(2007/03) March 2007 MTBs

RE: MAYDAY OUTING

Date: 1 May 2008
Venue: Botanics Garden
Time: Morning? Late Morning? (Can have lunch / picnic there)

Attendees:
1. Linda + 3 monkeys

star,
Office? U working now? Aiyo im so outdated...

Linda,
Long time no see u too.. How are u? Got cover for the cpu de? Okay i'll go check. My fan i oso bot the netted cover cos J keep sticking his pingers in. I think very soon, all my appliances at home needs to be covered...
DVD player got cover or not huh?

Linda
The sales starts 2molo...U drive? Go down during lunch lo!

Actually we thinkin of gg Botanic Gdn on 1/May too...So many places i wan to go!

Carol, that was Yvonne, shannie's frend. The baby boy's name is special one. i forgot wat name liao. special. not so common one.

linda, wah!! so on ah!
me thinking to organise an outing with all babies here at least once a month!!
I'm On for the botanical garden.

got moquitoes? wat time is good?

SQ, edde, all of us have different expectation for programs, which is normal and ok actually. for me, do u realise that i dun look at their content? though i wanted to see some, but somehow the one with plays is suitable for tian.
i tried flashcards for her at home. she dun seem to be keen.

edde
it's more about what the parents want their kid to achieve from the class. personal preference ba. im not so anxious about whether leia is going to learn from the class, anyway she will definitely learn something even if its pure play, in a group with guidance of teachers, different from playing at home. It could be as simple as listening to instructions...maybe learning how to sit still to listen to story...if leia can achieve this, i will be as happy as a bird liao.

linda
me not ready for bb-making lah, but if im really ovulating, it means my mense cycle has become shorter after i deliver leia, its a good thing, easier to aim for right timing as well as avoid the right timing :p

linda: May day outing in morning - i cant cos niece & nephew birthday. any suggestion wat present for 9 yr old girl & 7 yr old boy?

pink: library has story telling sessions. i wan to bring A to try

QQ: once a mth is good, i will def try to make it.

Now i remember, sorry ah my information come in piece by piece.

When a teacher helped to let go tian at the slide, she said: tian tian, on the count of 3, I'm going to let you go and mamee will catch you. One-Two-three! go!
tian slided down happily with her finger (1) pointing to the sky.
when she go for the 2nd time, before teacher said 1-2-3, she already raised her little index finger up to the sky liao.
After she slided down, another teacher walked pass, she said: Wah ! that was really fast!

I believe, tian learnt something from there. she knows what is fast now.
i hope.

I think all these are learning through play.

and u all bored with my theory or not?
if not then i try to recall more.

pink, QQ, dats why i said i am demanding mah.. haha!! but i agree with both of u on learning thru play.

another thing i pay attention to is anthea's reaction in class. i am VERY sure she loves kinder and she is not interested in shichida (except some activities) and def not interested in flash cards! she doesnt seem to enjoy JG too coz she looked bored (except craft session), even at the singing session which she usually enjoys. you can see from the photo that she just lazed on my lap

now i am even thinking of withdrawing from shichida if she continues to be disinterested.

i realised our babies have diff preferences!! some like music, some like playground, some like flashcards.. they are showing their characters liao.. so cute! maybe dats why no 1 prog fits all babies

Maybe what our babies need now is to learn thru play and a not too structured ciriculum. But yesterday not too good for rae, as compared to the GUG trial, she didn't pay attention at all, she kept crawling to play with the duckie cushion lining the wall when it was story time and druing craft time, she refuse to hold the pen to dot, she just wants to eat the ink and play with the ink smudges on her paper and those on teh table created by Tian. during snack time, the only thing that interest her was peeling the cover open from the bowl. She wanted to help Tian to peel open her bowl too. she barely munch on her biscuit, threw the buscuit on the floor a few times and just kept trying to crawl out of her chair.
During free play at the toy area, she fell twice, once in the coupe car, she slide down and once at the pinic table, she slided off the chair under the table!! and she kept wanting to eat the fake waffle! she is only interested in teh waffle, when i sat her on teh picnic table bench, she threw plates and bread and the waffle on teh floor, cos she wants to get down, so she tot that by "accidentally" dropping the waffle, she can get down and play on the floor.

