
My sling was a white elephant until I see Michele and Ixora so pro on it. I was more into carrier before. Till now I can only tie it 1 or 2 ways only. I understand how you feel about the aching part. We are all on the same boat!
I think all milk powder are almost the same. The constipation is probably due to the fact that our bbs are now also taking solids. Give him more fruits la. These days I've given her bananas and papayas and her poo is smoother. BbG is on Nan and her poo stinks terribly. Nan smells terrible too.

FM
I've recently given bbG Mamil Gold since I've got 2 tins of samples. She seems ok with it and it smells good. But I don't quite like it coz these lots of bubbles leh, unlike nan, no bubbles at all. It is said that it aids digestion and prevents constipation but I think there's not much effect on bbG. Maybe coz I give her alternate feed? Any comments on this brand?

Gene ,
my son also taking mamil 2 . lotsa of bubbles too . i noticed that after taking this added "immunofortis" , his stools became softer and he had less issues of constipation unless we gv him too much scoops . his step 1 , he had constipation issues .

thanks cherry n gene for sharing on ur scar thingy.

btw , my son was coughing during the weekend , brot him to see GP yesterday and after taking his medicine , his face turned RED . is this an allergy problem , what shd i do ? i stopped the medication liao n going to brin him to his pd after work

Gene,
pretty mummy/Sammi! Lots of bubbles affecting bbG? Do the bubbles do anything to her, like burp more?

caicai,
what do you mean bb face turned red? as in becos of coughing, or rash after medicine?

what other brands of FM cause constipation? How often do your bbs poo? Once a day?

cherry:his face had patches of redness ...that wun go away .
he is usually fair , den suddenly , reddish cheeks .

cherryteq,
nice meeting you.

gene/ixora,
i where got pretty mummy.. i had lesser hours of sleep nowadays leh. i am so tired and could not be bothered with other things liao.

sanrio/sandwich,
cherelle and kaizer are so cute. both did not change since the last gathering (Sept'07) i saw them. i like cherelle round round eyes and kaizer's smiley face......

Cindy,
caitlyn is really a TALL girl... i like her hair lolzzz. have a nice trip to Boston and shop more clothes fpr her from Factory Outlet lolzzz

ixora,
u and jo put on weight hor... jo's always that cute, esp now she looks chubbier.

michele,
claire is still so dainty as she's always be. so girl girl

mrs chia,
jeremy seems change a lot leh. he looks diff from the last time i saw him.... and i like to carry him. he likes a Koala bear and hug so tight when I carried him hahaha

gene,
ur girl really looks like ur hb and glad to see she has so much hair now, last Sunday i shaved Ashton till almost botak :p

and please lor, which part of you look like hippo? so tall and slim....