(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

belle,
no la. tt one not i bake. a photo reference for the recipe i gave pink. yea. pete does look good in pink.

hydrangea,
luckily u didnt go op lo. i read before right, sometimes op makes it worse. the analogy was like, the block duct is like a plug on a dam..if u remove the plug, then more milk will come, and the plug will form again. best way is to latch naturally, so supply will be adjusted as well. something like tt..dunno if i rem correctly. okay, we better not talk abt this, later make star scared! haha. aye, so u still bfg now?

HJ: OTC spree has closed. Doing one on scrapbooking stuff. www.joann.com
Also closed liao..

jaxe
i got mastitis before..got so bad nurses at TMC also cant help...referred me to breast surgeon in Mt E..sian.. ended up kenna poked..n draw out pus from my breasts

i got phobia of breast feeding actually..i dong for 4 mths..finally gave up cos my work environment though hv privacy..but load too much, very fast paced..

hello everyone..

my mum brought teng outside this afternoon.. and 'all of a sudden' teng squat down and SCaPED his knees on the rough concrete pavement! and he has abrasions on both knees and bled!

ellie even used hand sanitiser to help him disinfect the wound!!! OUCH!!!!
now both red and swollen.. haiz.. heart pain heart pain..
asked the pharmacist. no major damage.. ellie has sense to use the hand sanitiser lah jus tthat will sting.. haiz.. poor boy!!! PAIN!

bought some yellow solution antiseptic. (forgot the tecnical name).. haiz.. haiz.. haiz.. imagine if he tries to crawl tomorrow?! PAIN!!!!

*sigh*

Linda: hey the pink coach that lady is selling, how much she letting it go? cos if u buy through CP's spree, that one comes up to $350only. i dun think she is making any loss lor.

titu: goatie is so suave looking! *wee yu wee* told u to tell him he looks better without the goatie liao.. see. he so HAM without the goatie hor? *winks*

Linda: cannot lah. i prime hang pig head candidate.. u just 'keep' it first.. if not next time u see me.. treat me lim kopi ..?

autum: actually i wanted to attend that first aid course one.. but cannot make it in terms of timing..

re bb first aid course
you gals feel that we should try to attend one together if there is one in sg lah.. i think it is impt leh. coz if not.. very panicky one.. i think they teach pple how to handle if bb chokes also,.. i think shd learn...u all ?

michelle: nice collage! thankfully k is not my daughter.. if not her cheeks.. sure blue black from my pinching....so cute

huajing: elisha has beautiful eyes.. she looks like boy meh? lke that teng looks like girl liao..

mummies, i m back!

my baby now weighs 660gm. Yvonne, your bb was how heavy? i can't remember liao. Doc says there is strong likelihood that this baby will be even more active than EJ.. i hear liao want to faint! haiz..

bbmouse,
when is your next checkup? the OTC spree, when will we receive huh?

ASTRO
alamak pain le...i can rem vividly how i fell when young..those kampong road all mini rocks!
got apply light bandage? so in case teng crawls..will help cushion his skin abit? or wear the bb legs at home for him?

Astro: can use handsantiser to disinfect on open wound meh, painful leh. i tot just wash with clean water can liao. and then put some antiseptic cream and should be fine. poor teng,must be painful. i dun think he will be crawling much tomorrow lah.

I also very scared to let rae walk along on rough concrete floor, sure will scrap her knees one leh.

Astro: my hubby was talking about first aid course for children, i think he is keen to go for one. i was first aid trained, know how to handle choking children and adult as well as CPR on baby and adults..but i dun mind a refresher course leh.

Astro,
the First Aid course I attend today, they teach about what to do when baby choke! So u just need to sign up for the next First Aider course, then u can learn liao la. Actually not that difficult (theory la).. haha.. the trainer use a dummy baby, then throw at some pple to practice. Those people who kena, all shou3 mang2 jiao3 luan4.. hahaha.. then we all laugh and laugh.. trainer says baby died-ed liao!

Autum: no accurate leh..active bb in u rtummy does not equate to active bb when born right? they are still developing now mah. dun worry so much.

Star,
so now your mastitis cleared?

re: breastfeeding
mummies, honestly hor, I now have phobia of BF. i dunno if i can cope. Cos with EJ, i wasn't successful at all. So now with this 2nd preg, i actually dread of BF.. cos i remember all the tears and depression last time.. feel scared.. hiaz..

Star,
doc was saying bb active in stomach la.. not after born. i want to faint becos i m a weak mummy. cos last time, EJ kicked me until i cry.. really cry cos damn painful!