SQ,
i'm here. ya i'll like to go for the bilingual playclub trial too.

carol / QQ,
it's my fren evon (litlefire). her son's name is eren. bb_march know her :p

angel,
u preggy har??? i meant a year ago, when i was preggy with K. whahahaha...

so did u buy anthing or not???

irin, u wanna go ?? think if ur hubby see this, he will KILL ME FIRST!

while waiting for someone, let me share another story for you all.

There was a group of educators to-be having this seminar about children's behaviour in classrooms. Then parents were invited for this seminar.
it was a saturday. no children, just parents.
1. parents enter the classroom, asked to take off the shoes, put on a rack, then walk into the classroom. They were also given a list of things that cannot do in the classroom (no handphone, no talking, no drinking of water, etc etc).
2. they were asked to sit at their designated seat, and they were asked not to speak to each others while waiting for the presenter to come.
3. after 5 minutes, a few parents get bored, then started talking. then they were advised to speak softly so that do not disturb others
4. 5-10 more minutes later. some parents stand up and stretch their bodies, and shaking their legs.
5. 5 more minutes later, presenter came in.

The parents were so happie. However they were asked not to leave their seats and if they wanna go toilet, need to raise their hands and be excused.

The presentation was oni 5-10 minutes, super bored topics and bad presenter. then many parents already blood boiling.

Now, a parent asked for permission to leave. and the REAL presentation just started cause another presenter came in, clapping her hands.

"I have been waiting for this moment, but seems like nobody wanted to leave. Oh dear, can you believe that you children are also under similare stress that you went through in the past 30 minutes, EVERYDAY in the childcare centre?"
The presentation was: learn through play!!

to add: and children has less concentration power than adults.. and they wanna leave the place too! what shall we do?

star, from wat u described of rae, i must say she is a very inquisitive baby and she learns differently from other kids.. by doing wat she has done, she is learning too!

shannie
you are here

are you signing Andrew up for any of the classes?

star,
so drama? i was bz kpoing with mickey i din see. wahaha... smart leh, rae. you said she was tired? maybe that's why?

edde,
you only in shicida for a month right? sometimes they need some time to adapt?

SQ, it is a REAL thing. trust me.
from a reliable source. The feedback from the seminar was very good. it was brilliant idea and the group had very good marks for their project.

I (me and my classmates) organised another seminar, learn through using open ended materials. so it was really differnt topic. Children enjoyed themselves and parents too. we have good comments from our lecturer too...

SQ, yes i will.. just that every lesson with her seems like a battle haha! i wonder how i am gonna handle her when my tummy gets bigger.. too bad hubby is anti-shichida, else can get him to help..

SQ,
not now. hb says attend the playclub trial 1st. anyway he dun intend to send andrew to any playgrp so early. i suggest to send him when he's 18mths he still finds it to early.

michelle,
go where?
I'm meeting Angel to go Fox sale tomorrow. will give the toysrus sale a miss.

These are what I've got today at the FP sale. (Yes, I went there again ...)
1385182.jpg

Bargained for this Little People ride on for $20 only
1385183.jpg
1385184.jpg

Elmo medical kit for $15
1385185.jpg

Tigger which none of them wants to play with except for Kiki.

QQ, presch education seems like an interesting course! suddenly makes me wonder, maybe to our kids, everything is very 单纯, its us adults (or maybe i only lah) who make matters so complicated by thinking too much!

shannie
it's good then that andrew will have your one-to-one care. no playgroup will be able to let him do this

edde,
i think mickey also said sometimes anna will like to move around. or sth like that
that's natural as kids bah

QQ,
I saw your post that was "saboing" me.
Informal gathering at my place?? I'm fine with it, let me know in advance so I can leave my dog at my friend's place. Had managed to make space for all the toys. Now my living room is basically empty except for TV console & 2 seater sofa.

SQ, its not only moving ard, she doesnt seem interested leh.. i also dunno how to describe, its just a feeling she is sending me.. maybe i think too much again.. haha!

ok lah, i shall stop my nonsense here..the more i speak, the more i sound like an empty vessel.. :p going for tuition liao.. bye!

