(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

mejo
cos YT thinks it's a game
she puts it in her mouth and you pull it out
it goes on and on

ok, think i din miss anyone out hor.
sorry if i seem like i'm ignoring you. forgetful. just remind me

SQ: Where are you girls going this Fri?

Autum: I see. I think my hubby told me abt this before leh. Kekeke.. He's the errand boy..

mickey
star posted above
she wants to show me/us her KS bag.
then go checkout KS
then go coach
then go robinsons buy avent stuff

carol
you wont'! when i was working in ulu places for a few years, i saved so much $ unknowingly

SQ: I see.. Actually I would like to check out KS bags too. Haven't stepped into the boutique before. Can I play by ear? I'll be going to PS on thurs.

hey SQ
i didnt ask much, gues veryberry is at home taking good care of yang yang :p

im not intending to stay late for the fireworks, the carnival stalls open at 530pm...so will be there early, catch a bit of fireworks and go if leia is sleepy

Carol,
for fotohub, they have an uploading software, which u have to first download to your comp. what i do is, i will first pre-select what i want to print (out of our hundreds of pics right).. then i put all in a folder. then i open this upload software, and then select this folder (which contains my files).. then just select all the files there.

well, they actually limit u to 100mb each time. depends on how many u want to print, and how big are your files. if say a pic is 2mb, then 100mb is 50 files. But my pic size normally not so big. I purposely dun set it so big (on my camera) because I see no point.. because i know i will only print up to 4R. Unless it's some special occassion where i know i might want 8R prints.. but that hardly happens.

Then after mass uploading, just drop to shopping cart (like usual online shopping). It may take a while, again depending on your bandwidth and total file size.. but for me, it's manageable.

Alternatively, if u know u have hundreds n hundreds to print, just select your files, burn everything into a CD, and drop it at their shop. Easier, then dun have to spend time uploading.

SQ: wha u fast hand fast leg leh, we just talking abtteh patchwork last week, this week can collect liao ah.. hahah.. ok i wanna see on fri, its the denim one right. i am still thinking which one i want. also good lah, so can space out my purchase too...hnaha

baby girl: we are going to city hall. i will take teh MRt down , easy cos its direct all the way 3 stops only.

carol/astro/mejo and all mummies with thumb sucking bb: can i ask har, who teach ur bb to suck thumb har? i dun give rae pacy and i dun find her sucking her thumb too.. this is normal right?? ur bbs are not sucking their thumb cos u wean off the pacy or u dun giev pacy right?

carol: ya.. teng also like that last time.. but can teach one.. next time Asher puts thumb into mouth.. say no.. stare.. he will take out..:p last time teng also 24/7 thumb in mouth..
now outside wun.(unless he is already tired or hungry). at home also wun. just sleep will . there are occasions.. when he looks at me, turn and sleep without sucking.. so i think. can kick the habit one

bbmouse: ya $12 a pair.. cheap!

mist: got growth.. ? wah. anyway. i have a fren. holds the pen in a different way.. so also got a growth on his thumb. i think abrasion.. hor?

mejo: YT thinks it is very fun! :p.. teng also think it is fun.. then he 'flips' his lips onli.. got shouts of 'no!' liao.. kekeke.. dunno who gets trained by who :p he finds it soooo fun...

Autum: Is 4R 4" by 4"? How abt 6" by 4"? There are indications of the size of photos to use in the album.

Star: I will play by ear. Cos tom I'm going to PS liao. Would have gone today if the sale is on already. Kekeke.. And I've already stocked up on my Avent stuff - for both Anna and bbmouse..

bbmouse: i take train to chinatown then take a bus home. so i frequent that area.

star: u r 1 lucky mom. A auto found his thumb. no need to teach

bbmouse,
4R is 4x6 or 6x4. 4x4 is a square.. which usually nobody prints that kind of size, because most photo albums dun come in that kind of size.

4R is 4x6
5R is 5x7
6R is 6x8
8R is 8x10
super 8R is 8x12

fotohub has this odd size called Jumbo (between 4R and 5R). personally i dun like, because only they carry photo albums to fit that size.

Holding pens: speaking of which.. Anna is starting to doodle away now. Surprisingly, she can hold a pen like a mao2 bi3.

QQ: I find out one bad point abt having a white table top. Cos there are pen inks all over liao. I need to get mahjong paper to cover up the table top. Good thing I've also ordered washable crayons and markers for her to play with..

autum: noted on ur explanation
i hv not sent any photos for printing since A is born. only tried printing few myself but quality no gd & color will fade.

astro: good to hear ur assurance. will start trying

star: i think thumb sucking is natural.. as in there is no correleation between not give paci hence suck thumb ..coz bbs learn to self soothe..

normally bf bbs , they dun give pacy. coz scared they interfere with bf-ing. that time i cldn't continue BF.. so i gave teng paci

anyway. i think Rae doesn't suck paci.. coz all along.. she is a 'direct latch' bb..sucks on ur breasts for comfort and for food also. hence now. she rejects bottle.. and sometimes.. u find her crying , not able to sleep. coz she needs to suck on ur breasts for comfort then can sleep?

then teng hooked.. pacificer dependenency.. wah biang. CIo-ed him.. then he automatically reach for his thumb liao. i really think it is inate.. whatever that soothes them. they want suck on it.. as in sucking is a soothing reflex for bbs.... i think give them chopsticks.. when young.. also will soothe them! :p

Carol,
every now and then, EJ will put his fingers into his mouth.. not thumb, but 1st and 2nd fingers.. i think he did that because of teething.. but whenever he does that, i will pull his hand away from his mouth and dun let him do that.