First Aid course is a requirement by RP. Supposed to be we must get certified within 3yrs of working in RP. Something to that effect. It's a kind of KPI la. Cos we deal with large number of people (students & staff) everyday.. so we should all have some basic first aid knowledge.. it's actually a very useful course.. and it's full 3-days.. not some half-bake course. Well, but then how much we can retain, is another story la. Hahah..i think i will also dunno how to react in a real emergency.

belle: i bought some plaster which will help in healing..got ventilation one. and helps in cushioning and protectin and draw out any excess fluid (from possibe infection (touchwood!)).. so teng will wear that on both knees tomorrow..

star: precisely! hand sanitiser on open wound! i nearly fainted.. but lucky liao.. she not that ignorant to go use soy suace or whateer.. i was 'huh?! hand sanitisier?!'. then calmed myself down.. ok.. it will sterilise.. wun harm, the worst is 'too strong'.. and EXTREMELY painful. confirmed with the pharmicist. yep.. will STING..but no major effect.. heng, i not there to witness this.. if not.. heart pain till cannot make itliao..
so immediately chio to cwp to get that yellow antiseptic even though i just got back from work..

he doesn't have to crawl.. he push himself to stand also will rest on his knees first.. sit up also reast on knees.. wah biang! how painful can it get?!

from now on. teng will wear long pants when he outside!.. mum was so gulity.. then very scared i will scoldher.. should have told her.. this i wun scold.. coz really not her fault. but if do sneaky things behind my back, will scold! wasted.. forgot to tell her..she is VERY guilty..

bbjie: u heard me? we are in the same boat now.. haiz.. give me a hug ???

autum: yes.. i sort of guess that in that first aid course.. shouldhave cover this.. choking aspect..

star: ya.. should learn hor? i really think so.. hmmm.. maybe tomorrow i should go surf red cross and see if they conduct training of this kind.. and arrange classes for that? eh...

Yvonne,
yah la. Your edd earlier then me.. but you were 24wks, last wk mah.. i m 24wks today and bb is 660gm lor. aiyah, anyway, buey zun one la. bb weight will keep changing la.

autum: i am actually opp from u.. i wasn't successful with bf-ing with teng.. and yes. i did get post natel depression because of that.. coz i thought how come i so lousy.. blah blah blah.. and i thought i have life threatening hives!.. ok.. so all was NORMAL.. then i got to know some stories from pax and star.. so inspiring.. i am quite determined to make it work.. should i have a second bb..

star: u heard me ah? remembered what we talked over msn long time back regarding bf-ing?.. must support me ah? kekekee..

autum,
oh... den comfirm my baby bigger la... lol... cos scanned on the same week ma... but hor, i still don trust my gynea's machine... i think baby is bigger den this! lol... cos when bel was born, she is heavier and bigger den the measured weight... wahaha... so before i go deliver this time, hb going to bring mi to another gynea's clinic to scan to double comfirm the weight... don wan to take risk... wahahaha...

Astro: ya better use this opportunity to tell ellie dun anyhow use soy sauce, salt, cooking wines on open wound. u havea first aid kit at home, think good to teach ellie too. our bbs getting more and more mobile.. sure will be getting cuts/scraps etc.

Autum: Dun have to worry about BF lah, just try ur best... but hor i know how u can ensure u are successful in BFing, that is, dun be tempted to give bb any FM esp in the first two weeks, in fact,i didn;t have any FM at home for me to fall back on at that time, so die die have to BF lor..haha. I find that it helps to read up more on Bfing, read as much as u can,understand the benefits and u will be motivated to succeed.

Astro,
nvm la.. boys must be tough! or else next time how to go NS leh.

Yvonne,
wah, so serious, must go to another gynae to clinic to scan.. aiya, big then big lor.. as long as u can deliver the baby, big is no problem mah.

Astro: of cos i can remember our Bfing conversation.. like i say.. i will MAKE SURE u succeed man..hahah.. u just gotta make sure u can tahan what i will make u go through.. hahahah.

hi hi.
me reached home oni around 8pm today.
tomorow is my last day liao. then friday morning chiong back to msia.

wah. talking about bf?
star, u sick? rest well..
astro, i bf time also not easy. everytime block duct and two rocks really hard. i have to keep pumping to remove them. teared in hospital and i express using hands. at home confinement also a bit postnatal blue (not serious one, oni unhappy).
few keys for successful bf:
- support from hb
- support from Confinement lady & others
- rest and bochap, just concentrate in bf bf bf.. that's all. other things dun care and someone will settle that (hb lor).

and i still remember, i dun trust the machine of yvonne's gynae.

jaxe, tian is sleeping for 2-2.5 hours in the day,. and 11-12 hours in the night. one nap most of the days, some days 2 naps (1 long 1 short). she refuses to go sleep. if she is taking one nap, she will ask for musc when she wanna sleep, then nanny turn on music and she go orh orh.

at home, if hb is around, she dun want to sleep. if only me, then she guai guai go sleep. weird. but i hope she is getting enough sleep cause it seems that her sleep is not so long. only 13-14 hours?
going to tuck in soon.