SQW/Edde: ya she def wants to do things her own way yesterday. I know she is leaning, learning that she can fall off the coupe car and picnic bench if she learn to forward, learning that the ink is not tasty and you end up with just pink lips, learning that you should not take other ppl's cookie (e.g. Tian), leaning that its fun to try and climb up the baby chair! HEHE.... think i was too rigid lah, i want her to follow th structure of the class lah.. hehe. But since its a trial, i just let her be lor.. as long as she enjoys and have fun, its good enuff liao.

SQ: ya i think she was really tired, she cried and cried on the way back in the car.

edde
yes. from a kids' perspective, they are very simple.
i already feel v kiasu when i feedback here about JG vs GUG. and it's sad cos i try v hard not to! aiyo, now for her playgroup i already so critical, can you imagine how terrible i'll be when it comes to school?

*shudder at how i'm gonna face myself*

irin,
if i were your hubby, think i will "kill" you too

edde
then you can trust your instinct as a mother. and take the cue from your child

star
YE also. she cried for zzz. and i had to refrain from telling her she deserve it cos she refuse to zzz in the afternoon. but i tell myself she's a kid afterall. she knows i was angry with her on the way home cos she cried while changing diaper at JG. their diaper station sucks! esp with a crying kid

something really funny abt A. when he wants to touch something & we tell him no, he will pretend to stand around doing other things while sneaking the chance to touch. happen more than once already. we want to luff but control cos it will encourage him. we will just pretend & observe him.

edde: try it out a few more times 1st. mayb anthea not used to it and still wondering wat's happening? does she have other activities before class? mayb she cant settle down yet? try to go into class abit earlier to get used to the environment? or is she sleepy at that timing?

star
i remember rae was very attentive in the GUG trial, while Leia kept going over to disturb Rae.
do u think their attention span may also be affected by their mood of the day? caused by lack of sleep, lack of food etc...

QQ
yeh yeh like your story..leia has very very short concentration span, wants to climb up the kid's chair etc, so i cannot imagine her being able to sit down, listen and absorb stuff at this stage.

may not be the course, boring stories, perhaps its just the personality of our child..some kids are just more "Hong Sim" than the others

pink,
certainly there are good days and bad days when it comes to our kids
which is why i think one trial is quite harsh if we use it to decide their fate

irin
you can start a toy rental biz instead :p

carol
asher quite smart, shows he's waiting and thinking when to seize the chance to take the thing he wants...if it's leia, she will yell and cry, cannot take it.

Pinkpink,

Hey, I experienced the same thing. Think after pregnancy, my cycle is shortened and more regulated! YT cured my PCOS! haha.

Yar, I can see that Leia also wants to do her own things that day. She is more interested in the chair then her artwork. YT also did something funny with the chair. I wanted to clean her up after eating biscuit so I pulled her chair away from the table then I went to get my wet tissues. While I'm away, she started scooting backwards on the chair while seated. LOL. The teacher saw that and pushes her back to the table.

Star, agreed with you they should give apron cuz YT threw one of her paint sticks and it landed on Anna's dress making a mark!

RE: MAYDAY OUTING

Date: 1 May 2008
Venue: Botanics Garden
Time: Morning? Late Morning? (Can have lunch / picnic there)

Attendees:
1. Linda + 3 monkeys
2. yvonne + bel (if picnic, i cant contribute food lei, nither i can bake or cook, i can buy paper plates.. heee) maybe nick, if he is free...

edde,
wah piang, u temp mi the nutella choc!!! mi going to buy later if i pass by... wahaha... 1 loaf of bread? ok la, last time i can finish it... when schooling time, alone at home, so watch tv and eat and eat non stop... but just butter and bread...

Michelle,

Haha, I'll just act innocent then.

Wah, today is just terrible. Here I am trying to finish up a last bit of work and the fire alarm have to go off. The d*** is just 3 metres away from where I sit. It just kept ringing. Gawd. And I'm supposed to be the fire warden for my level today! Phew, it finally stopped.

hahahhah Carol
it's indeed very smart to be cunning at this age :p u should be proud of it kekekee

wow Mejo
your mense also shortened! hmm...means more money on sanitary pads for us :p
yeh leia step onto the chair, and started pushing the chair around.
since she likes pushing chair so much, I'm even thinking of bringing her walker around, just let her keep walking around when i drink tea with frens hahaha

Carol,

No, it is not a drill. Something tripped an alarm off. I guess it is nothing. I hope... cuz if it I have perform my fire warden duties (which I have forgotten mostly in any case...)