As u know, i give EJ pacifier.. but only at night (sleeping). In the IC, he has totally no access to paci.. on weekends at home, sometimes in the day, he will walk to my dresser and take the paci and put into his mouth. When I see that, i will also take it away.. and I tell him that paci is only meant for sleeping time.. he is ok, won't cry.

So in the same way, maybe u try to take Asher's hand away from his mouth whenever he tries to suck his thumb. Can try try see if it works.

Autum: Thanks!
So looks like t=I need to crop the photo to get a 4 by 4.. Hence, need a paper trimmer soon.. Kekeke.. Hope can get one at Daiso..

Carol: I see..

GF and some ang mo books. who favour bf-ing over FM actually RECOMMEND bbs to find their thumbs..then give pacis..saying pacis will hinder sleep and bf-ing..
so this is those of those age long debate

just something random ( and personal).. kekek. i really find myself 'loving' teng more now that i am back working.

will gush at his photos at work and that is a calming effect on me.. then now. i actually want to play with him. last time see him onli irritated

re: Photo printing..
sorry if i m long-winded.. but just to say this..mummies, please don't try to print your own photos at home.. yah, i know all the printer companies (HP, Canon etc).. they have high-quality photo printers. but honestly, those will never last, and they will fade, age, yellow over time.

Simply because their paper and ink are not archival quality. They will tell you it's archival (can keep for long). but my own guess is, maybe up to 10yrs? real photograph paper (from the shops), can last for 100yrs. no joke.

Those home colour-photo printers, I think it's good for children to do school projects, or when u just need a quick colour print. But if u seriously want to keep photos, go print them in a photolab. There is a huge difference. Having saifd that, do NOT go for instant print in the photolabs.. because that would be equivalent to the home photo-printers (same technology). Go for real photographs.. those that you need to wait for 1-2 days.. those, they print using humongous machine and chemicals.

And why I like Fotohub is, they will do some minimal colour corrections, light/dark adjustment. That is part of quality-control. Some neighbourhood labs (not all ok).. they got no QC one. They will just take your digital files, load them in to the printer and press print.. ie.. they print "blind".. in that sense, these people don't need to have any skills (in photo printing, colour correction).. so perhaps that is why neighbourhood shops tend to be cheaper. Fotohub used to charge a lot more, (like 50cts per print).. but now, due to competition, their prices have dropped quite a bit.. but quality is still there.

Astro,
haha.. so work has ignited your motherly-ness. hey, until now i still dun have EJ's photos in my cube!

Mejo,
Noted. Design B.

<font color="ff0000">PAGING HUAJING</font>,
Can sms me once u placed order 9seven four five four O five three incase i dun get to check google or here.

Michelle: Yah yah.. It's the same one..

Paci and Teeth: I think Anna will need braces next time leh. Her lower teeth is more outside than her upper teeth. Is it the paci? But she doesn't really sucks on it, only occassionally at night. Si I'll say no connection there..

Autumn,
U make me wanna see ur poto collection. Must be veri high standard. :p

re: Thumb sucking
My sis sucked til age of 8 - has a growth on her thumb
My hb sucked til age of 10 - Thumb is 'slanted' and slightly longer

Linda: You better call HJ, cos she seldom checks into forum. Not nice to tell you her number here. You can get her number on the GG page.

Paci vs fingers: I tend to slant towards giving paci instead of fingers. Cos I've seen slanted/bigger-sized fingers. Plus I feel with paci, to kick the habit, we can remove it, but with the thumb/fingers, we can't!

Linda,
no la.. but i m used to this kind of quality.. actually it's bad, cos that makes me can't accept prints from other labs.. hahaha..

Huingee,
yea, fotohub photobooks are really exp, because they are real photographs. that's the reason why. The Malaysia Photobook.. that one is printed using HP printer (super high-end printer).. and the paper is magazine paper (i think).. it's also high-quality.. but it's a different type of quality. That is definitely cheaper than photographs (because different technology). Actually I do hope that the Malaysia Photobook is good, so that I can print too.. hee..

autum: hahaha.. i think so too.. teng must be thanking his lucky stars to get me out of the way! kekeke..

u should have some photos in ur cube. if u like lah. cute lei to stare at EJ's photos.. maybe u should display ur SB end products there! :p
warning: can have addictive and unproductive effect on employees ..
kekeke

Huignee: I'm not an expert in this area. Will follow the crowd in this. And I like to physically meddle with the crafts now, so SB still has its hold and attraction on me..

I've got a package at home waiting for me to open up. I suspect it's the LSS!!!
Michelle, QQ, Huignee, Angel, BBMar - are you all excited?? Kekeke...

mickey
the blue paci so cute!

our gymboree not here yet hor.
i still owe you $

star
i've been looking for avent shampoo for the longest time ever since you recommended!

bbmouse,
Noted. Thanks for the reminder.

Autumn,
I wanna see wad kind of quality u tokking abt. I still go to those old shops where they develop in a dark room? Coz i dun see any fancy machines in the shop. Or mabbi they sublet to other places to print?? hmm.......

re:growth on sis thumb
There is a small 'hump' on the side of her thumb. Like a pimple. But its hard but painless. She is supposedly gg to the GP to remove it.

Linda,
digital prints dun need dark room leh. it's just normal photo-printing (as per photolab). No fancy machines.. those are typical machines in a photolab.