(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

Astro: i remember when i first latch rae on, she will feed for at least 1 hr on each breast, i was so tired most of the time, she can't latch well and i had sore and crack bleeding nipples at the hospital liao.. at one point, she kept crying and crying cos she could not latch and didn;t get milk, i had to squeeze the milk from my breast into her open mouth.. quite funny leh, now i think back..heheh

astro,
yes... cos i was veri sad...so he helped mi... and guess wad... when he pressed rite, the milk splash on his face... the next day his pimple heal! from then on.. he asked if i got extra milk for him to apply for mask... -___-!!!!

star,
i still don noe yet... cos i don think i wan to pump... cos no storage for mi... i guess i will try to be like mash... latch all the way... this time nick still veri supportive...

star: ya.. but fm is also ok.. coz there is no doubt.. that we all tried.. but coz of the different unique situations.. couldn't continue.. as long as we try..

i hope i dun sound defensive.. just worry that some mums who login later to read about this.. and might get slightly affected to read about the bf-ing experience which wasn't very pleasant for them
that's just my two cents worth

yvonne. i remember my pump is for u.
my fren not yet returned to me. i will remind her when i am back from msia. no prob. i already told ppl the pump is reserved.

autum. aiya. STRESS also not milk one. need to relax. and stand in front of the mirror and say: I have tonnes of milk, i have tonnes of milk.

star, my oral presentation is only tomorrow. tomorrow morning then try to prepare my speech. slides are ready liao.

Astro: no no.. doris fok not from mount A, she is with NUH, she was the first certified lactation consultant in sg.. hehe a very very nice lady. she is very gentle with ur breast too.. hahaha cos i was engorged, in pain, bleeding and depressed with a crying bb that kept crying for milk all the time!!

are we boring the rest of the mummies that are not interesting in this BFing talk??

BTW: i saw this product on the MOmsinmind site.. sounds good leh, would have been great if i had this when i was dealing with my crack nipples.
http://www.momsinmind.com/mirror/www.momsinmind.com.sg/mothermates.html

Belle,

Hmm, luckily it wasn't as bad as I thought. Cuz last night looks really bad. Swollen and all but today okay liao. Not visibly swollen although it is still swollen and to my surprise, no discolouration at all.

Autumn,

i think you shouldn't stress too much over bfing lar. Can do, it is good but also have it own set of problems. Cannot do, FM is also good. I think the more you are stress over it, the less likely you will be successful.

star: wah! 1 hour!!! .. ok ok.. got it this time :p.. i felt some pain. and dr eunice chua actually prescribed painkillers and warned me that it is more for bf-ing pain than the epi pain! wah liew.. then coz i felt the initial pain (which i read later.. is NORMAL! kaoz) i thought i latch teng wrongly. so poor boy good latcher leh. mrs wang commented.. but i keep doubting. and latch and unlatch.. and latch and unlatch.. coz pain mah.. they said if correct latching wun pain. how wrong can i be? sometimesi think back.i had good circumstances and conditions. bb good latcher , i had ample colostrum.. really wasted.. haiz. nvm.. so next time ishall try again..

yvonne: nick is damm funny! but given that i was depressed that time. i wun let miser do that.. i will tell him to f*** off! kekeke.. ok. i am too crude :p

astro: yaya i know.. i also scared the rest of the mummies who was not successful might get offended cos this is a really touchy subject, my comments is not to make anyone feel bad or feel that they fail cos BFing was not successful.. i know its really not easy, which is why i hope all u 2nd time mummy can really persist on and make it a success.

Yvonne: saw on the page, u can get Lansinoh cream at the following:
BMSG(S)
Mt Alvernia Hospital Pharmacy
Flava Mama @ Thomson Medical Centre
Flava Mama @ Suntec

astro sounds like preparing for no. 2 haha!!
and yvonne and autum should be more kancheong la.

the advise is:
EAT MORE, so that bb dun cry for milk then can latch and stimulate even when there is no milk.
i din give FM or water in the first month.
cause tian never feel hungry like that. weird.
so basically i need to pump, and everything haywire cause stimulate too much from pumping, and got excess and the flow too fast for her. everyone has different experience, and seems not easy hor. it was tough, i think almost all mama who bf got tears somewhere along the journey.

i go orh orh liao.

Mejo: lips ok ah?? still in pain, can eat?? YT so cute..hahah.. she really enjoy slamming her head on ur hor.

Astro: ya ... lots of pain initially.. but eventually, will be almost no pain lah... then pain again when they start biting but by then, u can start slapping them liao, if not, bite till can bleed man...hahaha

belle,
u went for op? how was the experience? sounds scary leh...draw out pus from breast. actually i realised not all nursing/docs noe abt breastfeeding one...best is go KKH..look for the lactation consultation..cant rem her name, but she is really good.

astro,
i went for infant first aid course already. with Birth and Beyond.

star,
here here! i just came back from MaCs with josi.. suddenly have craving! had fries and mcflurry. so satisying..

autum,
don't give up on breastfeeding! if u need, i can help u? i can be on call 24/7! what was your main problem? astro and star are right. don't give FM. and i believe also don't pump..latch will give the best result. don't worry, we will all help u here

star: yeh! that pt is clear

ok.. i hope i wun need to go back and see my phycharist this time round.. she was also very nice.. but eh.. itis better not to see her!

sometimes i see bbs from 1 - 3 mths.. then i realsed i have actually forgotten how teng was like during that period.. coz i basically freak myself out over every single thing.. must go easily.. next time round. if not will miss the beautiful moments again..