QQ: how was ur conference?

Astro: ya support is very very impt.. dun worry, u will have all the support u need from this thread. and ur hb very supportive liao, so that is fine. agree with qq, just bochup everything and BF and thats it.

Autum: u can note down QQ's BF tips.. and u will be fine.

Astro, Star,
so gam that u 2 mentioned abt putting soy sauce on wounds. the First Aid Trainer also mentioned that in the class today. He said our elders like to use such things.. soy sauce, butter, honey, saliva etc.. he said it may help, but basically, any liquid will help (for burns).. but he said what happens is, pple die from infection more so than from the burn wound (he was talking about burns). oh well..

Star,
i dunno la.. initially i also wanted to BF very much.. that's why i went thru depression.. cos i felt very sad that i got no milk.. now it's just a phobia.

Astro/Autum: i wanna add sumthing, i hope i dun offen anyone, i really really believe that all of us have enuff milk for our bbs , so if u say u dun have enuff milk, its usually cos bb is not latching enuff or u were using a terrible breast pump. these are just my thoughts ok, dun mean to offend anyone.

autum: ya.. boys must be tough.. but still painful lah.. blood leh.. no joke.. if not why bbmarch so upset?

star: just now i was toying with the idea of buying a small first aid kit.. then didn't.. coz i worry about the expiration of any med there.. so just bought some plasters. i think i should go back tomorrow and buy that and teach ellie how to use it.. heng.. she has three kids.. and is not that backward to try soy suace.. else u see me freaked out liao..cooking wine?! i send her back to philipines liao.. i know i sound mean.. but i might JUST scream at her.. and i dun scream at ppls.. except at miser..

and what have i got myself into.. with u.. on bf-ing? :p:p

QQ: ya. i remembered u tell me something about that also..

btw, are u starting gug on 22nd june? i on sat class.. 930 also

Star,
i was using a very good Medela double-pump! that is why it contributed to the depression.. cos i felt i was using very good equipment liao.. and every day, i drank the fish/papaya soup.. EVERYDAY.. I just didn't want to supplement (which i know some of you did - take pills). And yes, I didn't latch on enough.. but then I see that quite a few mummies here also pump and didn't latch.. so I thot I should be ok.. well.. i guess it's not ok.. but I couldn't stand the pain of latching.

Plus my supply is really low la.. cos I didn't even feel any pain at all when i stop.. As in, i didn't even get engorged.. so it was that pathetic..

I am not offended la.. there's nothing to feel offended about.

Autum: its not that u dun have enuff milk, i feel u are not doing the right thing to stimulate ur milk supply, which leads to u thinking u dun have enuff milk. i think arm with the 1st experience, u will do better this 2nd time round. see jmon, she is so succcessful in BFIng adeline now..so if u ahve time, just read up as much as u can, equipe urself with lots information. basically, u just have to pesevere..the 1st 2 weeks is the toughest.
My lactation consultant told me, 100% of the mums that started BFing, 50% give up after the 1st week.. and out of the remaining 50%, 30% will give up at the end of the 2nd week, if u can tong past the 1st three weeks, ur changes of Bfing for at least 3 to 6mths will be as high as 90%.

HJ,

Wah, Elisha has very beautiful eyes!

Joelle,

It is the power of love that transformed your hb, hahaha. I read this "fairytale" about how a plain jane became more beautiful each day as a severely short-sighted guy became enamoured with her.

star,
true... when the milk got stuck... i asked nick to help mi massage and suck it out(nurse tell mi to do so... called the 24hrs hotline in the middle of the nite... wahaha...) and was flowing like fountain... when squeezed, it was like fountain... but just tt bel don noe how to suck well.. and my breast pump really sucks... wahahaha... this time die die also latch till nipple break!

QQ,
i reserve ur pump first ok... for testing first... before i invest it...