Star,

You said that 1 hr. Reminded me of one time I also latch YT for close to 1 hour. Nevermind that. The worse thing that happened was after I put her on the bed and pull her towards me, she puked EVERYTHING out... Wah, I was so upset man cuz I thought that I had make her puke and everything.

QQ: i remember ur supply the most tokong one.. no can can compare with u man!!

ya, no FM or water at all in the 1st month, water can dilute a new born bb's blood very dangerous, so remember dun give water at all ok, there is more than enuff liquid for them through ur BM.

star, me same same. i latch tian for 15 min each breast in the first week. then lastch her for 45 min (on and off cause she cannot suck well) to 1 hour per breast. after 2 hours, need to feed again. mainly to stimulate + feed her. sigh! very tiring for my confinement. then mil kept complaining that i never rest enough and will get back pain in future. i bochap.... bochap.. bochap.. haha!!! good strategy.. bochap.

astro, dun think back. look forward la.

QQ,
so funny.. tonnes of milk!

Mejo,
ya.. in the end, when I gave up, I also told myself to snap out of depression. Cos it really doesn't help my newborn if the mama is depressed.

re: LSS Anna
mummies, so happy that my buyer has confirmed with payment. Actually i got another email offering to buy the bag.. but since the first buyer paid up, so at least, settle my mind also la. which means now i can buy another LSS bag for myself! heehee..

yvonne,
haha! heal pimple? power leh.

star,
ya. i also rem very farnie things. there was once my let-down was so strong that the moment she was near my breast, the milk sprayed all over her face! haha. i was qt shocked actually..didnt know will spray one. and ya, must set target. i had a lot of problems previously, but i target must bfg until at least 1 yr...then i very ego one..so die die must succeed.

QQ: i need to think back.. learn the lessons and then i can move forward

but i dun make myself depressed over it. coz past tense liao.. kekekeke..

if i never remember wrongly hor. i actually read that some jan mums wanted to order colostrum for dunno what purpose.. sometimes back..

jaxe: yaya the spraying milk.. hahah ya this one quite funny. Rae will auto close her eyes when milk sprays.. such a mess.

mejo: think YT drank too much liao.. poor ger.. did she cry for more milk after throwing up??

Star,

How can you call YT cute for enjoying slamming her head on me?!?? Actually hor, before the cab ride she already practicing her head slam at the relative house. She kept slamming herself backwards at the sofa and laughing like a mad woman... Then on cab, I think she thought if she slam backward will be soft like the sofa but of course, by then she is sitting on my lap and not the sofa!!!

But she did something cute today. She is pointing to the star in a book and call it car. I kept saying star and she kept saying car. So in the end, I try to help her listen to the S sound so I went SSSSSStar. Wah, she so amused man. Kept giggling everytime I did that. She even mimicked the SSSS but she still can't say star though. But she will go SSSS and laugh. LOL.

QQ: i missed out on ur post that bf mums will have tears along the way.. i feel that is so aptly summarised

ya. i very tempted to have #2.. just still waiting.. waiting. waiting for dunno what.. miser is of course, super keen..duh..

astro,
ya. nvm. if u have #2 can try again. as long as u have done the best u can in the given situation.

QQ/Mejo/Star,
wah. tonight topic bfg, i got a lot of stories to share! 1st month josi also latch abt 1 hr every time. then rest 2 hrs, latch 1 hr again. day and night, 24 hrs, 7 days a week. but good thing is, at night, i just pop josi on the breast..then both of us continue sleeping..while other fm mothers have to get up, prepare bottles and fm..

Autum: u have many experienced BFing mummies here to guide u this time round..so ur success rate should be quite high... just remember to persist on .. it will be tuff and painful in the beginning.. but it really do get better and better as time goes by.

carol: the LSS still not here yet leh.. i wonder why its taking so long.

Star,

Nope. She din cry for more milk lei. I also think she drank too much liao and I'm was especially upset because that episode happened during the time when she latch less than 10 mins each time. She started drinking very little milk by 2 months old so that's why we started her on solids at 4 months mah.

mejo,
haha! YT so cute! josi also cannot say S. okay, shall try that.

autum,
no probs! i'm very passionate abt bfg. can be ur personal consultant wor. which hospital are u delivering at arh?

astro,
come on! #2 #2. what are u waiting for huh? u haf my support leh.

so interesting to read abt all ur bf experiences. mine is like autum too but hb console me tt if hv milk then feed lor, if dun hv then dun stress too. very impt to hv support.

star: can email borderlinx/lss to find out?

i hv a gf who also pump all the way n didnt latch & her supply was sufficient. how come some pple can juz do this? hmmmppfff

carol: wha .. so zun, i mention ur name and u come out liao.. ya i am chatting with them now. i tot parcel would have arrived today.

jaxe: thanks. when the elements are right, i will..

carol: yep. that is nothig wrong in giving fm... still motherly love, more so becoz we have to get up in the middle of the night to make milk? *siams Jaxe* kekkekeke...

Mejo is very apt in suggesitng there can be pros and cons in fm as well as bf.. really is.. to each his own

Carol,

I think the pump must be good enough to stimulate let-down? I also pump from the 2nd week of birth onwards. But I suspect that made my letdown rather violent. Therefore resulting in YT rejecting Bfing from two months old. It increased my supply yes but also created some problems.

alamak.. i was asking BDl why my parcel delay..see what tracy replied

Tracy: I am afraid that I do not know the answer to your question straightaway. I will make enquiries and get back to you as soon as possible.

Star, Jaxe, Astro,
u know what was my biggest problem? now on hindsight, i realised that i was given wrong info by the nurses and by the lactation consultant in the hospital. Everybody told me, bf for 15-20mins, every 4hrs (nurses said), every 3hrs (consultant said).. so that was what i did.. and u know what is the biggest irony.. EJ actually latched on so well, that the consultant praised me.. saying i will not have a problem.

Then i think as the first few days go by, there is not enough stimulation because i only BF every 4hrs.. by the time i brought EJ home, it was terrible already (just that I didn't know it yet, at that time).. so subsequently, i guess, EJ was terribly hungry because each time i only latched on for 15mins.. and then progressively things got worse because he would suckle so hard that i felt so painful.. and then, my supply didn't come in.. thus I had to give FM.. because I was still sticking to feeding every 4hrs.

Well, i wouldn't totally say that has no merits (feeding by timing by bottle-feeding).. because it does give some mental relief to us.. that he is being fed.

All in, i would say, that has passed. right now, i just hope that i wouldn't get phobia for my 2nd bb.

star: dun they hv online tracking system?

i wan to try bf when #2 comes too. but hope will not b too stress. n reading wat some of u went thru oso quite scary.

oh yes, i want to chup pump fr Star & QQ for trial too when my time comes!

YY,

Cuz I still remember the time when I have to wake up in the middle of the night and spew milk all over my bathroom when YT drops her night feed mah. LOL. But really, everything has its two sides.

autum: *nod head*.. yes.. that is exactly what i went through!.. how come they tell us latch for 15 mins? wah liew. anyway.. nvm.. u try again, ok?

Dr chua said.. when i went back .. for that post natel check.. i told her i have problems with bf-ing. she told me.. dun care. as long as teng cries.. to the breast.. i was like.. wah!.. kekeke. but istill din't follow.. dr chua is quite pro bf-ing one.. u look ather.. so slim after having FIVE children ah! that must be her secret weapon ..

shucks.. my weight gain was very good.. if could continue bf-ing imight even go lower than pre-preg weight. well. now.. look at me?! duh. NEVERMIND!

Astro: not logical lah, i ask her what she meant by her comment and if my parcel is still at the base. she says she does not know..(what does she mean she does not know..as in she does not know if my parcel is still there?????) she needs to check with export hub and will let me know in 24hrs time. *sigh*

carol: how u know.. that when u time to pump milk for #2.. star and QQ not using the pumps leh for themselves lei?.. kekeke..:p

mejo: *nod nod*

star,
nah. they don't know much abt breastfeeding one. kept asking me to feed FM, so i told the head nurse i intend to bf exclusively for first 6 months and she was like "what??" i learn mostly thru mistakes, and what i read from the net. then 1/2 thru first month, a friend lent me a really good book, which really helped a lot.

carol,
latch is usually best because the baby's grip is soft and it also feels more natural. when pumping, many mothers focus on the abt collected, and will affect let-down and stuff. baby's touch (unlike machine) also helps mothers to relax and stimulate let down.

some mothers who latch initially and transfer to pump will feel tt their ss decrease, but it cld be coz the feel is different, and the body has not yet 'learnt' tt this is a signal to produce milk, hence will be less. and sometimes mothers don't pump completely until breast is empty, which will also result in decreasing supply.

i think right, if ur gf pump all the way, the body is alrdy adjusted to the suction of the pump, so no probs. and she was prob careful to empty her breasts completely.

astro: ya man, waking up at nite to make milk. n i didnt think of preparing the portions of milk in containers in advance n using thermos for hot water, then put all these in bedroom for easy access. my fren told me few mths later n i was like 'ya hor, why didnt i think of that?'

star: kekeke.. haiz. sometimes.. got a lot of red tapes.. the parcel 'must be super tiny'. hence she miss it.. must be.. *straight face.. trying to convince myself.. that star's parcel ULTA small.. hence got 'lost'*.. haha. what a lame reply she gave!