Yvonne,
hmm, but if your baby really big, then how? I mean, also bo-bian right? or u will go and induce to let bb come out early?

autum,
ya... will induce...told nick liao... he bo bian.. cos i big now... wahaha..he said i m crazy... cos no one will wan to go induce... i m a mad women...

star: no.. i dun feel offended.. i share the same thinking also.. just that that time.. i gave myself too much stress liao. coz i had the mentality 'die die must bf, anything else also cannot'.. i basically freaked myself out.. plus my confinement lady.. so ya. hence clinically depressed..

now. i tell myself relax. wun die even if cannot bf.. if can, good.. if cannot. then let it be..

so i think with this mentality. i will be able to cope better.. with valuable lessons learnt from having teng

wah lau. i sound like i am giving birth to my 2nd soon! whahahah..

autum: ya.. infection is quite scary.. i saw a picture of infection at the pharmcy just now.. coz basically using wrong plaster and stick to wound.. and all pus.. and when they tried to remove plaster ,stick to wound.. i went 'ouch!'.. and had tingles and goosepimpes each time isee that pic..

Astro: be scared of me, be very scared. ...haha.. no lah, i will give u the emotional support u need lah. i had a very good gf who was so supportive of me.. i called her like everyday to ask her about Bfing during that 1st few weeks.. i can say she really made me hang in there, if not, i would have given up too.

autum: i only know 2 pumps that works.. the rest can forget it, one is the medela PIS and the other is the ameda Lactaline double pump. actually i was not pumping at all in that 1st mth, i did exclusive latching.. u need to do this, dun worry about pumping, u can pick up the pumping in ur 2nd mth... cos 1st mth, very important to esptablish ur milk supply.

Astro: hey to tell u the truth, i had thsi mentality, die die also must BF leh.. haha which is why i never give up.. i was so depress too.. kept crying and crying and of cos crying in front of my lactation consultant.. i must introduce her to all of u, Doris Fok, she is fantastic.. i highly recommend her.. i am still in touch with her now.

Yvonne: i wanna recommend for u to buy this on standby first, Lansinoh cream, its used to heal crack nipples.. u dun have to wait till nipple crack, just apply when u start latching, this will help. see link below.
http://www.momsinmind.com/mirror/www.momsinmind.com.sg/lansinohcream.html

Star,
i was using Medela PIS.
oh well.. i will try la.. actually most pple do better BF for the 2nd preg.. cos got experience from 1st preg.

Astro,
the first aid kit hor, the Trainer is selling, in RP. As in, they have brought some with them to sell to us. So if u want, u can come up and buy. Starts from $30+ for very small one, to $60+ to $100+. If u want, I IM u tomorrow around my break-time, then u come and see, and best is, u can ask tons of questions.

yvoone:nick helped u suck to remove the blockage?! wah.. i am impressed..:p

star: actually miser was very supportive. he says just try.. and wanted to help me .. then i kind of shut him out.. and just went on 'sinking'...:p then eventually i told him. i gave up.. and i am quite sure.. if i ell him next child want try bf-ing .. he will still support.. and i sell that lousy cannot make it avent uno.. and buy medela PIS.. he wun make noise also.. kekeek. but will just sigh to himself. if i give up again! whahaha..

but then again.. i must tell myself. it is OK if cannot bf.. then i wun stress myself too much then can liao.. half the time it is like that for me.. last time really didn't repare myself for bf-ing. didn't read much of it. i knew it might not be that easy. i didn't know it was that tough..

ask u.. can u recall... when u first latch rae.. still at hospital.. how long u lect her suck per breast? i anyhow do.. 15 mins. nothing. and sore nipples somemore! then teng just keep crying coz hungry. haiz..

Yvonne: ya ameda, pump not with me now.. i passed to my SIL.
If u really want to buy a pump, invest in a really good one, either the ameda or the medela PIS, the ameda is cheaper at about $400. but hor, some ppl dun like the ameda, i was ok with it so it serves me well.

i cannot believe we are talkinga bout BFing now, where is jaxe, she should be able to give lots of good advice too.

mummies, remember, BFing is really good for bb and mummies and also u save tons of $$ cos no need to buy FM..heheh

star: see the diff? u strive on. i gave up.. kekek. stupid hives condition. make me feel like a freak! haiz. anyway. PAST tense!
i heard of doris fok.. ehh. is she from mount A?
i dun really like that Mrs Wang BB. i didn't like the experience there at thomson parent craft.. so 'cold'.. haiz..

autum: ok ok. if i can make it. i will go up see see look look. E1 9a huh?